DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on November 24, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on November 24, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Office has not shown that a search and/or examination burden would be greatly increased.
This is not found persuasive because the determination of serious burden is left to the examiner. In this case, as explained in the restriction/election requirement mailed on October 28, 2025, each group has a distinct invention. Search and consideration of the multiple inventions increases the time needed to provide a determination of patentability by increasing the review of prior art of each invention and would place an undue burden on the Examiner already substantially limited in examination time.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
control system in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koji (JP H07256163, provided translation cited below).
In regards to claim 1, Koji teaches a painting apparatus comprising:
a coating machine comprising a nozzle (2, paint applicator) including a spray/nozzle tip having at least one tip orifice through which paint is sprayed (fig. 1-3; para. 8-9);
a reciprocating device (3, propulsion system) comprising a motor (9, actuators) that moves the coating machine relative to a surface of a workpiece to be sprayed (fig. 1-2; para. 8-9); and
a control device (7, control system) which is
provided a spray amount (spray parameter) (para. 6, 9-10);
uses a first signal (first actuator control signal) to set a moving speed of the nozzle (para. 6, 9-10);
control the coating machine to spray paint onto the workpiece (para. 6, 9-10);
monitor the degree of wear of the nozzle tip (para. 10, 12-14)
as the spray amount changes due to the wear of the nozzle tip, the moving speed of the nozzle is changed (para. 12-13); and
the control device provide a second signal when it is determined to change the moving speed (para. 12-13).
In regards to claim 2, Koji teaches changes to the flow rate of the paint changes as the wear of the nozzle tip occurs and where the paint is supplied at a known/high pressure (fig. 1-3; para. 9-10, 12).
In regards to claim 8, Koji teaches the paint is supplied at a known/high pressure (para. 2, 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji as applied to claims 1-2 and 8 above, and further in view of Kieffer (US 2020/0230632).
In regards to claim 3, Koji teaches as discussed, but does not explicitly teach a paint pump, wherein the indication of the change in flow rate of the paint comprises an indication of a change in a pump speed of the paint pump.
However, Kieffer teaches a spray system (100) comprising a pump (102, paint pump) which feeds a fluid (paint) to an applicator (110). Kieffer teaches the pump is controlled by a controller (111) to maintain fluid pressure (target pressure) based on fluid flow through a tip (116) of the applicator. Kieffer teaches a motor (103) is connected to the pump and a speed is controlled by a spray system monitoring and control system (600) (fig. 6-7, 16; para. 24, 41, 47, 49, 54-57, 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the pump and controller/control system of Kieffer onto the coating machine of Koji because Kieffer teaches it will provide the desired outcome of fluid atomization rate or pattern (para. 65, 67).
In regards to claim 9, Koji teaches as discussed, but does not explicitly teach the control system is configured to: identify a first tip orifice size of the tip orifice; determine a current tip orifice size of the tip based on at least one of: an indication of a flow rate of paint through the tip orifice, and an indication of a pressure of the paint; generate a comparison result based on a comparison of the current tip orifice size to the first tip orifice size; and generate a wear status indicative of an amount of wear of the tip based on the comparison result.
However, Kieffer teaches the controller (111) identifies the tip that has been installed, the relationship between the tip characteristics new and wear of the tip and the corresponding flow rate change, show the pressure set and based on data suggest show tip life (fig. 5-7; para. 23, 36-39, 43, 52, 54, 58, 64-65, 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the tip monitoring, flow control and controller/control system of Kieffer onto the coating machine of Koji because Kieffer teaches control of the spray pattern generated by the spraying operation (para. 45).
In regards to claims 10-11, Koji and Kieffer as discussed, where Kieffer teaches the control system comprises determination of thickness of the fluid to be applied to the surface along with adjustments based on tip wear (fig. 7, 12; para. 50, 52, 58) and Koji teaches the first signal (first actuator control signal) to set a moving speed of the nozzle (para. 6, 9-10).
In regards to claim 12-13, Koji and Kieffer as discussed, where Kieffer teaches the control system comprises fluid coverage logic (610) which provides information regarding spray pattern area and coverage area (para. 50, 65).
In regards to claim 14, Koji and Kieffer as discussed, where Kieffer teaches an optical sensor which senses the spray pattern (para. 31, 50).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji as applied to claims 1-2 and 8 above, and further in view of Dawson (US 2023/0009566).
In regards to claims 4-5, Koji teaches as discussed, but does not explicitly teach a position sensor configured to generate a sensor signal indicating a relative position of the spray tip relative to the surface to be sprayed, the control system is configured to: generate the second actuator control signal based on the sensor signal and the movement parameter the movement parameter represents at least one of: a change in the relative position, or a change in the speed.
However, Dawson teaches a mobile spraying system (10) comprising a distance sensor (48, position sensor) which provides distance between the surface of the object and the mobile spraying system, where the information is provided to a control module (28). Dawson teaches the positioning of the mobile spraying system is changed based on the data from the distance sensor in order to maintain the desired distance between the mobile spraying system and the surface of the object (fig. ; para. 60-64, 119-120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the distance sensor and control module of Dawson onto the coating machine of Koji because Dawson teaches it will provide proper positioning between the nozzle of the mobile spraying system and the surface of the object (para. 74, 77).
In regards to claim 6, Koji teaches as discussed, but does not explicitly teach the robotic paint spraying system comprises a ground drone having at least one of: one or more tracks, or one or more wheels.
However, Dawson teaches the mobile spraying system (10) comprises wheels (30/32) on a base (18). Dawson teaches wheels are powered to provide movement to the mobile spraying system (fig. 1a-c; para. 48-49, 73-74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the wheels controlled by the control module of Dawson onto the coating machine of Koji because Dawson teaches it will provide proper positioning between the nozzle of the mobile spraying system and the surface of the object (para. 74, 77)..
In regards to claim 7, Koji teaches as discussed, but does not explicitly teach the robotic paint spraying system comprises an unmanned aerial vehicle.
However, Dawson teaches the mobile spraying system (10) comprises a support (22) which allows vertical (aerial) movement to a nozzle (44) where the movement is controlled by the control module (fig. 1a-c; para. 50, 55, 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the support and control module of Dawson onto the coating machine of Koji because Dawson teaches it will provide proper positioning between the nozzle of the mobile spraying system and the surface of the object (para. 74, 77).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717