DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5-9, 13-18, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the claims has been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 discloses “the set of new or upgraded functions or operations has been installed in the software and/or hardware of at the base station”, in lines 8-10. For clarity and consistency, it is suggested to amend the limitation to “the set of new or upgraded functions or operations has been installed in the software and/or hardware of [[at]] the base station”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-12, 15, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu et al., (hereinafter Ryu), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0329455, in view of Ni et al., (hereinafter Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2017/0346682.
As per claim 1, Ryu discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a base station in a mobile network [fig. 2, 3, paragraphs 0145, 0165, a base station in a mobile network (5G system may be a 3GPP system comprising of 5G access network 105, 5G core network and a UE 100)], a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE [fig. 5A, 8, 16, paragraphs 0146, 0149, 0158, 0295, 0315, receiving, by a base station in a mobile network, a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE (a UE 100 may register with the network to receive services that require registration; send paging messages over the N2 interface to relevant base stations (gNBs/eNBs) belonging to the tracking areas at which the UE is expected to be placed)];
identifying a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station [paragraphs 0146, 0157, 0218, 0226, 0230, 0231, identifying a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station (service may be supported via PDU sessions that are established upon request from the UE 100; activation of the PDU session may be accepted by the SMF 160 and matching the functionality and features required for a UE)];
generating a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0129, 0156, 0218-0220, 0243, 0252, 0253, 0347, generating a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station (identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated)];
inserting the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0156, 0197, 0218, 0219, 0253, 0347, 0445, inserting the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message (AN message comprising AN parameters, mobility management, MM NAS service request 1005 (e.g., list of PDU sessions to be activated); IE to verify if the context transfer service operation)]; and
sending, by the base station, the message to a node of the mobile network [fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0143, 0196, 0221, 0243, sending, by the base station, the message to a node of the mobile network ((R)AN 105 between AMF 155 and other functions such as SMF 160 that may need to control the services; (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)]; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 2, Ryu discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the node of the mobile network comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) [Abstract, fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0196, 0221, 0243, 0252, wherein the node of the mobile network comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (base station receives, from an access and mobility management function (AMF))].
As per claim 3, Ryu discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the message comprises one of a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request [fig. 8, 10, 12, paragraphs 0194, 0218, 0258, wherein the message comprises one of a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request (the UE 100 may send to the (R)AN 105 an AN message 805 (comprising registration request); the PDU session establishment request message)].
As per claim 4, Ryu discloses the method of claim 3,
wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Policy Control Function (PCF) of the mobile network for a policy control response or action or for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE [fig. 10, 11, 13, 23, paragraphs 0158, 0190, 0216, wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE (the UE 100 triggers the establishment of a PDU session; selected SMF 160 may establish the PDU session; the UE 100 or network may send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE 100 to a SMF 160)].
As per claim 7, Ryu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station further comprises at least one of the following:
identifying installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; identifying installation of a Voice over New Radio (NR) Service feature at the base station; identifying installation of a network slicing UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; or identifying installation of a high throughput feature at the base station [fig. 9, paragraphs 0209, 0213, 0214, 0272, 0274, 0347, identifying installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station (provide updated policies; UE-AMBR may be provided to NG-RAN by the AMF 155)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling.
However, Ni teaches identifying a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 9, Ryu discloses a base station of a mobile network [fig. 2, 3, paragraphs 0145, 0165, a base station in a mobile network (5G system may be a 3GPP system comprising of 5G access network 105, 5G core network and a UE 100)], comprising:
at least one communication interface configured to communicate via the mobile network; and at least one processor [fig. 3, 4, paragraphs 0126, 0431, at least one communication interface configured to communicate via the mobile network; and at least one processor (a base station, and/or the like, may comprise one or more processors and memory)] configured to:
receive, via the at least one communication interface, a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE [fig. 5A, 8, 16, paragraphs 0146, 0149, 0158, 0295, 0315, receive, via the at least one communication interface, a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE (a UE 100 may register with the network to receive services that require registration; send paging messages over the N2 interface to relevant base stations (gNBs/eNBs) belonging to the tracking areas at which the UE is expected to be placed)];
identify a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station [paragraphs 0146, 0157, 0218, 0226, 0230, 0231, identify a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station (service may be supported via PDU sessions that are established upon request from the UE 100; activation of the PDU session may be accepted by the SMF 160 and matching the functionality and features required for a UE)];
generate a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0129, 0156, 0218-0220, 0243, 0252, 0253, 0347, generate a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station (identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated)];
insert the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0156, 0197, 0218, 0219, 0253, 0347, 0445, insert the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message (AN message comprising AN parameters, mobility management, MM NAS service request 1005 (e.g., list of PDU sessions to be activated); IE to verify if the context transfer service operation)]; and
send, via the at least one communication interface, the message to a node of a mobile network [fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0143, 0196, 0221, 0243, send, via the at least one communication interface, the message to a node of a mobile network ((R)AN 105 between AMF 155 and other functions such as SMF 160 that may need to control the services; (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)]; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 10, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 9,
wherein the node of the mobile network comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) [Abstract, fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0196, 0221, 0243, 0252, wherein the node of the mobile network comprises an Access and Mobility Management Function (base station receives, from an access and mobility management function (AMF))].
As per claim 11, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 9,
wherein the message comprises one of a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request [fig. 8, 10, 12, paragraphs 0194, 0218, 0258, wherein the message comprises one of a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request (the UE 100 may send to the (R)AN 105 an AN message 805 (comprising registration request); the PDU session establishment request message)].
As per claim 12, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 11,
wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Policy Control Function (PCF) of the mobile network for a policy control response or action or for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE [fig. 10, 11, 13, 23, paragraphs 0158, 0190, 0216, wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE (the UE 100 triggers the establishment of a PDU session; selected SMF 160 may establish the PDU session; the UE 100 or network may send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE 100 to a SMF 160)].
As per claim 15, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 9, wherein, when identifying the local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, the processor is further configured to perform at least one of the following:
identify installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; identify installation of a Voice over New Radio (NR) Service feature at the base station; identify installation of a network slicing UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; or identify installation of a high throughput feature at the base station [fig. 9, paragraphs 0209, 0213, 0214, 0272, 0274, 0347, identifying installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station (provide updated policies; UE-AMBR may be provided to NG-RAN by the AMF 155)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling.
However, Ni teaches identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 17, Ryu discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions executable by a base station of a mobile network, wherein execution of the instructions cause the base station to:
receive a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE [fig. 5A, 8, 16, paragraphs 0146, 0149, 0158, 0295, 0315, receive, a message from a User Equipment device (UE) that is related to providing mobile network service to the UE (a UE 100 may register with the network to receive services that require registration; send paging messages over the N2 interface to relevant base stations (gNBs/eNBs) belonging to the tracking areas at which the UE is expected to be placed)];
identify a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station [paragraphs 0146, 0157, 0218, 0226, 0230, 0231, identify a local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, including identifying a set of new or upgraded features of the base station (service may be supported via PDU sessions that are established upon request from the UE 100; activation of the PDU session may be accepted by the SMF 160 and matching the functionality and features required for a UE)];
generate a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0129, 0156, 0218-0220, 0243, 0252, 0253, 0347, generate a data identifier that identifies each new or upgraded features of the base station (identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated)];
insert the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0156, 0197, 0218, 0219, 0253, 0347, 0445, insert the data identifier into an information element (IE) of the message (AN message comprising AN parameters, mobility management, MM NAS service request 1005 (e.g., list of PDU sessions to be activated); IE to verify if the context transfer service operation)]; and
send the message to a node of a mobile network [fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0143, 0196, 0221, 0243, send the message to a node of a mobile network ((R)AN 105 between AMF 155 and other functions such as SMF 160 that may need to control the services; (R)AN 105 may send to AMF 155 an N2 Message 1010 (e.g., a service request) comprising N2 parameters)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identify a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identify a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identify a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)]; each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the medium described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's medium with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 19, Ryu discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 17, wherein the message comprises one of
a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request, and wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Policy Control Function (PCF) of the mobile network for a policy control response or action or for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE [fig. 10, 11, 13, 23, paragraphs 0158, 0190, 0216, a UE registration request or a UE session establishment request, and wherein the UE registration request or the UE session establishment request are sent to the node of the mobile network for delivery to a Session Management Function (SMF) of the mobile network for management of a session involving the UE (the UE 100 triggers the establishment of a PDU session; selected SMF 160 may establish the PDU session; the UE 100 or network may send signaling messages, e.g. PDU session establishment from the UE 100 to a SMF 160)].
As per claim 20, Ryu discloses the non-transitory storage medium of claim 18, wherein, when identifying the local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, execution of the instructions further causes the base station to perform at least one of:
identify installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; identify installation of a Voice over New Radio (NR) Service feature at the base station; identify installation of a network slicing UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station; or identify installation of a high throughput feature at the base station [fig. 9, paragraphs 0209, 0213, 0214, 0272, 0274, 0347, identifying installation of a UE Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (UE-AMBR) feature at the base station (provide updated policies; UE-AMBR may be provided to NG-RAN by the AMF 155)].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling.
However, Ni teaches identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling [paragraphs 0028, 0029, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identify a new or upgraded functions or operations associated with controlling (upgrade procedure for updating a current software version of a mobile network function to a new software version; the decision sub-module may perform its decision based on one or more policies set by a management entity of the mobile communication network; deciding based on one or more policies, whether … implementing the mobile network function according to the current software version or… according to the upgraded software version; the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
Claim(s) 5, 8, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu, in view of Lee et al., (hereinafter Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0337386.
As per claim 5, Ryu discloses the method of claim 1, Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station.
However, Lee teaches wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station [fig. 5, 13, paragraphs 0064, 0072, 0085, 0091, 0139, 0186, 0192, 0204, wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station (a reference to data (e.g., a sequence or string of bits) used to enable a given feature; information reflecting new and/or updated selectively activated features of the device; include one or more feature activation key(s))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by including wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string as taught by Lee because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of supporting dynamic verification and enforcement of authorization agreements [Lee, paragraphs 0169, 0288].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 8, Ryu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein identifying the local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station further comprises:
identifying whether a first new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station [paragraphs 0146, 0157, 0218, 0226, 0230, 0231, identifying whether a first new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station (service may be supported via PDU sessions that are established upon request from the UE 100; activation of the PDU session may be accepted by the SMF 160 and matching the functionality and features required for a UE)], and
identifying whether a second new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0129, 0156, 0218-0220, 0243, 0252, 0253, 0347, identifying whether a second new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station (identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated)];
Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station.
However, Lee teaches wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station [fig. 5, 13, paragraphs 0064, 0072, 0085, 0139, 0186, 0192, 0204, wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station (a reference to data (e.g., a sequence or string of bits) used to enable a given feature; information reflecting new and/or updated selectively activated features of the device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string as taught by Lee because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of supporting dynamic verification and enforcement of authorization agreements [Lee, paragraphs 0169, 0288].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the method described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's method with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 13, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 9, Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station.
However, Lee teaches wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station [fig. 5, 13, paragraphs 0064, 0072, 0085, 0091, 0139, 0186, 0192, 0204, wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string, associated with a different bit of the bit string, and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting at least one first bit of the bit string of the base station (a reference to data (e.g., a sequence or string of bits) used to enable a given feature; information reflecting new and/or updated selectively activated features of the device; include one or more feature activation key(s))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by including wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string as taught by Lee because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of supporting dynamic verification and enforcement of authorization agreements [Lee, paragraphs 0169, 0288].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
As per claim 16, Ryu discloses the base station of claim 9, wherein, when identifying the local software and/or hardware configuration of the base station, the processor is further configured to:
identify whether a first new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station [paragraphs 0146, 0157, 0218, 0226, 0230, 0231, identify whether a first new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station (service may be supported via PDU sessions that are established upon request from the UE 100; activation of the PDU session may be accepted by the SMF 160 and matching the functionality and features required for a UE)], and
identify whether a second new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station [fig. 8, 10, 13, 16, paragraphs 0129, 0156, 0218-0220, 0243, 0252, 0253, 0347, identify whether a second new or upgraded feature is installed at the base station (identify, using the list of PDU sessions to be activated, the PDU session(s) for which the UP connections are to be activated)];
Ryu does not explicitly disclose wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station.
However, Lee teaches wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station [fig. 5, 13, paragraphs 0064, 0072, 0085, 0139, 0186, 0192, 0204, wherein the data identifier comprises a bit string and wherein generating the data identifier further comprises: setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string based on whether the first new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station, and setting or resetting a second bit of the bit string based on whether the second new or upgraded feature is installed and activated at the base station (a reference to data (e.g., a sequence or string of bits) used to enable a given feature; information reflecting new and/or updated selectively activated features of the device)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by setting or resetting a first bit of the bit string as taught by Lee because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of supporting dynamic verification and enforcement of authorization agreements [Lee, paragraphs 0169, 0288].
Ryu does not explicitly disclose identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware.
However, Ni teaches identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware [paragraphs 0019, 0028, 0029, 0036, 0037, 0040, 0065, 0067, 0085, 0086, 0088, 0089, 0100, identifying each new or upgraded function or operations among the set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware (the one or more policies are updated by the management entity of the mobile communication network; the new software version of the mobile network function, an upgrade agent and a set of rules (policy/policies); the upgrade policy might determine that a certain percentage of connections, are to be moved to the new software version instance; installed and configured according to the protocol-specific rules on each version)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to improve upon the station described in Ryu by identifying a set of new or upgraded functions or operations installed in the software and/or hardware as taught by Ni because it would provide the Ryu's station with the enhanced capability of avoiding disrupting existing connections [Ni, paragraphs 0015, 0024].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cakulev et al., U.S. Publication No. 2022/0174573 discloses including multiple user selectable upgraded mobility handover techniques.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469