This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Figs. 4-12 in the reply filed on 2/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/3/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, line 2 recites “at least one damping pin”, which means there is only one pin being claimed in claim 11. Therefore, the limitations on line 4 of “each of the at least one damping pin”, which infers there is more than one damping pin being claimed in the claim, renders the claim indefinite for failing clearly define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For the purpose of this examination, the examiner is considered that there is only one pin being claimed in claim 11.
Claims 12-18, and 20 are also rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 8943650 to Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson).
Anderson discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft 42 and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft comprises: a pin 40 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 44 connected to the first end of the pin 40, and the female shaft comprises a jack (defined at least in part by cavity 50 and middle support 52), wherein the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 40 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack (via middle support 52); (Claim 2). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 62, and the first limiting boss 62 is clamped with the pin 40 to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 3). The damping pin according to claim 2, wherein the second end of the pin 40 has a blind hole, and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 62 by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 4). The damping pin according to claim 3, further comprising an annular spring plate 68, wherein the annular spring plate 68 is sleeved on the outer side wall of the blind hole, and an outer peripheral wall of the annular spring plate is in an interference fit with the inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 5). The damping pin according to claim 1, further comprising a sealing cover 76, wherein the sealing cover caps a first end of the jack, wherein the first end of the jack is opposite from a second end of the jack through which the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 6). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a groove 66 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin 40; and the groove is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 11). A cabinet 16, comprising: a housing 18,30, a cover plate 22 that is rotatably disposed with the housing, and at least one damping pin, wherein the housing has a first mounting base 34, and the cover plate 22 has a second mounting base 36; wherein the at least one damping pin comprises a male shaft 42 and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft 42 comprises: a pin 40 having a first end and a second end opposite to the first end; and a large head end 44 connected to the first end of the pin 40; and the female shaft comprises a jack (defined at least in part by cavity 50 and middle support 52), wherein the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 40 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack (via middle support 52); and one of the large head end 44 of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; (Claim 12). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 62, and the first limiting boss 62 is clamped with the pin 40 to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 13). The damping pin according to claim 12, wherein the second end of the pin 40 has a blind hole, and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 62 by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 14). The damping pin according to claim 13, further comprising an annular spring plate 68, wherein the annular spring plate 68 is sleeved on the outer side wall of the blind hole, and an outer peripheral wall of the annular spring plate is in an interference fit with the inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 15). The damping pin according to claim 11, further comprising a sealing cover 76, wherein the sealing cover caps a first end of the jack, wherein the first end of the jack is opposite from a second end of the jack through which the pin 40 is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 16). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a groove 66 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin 40; and the groove is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 11-13, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 8943650 to Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson ‘650).
Anderson ‘650 discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft 80 and a female shaft 86, wherein the male shaft 80 comprises: a pin having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin, and the female shaft 86 comprises a jack, wherein the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 2). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 150, and the first limiting boss 150 is clamped with the pin to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 3). The damping pin according to claim 2, wherein the second end of the pin has a blind hole (Fig. 5), and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 150 (Figs. 2-3) by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 6). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a groove 106 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin; and the groove 106 is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 7). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a first end of the large head end is in a shape of a guide curved surface (defined at least in part by 98), the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin is connected; (Claim 11). A cabinet 10, comprising: a housing 20, a cover plate 22 that is rotatably disposed with the housing 20, and at least one damping pin, wherein the housing has a first mounting base, and the cover plate has a second mounting base (Figs. 2-3); wherein the at least one damping pin comprises a male shaft 80 and a female shaft 86, wherein the male shaft 80 comprises: a pin having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin, and the female shaft 86 comprises a jack, wherein the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; (Claim 12). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 150, and the first limiting boss 150 is clamped with the pin to limit displacement of the pin in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 13). The damping pin according to claim 12, wherein the second end of the pin has a blind hole (Fig. 5), and an outer side wall of the blind hole is configured to clamp with the first limiting boss 150 (Figs. 2-3) by a spin riveting swaging process; (Claim 16). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a groove 106 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin; and the groove 106 is configured to store an auxiliary medium (please note that the claimed language fails to adequately define “an auxiliary medium”); (Claim 17). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a first end of the large head end is in a shape of a guide curved surface (defined at least in part by 98), the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin is connected.
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 11-12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 12392183 to Anderson et al (hereinafter Anderson ‘183).
Anderson ‘183 discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft and a female shaft, wherein the male shaft comprises: a pin 34 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 32 connected to the first end of the pin 34, and the female shaft comprises a jack, wherein the pin 34 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 34 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 2). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 44, and the first limiting boss 44 is clamped with the pin 34 to limit displacement of the pin 34 in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 7). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a first end of the large head end 32 is in a shape of a guide curved surface, the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin 34 is connected; (Claim 8). The damping pin according to claim 7, wherein a second limiting boss 42 is disposed on an outer side wall of the female shaft at a first end of the female shaft opposite from a second end of the female shaft through which the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack; (Claim 11). A cabinet 10, comprising: a housing 14, a cover plate 12 that is rotatably disposed with the housing 14, and at least one damping pin 16, wherein the housing 14 has a first mounting base 18, and the cover plate 12 has a second mounting base 19; wherein the at least one damping pin 16 comprises a pin 34 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 32 connected to the first end of the pin 34, and the female shaft comprises a jack, wherein the pin 34 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 34 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; (Claim 12). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein the inner side wall of the jack has a first limiting boss 44, and the first limiting boss 44 is clamped with the pin 34 to limit displacement of the pin 34 in an axial direction of the jack; (Claim 17). The damping pin according to claim 11, wherein a first end of the large head end 32 is in a shape of a guide curved surface, the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin 34 is connected; (Claim 18). The damping pin according to claim 17, wherein a second limiting boss 42 is disposed on an outer side wall of the female shaft at a first end of the female shaft opposite from a second end of the female shaft through which the pin is rotatably disposed in the jack.
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 206903441 to La et al (hereinafter La).
La discloses (Claim 1). A damping pin, comprising a male shaft 3 and a female shaft 4, wherein the male shaft 3 comprises: a pin 302 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin 302, and the female shaft 4 comprises a jack, wherein the pin 302 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 302 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; (Claim 6). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a groove 303 is provided on the outer side wall of the pin 302; and the groove is configured to store an auxiliary medium; (Claim 7). The damping pin according to claim 1, wherein a first end of the large head end is in a shape of a guide curved surface, the first end of the large head end is opposite to a second end of the large head end at which the pin is connected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La in view of USP 9860175 to Murray et al (hereinafter Murray).
La discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations in claim 10.
However, Murray discloses a damping pin having knurling patterns 92, 112,113 being provided on an outer peripheral surface of the damping pin (such as shown in Figs. 7 & 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Murray, to modify La to include the limitations in claim 10 of wherein knurling patterns are provided on an outer peripheral surface of the large head end and an outer peripheral surface of the female with a reasonable expectation of success for its well-known intended purpose as well as in order to increase the overall versatility of the damping pin.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La in view of Anderson ‘650 and Murray.
La discloses (Claim 11). a damping pin, comprising a male shaft 3 and a female shaft 4, wherein the male shaft 3 comprises: a pin 302 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end connected to the first end of the pin 302, and the female shaft 4 comprises a jack, wherein the pin 302 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 302 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack. The differences being that La fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) claim 11 of a cabinet comprising: a housing, a cover plate that is rotatably disposed with the housing, wherein the housing has a first mounting base, and the cover plate has a second mounting base; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; and (ii) claim 20.
Regarding (i), Anderson ‘650 discloses a cabinet 10, comprising: a housing 14, a cover plate 12 that is rotatably disposed with the housing 14, and at least one damping pin 16, wherein the housing 14 has a first mounting base 18, and the cover plate 12 has a second mounting base 19; wherein the at least one damping pin 16 comprises a pin 34 having a first end and a second opposite the first end; and a large head end 32 connected to the first end of the pin 34, and the female shaft comprises a jack, wherein the pin 34 is rotatably disposed in the jack, and at least a part of an outer side wall of the pin 34 is in an interference fit with an inner side wall of the jack; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base.
Regarding (ii) claim 20, Murray discloses a damping pin having knurling patterns 92, 112,113 being provided on an outer peripheral surface of the damping pin (such as shown in Figs. 7 & 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Anderson ‘650 and Murray, to modify La to include the limitations in (i) claim 11 of a cabinet comprising: a housing, a cover plate that is rotatably disposed with the housing, wherein the housing has a first mounting base, and the cover plate has a second mounting base; and one of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the first mounting base, and the other of the large head end of the at least one damping pin and the female shaft of the at least one damping pin is fastened in the second mounting base; and (ii) claim 20 of wherein knurling patterns are provided on an outer peripheral surface of the large head end and an outer peripheral surface of the female with a reasonable expectation of success for its well-known intended purpose as well as in order to increase the overall versatility of the cabinet.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
March 16, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637