DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Santos et al. (US 9,312,730 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Santos teaches a stator tooth unit (20) for a stator (10) having an axis (78) and a plurality of stator tooth units (80) which are circumferentially arranged around the axis (78), the stator tooth unit (80) comprising:
a stator tooth (80, fig 8) defining a radially outer side (80a) and a radially inner side (80b) opposite to the radially outer side (80a), and defining a first circumferential side (80c) and a second circumferential side (80d) opposite to the first circumferential side (80c),
an insulation (350) at least partially covering the stator tooth (80), and
a coil (72) wound around the partially covered stator tooth (80),
wherein the insulation (350, fig 8) comprises an insulation wall (386) extending away from the stator tooth (80) on the first and second circumferential sides (80c, 80d), and
wherein the insulation wall (386) comprises a sealing structure (134, 152) on at least one circumferential side (80c, 80d), the sealing structure (134, 152) being configured to form a sealing (134-152) with the insulation wall (386) of an adjacent stator tooth unit (fig 9).
Regarding claim 2, Santos teaches the insulation wall (386) extends axially along the stator tooth (80) at least along an axial thickness of the stator tooth (80, fig 9).
Regarding claim 3, Santos teaches the insulation wall (386) extends at least one of axially above and axially below the stator tooth (80, fig 9).
Regarding claim 4, Santos teaches the sealing structure (134, 152) comprises a first sealing structure (152) which is arranged on the first circumferential side (80c) of the insulation wall (386) and a second sealing structure (134) which is arranged on the second circumferential side (80d) of the insulation wall (386), wherein the first sealing structure (152) is configured to form the sealing (134-152) with the second sealing structure (134) of an adjacent stator tooth unit (10, fig 8-9).
Regarding claim 5, Santos teaches a first engagement structure (100) being formed on the first circumferential side (80c) and a second engagement structure (96) being formed on the second circumferential side (80d), wherein the engagement structures (100, 96) are configured to engage a respectively adjacent stator tooth unit (10, fig 8).
Regarding claim 6, Santos teaches the insulation wall (386) is located adjacent to one of the radially outer side (80a) or the radially inner side (80b), and wherein the engagement structures (100, 96) are located adjacent to the other of the radially outer side (80a) or the radially inner side (80b).
Regarding claim 7, Santos teaches the insulation (350) is an overmolded plastic part (col 4 ln 45-50).
Regarding claim 9, Santos teaches a stator (20) for an electrical machine comprising: a plurality of stator tooth units (10), wherein the stator tooth units (10) are circumferentially arranged around the axis (78) of the stator (20), and wherein the insulation walls (386) of adjacent stator tooth units (10) by forming a respective sealing (134-152) conjointly form a closed circumference.
Regarding claim 10, Santos teaches the insulation walls (386) of adjacent stator tooth units (10) conjointly form a radially outer circumferential (fig 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos in view of Zimmer et al. (US 7,732,968 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Santos teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the insulation further comprises a supporting portion which is configured to support at least one of wire ends of the coil, a lead frame for the stator, and electrical connectors for connecting the wire ends of the coil to the lead frame.
Zimmer teaches a winding body for a coil of an electrical machine having insulation (10) further comprises a supporting portion (44) which is configured to support at least one of wire ends (38, 40) of the coil (12, fig 2), a lead frame (60, 62, 64) for the stator (52), and electrical connectors (66, 68, 70, fig 3) for connecting the wire ends (38, 40) of the coil to the lead frame (fig 3) to hold a winding of an electrical conductor to produce a coil for an electrical machine (col 1 ln 48-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos’s stator tooth unit with the insulation further comprises a supporting portion which is configured to support at least one of wire ends of the coil, a lead frame for the stator, and electrical connectors for connecting the wire ends of the coil to the lead frame as taught by Zimmer. Doing so would hold a winding of an electrical conductor to produce a coil for an electrical machine (col 1 ln 48-50).
Claim(s) 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santos in view of Naito et al. (US 2023/0216366 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Santos teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of a resin body, and a stator housing defining an annular receiving portion with a first circumferential wall, an annular end wall, and a second circumferential wall radially opposite to the first circumferential wall, wherein the stator is arranged at least partially in the annular receiving portion.
Naito teaches a stator assembly having a resin body (24), and a stator housing (21) defining an annular receiving portion (224) with a first circumferential wall (223), an annular end wall (221), and a second circumferential wall (222) radially opposite to the first circumferential wall (223), wherein the stator (40) is arranged at least partially in the annular receiving portion (21) to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos’s stator tooth unit with a resin body, and a stator housing defining an annular receiving portion with a first circumferential wall, an annular end wall, and a second circumferential wall radially opposite to the first circumferential wall, wherein the stator is arranged at least partially in the annular receiving portion as taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Santos in view of Naito teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 11, except for the added limitation of the insulation walls are arranged adjacent to the second circumferential wall, and wherein the insulation walls axially extend at least over an overlap portion of the second circumferential wall.
Naito further teaches the insulation walls are arranged adjacent to the second circumferential wall (222), and wherein the insulation walls axially extend at least over an overlap portion of the second circumferential wall (22, fig 3) to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos in view of Naito’s stator tooth unit with the insulation walls are arranged adjacent to the second circumferential wall, and wherein the insulation walls axially extend at least over an overlap portion of the second circumferential wall as further taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Regarding claim 13, Santos in view of Naito teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the resin body radially fills space between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall at least over an axial sub-portion of the overlap portion.
Naito further teaches the resin body (24) radially fills space between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall (222, fig 2) at least over an axial sub-portion of the overlap portion to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos in view of Naito’s stator tooth unit with the resin body radially fills space between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall at least over an axial sub-portion of the overlap portion as further taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Regarding claim 14, Santos in view of Naito teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of the second circumferential wall is formed such that at least at an axial position of the overlap portion a radial distance between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall is at most 2 mm.
An artisan would have ordinary skill in the art to figure radial distance between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall is at most 2 mm as recited in the instant invention to reduce vibration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos in view of Naito’s stator tooth unit with the second circumferential wall is formed such that at least at an axial position of the overlap portion a radial distance between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall is at most 2 mm, as recited in the instant invention. Doing so would reduce vibration because it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 15, Santos in view of Naito teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 12, except for the added limitation of a machine housing, a shaft rotatably supported in the machine housing, a rotor fixedly arranged on the shaft in the machine housing, wherein the stator is arranged adjacently to the rotor in the machine housing.
Naito further teaches a machine housing (21), a shaft (33) rotatably supported in the machine housing (21), a rotor (32) fixedly arranged on the shaft (33) in the machine housing (21), wherein the stator (40) is arranged adjacently to the rotor (32) in the machine housing (21, fig 2) to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos in view of Naito’s stator tooth unit with a machine housing, a shaft rotatably supported in the machine housing, a rotor fixedly arranged on the shaft in the machine housing, wherein the stator is arranged adjacently to the rotor in the machine housing as further taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Regarding claim 16, Santos teaches a method for manufacturing a stator arrangement comprising:
providing a plurality of stator tooth units (10) each having a stator tooth (80), an insulation (350) with an insulation wall (386), and a coil (72) wound around the stator tooth (80),
arranging the stator tooth units (10) circumferentially such that the insulation walls (386) conjointly form a closed circumference (fig 7) to thereby form a stator (20). However, Santos does not teach providing a stator housing which defines an annular receiving portion with a first circumferential wall, an annular end wall, and a second circumferential wall radially opposite to the first circumferential wall, inserting the stator in the annular receiving portion such that an axial portion of the insulation walls is arranged between the first and second circumferential walls, and potting the stator in the stator housing by filling liquid resin between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall such that after hardening the liquid resin a resin body is formed between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall.
Naito teaches a method of making a stator assembly of an electric machine having step of providing a stator housing (21) which defines an annular receiving portion (224) with a first circumferential wall (223), an annular end wall (221), and a second circumferential wall (222) radially opposite to the first circumferential wall (223), inserting the stator (40) in the annular receiving portion (224) such that an axial portion of the insulation walls (fig 2) is arranged between the first and second circumferential walls (222-223), and potting the stator (40) in the stator housing by (21) filling liquid resin (24) between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall such that after hardening the liquid resin a resin body is formed between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos’s method with providing a stator housing which defines an annular receiving portion with a first circumferential wall, an annular end wall, and a second circumferential wall radially opposite to the first circumferential wall, inserting the stator in the annular receiving portion such that an axial portion of the insulation walls is arranged between the first and second circumferential walls, and potting the stator in the stator housing by filling liquid resin between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall such that after hardening the liquid resin a resin body is formed between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall as taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Regarding claim 17, Santos in view of Naito teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, except for the added limitation of pre-potting a first amount of liquid resin to at least partially fill an overlap portion between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall, wherein the first amount of liquid resin is at least partially hardened to form a first resin body portion for sealing between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall, and after pre-potting, filling a second amount of liquid resin between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall to form a second resin body portion, wherein the first resin body portion and the second resin body portion together form the resin body.
Naito further teaches pre-potting a first amount of liquid resin (24) to at least partially fill an overlap portion between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall (222), wherein the first amount of liquid resin is at least partially hardened to form a first resin body portion for sealing between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall, and after pre-potting, filling a second amount of liquid resin between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall to form a second resin body portion, wherein the first resin body portion and the second resin body portion together form the resin body (24, para [0049]-[0050]) to reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Santos in view of Naito’s method with pre-potting a first amount of liquid resin to at least partially fill an overlap portion between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall, wherein the first amount of liquid resin is at least partially hardened to form a first resin body portion for sealing between the insulation walls and the second circumferential wall, and after pre-potting, filling a second amount of liquid resin between the insulation walls and the first circumferential wall to form a second resin body portion, wherein the first resin body portion and the second resin body portion together form the resin body as further taught by Naito. Doing so would reduce excitation vibrations and structure resonance (para [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 10,256,033 B2) teaches an insulation bobbin includes a winding portion, an outer stopper portion and an inner stopper portion. The winding portion includes a body and two sidewalls respectively and perpendicularly connected to two first sides of the body. A length of a first side edge of each of the sidewalls is greater than a length of a second side edge, and a connecting edge of each of the sidewalls connects a first bottom edge and the second side edge. The outer stopper portion connects one of the second sides of the body and the first side edge of each of the sidewalls. The inner stopper portion connects the other one of the second sides of the body and the second side edge of each of the sidewalls. There is a height difference between the first bottom edge of each of the sidewalls and a second bottom edge of the inner stopper portion.
Hoffman (US 9,343,930 B2) teaches a stator has a plurality of segments connected with connectors to define a core for the stator. Each of the segments comprises a plurality of laminations arranged side by side forming a lamination stack with axially opposite sides. The lamination stack has an end cap abutting an axial side of the lamination stack. The end cap has first and second posts extending axially therefrom. At least one of the posts defines a wire path for wire wound around the stack. Each of the connectors comprises a bridge portion. The bridge portion has openings dimensioned to receive the posts in a manner that the connector is removably attachable to the post of the end cap of a segment and the post of the end cap of an adjacent segment. The connector has an insulator portion projecting from the bridge portion. The insulator portion extends between adjacent segments.
/LEDA T PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834