DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the seam (10) on figures 18A and 18B as described on page 49, line 9 of the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ercken, United State Patent No. 6,440,881 B1.
With regard to claims 1-3, 14-15, Ercken teaches paper machine felt, i.e., a belt, including a layer (10) the structuring layer and a support layer (2) associated to each other; see figures 1 and 2, which show a seam formed by complementing surfaces (11) and (12) forming two bridges (17) and (18). As it can be seen the seam extend into the support layer (2); see figures and column 2, line 30 through column 3, line 10. Note that the figures shows that two seam portions are associated with the support structure bridges (17) and (18) and thus reading on claims 14-15.
Regarding to claims 4-6 and 16-20, Ercken shows that the seem extend entirely on the top fabric (3) and in the bottom support fabric (4), but in separate place and therefore, it can be said that it meets both the partial extension, since it does not go through in both sides, but since it reaches the bottom fabric at a different position then it can be considered a full extension. Moreover, if applicants disagrees that it cannot be considered a full extension, extending the seam to go entirely through the support would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since the reference shows that the seam can go through the support layer. Ercken teaches the bonding of the layers; see paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3.
Regarding to claims 7-10, Ercken teaches the bonding of the layers with hot melt adhesive; see paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3, which read in chemical, adhesive and thermal bonding, since as indicated in the paragraph the adhesive is activated by applying heat and adhesive bonding is considered a chemical bonding1. Note as indicated above the layers bond at two sites (top and bottom bridges), thus reading on claims 7 and 10.
Regarding to claims 11-13, Ercken teaches that the felt is mechanically entangled with the support layer by needling; see column 2, lines 42-45, which is mechanical and interwoven. As to claim 13 figures show that the felt layer is interlocked with the support layer by the seam.
The felt layer has been considered as the structuring layer since it would modify the surface of the paper (Broadest reasonable Interpretation BRI), but if the felt layer cannot be considered a structuring layer, using a structuring layer, which are well-known in the art, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, since he/she would have reasonable expectation of success if a structuring layer were used instead of a felt layer using the concept taught by Ercken.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the art of “Web Material Structuring Belt Comprising a Seam And Method for Making and Using.”
The claims are at least obvious over JPS-54158080 U, which teaches similar belt as Ercken; see figures.
/JOSE A FORTUNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748
JAF
1 See for example ¶-[0029] of US Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0221739 A1 or ¶-[0039] of US Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0109960 A1.