DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schumacher et al. (US 2015/0343179; hereinafter “Schumacher”).
Regarding claim 1, Schumacher discloses an apparatus for use with a percutaneous ventricular assist device that comprises a self-expandable pump head and that is configured to be delivered to a subject's left ventricle using a delivery catheter, while the pump head is disposed in a radially-constrained configuration within the delivery catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 65), the apparatus comprising: packaging for the ventricular assist device, the packaging being shaped to define a pump-head chamber in which the pump head is packaged in a non-radially constrained configuration (e.g. Fig. 6, #30 - where the packaging is shaped to define a pump head chamber in which the pump head is packaged in a non-radially constrained configuration when not retracted in); and a catheter-securement piece, the catheter-securement piece being shaped to define a hole and being configured to secure a distal end of the delivery catheter to the packaging by securing the delivery catheter within the hole, the packaging being configured such that the pump head is configured to be radially constrained by being retracted into the distal end of the delivery catheter, while the delivery catheter is secured within the hole (e.g. ¶¶ 72-77).
Regarding claim 2, Schumacher discloses the catheter-securement piece is reversibly coupled to the packaging and is configured to secure the delivery catheter within the hole by being coupled to the packaging with the delivery catheter disposed within the hole (e.g. ¶¶ 76).
Regarding claim 3, Schumacher discloses the pump-head chamber is configured to be filled with a solution prior to the pump head being retracted into the distal end of the delivery catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 85 – “the pump is first filled with sterile physiological saline solution and is thereby completely vented of air”).
Regarding claim 4, Schumacher discloses the packaging defines a surface that is slanted downward, and wherein the catheter-securement piece is configured to secure the delivery catheter to the surface that is slanted downwards, such that the distal end of the delivery catheter is oriented in a downward slant (e.g. ¶¶ 101 – “second clamping ring 56 extends in the form of a cone at its distal end… second stop 57 is designed accordingly in an opposing conical shape”).
Regarding claim 6, Schumacher discloses an apparatus for use with a percutaneous ventricular assist device that comprises a self-expandable pump head and that is configured to be delivered to a subject's left ventricle using a delivery catheter, while the pump head is disposed in a radially-constrained configuration within the delivery catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 65), the apparatus comprising: packaging for the ventricular assist device, the packaging comprising a surface that is slanted downwards (e.g. ¶¶ 101 – “second clamping ring 56 extends in the form of a cone at its distal end… second stop 57 is designed accordingly in an opposing conical shape”), the packaging being shaped to define a pump-head chamber in which the pump head is packaged in a non-radially constrained configuration (e.g. Fig. 6, #30 - where the packaging is shaped to define a pump head chamber in which the pump head is packaged in a non-radially constrained configuration when not retracted in), the pump-head chamber being configured to be filled with a solution prior to the pump head being retracted into a distal end of the delivery catheter (e.g. ¶¶ 85 – “the pump is first filled with sterile physiological saline solution and is thereby completely vented of air”), and the packaging being configured to secure a distal end of the delivery catheter to the surface that is slanted downwards, such that the distal end of the delivery catheter is oriented in a downward slant (e.g. ¶¶ 72-77).
Regarding claim 7, Schumacher discloses the surface that is slanted downwards is configured to reduce a likelihood of air bubbles entering the distal end of the delivery catheter as the pump head is retracted into the distal end of delivery catheter, relative to if the distal end of the delivery catheter were to be secured to a horizontal surface (e.g. ¶¶ 5 – “flush the element to be inserted and/or the sheath intake prior to insertion or during insertion in order to prevent bacteria and/or air”; ¶¶ 23 – “at least one opening in the outer surface of the housing of the auxiliary sheath can be provided, which can serve either for discharging the flushing fluid or for venting”)
Regarding claim 8, Schumacher discloses a catheter-securement piece, the catheter-securement piece being shaped to define a hole and being configured to secure the distal end of the delivery catheter to the surface that is slanted downwards by securing the delivery catheter within the hole, the packaging being configured such that the pump head is configured to be radially constrained by being retracted into the distal end of the delivery catheter, while the delivery catheter is secured within the hole (e.g. ¶¶ 72-77).
Regarding claim 9, Schumacher discloses the catheter-securement piece is reversibly coupled to the packaging and is configured to secure the delivery catheter within the hole by being coupled to the packaging with the delivery catheter disposed within the hole (e.g. ¶¶ 76).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796