DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “climatic sensor” of claim 4 and “hibernate mode” in claim 7.
Claim 4 – “[A] climatic sensor configured to determine a temperature and a humidity… the climatic sensor configured to export the temperature and humidity…” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim 7 – “[A] hibernate mode configured to conserve the electrical power…” See MPEP 2181. Underlined is the generic placeholder used by the claim and bolded is the functional language. The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claim. Therefore, 112(f) is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim 4 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Said claim comprises a climatic sensor determining a temperature and humidity of an enclosed space and exporting said temperature and humidity data to a mobile computing device. The written description of the instant application does not disclose a particular type of climatic sensor nor does it disclose how said temperature and humidity are determined.
Dependent claims 5-9 are rejected for their dependency on the rejected dependent base claim 4.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “climatic sensor” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Dependent claims 5-9 are rejected for their dependency on the rejected dependent base claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Whether a Claim is to a Statutory Category
In the instant case, independent claim 1 recites a system/machine and independent claim 11 recites a system/machine that are performing a series of functions. Therefore, these claims fall within the four statutory categories of invention of a process and a machine. Step 1 is satisfied.
Step2A – Prong 1: Does the Claim Recite a Judicial Exception
Exemplary claim 1 (and similarly claim 11) recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include an enumerated “abstract idea”:
A system for managing a plurality of collectibles that are each assigned a readable identifier, wherein the readable identifier provides a plurality of characteristics of the collectible, the system comprising:
a container including:
a plurality of collectible storage areas, each storage area configured to store one collectible of the plurality of collectibles; and
a light indicator operatively associated with each collectible storage area, so that the light indicator moves between an activated state and a deactivated state when one of the plurality of collectibles occupies and does not occupy the collectible storage area, respectively,
wherein each readable identifier is configured to be read by a mobile computing device loaded with a systemic software so that the plurality of characteristics is remotely trackable by way of the mobile computing device.
[Emphasis added to show the abstract idea as bolded being executed by unbolded additional elements that do not meaningfully limit the abstract idea]
This method claim is grouped within the "certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test because the claims involve a series of steps for following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles which is a process that is encompassed by the abstract idea of managing personal behavior. See e.g., MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C); 2106.05(h); and July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Example 47 claim 2. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step2A – Prong 2: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, the additional elements of the claims such as a readable identifier, container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the readable identifier, container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software perform the steps or functions of following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer (or technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality such as readable identifier, container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software) performing functions of providing, storing, operatively associating, moving, reading and remote tracking that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) and (h)). Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step2B: Does the Claim Amount to Significantly More
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, the additional elements of readable identifier, container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software being used to perform the steps of providing, storing, operatively associating, moving, reading and remote tracking amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, readable identifier, container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software perform the steps or functions of managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles because said combination of elements remains disclosed at a high level of generality. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(l)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible.
Independent claim 11 describes the abstract idea of managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles. Independent claim 11 does not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of storing, operatively associating, moving, receiving, identifying and remote tracking beyond technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality, such as a container, collectible storage areas, light indicator, mobile computing device and systemic software that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as noted above regarding claim 1. Therefore, independent claim 11 is also not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-16 further describe the abstract idea of managing personal behavior by following rules or instructions to manage a plurality of collectibles. Said dependent claims do not include additional elements to perform the respective functions of moving, exporting, indicating, operatively associating, displaying, reading, determining, enabling, locking, unlocking, turning off, identifying, representing, remotely tracking, prompting and adding beyond the technical elements disclosed at a high level of generality or mere use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity (MPEP 2106.05(f)), such as a lid, collectible storage areas, condition sensor, container, mobile computing device, systemic software, display unit, readable identifier, climatic sensor, electrical port, light indicators, lock mechanism, hibernate mode, global positioning system, user interface and as in independent claims 1 and 11 that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or that provide significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, said dependent claims are also not patent eligible. Further, the dependency of these claims on ineligible independent claims 1 and 11 also renders said dependent claims as not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohseni (US 2023/0359982 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mohseni teaches:
A system for managing a plurality of collectibles that are each assigned a readable identifier, wherein the readable identifier provides a plurality of characteristics of the collectible (See Mohseni ¶ [0226] - an artificial intelligence-based system that is capable of automating the inventory management of objects/items resting in a stored location by employing computer vision techniques and [0234] – the wine label (or barcode or other forms of unique identifier for the wine bottle [collectible by example]) is scanned, and the system can extract the wine information from the label and/or the barcode), the system comprising:
a container (See Mohseni ¶ [0266] – wine bottles stored in bins [container by example]) including:
a plurality of collectible storage areas, each storage area configured to store one collectible of the plurality of collectibles (See Mohseni Fig. 2 – individual wine bottles stored in bins 216a-n); and
a light indicator operatively associated with each collectible storage area, so that the light indicator moves between an activated state and a deactivated state when one of the plurality of collectibles occupies and does not occupy the collectible storage area, respectively (See Mohseni ¶ [0327-0328] – the location of wine bottles can be tagged by electronic tags or light indicators (such as one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs)), and such electronic tags can be connected to tracking systems that can activate them when searching for a specific wine bottle … implementations of tracking systems exists wherein usage of a tag or label is not desired [a tag or label not used is considered equivalent to deactivated] … to determine whether one or more bins are empty or not),
wherein each readable identifier is configured to be read by a mobile computing device loaded with a systemic software so that the plurality of characteristics is remotely trackable by way of the mobile computing device (See Mohseni ¶ [0300] - tracker App can process the received images and use several techniques to first find wine bottle as it is introduced, then read the label and [0324] – the location of wine bottle is marked and shown on a display of the user interface (UI) of tacking systems. The storage location can be marked on the view/image of wine storage area where wine bottle is located… the user interface can be an application running on a mobile phone, and/or a laptop, and/or a tablet, and/or other computing device with a display).
Regarding Claim 10, Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 1, wherein the systemic software is configured, upon the reading of the readable identifier, to prompt the user to add the associated collectible to a specific storage area of the plurality of storage areas (See Mohseni ¶ [0333] - the user proceeds to place/store new wine bottle in its own bin in wine storage area and takes a photograph of that location/panel after placement of new wine bottle, using modified tracker App).
Regarding Claim 11, Mohseni teaches:
A system for managing a plurality of collectibles (See Mohseni ¶ [0226] - an artificial intelligence-based system that is capable of automating the inventory management of objects/items resting in a stored location by employing computer vision techniques and [0234] – the wine label (or barcode or other forms of unique identifier for the wine bottle [collectible by example]) is scanned, and the system can extract the wine information from the label and/or the barcode)
a container (See Mohseni ¶ [0266] – wine bottles stored in bins [container by example]) including:
a plurality of collectible storage areas, each storage area configured to store one collectible of the plurality of collectibles (See Mohseni Fig. 2 – individual wine bottles stored in bins 216a-n); and
a light indicator operatively associated with each collectible storage area, so that the light indicator moves between an activated state and a deactivated state when one of the plurality of collectibles occupies and does not occupy the collectible storage area, respectively (See Mohseni ¶ [0327-0328] – the location of wine bottles can be tagged by electronic tags or light indicators (such as one or more light emitting diodes (LEDs)), and such electronic tags can be connected to tracking systems that can activate them when searching for a specific wine bottle … implementations of tracking systems exists wherein usage of a tag or label is not desired [a tag or label not used is considered equivalent to deactivated] … to determine whether one or more bins are empty or not),
a systemic software integrated with the container, wherein the systemic software is configured to receive an image of each of the plurality of collectibles (See Mohseni ¶ [0333] - taking photographs of the new wine bottle, the user proceeds to place/store new wine bottle in its own bin in wine storage area and takes a photograph of that location/panel after placement of new wine bottle, using modified tracker App) and, from a systemic database, identify a plurality of characteristics associated with a respective collectible so that each collectible is remotely trackable by way of a mobile computing device on which the systemic software is loaded (See Mohseni ¶ [0300] - tracker App can process the received images and use several techniques to first find wine bottle as it is introduced, then read the label and [0324] – the location of wine bottle is marked and shown on a display of the user interface (UI) of tacking systems. The storage location can be marked on the view/image of wine storage area where wine bottle is located… the user interface can be an application running on a mobile phone, and/or a laptop, and/or a tablet, and/or other computing device with a display and [0334] - panels and locations can be marked by indicators (for example barcodes that can be read and decoded from the images, or numbers that can be recognized by applying computer vision models) to learn and verify the storage location of the new wine bottle … Modified tracker App then associates the location of the new wine bottle (in the reference image) with the extracted Wine Info ID and adds it to wine DB record and the inventory).
Regarding Claim 12, Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 11, wherein the systemic software is configured upon the reading of the readable identifier, to prompt the mobile computing device to add collectible parameters for the collectible (See Mohseni ¶ [0334] - Modified tracker App then associates the location of the new wine bottle (in the reference image) with the extracted Wine Info ID and adds it to wine DB record and the inventory).
Regarding Claim 13, Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 12, wherein the systemic software is configured to prompt mobile computing device to place the respective collectible in a specific storage area of the plurality of storage areas (See Mohseni ¶ [0333] - the user proceeds to place/store new wine bottle in its own bin in wine storage area and takes a photograph of that location/panel after placement of new wine bottle, using modified tracker App).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohseni (US 2023/0359982 A1) in view of Rahilly et al. (US 2020/0410446 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 1, (See claim 1 above)
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage locations of collectible items using doors and other security devices (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0287], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach that said storage locations comprise a lid that moves between an open condition and a closed condition, wherein the closed condition defines an enclosed space housing the plurality of collectible storage areas, and wherein a condition sensor directly connected to the container exports a condition indication to the mobile computing device by way of the systemic software, wherein the condition indication indicates the open condition and the closed condition. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0373] – Each bin may be associated with a unique identifier, which is stored by its respective NFC tag. The identifiers may be mapped to a particular bin specification (e.g., volume, height, etc.) and particular contents currently stored within the bin. For example, server may keep track of the contents of each bin in a database. When a bin is opened, control module, receiving the indication from the NFC tag via antennae, may send a signal to server indicating that the module was opened, and may send a close signal with the status of the bin changes from open to closed, [0378] - The request may originate form a mobile device associated with a clinician, or may be received via an associated interactive storage device interface (e.g., display interface, button, or the like). The control module is configured to determine whether the clinician or user associated with the request is authorized to access the container storing the medication, and to send, when the user is authorized to open the first container, a signal to the bin location to enable access to the container storing the medication from the first housing and Fig. 35B & 35C – showing a plurality of storage containers in the open and closed condition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni the use of storage container open and closed condition notification as taught by Rahilly to implement secure storage, transport, and dispensing of items with automatic inventory, item condition and chain of custody tracking (Rahilly ¶ [0134]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 12, (See claim 12 above)
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage locations of collectible items using doors and other security devices (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0287], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach that said storage locations comprise a lid that moves between an open condition and a closed condition, wherein the closed condition defines an enclosed space housing the plurality of collectible storage areas, and wherein a condition sensor directly connected to the container exports a condition indication to the mobile computing device by way of the systemic software, wherein the condition indication indicates the open condition and the closed condition. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0373] – Each bin may be associated with a unique identifier, which is stored by its respective NFC tag. The identifiers may be mapped to a particular bin specification (e.g., volume, height, etc.) and particular contents currently stored within the bin. For example, server may keep track of the contents of each bin in a database. When a bin is opened, control module, receiving the indication from the NFC tag via antennae, may send a signal to server indicating that the module was opened, and may send a close signal with the status of the bin changes from open to closed, [0378] - The request may originate form a mobile device associated with a clinician, or may be received via an associated interactive storage device interface (e.g., display interface, button, or the like). The control module is configured to determine whether the clinician or user associated with the request is authorized to access the container storing the medication, and to send, when the user is authorized to open the first container, a signal to the bin location to enable access to the container storing the medication from the first housing and Fig. 35B & 35C – showing a plurality of storage containers in the open and closed condition). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni the use of storage container open and closed condition notification as taught by Rahilly to implement secure storage, transport, and dispensing of items with automatic inventory, item condition and chain of custody tracking (Rahilly ¶ [0134]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni.
Claims 3-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mohseni (US 2023/0359982 A1) in view of Rahilly et al. (US 2020/0410446 A1) and Alva (US 2023/0129574 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 2 (See claim 2 above), …, wherein the display unit is operatively associated with the systemic software to display the plurality of characteristics of each collectible after reading the readable identifier (See Mohseni ¶ [0325] – the user can tap on any other wine locations displayed/viewed on the screen and tracking systems can show the content of wine DB record corresponding to the particular wine bottle that is stored in wine storage bin).
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage containers of collectible items that are tracked through interface displays (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0325], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach a display unit along an inner surface of the lid. This is taught by Alva (See Alva ¶ [0027] – a case with a lid that can be opened or closed and Fig. 2 – a display device (144) on the inner surface of the lid of a container (130)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tracked item data displaying inventory management system of Mohseni the use of a display on an inner surface of a lid of a container as taught by Alva to increase portability and simplify use of the apparatus (Alva ¶ [0049]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the tracked item data displaying inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 4, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 3, further comprising a climatic sensor configured to determine a temperature and a humidity of the enclosed space, wherein the climatic sensor is configured to export the temperature and humidity to the mobile computing device by way of the systemic software (See Mohseni ¶ [0279] - the generated alert or status or measurement signal can be transmitted to processor via wired or wireless communications means … Wired/wireless interface in system can receive the signals/measurements and one or more of Apps can process the same to generate alerts/alarms/notifications, [0284] – The output of thermometer and hygrometer can be used by an environmental control system to control temperature and humidity in storage area and bins and [0376] - several security protection features and functions include security surveillance, active temperature monitoring and alerts).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 4, further comprising an … port …, wherein the … port enables … for each light indicator, the display unit, the climatic … (See Mohseni ¶ [0338-0339] - The computer device comprises, among other items, shell/box … the computer device further comprises multiple input/output ports, such as universal serial bus (USB) ports … the memory storage media, can contain parts or components, or in its entirety, executable software programming code or application that has been termed tracker App and wine Info App according to aspects of the embodiments, which can implement part or all of the portions of methods enabling light indicators (¶ [0327-0328]), display (¶ [0327-0328]) and climatic sensors (¶ [0284]).
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage containers of collectible items that are tracked through interface displays that are enabled based on instructions transferred through ports in a computer box (Mohseni ¶ [0226] and [0338-0339] ), Mohseni does not explicitly teach that said ports are along the body of the container and enables electrical power for condition sensors. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0087] – power source is electrical power, [0373] – condition sensors monitoring bin open or closed conditions, [0375] – control module may provide power to the various components of an associated bin assembly, including to each bin with the assembly. Power may be daisy chained from control module to one bin location to another, and so on and Fig. 29 – controller attached along the body of the storage container). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the port connected inventory management system of Mohseni the use of electrical power ports as taught by Rahilly to provide efficient and secure dispensing systems (Rahilly ¶ [0278]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the port connected inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 5, (See claim 5 above)…
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage locations of collectible items using doors and other security devices (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0287], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach that the closed condition of the lid is movable between a locked condition and an unlocked condition by way of a lock mechanism. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0068] – The interactive storage device (or controller) may interface with an actuator that can lock and unlock the lid of the tote to provide access control). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni the use of storage container locking mechanism as taught by Rahilly to implement secure storage, transport, and dispensing of items with automatic inventory, item condition and chain of custody tracking (Rahilly ¶ [0134]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 6, (See claim 6 above) ...
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage locations of collectible items using doors and other security devices (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0287], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach that a hibernate mode configured to conserve the electrical power by turning off the light indicators when the container is in the closed condition is used. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0095] – may cause an adjustment to the interactive inventory storage device such as adjusting the power state (e.g., on/off, sleep/wake, etc.), … activating the display or the LED [light indicators by example]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni the use of a power conserving mode as taught by Rahilly to improve efficiency of the devices by conserving power in battery operated devices (Rahilly ¶ [0306]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 7, (See claim 7 above) …
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage locations of collectible items using personal electronic devices accessing global positioning system satellite (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0287], [0357]), Mohseni does not explicitly teach a global positioning system configured to identify a global position of the container so that a representation of the global position is representable along a user interface of the mobile computing device. This is taught by Rahilly (See Rahilly ¶ [0077] – Location sensor may include a global positioning system (GPS) radio to enable location history tracking. Location information generated by the location sensor may be monitored in real time or periodically audited to identify deviations from expected location or route for the interactive inventory storage device and [0177] - Display shows a general purpose status screen … the status screen may include several informational fields, such as location … the location field may update according to a current reading from location sensor [GPS as noted in ¶ [0077]]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the security device equipped inventory management system that accesses GPS satellites of Mohseni the use of GPS storage container location information as taught by Rahilly to identify the correct bin or tote from a collection of bins (Rahilly ¶ [0101]), thereby increasing the accuracy and efficiency of the security device equipped inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 8, wherein the systemic software is configured to remotely track the plurality of characteristics of a plurality of containers (See Mohseni ¶ [0229-0230] - wine DB record can include captured wine bottle label images among other images (such as a photo of the particular storage location of the wine bottle) … Wine DB record can be stored on one or more of local and remote devices in fulfilment of the dual purposes of security and accessibility).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 14 (See claim 14 above), …, wherein the display unit is operatively associated with the systemic software to display the plurality of characteristics (See Mohseni ¶ [0325] – the user can tap on any other wine locations displayed/viewed on the screen and tracking systems can show the content of wine DB record corresponding to the particular wine bottle that is stored in wine storage bin).
While Mohseni teaches an inventory management system for monitoring individual storage containers of collectible items that are tracked through interface displays (Mohseni ¶ [0226], [0325], [0327-0238] and Fig. 2), Mohseni does not explicitly teach a display unit along an inner surface of the lid. This is taught by Alva (See Alva ¶ [0027] – a case with a lid that can be opened or closed and Fig. 2 – a display device (144) on the inner surface of the lid of a container (130)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the tracked item data displaying inventory management system of Mohseni the use of a display on an inner surface of a lid of a container as taught by Alva to increase portability and simplify use of the apparatus (Alva ¶ [0049]), thereby increasing the efficiency of the tracked item data displaying inventory management system of Mohseni.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Mohseni teaches:
The system of claim 15, further comprising a climatic sensor configured to determine a temperature and a humidity of the enclosed space, wherein the climatic sensor is configured to export the temperature and humidity to the mobile computing device by way of the systemic software (See Mohseni ¶ [0279] - the generated alert or status or measurement signal can be transmitted to processor via wired or wireless communications means … Wired/wireless interface in system can receive the signals/measurements and one or more of Apps can process the same to generate alerts/alarms/notifications, [0284] – The output of thermometer and hygrometer can be used by an environmental control system to control temperature and humidity in storage area and bins and [0376] - several security protection features and functions include security surveillance, active temperature monitoring and alerts).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW S WERONSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/MICHAEL JARED WALKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627