DETAILED ACTION
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 04/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15-16, 18-19, and 21 have been amended. No claims have been added; Claim 4 canceled previously. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “a SIM”. It is not clear whether “the SIM” is one of the multiple SIMs recited in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites “an unreachable state of a SIM”. It is not clear if this “unreachable state” has any relation with the “communication conflict” recited in claim 1.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the preset timer is configured to control an unreachable state of a SIM; wherein the preset timer starts timing when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied”. It is not clear what relationship the “start of the timer” has with the “control an unreachable state of a SIM”, whether start of the timer switches/controls state of the SIM from reachable to unreachable.
Claim(s) 11-12 are also rejected because they are dependent upon rejected claims 10 as set forth above and include limitations of the claims 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 5-6, 13-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susitaival et al. (Susitaival hereinafter) (US 20170181172 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Chen hereinafter) (US 20180368099 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 18, Susitaival teaches, An information reporting method, performed by a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises multiple modules (Susitaival; The wireless device 16 also includes multiple radio transceivers 26, Par. 0113), and the method comprises:
reporting first information to a network device if a first preset condition is satisfied, wherein the first preset condition represents that the multiple modules have a communication conflict (Susitaival; the UE 16 experiences … IDC problems due to that carrier combination, Par. 0110), and the first information represents assistance information for assisting solving the communication conflict (Susitaival; The UE 16 sends at least one indicator of the one or more problematic UL CA frequency band combinations to the eNB(s) 14 (step 406) … the eNB(s) 14 take one or more actions based on the received indicator(s) (step 408). The one or more actions may be, for example, one or more actions to avoid the IDC problem(s), Par. 0111);
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device (Susitaival; the at least one indicator is a bit map that includes a separate bit for each combination indicated in the capability information sent to the eNB(s) 14 in step 400. The value of a particular bit indicates whether or not there is an IDC problem for the corresponding combination (e.g., “1” indicates an IDC problem and “0” indicates no IDC problem), Par. 0111); or
which modules of the terminal device have no uplink radio frequency that can be used for carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC) or a current module has no uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC (Susitaival; “1” indicates an IDC problem, Par. 0111 [Note that all “1” in bit map indicates no UL band available for CA]).
Although Susitaival teaches multiple radio transceivers, but failed explicitly teach,
multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches
multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs) (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Specifically for claim 18, Susitaival teaches, A terminal device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented (Susitaival; The UE, Par. 0110).
Regarding claim 13 and claim 20, Susitaival teaches, An information receiving method, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving first information from a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises multiple modules (Susitaival; The wireless device 16 also includes multiple radio transceivers 26, Par. 0113), the first information is sent by the terminal device when a first preset condition is satisfied, the first preset condition represents that the multiple modules have a communication conflict (Susitaival; the UE 16 experiences … IDC problems due to that carrier combination, Par. 0110), and the first information represents assistance information for assisting solving the communication conflict (Susitaival; The UE 16 sends at least one indicator of the one or more problematic UL CA frequency band combinations to the eNB(s) 14 (step 406) … the eNB(s) 14 take one or more actions based on the received indicator(s) (step 408). The one or more actions may be, for example, one or more actions to avoid the IDC problem(s), Par. 0111);
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device (Susitaival; the at least one indicator is a bit map that includes a separate bit for each combination indicated in the capability information sent to the eNB(s) 14 in step 400. The value of a particular bit indicates whether or not there is an IDC problem for the corresponding combination (e.g., “1” indicates an IDC problem and “0” indicates no IDC problem), Par. 0111); or
which module(s) of the terminal device have no uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC or a current module has no uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC (Susitaival; “1” indicates an IDC problem, Par. 0111 [Note that all “1” in bit map indicates no UL band available for CA]).
Although Susitaival teaches multiple radio transceivers, but failed explicitly teach,
multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches
multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs) (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Specifically for claim 20, Susitaival teaches, A network device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, where when the computer program is executed by the processor, steps of the method according to claim 13 are implemented (Susitaival; the eNB(s), Par. 0111).
Regarding claim 3, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple SIMs and the network device (Susitaival; when the radio transceivers within the same UE operate on adjacent frequencies ... This interference situation is referred to as an In-Device Coexistence (IDC) interference scenario, or IDC interference situation, Par. 0061 & Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064);
the terminal device starts a multi-communication mode, and the multiple SIMs are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode;
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device:
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device:
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device:
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no available uplink radio frequency:
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no available unlink radio frequency link;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no available downlink radio frequency;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no available downlink radio frequency link:
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC: or
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has no downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC: or
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Chen is the same as for Claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting first information to a network device if a first preset condition is satisfied comprises at least one of the following:
if a first SIM is in a connected state, reporting, by the first SIM, the first information to the network device (Susitaival; the eNB can reduce UL transmissions on the LTE carrier frequencies and thus avoid interference, Par. 0069);
if a first SIM is in a connected state and a second SIM will enter the connected state, reporting, by the first SIM, the first information to the network device;
if a second SIM receives a paging message from the network device, reporting, by the first SIM, the first information to the network device;
if a second SIM receives a paging message from the network device, reporting, by the second SIM, the first information to the network device; and
before the first SIM initiates a network connection, reporting, by the second SIM, the first information to the network device.
Regarding claim 6, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting first information to a network device comprises:
sending a radio resource control (RRC) message to the network device, wherein the RRC message carries the first information;
wherein the message comprises at least one of the following:
a user assistance message (Susitaival; the UE sends an IDC indication to the network via dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling to report the IDC interference problem to the network, Par. 0005); a customized message used to indicate that a user is unreachable; a message Msg1 during random access; a message Msg3 during random access; a message Msg5 during random access; a response message of an RRC release message; and a response message of an RRC suspend message.
Regarding claim 14, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 13, further comprising.
performing first resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the first information (Susitaival; The UE sends an IDC indication “idcCombinations=0” ... The eNB configures UL CA, Par. 0093-0094).
Regarding claim 19, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The terminal device according to claim 18, wherein the first information further comprises:
which SIM(s) of the terminal device have no uplink radio frequency that can be used for carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC) or a current SIM has no uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC (Susitaival; “1” indicates an IDC problem, Par. 0111 [Note that all “1” in bit map indicates no UL band available for CA]).
Claim 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susitaival- Chen and in further view of Plestid et al. (Plestid hereinafter) (US 20150011211 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 21, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The terminal device according to claim 18 respectively, wherein the first information further comprises:
multiple SIMs (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Although Susitaival teaches IDC report, but failed to teach that report include priority. Susitaival- Chen failed explicitly teach,
priorities of the multiple , wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, or a priority of resource occupation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Plestid teaches,
priorities of the multiple , wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order (Plestid; the device can send ... The preferred access technology, with or without specifying a reason, such as reducing thermal level and/or RF interference ... the UE device can specify the preferred network, e.g., for WLAN, Par. 0048-0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival- Chen to include the use of preference as taught by Plestid in order to prioritize access technology (Plestid; Par. 0050).
Claim 7-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susitaival- Chen and in further view of Takahashi et al. (Takahashi hereinafter) (US 20210092662 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 1,
multiple SIMs (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Susitaival- Chen failed explicitly teach,
wherein after the reporting first information to a network device, the method further comprises:
if a second preset condition is satisfied, performing at least one of the following operations:
reporting second information to the network device; and entering a preset communication procedure; wherein the second preset condition represents that the multiple SIMs have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches,
wherein after the reporting first information to a network device (Takahashi; In step S205, the user equipment 100 sends an interference notification, Par. 0062), the method further comprises:
if a second preset condition is satisfied, performing at least one of the following operations:
reporting second information to the network device (Takahashi; step S208, Par. 0065); and entering a preset communication procedure; wherein the second preset condition represents that the multiple SIMs have no communication conflict (Takahashi; Upon detecting resolution of the device-internal interference, Par. 0065) or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device (Takahashi; in step S208, the user equipment 100 reports that the device-internal interference has been eliminated, to the master base station 201 by sending an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival- Chen to include the use of empty IDC indication as taught by Takahashi in order to report that issues have been resolved (Takahashi; Par. 0065).
Regarding claim 8, Susitaival- Chen- Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 7, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple SIMs and the network device (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065 & Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064);
the terminal device recovers a multi-communication mode, and the multiple SIMs are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device; a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device; a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
priorities of the multiple SIMs, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, and a priority of resource occupation;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available uplink radio frequency;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available uplink radio frequency link;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available downlink radio frequency;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available downlink radio frequency link;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC; which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has a[n] downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; or
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has a downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Chen and Takahashi is the same as for Claim 1 and claim 7 respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Susitaival- Chen teaches, The method according to claim 13, further comprising,
multiple SIMs (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Susitaival- Chen failed explicitly teach,
receiving second information from the terminal device, wherein the second information is sent by the terminal device when a second preset condition is met, the second preset condition represents that the multiple SIMs have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches,
receiving second information from the terminal device (Takahashi; step S208, Par. 0065), wherein the second information is sent by the terminal device when a second preset condition is met, the second preset condition represents that the multiple SIMs have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, (Takahashi; Upon detecting resolution of the device-internal interference, Par. 0065), and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device (Takahashi; in step S208, the user equipment 100 reports that the device-internal interference has been eliminated, to the master base station 201 by sending an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival- Chen to include the use of empty IDC indication as taught by Takahashi in order to report that issues have been resolved (Takahashi; Par. 0065).
Regarding claim 16, Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 15, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple SIMs and the network device (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065 & Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064);
the terminal device recovers a multi-communication mode, and the multiple SIMs are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
priorities of the multiple SIMs, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, and a priority of resource occupation;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available uplink radio frequency;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available uplink radio frequency link;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available downlink radio frequency;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an available downlink radio frequency link;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has an uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC;
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has a[n] downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; or
which SIMs of the terminal device have or a current SIM has a downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Takahashi is the same as for Claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 15, further comprising: performing second resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the second information (Takahashi; in step S705, upon receiving IDC indication [empty], the master base station 201 executes switching to the multiple UL carrier simultaneous transmission of LTE and NR, Par. 0116).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Takahashi is the same as for Claim 15.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi and in further view of INGALE et al. (INGALE hereinafter) (US 20180263048 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 7,
SIMs (Chen; wireless devices that include two transceivers and two SIM cards, referred to as Dual SIM Dual Active (DSDA), Par. 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival to include the use of dual SIM as taught by Chen in order to actively transmit or receive at the same time (Chen; Par. 0064).
Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi failed explicitly teach,
wherein the second preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
one or more SIMs in an unreachable state switch to a reachable state;
a third SIM receives an RRC release message, wherein the third SIM is one or more SIMs in the connected state in the terminal device;
the third SIM sends a first request message to the network device, wherein the first request message is used to request an RRC release message from the network device;
the third SIM receives an RRC suspend message; the third SIM sends a second request message to the network device, wherein the second request message is used to request an RRC suspend message from the network device; and
timing duration of a preset timer exceeds preset duration;
or,
wherein the entering a preset communication process comprises at least one of the following:
a target SIM initiates a tracking area update (TAU) to the network device, wherein the target SIM is one or more SIMs that switch from the unreachable state to the reachable state when the second preset condition is satisfied;
one or more SIMs of the terminal device initiate TAU to the network device;
the target SIM enters the idle state;
one or more SIMs of the terminal device enter the idle state; the target SIM enters an inactive state;
one or more SIMs of the terminal device enter the inactive state;
a state of the target SIM before the target SIM enters the unreachable state;
a state of one or more SIMs of the terminal device before the one or more SIMs enter the unreachable state;
the target SIM enters a power saving mode; and
one or more SIMs of the terminal device enter the power saving mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, INGALE teaches,
wherein the second preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
a third SIM receives an RRC release message, wherein the third SIM is one or more SIMs in the connected state in the terminal device (INGALE; The eNB 700 sends (S728) the RRC message ... the RRC message includes at least one of: release the concerned LAA SCell reported by UE 200, Par. 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Susitaival- Chen-Takahashi to include the use of IDC indication as taught by INGALE in order to release cell to resolve the IDC issue (INGALE; Par. 0102).
Conclusion
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416