In the First Office action mailed on 3/23/2026, paragraph #12, cited reference USP 8943650 to Anderson should have been USP 8387812 to Delage et al. Therefore, this is the Second Non-Final Office action from the examiner in charge of this application. Any inconvenience is regretted.
On July 29, 2026, in an attempt to advance prosecution, a telephone call was placed and a voicemail was left with applicant’s representative, Ishan Weerakoon, at (703) 816-4062, regarding a proposed Examiner’s Amendment. On August, 5, 2026, another telephone call was made to (703) 816-4000 and a message was left for Mr. Ishan Weerakoon to contact the examiner regarding a proposed Examiner’s Amendment. However, as of today is day, a courtesy return call has not been afforded to the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figs. 4-12 in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 11 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 8943650 to Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson).
Anderson discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft 42 and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft comprises: a pin 40 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 44 connected to the first end of the pin 40, and the female shaft comprises a jack (defined at least in part by cavity 50 and middle supports 52), wherein the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 40 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack (via openings 56 of middle supports 52, such as shown in Figs. 6-7); and wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 62, and the first limiting boss 62 is clamped with the pin 40 to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 3). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein the second end of the pin 40 has a blind hole, and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 62 by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 4). The damping pin according to claim 3, further comprising an annular spring plate 68, wherein the annular spring plate 68 is sleeved on the outer side wall of the blind hole, and an outer peripheral wall of the annular spring plate is in an interference fit with the inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 5). The damping pin according to claim 1, further comprising a sealing cover 76, wherein the sealing cover caps a first end of the jack, wherein the first end of the jack is opposite from a second end of the jack through which the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 6). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a groove 66 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin 40; and the groove is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 11). A cabinet 16, comprising: a housing 18,30, a cover plate 22 that is rotatably disposed with the housing, and at least one damping pin, wherein the housing has a first mounting base 34, and the cover plate 22 has a second mounting base 36; wherein the at least one damping pin comprises a male shaft 42 and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft 42 comprises: a pin 40 having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end; and a large head end 44 connected to the first end of the pin 40; and the female shaft comprises a jack (defined at least in part by cavity 50 and middle support 52), wherein the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 40 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack (via middle support 52); and one of the large head end 44 of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; and wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 62, and the first limiting boss 62 is clamped with the pin 40 to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 13). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein the second end of the pin 40 has a blind hole, and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 62 by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 14). The damping pin according to claim 13, further comprising an annular spring plate 68, wherein the annular spring plate 68 is sleeved on the outer side wall of the blind hole, and an outer peripheral wall of the annular spring plate is in an interference fit with the inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 15). The damping pin according to claim 11, further comprising a sealing cover 76, wherein the sealing cover caps a first end of the jack, wherein the first end of the jack is opposite from a second end of the jack through which the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 16). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a groove 66 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin 40; and the groove is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 11, 13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 8387812 to Delage et al (hereinafter Delage).
Delage discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft 80 (such as shown in Figs. 4-5) and a female shaft 86 (such as shown in Figs. 6-7), wherein the male shaft 80 comprises: a pin having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin, and the female shaft 86 comprises a jack, wherein the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 150, and the first limiting boss 150 is clamped with the pin to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 3). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein the second end of the pin has a blind hole (Fig. 5), and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 150 (Figs. 2-3) by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 6). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a groove 106 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin; and the groove 106 is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 7). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a first end of the large head end is in a shape of a guide curved surface (defined at least in part by 98), the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin is connected; (Claim 11). A cabinet 10, comprising: a housing 20, a cover plate 22 that is rotatably disposed with the housing 20, and at least one damping pin, wherein the housing has a first mounting base, and the cover plate has a second mounting base (Figs. 2-3); wherein the at least one damping pin comprises a male shaft 80 and a female shaft 86, wherein the male shaft 80 comprises: a pin having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin, and the female shaft 86 comprises a jack, wherein the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; and wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 150, and the first limiting boss 150 is clamped with the pin to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 13). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein the second end of the pin has a blind hole (Fig. 5), and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 150 (Figs. 2-3) by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 16). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a groove 106 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin; and the groove 106 is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 17). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a first end of the large head end is in a shape of a guide curved surface (defined at least in part by 98), the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin is connected.
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 12392183 to Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson ‘183).
Anderson ‘183 discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft comprises: a pin 34 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 32 connected to the first end of the pin 34, and the female shaft comprises a jack, wherein the pin 34 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 34 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 44, and the first limiting boss 44 is clamped with the pin 34 to limit displacement of the pin 34 in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 7). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a first end of the large head end 32 is in a shape of a guide curved surface, the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin 34 is connected; (Claim 8). The damping pin according to claim 7, wherein a second limiting boss 42 is disposed on an outer side wall of the female shaft at a first end of the female shaft opposite from a second end of the female shaft through which the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 11). A cabinet 10, comprising: a housing 14, a cover plate 12 that is rotatably disposed with the housing 14, and at least one damping pin 16, wherein the housing 14 has a first mounting base 18, and the cover plate 12 has a second mounting base 19; wherein the at least one damping pin 16 comprises a pin 34 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 32 connected to the first end of the pin 34, and the female shaft comprises a jack, wherein the pin 34 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 34 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; and wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 44, and the first limiting boss 44 is clamped with the pin 34 to limit displacement of the pin 34 in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 17). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a first end of the large head end 32 is in a shape of a guide curved surface, the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin 34 is connected; (Claim 18). The damping pin according to claim 17, wherein a second limiting boss 42 is disposed on an outer side wall of the female shaft at a first end of the female shaft opposite from a second end of the female shaft through which the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, second paragraph, “[R]egarding Anderson ‘650, first, in paragraph 12…”, filed 6/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-13 and 16-17 under Anderson ‘650 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USP 8387812 to Delage et al.
In response to applicant’s arguments on page 7, third paragraph that Anderson’s pin 40 and cavity 50 do not meet the limitation in claim 1 of an “interference fit”, the examiner respectfully take the position that, such as shown in Figs. 6-7, Anderson ‘650 meets the limitations recited therein of at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 40 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack (via openings 56 of middle supports 52).
In response to applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 that Anderson ‘183 fails to disclose a “first limiting boss” located “on the inner side wall of the jack” that is structurally “clamped with the pin to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction”, the examiner respectfully take the position that Anderson ‘183 clearly discloses wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 44, and the first limiting boss 44 is clamped with the pin 34 to limit displacement of the pin 34 in an axial direction of the jack.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
HVT
August 15, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637