DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Regarding claim 1,
a first depth information acquisition unit
The above limitation uses a generic placeholder “a first depth information acquisition unit” coupled with functional language “acquiring first depth information…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the recited function. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
Although the term “a first depth information acquisition unit” is not one of the recognized nonce terms, such as “means” or “step”, the presumption of not invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is overcome. Specifically, “a first depth information acquisition unit” is not a term of art with structural connotation to one skilled in the art.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing “a first depth information acquisition unit” is in page 6, line 23, Fig. 2, page 7, line 20. Therefore, the interpretation of “a first depth information acquisition unit” is a computer program implemented in software run on a processor in the control section 30.
a second depth information acquisition unit
The above limitation uses a generic placeholder “a second depth information acquisition unit” coupled with functional language “acquiring second depth information…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the recited function. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
Although the term “a second depth information acquisition unit” is not one of the recognized nonce terms, such as “means” or “step”, the presumption of not invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is overcome. Specifically, “a second depth information acquisition unit” is not a term of art with structural connotation to one skilled in the art.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing “a second depth information acquisition unit” is in Fig. 2, page 7, line 20 and line 25. Therefore, the interpretation of “a second depth information acquisition unit” is a computer program implemented in software run on a processor in the control section 30.
a temperature acquisition unit
The above limitation uses a generic placeholder “a temperature acquisition unit” coupled with functional language “acquiring an environmental temperature…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the recited function. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
Although the term “a temperature acquisition unit” is not one of the recognized nonce terms, such as “means” or “step”, the presumption of not invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is overcome. Specifically, “a temperature acquisition unit” is not a term of art with structural connotation to one skilled in the art.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing “a temperature acquisition unit” is in Fig. 2, page 7, line 25. Therefore, the interpretation of “a temperature acquisition unit” is a computer program implemented in software run on a processor in the control section 30.
a correction unit
The above limitation uses a generic placeholder “a correction unit” coupled with functional language “correcting the first depth information…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the recited function. Further, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function.
Although the term “a correction unit” is not one of the recognized nonce terms, such as “means” or “step”, the presumption of not invoking 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) is overcome. Specifically, “a correction unit” is not a term of art with structural connotation to one skilled in the art.
The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing “a correction unit” is in Fig. 2, page 7, line 25. Therefore, the interpretation of “a temperature acquisition unit” is a computer program implemented in software run on a processor in the control section 30.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18625442 in view of Oigawa et al. (US 20220321871 A1, hereinafter “Oigawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Application No. 18625442 teaches an imaging apparatus having an optical system, an aperture unit in which a coded aperture pattern partially shielding incident light to the optical system is formed, and an imaging device acquiring image data based on the incident light passing through the optical system (Application No. 18625442; claim 1, line 2-4);
a first depth information acquisition unit acquiring first depth information in each of a plurality of pixels of the imaging device (Application No. 18625442; claim 1, line 5-7);
a memory unit correlating and storing a relationship between the first depth information and the second depth information with an environmental temperature (Application No. 18625442; claim 2, line 2-4);
a temperature acquisition unit acquiring an environmental temperature based on the first depth information of the imaging object acquired by the first depth information acquisition unit and the second depth information of the imaging object acquired by the second depth information acquisition unit (Application No. 18625442; claim 2, line 2-4); and
a correction unit correcting the first depth information in each of the plurality of pixels based on the environmental temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition unit (Application No. 18625442; claim 2, line 5-6).
Application No. 18625442 does not teach,
a correction sensor measuring a time between reflection of emitted light by a surface of an arbitrary imaging object and return;
a second depth information acquisition unit acquiring second depth information of the imaging object based on a measurement result of the correction sensor;
Oigawa teaches,
a correction sensor measuring a time between reflection of emitted light by a surface of an arbitrary imaging object and return (Oigawa; Fig. 3A, Fig. 7A, Fig. 8A, [0126], [0138], distance measurement system 700 includes a second distance measurement device 730 (TOF, [0143], not influenced by temperature changes [0135]), which measures a subject distance on basis of an arrival time of emitted laser light reflected by a subject and detected by the detector);
a second depth information acquisition unit acquiring second depth information of the imaging object based on a measurement result of the correction sensor (Oigawa; Fig. 3A, Fig. 8A, [0138], [0139], the second acquisition unit 320 acquires the second distance information Idist2 by second distance measurement device 730);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the imaging unit taught by Application No. 18625442 to include temperature insensitive sensor to measure the correct distance taught by Oigawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using a temperature insensitive sensor to measure the correct distance which can be used to correct the distance measured by temperature sensitive sensor ([0065], [0102], [0139]).
Claims 2 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18625442 in view of Oigawa.
Claim 2 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning but map to application No. 18625442 claim 7 of the method claim .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oigawa et al. (US 20220321871 A1, hereinafter “Oigawa”), modified in view of Kane et al. (US 20120076362 A1, hereinafter “Kane”).
Regarding claim 1, Oigawa teaches an imaging unit comprising:
an imaging apparatus having an optical system and an imaging device acquiring image data based on the incident light passing through the optical system (Oigawa; Fig. 1A, Figs. 2, Figs. 3, Fig. 7A, [0126], distance measurement system 700 includes optical system 120, a distance measurement device 720 (influenced by temperature changes [0135] and similar to the distance measurement device 110 in Figs. 2, Figs. 3); [0045], the distance measurement device acquires first distance information Idist1 (Fig. 3C, section [0048], step 314, [0059]-[0063]) in a first acquisition unit 310; system 700 has same operation of measure 1st distance but uses TOF device 730 to measure 2nd distance);
a correction sensor measuring a time between reflection of emitted light by a surface of an arbitrary imaging object and return (Oigawa; Fig. 3A, Fig. 7A, Fig. 8A, [0126], [0138], distance measurement system 700 includes a second distance measurement device 730 (TOF, [0143], not influenced by temperature changes [0135]), which measures a subject distance on basis of an arrival time of emitted laser light reflected by a subject and detected by the detector);
a first depth information acquisition unit acquiring first depth information in each of a plurality of pixels of the imaging device (Oigawa; Fig. 3A, Fig. 8A, ([0045], the distance measurement device acquires first distance information Idist1 (Fig. 3C, section [0048], step 314, [0059]-[0063]) in a first acquisition unit 310);
a second depth information acquisition unit acquiring second depth information of the imaging object based on a measurement result of the correction sensor (Oigawa; Fig. 3A, Fig. 8A, [0138], [0139], the second acquisition unit 320 acquires the second distance information Idist2 by second distance measurement device 730);
a memory unit correlating and storing a relationship between the first depth information and the second depth information with an environmental temperature (Oigawa; Fig. 3A-3C, Fig. 8A, [0044], computer program stored in the memory to perform each process in Figs 3B-3C; [0139], the correction information generation unit 330 acquires the correction value Ic (due to the change in the surrounding environment, like temperature [0065], [0102]) from the first distance information Idist1 and the second distance information Idist2. The correction value is related to temperature implies the temperature information can be obtained from first/second distance information);
a temperature acquisition unit acquiring an environmental temperature based on the first depth information of the imaging object acquired by the first depth information acquisition unit and the second depth information of the imaging object acquired by the second depth information acquisition unit (Oigawa; Fig. 3A-3C, Fig. 8A, [0139], the correction information generation unit 330 acquires the correction value Ic (due to the change in the surrounding environment, like temperature [0065], [0102]) from the first distance information Idist1 and the second distance information Idist2. The correction value is related to temperature implies the temperature information can be obtained from first/second distance information); and
a correction unit correcting the first depth information in each of the plurality of pixels based on the environmental temperature acquired by the temperature acquisition unit (same as above; Oigawa; Fig. 3A-3C, Fig. 8A, [0139], the correction unit 340 generates and outputs the corrected distance information IdistC by correcting the first distance information Idist1 by using the correction value Ic (related to temperature changes [0065], [0102])).
Oigawa does not teach,
an aperture unit in which a coded aperture pattern partially shielding incident light to the optical system is formed.
Kane disclosed in Fig. 4, [0036], the capture device 210 includes a lens 215, a coded aperture 220, and an electronic sensor array 225; Fig. 3, [0035], further disclosed using coded aperture imaging unit to determine the range information for object in the scene. The coded aperture imaging unit uses geometrical optics to determine range information (Kane; [0003]-[0006]) which is similar to Oigawa’s invention (also related to geometrical optics) to determine depth information ([0045], the distance measurement device acquires first distance information Idist1 (Fig. 3C, section [0048], step 314, [0059]-[0063]) in a first acquisition unit 310). As disclosed in Oigawa’s invention, the first distance information Idist1 calculated by the first acquisition unit is susceptible to changes over time in the optical system (change due to surrounding environment such as temperature [0135]). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the range information determined by the coded aperture imaging unit disclosed by Kane will be change over time in the optical system due to temperature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the imaging unit taught by Oigawa to include coded aperture imaging unit taught by Kane with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that Oigawa provide a method to correct the distance measured from a temperature sensitive sensor by a temperature insensitive sensor. Furthermore, use the method from Oigawa with a coded aperture imaging unit (also has similar temperature influence) from Kane, predictably to correct the distance measured by a coded aperture imaging unit with success.
Claim 2 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Conclusion
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645