DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as expounded below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In considering patentability of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103(a).
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuval et al. (US 2019/0209758; hereinafter “Tuval”) in view of Salahieh et al. (US 2019/0143018; hereinafter “Salahieh”).
Regarding claim 1, Tuval discloses an apparatus, comprising: a ventricular assist device (e.g. ¶¶ 448) comprising: an axial shaft (e.g. Fig. 4, #92); an impeller disposed on the axial shaft (e.g. Fig. 4, #50), the impeller being configured to pump blood (e.g. ¶¶ 460); a frame disposed around the impeller (e.g. Fig. 4, #34); a distal bearing disposed within the frame (e.g. ¶¶ 482 – element 118), the distal end of the axial shaft being configured to engage with the distal bearing such as to prevent the axial shaft from undergoing axial motion in response to variations in the pressure gradient against which the impeller pumps blood (e.g. ¶¶ 489 – where the configuration includes stopper 128 that prevents the axial shaft from undergoing axial motion; where the examiner highlights the claim language does not require the thrust bearing preventing the axial shaft from undergoing axial motion, just that the distal end of the axial shaft is configured in that manner); and a plurality of connecting struts extending radially inwardly from the frame to the distal bearing and coupling the bearing to the frame (e.g. Fig. 4 - struts 40 extend radially inward and couple to bearing 118) the frame and the connecting struts being formed as a single integral body (e.g. Fig. 4 – where it is clear elements #34 and #40 form a single integral body).
Tuval discloses that in some scenarios, a thrust bearing is disposed distally to the impeller and in contact with the subject's blood, such that the thrust bearing is cooled by the subject's blood, in order to maintain the axial position of the impeller; however, the prior art fails to expressly disclose that the bearing element 118 is a distal thrust bearing as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, Salahieh discloses a distal thrust bearing element in order to effectively support both the frame and impeller during rotation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present invention, modify the device of Tuval with the known thrust bearing, as taught by Salahieh, in order to yield the predictable results of maintaining the axial positioning of the impeller, while allowing effective rotation.
Regarding claim 2, Tuval discloses the frame, the connecting struts, and the thrust bearing are all formed as a single integral body (e.g. Figs 6A-C – where it shows that element 34 extends into a component of the thrust bearing which joints the rest of the frame as an integral structure).
Regarding claim 3, Tuval discloses the ventricular assist device further comprises an impeller-stabilizing spring disposed around the axial shaft between a distal end of the impeller and the thrust bearing, the impeller-stabilizing spring being configured to stabilize the distal end of the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 463-465).
Regarding claim 4, Tuval discloses the impeller is configured to be radially constrained by becoming axially elongated and wherein the impeller-stabilizing spring is configured to become compressed such as to accommodate the axial elongation of the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 471 – “the spring is inserted into the cut and shape-set tube while the spring is in an axially compressed state, and the spring is configured to be held in position with respect to the tube, by exerting a radial force upon the proximal and distal bushings”).
Regarding claim 5, Tuval discloses the impeller-stabilizing spring is coupled to a distal end of the impeller (e.g. ¶¶ 465 – “distal ends of spring 54 and helical elongate elements 52 extend from a distal bushing 58 of the impeller”).
Regarding claim 6, Tuval discloses the ventricular assist device further comprises a proximal bearing and a proximal impeller-stabilizing spring disposed around the axial shaft between a proximal end of the impeller and the proximal bearing (e.g. ¶¶ 465 – “proximal ends of spring 54 and helical elongate elements 52 extend from a proximal bushing (i.e., sleeve bearing) 64 of the impeller”).
Regarding claim 7, Tuval discloses the impeller-stabilizing spring is coupled to the thrust bearing (e.g. ¶¶ 465 – where the examiner considers the spring coupled to the thrust bearing through the distal impeller bushing and axial shaft 92).
Regarding claim 8, Tuval discloses an elastomeric material that is coupled to the impeller-stabilizing spring, such that at least a portion of the axial shaft between a distal end of the impeller and the thrust bearing is covered by a combination of the impeller-stabilizing spring and the elastomeric material (e.g. ¶¶ 559 – “the distal tip portion may include a spring 249 and/or an elastomeric material that is configured to retract the distal end of the distal tip portion”).
Regarding claim 9, Tuval discloses the impeller-stabilizing spring is coated with the elastomeric material (e.g. ¶¶ 475 – “silicone”).
Regarding claims 10-11, Tuval discloses the impeller-stabilizing spring is embedded within the elastomeric material comprising at least one of silicone and polyurethane (e.g. ¶¶ 475 – “silicone”).
Regarding claim 12, Tuval discloses the ventricular assist device comprises a purging system that is configured to pump a purging fluid through a lumen defined by the axial shaft, such that at least a portion of the purging fluid flows proximally through an interface between the axial shaft and the combination of the impeller-stabilizing spring and the elastomeric material (e.g. ¶¶ 452, 499, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Tuval discloses the elastomeric material is coupled to the impeller-stabilizing spring in such a manner that the elastomeric material changes shape to conform to shape changes that the impeller-stabilizing spring undergoes (e.g. ¶¶ 475 – “the material (e.g., silicone) changes shape to conform to the shape changes of the helical elongate elements and the axial support spring, both of which support the film of material”).
Regarding claim 14, Tuval discloses the elastomeric material is configured to undergo the changes in shape without the elastomeric material becoming broken or collapsing (e.g. ¶¶ 475 – “using a spring to support the inner edge of the film allows the film to change shape without the film becoming broken or collapsing”).
Regarding claim 15, Tuval discloses the elastomeric material is configured not to become creased as a result of the impeller-stabilizing spring being compressed (e.g. ¶¶ 477).
Regarding claim 16, Tuval discloses the ventricular assist device further comprises a pump-outlet tube configured to traverse an aortic valve of the subject, such that a proximal portion of the pump-outlet tube is disposed within an aorta of the subject and a distal portion of the pump-outlet tube is disposed within the subject's left ventricle, the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube extending to the distal end of the frame and defining one or more lateral blood inlet openings that are configured to allow blood to flow from the subject's left ventricle into the pump-outlet tube (e.g. ¶¶ 455).
Regarding claim 17, Tuval discloses a porosity of the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube, which defines the blood-inlet openings, is lower within a proximal region of the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube than within a distal region of the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube that is distal to the proximal region (e.g. ¶¶ 18).
Regarding claim 18, Tuval discloses the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube has a porosity of more than 40 percent (e.g. ¶¶ 455 – between 2-8 openings).
Regarding claims 19-20, Tuval discloses that the openings are sized (a) to allow blood to flow from the subject's left ventricle into the tube and (b) to block structures from the subject's left ventricle from entering into the frame (e.g. ¶¶ 455 – “preventing retrograde blood flow into the left ventricle from the aorta”) but fails to expressly disclose the distal portion of the pump-outlet tube defines more than 50 blood-inlet openings. With regard to additional openings, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. In addition, with more openings, a size change would be expected; however, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify the number and size of inlet openings to more than 10 or more than 50, as the modification of these components are recognized as within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796