DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 5/2/24.
Inventorship
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 2, it appears that “the number of times of receptions” should be “a number of times of receptions”.
In regards to claim 3, it appears that “the number of times of the first request” should be “a number of times of the first request”.
In regards to claim 4, it appears that “the second request t, and transmits” should be “the second request, and transmits”.
In regards to claim 5, it appears that “the number of times of the temporary instruction” should be “a number of times of the temporary instruction”.
In regards to claim 6, it appears that “the number of times of the received responses” should be “a number of times of the received responses”.
In regards to claim 8, it appears that “the number of times of responses” should be “a number of times of responses”.
In regards to claim 9, it appears that “the power transmission apparatus” should be “a power transmission apparatus”.
In regards to claim 10, it appears that “the power transmission apparatus” should be “a power transmission apparatus”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikefuji (US20150280453).
Regarding Claim 1, Ikefuji discloses a power reception apparatus (fig. 2, 4, 18) comprising: a power reception unit (RR) configured to wirelessly receive power from a power transmission apparatus (TT); and a communication unit (100) configured to transmit a first request (510) to the power transmission apparatus, configured to receive from the power transmission apparatus a response (520) for the first request, and configured to transmit a second request (S116) for stopping a power transfer to the power transmission apparatus based on the received response (via 110, fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 6, Ikefuji discloses the first request (510) includes information regarding a number of times of the received responses (after 510 is transmitted then when S104 = N, 510 would include the “N” input therefore “information” of a time of the received response).
Regarding Claim 7, Ikefuji discloses the first request includes information regarding a response for a request of the power reception apparatus (¶134)
Regarding Claim 9, Ikefuji discloses a method for a power reception apparatus (fig. 2, 4, 18), the method comprising: transmitting a first request (510) to a power transmission apparatus (TT); receiving from the power transmission apparatus a response for the first request (520); and transmitting a second request (S116) for stopping a power transfer to the power transmission apparatus based on the received response (via 110, fig. 18).
Regarding Claim 10, Ikefuji discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program (¶341) for causing a computer to perform a method for a power reception apparatus (fig. 2, 4, 18), the method comprising: transmitting a first request (510) to the power transmission apparatus; receiving from the power transmission apparatus a response (520) for the first request; and transmitting a second request (S116) for stopping a power transfer to the power transmission apparatus based on the received response (via 110, fig. 18).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the communication unit transmits the second request in a case where the received response does not correspond to the number of times of receptions.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to disclose: “...a detection unit configured to detect temporary interruption of the transmission of power from the power transmission apparatus, wherein, in a case where the received response corresponds to the number of times of the temporary interruption, the communication unit does not transmit the second request.” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose: “...the communication unit receives the response for the first request, including information regarding the number of times of responses of the power transmission apparatus, and wherein, in a case where the received response does not correspond to the number of times of the responses included in the received response, the communication unit transmit the second request” in combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 12212160, Moritomo; Kazuo discloses a power transmission apparatus, power reception apparatus, control method performed by power transmission apparatus, control method performed by power reception apparatus, and storage medium
US 12316138, Hiramatsu; Tomoki discloses a power transmission apparatus and power reception apparatus
US 12395013, Shichino; Takahiro discloses a power transmission apparatus, power reception apparatus, method, and storage medium
US 20190148967, Bae; Su Ho discloses a wireless power control method and device
US 20230084679, Lee; Minsoo et al. discloses an apparatus and method enabling out-band communication in wireless charging apparatus, method and system.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838