Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reynolds (US20190267790).
Regarding claim 21, Reynolds teaches a circuit breaker comprising:a breaker housing; a mechanical switch (122, 124) operatively connected to an overcurrent disconnect mechanism 100 configured to break a circuit undergoing an overvoltage state (paragraph 76); an escutcheon module 200 including an escutcheon body, the escutcheon body including a test or reset button 226 configured to mechanically interface with a test or reset mechanism 124 of the mechanical switch (paragraph 69); and an escutcheon connector (212, 210) on an outward switch face of the breaker housing including attachment points (118, 120) configured to engage the escutcheon module (paragraph 71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds (US20190267790) in view of Montjean (US. Pat.6,628,496).
Regarding claim 1, Reynolds teaches an escutcheon module for a circuit breaker comprising: an escutcheon body 202 configured to seat against a switch face 114 of a circuit breaker 100 wherein one or more attachments (210, 212) of the escutcheon body are configured to engage with one or more attachment points (118, 120) of the circuit breaker (Fig. 7 and paragraph 71), wherein the escutcheon body includes a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 236 having an input/output interface 252 configured to receive input from an external device 300 (Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs 81-83). Reynolds does not teach the input/output interface configured to receive input from an external device to control the circuit breaker. the input/output interface 16 configured to receive input (the processor 2 receives/input reference values through remote communication) from an external device 17 to control the circuit breaker (the process issues open/break instruction signals to the circuit breakers 13-15 based on the programmed refence values (col. 2, lines 20-35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Montjean to remotely control the circuit breaker.
Regarding claim 2, Reynolds teaches the escutcheon module wherein the escutcheon body 200 includes a clearance area configured to allow a switch 122 of the circuit breaker 100 to be accessible and functional with the escutcheon body engaged to the circuit breaker (Figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 8, Reynolds teaches the escutcheon module wherein the escutcheon body is dimensioned and configured to engage a circuit breaker that is a miniature circuit breaker (MCB) (Figs. 5-6).
Regarding claim 9, Reynolds teaches a circuit breaker system comprising:a circuit breaker including: a breaker housing 100; a mechanical switch 122 operatively connected to an overcurrent disconnect mechanism configured to break a circuit undergoing an overvoltage state; and an escutcheon connector (210, 212) on an outward switch face 114 of the breaker housing including attachment points 118 configured to engage an interchangeable escutcheon module 200 (Figs. 2, Figs. 7-8), wherein the interchangeable escutcheon body includes a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 236 having an input/output interface 252 configured to receive input from an external device 300 (Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs 81-83), as required by claim 9; wherein the PCBA 236 includes the input/output interface configured to connect the external device and the escutcheon body engaged to the circuit breaker, wherein the PCBA 236 includes an input/output interface configured for connecting with the external device by at least one of: a USB connection; a Bluetooth connection; or a Wi-Fi connection (paragraph 81), as required by claim 4 and 15. Reynolds does not teach the input/output interface configured to receive input from an external device to control the circuit breaker. the input/output interface 16 configured to receive input (the processor 2 receives/input reference values through remote communication) from an external device 17 to control the circuit breaker (the process issues open/break instruction signals to the circuit breakers 13-15 based on the programmed refence values, see col. 2, lines 20-35), as required by claim 9; wherein the PCBA 236 includes the input/output interface 16 configured to connect the external device to as required by claims 4 and 15. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Montjean to remotely control the circuit breaker.
Regarding claim 3, Reynolds teaches the module wherein the PCBA includes an electrical interface (346, 126) configured for connecting to circuit components of the circuit breaker with the escutcheon body engaged to the circuit breaker (paragraph 70-75).
Regarding claim 10, Reynolds teaches the system further comprising the interchangeable escutcheon module 200 engaged to the escutcheon connector (212, 210) (see Figs. 1-6)
Regarding claim 11, Reynolds teaches a circuit breaker system wherein the interchangeable escutcheon module 200 is of a different color than the breaker housing (the LED 239 of the module emits different lights, see paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 12, Reynolds teaches a circuit breaker system wherein the interchangeable escutcheon module 200 includes an escutcheon body 200 configured to seat against the outward switch face of a circuit breaker 100 wherein attachments (210, 212) of the escutcheon body are engaged with the attachment points (118, 120) of the breaker housing (paragraph 71), and wherein the escutcheon body includes a clearance area configured to allow a switch 122 of the circuit breaker to be accessible and functional with the escutcheon body engaged to the breaker housing (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Reynolds teaches the system wherein the interchangeable escutcheon module includes escutcheon body 200 and the escutcheon body includes a test or reset button 226 configured to mechanically interface with a test or reset mechanism of the mechanical switch 122 (Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 67-69).
Regarding claim 14, Reynolds teaches the circuit breaker further comprising a second PCBA 130 assembled in the breaker housing 100, wherein the second PCBA includes an electrical interface (126, 127) configured for connecting to circuit components of the circuit breaker with the escutcheon body 200 engaged to the circuit breaker (paragraph 81).
Regarding claim 20, Reynolds teaches the system wherein the circuit breaker is configured for at least one of single phase, single pole (1P), single phase double pole (2P), single phase three pole (3P), ground fault (GF), arc fault (AF), and/or combined ground fault and arc fault (DF) operation (paragraph 76).
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds and Montjean as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of (KR20210135105).
Regarding claim 5 and 16, Reynolds does not teach the escutcheon body 200 includes a display. However, 105’ teaches a escutcheon module wherein the escutcheon body 200 includes a display 250 configured to connect to circuitry of the circuit breaker to display information regarding the circuit breaker with the escutcheon module engaged to the circuit breaker (the connector 216 of the escutcheon body connects to the connector 116 of the breaker, which connects the display to the break, see Figs. 1-7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of 105’ to provide a notification to the user which displays the status of the circuit breaker.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds and Montjean as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Maloney (US. Pat. 5,909,019).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Reynolds does not teach the escutcheon body including at least one receptacle for a physical lock positioned to lock a switch of the circuit breaker. However, Maloney teaches an escutcheon body wherein the escutcheon body includes at least one receptacle 30 for a physical lock positioned to lock a switch 60 of the circuit breaker (Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Maloney to prevent unauthorize operation of the circuit breaker.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reynolds and Montjean as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Gerstner (US20230326699).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Reynolds does not teach the display to have a touch screen. However, Gerstner teaches the escutcheon body with display (DISP) that includes a touch screen for user interaction with the circuit breaker LS1 (Fig. 1 and paragraph 70). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Gerstner in the circuit breaker of Reynolds to provide a touch screen feature for user to interact with the circuit breaker.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831