Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 10, 14 & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong (KR 10-2316013) (English translation included with copy) in view of Gregory (US RE26,864).
Jeong discloses an elevation system for the hull of a vessel comprising:
a plurality of deck units, each of which including:
a frame 100, 310,
a movable deck 10a, 10b, 10c coupled to a frame so as to be movable in a vertical direction,
a sliding unit 320 coupled to a frame so as to be movable in a horizontal direction, and
a plurality of elevation wires 40a-43a, 40b-43b, 40c-43c, each having an end connected to a movable deck 10a, 10b, 10c and another end coupled to a sliding unit via a direction changing sheave (FIG. 12: shown but unlabeled changing direction of wires 40-43) installed at a frame;
a first sheave 30 installed at each of a plurality of deck units and fixed to a frame;
a drive wire 20 extending through a plurality of deck units and simultaneously wound around a first sheave to deliver a driving force to a sliding unit;
a driver 210 configured to pull a drive wire 20 to cause a sliding unit to be slidably moved; and
a fixing unit 340 installed on a sliding unit.
[AltContent: textbox (1st sheave)]Jeong does not disclose a second sheave coupled to a sliding unit. Gregory discloses a first sheave installed at a deck unit and fixed to a frame and a second sheave installed at each of a plurality of deck units and coupled to a sliding unit, so that a distance between a first sheave and a second sheave is adjusted as a sliding unit moves. (See annotated FIG. 3 below.)
[AltContent: textbox (Drive wire on )][AltContent: textbox (2nd sheave)]
Both Jeong and Gregory address wire, e.g. cable, based mechanical actuation using sheaves. Jeong discloses a multi deck elevation solution, but lacks a continuous drive wire for synchronized sliding unit movement. Gregory adds a drive wire wound around multiple sheaves and driven by a single driver. Combining them yields predictable improvements including simplified control, synchronized operation, reduced actuator count, and improved reliability. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Jeong to include a second sheave installed at each of a deck unit and coupled to a sliding unit and a drive wire extending through a plurality of deck units and simultaneously wound around a first sheave and a second sheave of each deck unit, as taught by Gregory, which follows the teachings established in KSR where both involves solutions to similar apparatus' and the combination yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 12 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Gregory and further in view of Kaiturinmaki (US 2015/0184407) which discloses a first sheave 18 provided in a multi-layer form. Kaiturinmaki further discloses a drive wire 17 is simultaneously wound between first and second sheaves 19, 20 and the second sheave a plurality of times and extends to an adjacent deck unit 2. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Jeong to include a first sheave in multi-layer form, as taught by Kaiturinmaki, such that " symmetrical hoist winch structure of this kind does not exert any bending forces on the lifting pylons, when the upper platform is lifted, but the lifting pylons only receive vertical forces produced by the lifting movement."
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 & 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652