DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 regarding drawing objections Applicant states figures 8 and 9a-c are correct and have no errors.
While the Examiner remains unsure, particularly if item 580 is pointing to the same structure in the different figures, the objection is herein withdrawn based on Applicant’s statement.
On pages 9-10 regarding 112 rejections Applicant argues the “wedge element” is clear since it meets the definition of the verb “to wedge” from Merriam-Webster, inasmuch as item 580 is “forced into the space between where the primary tabs 506a, 506b separate from one another and is tightened against the primary tabs…by suture lines 512 and the flexible member 504 extending across the wedge element 580” (sic). Applicant argues the wedge member helps prevent the portion of the commissure on the outside of the commissure window to be pulled through the window into the interior of the frame, and argues this is not unclear.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting the “forcing” or cramming of the element 580 does not appear to be present in the specification, and only the element 580’s location can be understood, not is mechanism of action or the amount of force applied.
On pages 10-17 Applicant states amendments overcome the rejection of record.
The Examiner respectfully refers to the rejection below regarding amended claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “expansion and locking mechanisms” in claims 18-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8, 14-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 6-8, 14-15, 20 are indefinite for referring to a “wedge element”. A “wedge” is defined by Merriam-Webster as “a piece of a substance (such as wood or iron) that tapers to a thin edge and is used for splitting wood and rocks, raising heavy bodies, or for tightening by being driven into something; something wedge-shaped”. The specification defines the “wedge element” in [0102] as being “a relatively heavy gauge suture, such as a braided suture (e.g., an Ethibond suture), or a piece of fabric”. However, a suture or piece of fabric is neither understood to function or be shaped as is required by Merriam-Webster to be considered to be a wedge. Similarly, Applicant’s figures which show the “wedge element” (e.g. Figure 8-9c item 580) do not show any element that is wedge-shaped. The Examiner is accordingly unclear on what exactly is required for an element to be considered a “wedge element”, if it does not need to be shaped like a wedge, or function like a wedge. This claim term is accordingly unclear and its scope cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-16, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi et al. (US 20120123529 A1) hereinafter known as Levi in view of Kaleta et al. (US 20210346154 A1) hereinafter known as Kaleta.
Regarding claim 1 Levi discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising:an annular frame comprising a plurality of struts (Figures 1-4 item 12),
a plurality of leaflets arranged within the frame (Figure 2 item 40),
at least one commissure (Figures 27-29 item 122; [0076]) comprising commissure tabs of two adjacent leaflets connected to each other (Figures 21-24, 26, and 29 item 116), the commissure being coupled to the frame (Figures 27 and 29; [0076]),
but is silent with regards to the inclusion of a radiopaque marker which is separate from the frame and attached to the commissure, wherein the marker is configured to indicate a location of the commissure of the valve, wherein the marker is sewn to an exterior surface of the commissure that faces radially outward from the frame and is spaced from the exterior of the frame by the commissure tabs.
However, regarding claim 1 Kaleta teaches prosthetic heart valves can include at least one radiopaque marker separate from the frame attached to the commissure (Abstract), wherein the marker is configured to indicate a location of the commissure of the prosthetic heart valve ([0068]), wherein the marker is sewn to an exterior surface of the commissure that faces radially outward from the frame ([0096]).
Levi and Kaleta are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of Levi to include a marker as is taught by Kaleta in order to assist the cardiac interventionalist in accurately implanting the valve within a patient easier, thus reducing the length of time of the surgery and so increasing safety for the patient.
Further, as regards the marker being spaced from the exterior of the frame by the commissure tabs, Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip ([0076]) which can be seen to lie outside the commissure tabs 116 (Figure 29).
Regarding claim 3 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses a flexible member which has a radially outward facing surface, and which is connected to the commissure tabs and forms part of the commissure (Figures 23-24, 27, 29, item 124).
Further, as regards the marker being sewn to that outward facing surface of the flexible member (124), Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned outward of the flexible fabric member 124.
Regarding claim 4 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the frame comprises a plurality of commissure supports (Figure 11 item 60), each corresponding support defining a commissure window in the frame (Figure 11 item 62),
wherein at least a portion of the commissure tabs extend radially through the window and are secured to and around outer surfaces of strut portions of the support defining the window (Figures 27, 29-30; [0076][0077], [0180]), and
wherein the commissure includes a flexible member that covers outer surfaces of the commissure tabs on an exterior surface of the frame (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124; [0076]).
Regarding claim 5 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 4 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses outer surfaces of the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window and at a location where the commissure tabs separate from one another to extend around outer surfaces of the strut portions of the corresponding commissure support (Figure 29 shows outer surfaces of tabs 116 which separate from one another around the commissure window) ,
and wherein the Combination teaches the marker is arranged against the outer surfaces of the commissure tabs at the split location (see Kaleta Figure 13 which shows the marker 1638 disposed in a circular shape around the commissure window, with relation to Figures 27 and 29 of Levi, which shows how the tabs 116 are positioned through and around the commissure window, indicating a circular marker 1638 would obviously span between both tabs 116 around the window at the location where the tabs split).
Regarding claim 6 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 4 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses a wedge element (Figure 29 item 126) secured to the commissure tabs (Figure 29 item 116) exterior to the commissure window and at a location where the tabs separate from one another to extend around outer surfaces of the strut portions of the commissure support (Figure 29 item 126), and
wherein the wedge element is disposed between the commissure tabs and flexible member (Figure 29).
Regarding claim 7 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 6 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the marker being disposed between the wedge element and flexible member.
However, regarding claim 7 the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to include the marker anywhere within the extent of the commissure of the Levi Kaleta Combination, including between the flexible member (124) and wedge element (126), since the precise radial location of the marker at the commissure is non-essential and since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). As long as the marker stays at the commissure, its precise spot of attachment between layers is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try. This is further considered a non-restrictable alternative to the embodiment of claim 5 (please reference the rejection to claim 5 above)), with the marker being stitched to the radially outward facing surface of the fabric.
Regarding claim 8 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 6 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination teaches the marker being attached to an outer surface of the flexible member (124), with the flexible member (124) being disposed between the marker and the wedge (126) (Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip 124 ([0076]), and the wedge 126 is seen to lie at a location inside of where the marker would lie in the Combination).
Regarding claim 10 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the marker is rectangular with rounded edges (Figure 13 item 1638 shows a washer which is understood to take the shape of a rectangle with rounded edges). Levi and Kaleta are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the marker of the Levi Kaleta Combination so that it is rectangular with rounded edges as is taught by Kaleta since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Regarding claim 11 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Kaleta further teaches the marker is tantalum ([0081]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the marker comprise tantalum as is taught by Kaleta it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 23 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the commissure includes a piece of fabric ([0076] flexible connector 124 made of fabric) that covers outer surfaces of the commissure tabs on an exterior surface of the frame (Figure 29 shows the connector 124 covering outer surfaces of tabs 116),
but is silent with regards to the piece of fabric covering the marker so the marker is positioned between the fabric and the tabs.
However, as regards the marker being disposed between the fabric (124) and tabs (116), the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to include the marker anywhere within the extent of the commissure of the Levi Kaleta Combination, including between tabs (116) and flexible member (124) since the precise radial location of the marker at the commissure is non-essential and since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). As long as the marker stays at the commissure, its precise spot of attachment between layers is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try. This is further considered a non-restrictable alternative to the embodiment of claim 5 (please reference the rejection to claim 5 above)), with the marker being stitched to the radially outward facing surface of the fabric.
Regarding claim 12 Levi discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising:
a frame with an inflow end (Figures 4-5 lower end of the frame 12 near row I), outflow end (Figures 4-5 upper end of the frame 12 near row V) and support posts (Figure 11 item 60) with a commissure window (Figure 11 item 62),
a plurality of leaflets (Figure 2 item 40) arranged within the frame and configured to regulate a flow of blood through the frame in one direction between the inflow and outflow end (Figure 2; [0019]; see also Figure 43 for open leaflets and Figure 44 for closed leaflets),
at least one commissure (Figures 27-29 item 122; [0076]) comprising commissure tabs of two adjacent leaflets connected to each other (Figures 21-24, 26, and 29 item 116), and extending radially through the commissure window of a corresponding support post wherein the commissure is connected to the corresponding support post (Figures 27, 29-30; [0076]), wherein the commissure comprises a piece of fabric ([0076] flexible connector 124 made of fabric) secured to the commissure tabs with one or more sutures ([0077]),
but is silent with regards to the inclusion of a radiopaque marker.
However, regarding claim 12 Kaleta teaches prosthetic heart valves can include a radiopaque marker attached to the commissure (Abstract) at a location radially outward from an exterior of the frame (Figure 13 shows marker 1638 outside the frame; [0096]), wherein the marker is secured to the piece of fabric by one or more sutures ([0096]), and
wherein the marker is configured to indicate a location of the commissure of the prosthetic heart valve ([0068]).
Levi and Kaleta are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of Levi to include a marker as is taught by Kaleta in order to assist the cardiac interventionalist in accurately implanting the valve within a patient easier, thus reducing the length of time of the surgery and so increasing safety for the patient.
Further, as regards the marker being positioned radially outward of a portion of the commissure tabs, Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip ([0076]) which can be seen to lie outside the commissure tabs 116 (Figure 29).
Regarding claim 13 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Kaleta further teaches the marker is secured to a radially outward facing surface of the commissure (Figure 13; [0096]).
Regarding claim 14 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the commissure comprises a wedge element disposed against the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Figure 29 item 126; [0076]), wherein the piece of fabric covers the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124), wherein the wedge element is disposed interior to the piece of fabric relative to a central longitudinal axis of the frame (Figure 29 shows the wedge element 126 extending radially inward more than the flexible member 124 at its location),
wherein the Combination further teaches wherein the marker is stitched to a radially outward facing surface of the piece of fabric (Kaleta teaches that the markers can be sutured to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip ([0076]) which can be seen to lie outside the commissure tabs 116 (Figure 29).)
Regarding claim 15 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the commissure comprises a wedge element disposed against the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Figure 29 item 126; [0076]), wherein the piece of fabric covers the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124),
wherein the wedge element is disposed interior to the piece of fabric relative to a central longitudinal axis of the frame (Figure 29 shows the wedge element 126 extending radially inward more than the flexible member 124 at its location)
but is silent with regards to the marker being disposed between the piece of fabric and wedge element.
However, regarding claim 15 the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to include the marker anywhere within the extent of the commissure of the Levi Kaleta Combination, including between the flexible member (124) and wedge element (126), since the precise radial location of the marker at the commissure is non-essential and since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). As long as the marker stays at the commissure, its precise spot of attachment between layers is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try. This is further considered a non-restrictable alternative to the embodiment of claim 14 (please reference the rejection to claim 14 below)), with the marker being stitched to the radially outward facing surface of the fabric.
Regarding claim 16 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses wherein the piece of fabric covers the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124),
and wherein the Combination further teaches the marker is arranged against the commissure tabs exterior to the commissure window (Kaleta teaches that the markers can be sutured to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip ([0076]) which can be seen to lie outside the commissure tabs 116 (Figure 29).),
but is silent with regards to the marker being disposed interior to the piece of fabric such that the marker is disposed between the commissure tabs and the piece of fabric.
However, regarding claim 16 the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to include the marker anywhere within the extent of the commissure of the Levi Kaleta Combination, including between tabs (116) and fabric (124) since the precise radial location of the marker at the commissure is non-essential and since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). As long as the marker stays at the commissure, its precise spot of attachment between layers is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try. This is further considered a non-restrictable alternative to the embodiment of claim 14 (please reference the rejection to claim 14 below)), with the marker being stitched to the radially outward facing surface of the fabric.
Claims 9, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi and Kaleta as is applied above, further in view of Peterson et al. (US 20210275298 A1), hereinafter known as Peterson.
Regarding claim 9 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the marker being C-shaped.
However, regarding claim 9 Peterson teaches a heart valve marker can be C-shaped ([0018]). Levi and Peterson are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the marker of the Levi Kaleta Combination so that it is C-shaped as is taught by Peterson in order to ensure the marker is rotationally non-symmetric, and thus allowing the cardiac interventionalist to easily identify the orientation of the valve during implantation.
Regarding claim 17 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the marker being reflection asymmetric.
However, regarding claim 17 Peterson teaches a heart valve marker can be C-shaped, and thus being reflection asymmetric across an axis that is parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the frame which extends between the inflow and outflow end of the frame ([0018]). Levi and Peterson are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely prosthetic heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the shape of the marker of the Levi Kaleta Combination so that it is C-shaped as is taught by Peterson in order to ensure the marker is rotationally non-symmetric, and thus allowing the cardiac interventionalist to easily identify the orientation of the valve during implantation.
Claims 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi and Kaleta as is applied above, further in view of Cohen et al. (US 20190060057 A1) hereinafter known as Cohen, and further in view of Peterson as is applied above.
Regarding claim 18 the Levi Kaleta Combination teaches the valve of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the frame having a plurality of mechanical expansion and locking mechanisms that are configured to radially expand and compress the frame.
However, regarding claim 18 Cohen teaches a heart valve (Figure 1 item 100) a heart valve in which a frame (Figure 2 item 102) has support posts that each include one or more expansion and locking mechanisms (Figure 2 items 130) configured to radially expand or compress the frame ([0048]). Levi and Cohen are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Levi Kaleta Combination to include expansion and locking mechanisms as is taught by Cohen in order to assist the interventional cardiovascular surgeon in expanding the frame in question carefully and precisely in order to avoid over or under expansion, thus increasing the likelihood of a proper fit for the patient.
Further, regarding claim 18 Peterson further teaches a heart valve can include posts alternating with commissure posts (Figure 38d item 3826 shows six posts/commissure posts). Levi and Peterson are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Levi Kaleta Cohen Combination so that the valve includes six posts as is taught by Peterson, since the addition of posts is known to add additional axial support to the stent, and thus increase stability when implanted. In this combination, the expansion and locking elements of Cohen are understood to either alternate with the posts of Peterson, or there are understood to obviously be six expansion and locking mechanisms, half of which are considered to be “posts” and half of which are considered to be “expansion and locking mechanisms” for the purposes of this claim.
Regarding claim 19 Levi discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising:
a frame (Figures 1-4 item 12) comprising a plurality of support posts (Figure 11 item 60) including a commissure window (Figure 11 item 62), and being spaced apart around a circumference of the frame (Figures 4-5),
a plurality of leaflets arranged within the frame (Figure 2 item 40) configured to regulate a flow of blood in one direction (Figure 2; [0019]; see also Figure 43 for open leaflets and Figure 44 for closed leaflets),
at least one commissure (Figures 27-29 item 122; [0076]) comprising commissure tabs of two adjacent leaflets connected to each other (Figures 21-24, 26, and 29 item 116), and extending radially through the commissure window of a corresponding support post wherein the commissure is connected to the corresponding support post (Figures 27, 29-30; [0076]),
but is silent with regards to there being a radiopaque marker attached to the commissure at a location outward from an exterior of the frame, wherein the marker is positioned radially outward of at least a portion of the commissure tabs, and the marker is configured to indicate a location of the commissure of the prosthetic valve,
and each support post including one or more expansion and locking mechanisms.
However, regarding claim 19 Kaleta teaches a heart valve which includes a radiopaque marker attached to the commissure (Abstract) at a location radially outward from an exterior of the frame (Figure 13 shows marker 1638 outside the frame; [0096]), wherein the marker is configured to indicate a location of the commissure of the prosthetic heart valve ([0068]),
and Cohen teaches a heart valve in which a frame has support posts that each include one or more expansion and locking mechanisms (Figure 2 item 130) configured to radially expand or compress the frame ([0048]), each mechanism comprising a pair of axially aligned posts (Figure 2 items 136, 134) and a threaded rod extending through the posts (Figure 2 item 132; [0048] threaded rod). Levi and Kaleta are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of Levi to include a marker as is taught by Kaleta in order to assist the cardiac interventionalist in accurately implanting the valve within a patient easier, thus reducing the length of time of the surgery and so increasing safety for the patient. Further, Levi and Cohen are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Levi Kaleta Combination to include expansion and locking mechanisms as is taught by Cohen in order to assist the interventional cardiovascular surgeon in expanding the frame in question carefully and precisely in order to avoid over or under expansion, thus increasing the likelihood of a proper fit for the patient.
Further, regarding claim 19 Peterson further teaches a heart valve can include posts alternating with commissure posts (Figure 38d item 3826 shows six posts/commissure posts). Levi and Peterson are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely heart valves. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the valve of the Levi Kaleta Cohen Combination so that the valve includes six posts as is taught by Peterson, since the addition of posts is known to add additional axial support to the stent, and thus increase stability when implanted. In this combination, the expansion and locking elements of Cohen are understood to either alternate with the posts of Peterson, or there are understood to obviously be six expansion and locking mechanisms, half of which are considered to be “posts” and half of which are considered to be “expansion and locking mechanisms” for the purposes of this claim.
Further, as regards the marker being positioned radially outward of a portion of the commissure tabs, Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and reinforcement strip 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned separate from the frame 12 of the Combination, by a fabric, including that of the reinforcement strip ([0076]) which can be seen to lie outside the commissure tabs 116 (Figure 29).
Regarding claim 20 the Levi Kaleta Cohen Combination teaches the valve of claim 19 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the commissure comprises a wedge element (Figure 29 item 126) disposed against and between the commissure tabs on an exterior of the commissure window (Figure 29 item 126; [0076]) and a flexible member (Figure 29 item 124) covering at least a portion of the commissure tabs (116) on the exterior of the commissure window (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124),
the wedge element disposed between the flexible member and the commissure tabs (Figure 29),
and wherein the Combination teaches the marker is attached to an outer surface of the flexible member that faces away from the frame (Kaleta teaches that the markers can be attached to the posts either directly, or to fabric surrounding the frame during manufacture ([0096]). Since Levi’s manufacture involves the folding and placement of the commissure tabs 116 and flexible member 124 outside the frame as is seen in figures 27, 29, the person of ordinary skill would have found it obvious to have the markers of the Combination positioned outward of the flexible member 124.).
Regarding claim 21 the Levi Kaleta Cohen Combination teaches es the valve of claim 19 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Levi further discloses the commissure comprises a flexible member covering at least a portion of the commissure tabs on the exterior of the commissure window (Figures 23-25, 27, 29 item 124),
and wherein the Combination further teaches the marker is disposed against and between the commissure tabs on an exterior surface of the commissure window (see Kaleta Figure 13 which shows the marker 1638 disposed in a circular shape around the commissure window, with relation to Figures 27 and 29 of Levi, which shows how the tabs 116 are positioned through and around the commissure window, indicating a circular marker 1638 would span between both tabs 116 around the window).
Further, as regards the marker being disposed between the flexible member (124) and tabs (116), the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to include the marker anywhere within the extent of the commissure of the Levi Kaleta Combination, including between tabs (116) and flexible member (124) since the precise radial location of the marker at the commissure is non-essential and since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). As long as the marker stays at the commissure, its precise spot of attachment between layers is considered obvious to the person of ordinary skill to try. This is further considered a non-restrictable alternative to the embodiments of claim 20 (please reference the rejection to claim 20 above)) with the marker being stitched to the radially outward facing surface of the fabric.
Regarding claim 22 the Levi Kaleta Cohen Combination teaches the valve of claim 19 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Cohen further teaches the pair of axially aligned posts extend between an inflow end and outflow end of the frame (Figure 11 the posts extend the entire length of the frame and then further to attach to a delivery device), and are axially moveable relative to one another to permit the frame to radially expand or compress ([0048]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774