DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, corresponding to Claims 1-10, in the reply filed on March 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section of the Specification does not provide the status of parent application Serial No. 16/938,072 as an issued patent, i.e., U.S. Patent No. 12,006,605. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the array of standing fibers comprises an “ordinarily solid material” that can be selected from a group that includes nitrogen and oxygen. Claim 4 recites the multiple layers of nonwoven fibers comprise an “ordinarily solid material” that can be selected from a group that includes nitrogen and oxygen. Claim 6 recites the matrix comprises an “ordinarily solid material” that can be selected from a group that includes nitrogen and oxygen. However, nitrogen and oxygen are not ordinarily solid; rather, nitrogen and oxygen are gaseous. As such, the scope of Claims 4 and 6 is unclear.
Claim 9 recites “a thin layer of expendable material” in line 6. The term “thin layer” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin layer” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. How thin must the layer be in order to satisfy this limitation? How thick must the layer be in order to fall outside the scope of this limitation? The scope of Claim 9 and its dependent claims is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0004393 to Pegna et al. (“Pegna”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0047047 to Mark (“Mark”) or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0173032 to Lomasney (“Lomasney”), and further in view of Duty et al., “Z-pinning approach for 3D printing mechanically isotropic materials,” Additive Manufacturing, Volume 27, pp. 175-184 (May 2019) (“Duty”).
With regard to Claims 1 and 9, Pegna is related to forming a plurality of fibers using laser-induced chemical vapor deposition. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Pegna discloses a three-dimensional array of fibers comprising an array of standing fibers extending perpendicular to a lateral plane. Figure 7 and paragraphs [0060] to [0062]. Pegna shows that the array of fibers extend from the base substrate as a fiber forest. Figures 1, 4, and 10. Pegna also discloses that the fibers grow to an equal height extending perpendicular from the base substrate. Paragraph [0063] (“Fibers grow in unison, and to the same height. … This makes it possible to track fiber growth, and even backtrack to retrieve fibers that stopped growing without affecting any of the other already grown fibers. This unique feature of the CtP laser bars is expected to represent a major advantage in controlling future parallel LCVD growth for fiber arrays.”) (Emphasis added). Pegna does not specify the base substrate used to grow the fibers is an expendable film, a metal base, or a mandrel substrate. Mark is also related to additive manufacturing of materials, including fibers and filaments. See, e.g., Abstract, paragraph [0115], entire document. Mark teaches that a release film layer can be used to allow the printed material to be removed from the substrate. Paragraph [0006]. Lomasney is also related to additive manufacturing of materials to produce composite materials. See, e.g., Abstract, paragraph [0002], entire document. Lomasney teaches that suitable substrate materials for additive manufacturing include mandrels, which allow the substrate to be removed after formation of the added material. Paragraph [0033]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use an expendable film or a mandrel substrate to deposit the standing array of fibers disclosed by Pegna in order to provide a three-dimensional material that can be removed from the substrate for subsequent use, as disclosed by Mark or Lomasney. Pegna also does not disclose utilizing a structure of multiple layers of discrete nonwoven parallel fibers running in between the array of standing fibers, wherein fibers in different layers are formed of a different material. Duty is related to a z-pinning approach for additive manufacturing, such as 3d printing, of mechanically isotropic materials. See, e.g., Abstract, entire document. Duty teaches that multiple layers of discrete nonwoven parallel fibers can be placed between an array of z-pins in order to provide a structure for the composite material with improved strength in each of the x-, y-, and z-dimensions. Page 175 and Figure 3. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide an array of discrete, nonwoven parallel fibers into the array of standing fibers disclosed by Pegna in order to provide a structure for the composite material during additive manufacturing with strength in each dimension, as shown to be known by Duty. As to the fibers in different layers being formed of a different material, Duty teaches that “the deposition of multiple materials that are not chemically or thermally compatible” can be practiced in their invention. Page 177. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to use different materials in the different fiber layers of the combination of Pegna with Mark and Duty in order to form a product with a non-uniform construction, as shown to be well known in the art by Duty. With regard to Claims 2 and 3, Duty shows that pattern of fiber layer orientations can be 0-90 or 0-60-120. See, e.g., Figures 3 and 6. With regard to Claim 4, Pegna teaches the array of standing fibers can comprise boron, carbon, or silicon, Abstract, and Duty teaches that the parallel fibers can comprise carbon fiber. Abstract. With regard to Claim 5, Pegna teaches that multiple materials can be used in the additive manufacturing process. Paragraph [0047]. With regard to Claim 6, Mark teaches that a metal base can be used, paragraph [0109], and Lomasney teaches that a metal mandrel can be used. Paragraph [0033]. With regard to Claim 7, Lomasney discloses the mandrel can have a circular shape for wrapping, Figure 8, and Duty discloses that multiple layers of discrete nonwoven fibers can be used. Figure 3. With regard to Claim 10, each fiber added in the thickness direction of the composite material disclosed by Duty can be considered to be its own separate layer as a matter of nomenclature.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pegna in view of Mark or Lomasney, and further in view of Duty as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0087214 to Harrison et al. (“Harrison”).
With regard to Claim 8, the combination of Pegna with Mark or Lomasney and Duty does not disclose using an interphase material to coat the fiber. Harrison is also related to additive manufacturing processes to form composite materials. Harrison teaches that an interphase coating can be provided on a fiber surface to separate the fiber from the matrix. Paragraph [0044]. Harrison teaches that the use of an interphase coating enhances fracture toughness. Paragraph [0045]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to provide an interphase coating to the discrete nonwoven fibers disclosed by the combination of Pegna with Mark or Lomasney and Duty in order to improve fracture toughness, as shown to be known by Harrison.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,006,605 (“the ‘605 Patent”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘605 Patent also claims a fiber forest comprising a two-dimensional array of standing fibers of equal height extending within the non-woven fabric perpendicular to a surface of the non-woven fabric; multiple layers of non-woven discrete fibers within the non-woven fabric running parallel to the surface of the non-woven fabric in between the array of standing fibers in a defined pattern of fiber layer orientations, wherein fibers of the multiple layers of non-woven discrete fibers running parallel to the surface of the non-woven fabric are laser chemical vapor deposition (LCVD) formed fibers; and wherein standing fibers of the array of standing fibers of equal height extending perpendicular to the surface of the non-woven fabric are anchored into a metal base substrate, and form a hybrid-composite with the metal base substrate integrally joined by the standing fibers to a composite material structure comprising a matrix material surrounding the multiple layers of non-woven discrete fibers within the non-woven fabric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the parent application, Serial No. 16/938,072 on December 8, 2023, as they pertain to the current set of claims, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Pegna, Mark, and Duty fail to provide any discussion of a nonwoven fabric, per se. However, the combination of references above do not need to utilize the phrase “nonwoven fabric” in order to structurally satisfy the claim limitations, wherein the conditions of a nonwoven fabric are satisfied by the presence of a fiber forest providing an array of standing fibers and multiple layers of discrete parallel fibers running between the array of standing fibers. Using different nomenclature to provide a structurally similar material does not form a basis for patentability. The fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant argues that the “discrete fibers” presently claimed are contrasted with the 3d printing approaches disclosed in Duty, which are formed in a layer-by-layer build up of materials. The Examiner disagrees. Discrete fibers can be formed using any additive manufacturing process, whether laser chemical vapor deposition or 3d printing. Duty even teaches that “the layered build approach does not allow for deposition of continuous material across successive layers, mechanical anisotropy is magnified in the z-direction. Any force that is transmitted across adjacent layers in the z-direction must occur at discrete interfaces between materials laying in the x–y planes.” Page 175. Moreover, Applicant has not properly defined “discrete” in the Specification to distinguish the structure from that disclosed in Duty. The multiple arrays of parallel fibers in Duty are in contact with adjacent fibers, Figure 3, but in such a configuration the fibers are visually discrete from one another, even if in contact.
Conclusion
JEREMY R. PIERCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/JEREMY R PIERCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789