DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Applicant's response filed under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 in response to a Non-Final Office Action. Claims 1-3, 8-9, 13, 16, and 18 have been amended; Claims 21 have been added; Claim 4 canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 are subject to examination.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 11/12/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 12010539 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10-12 and 19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3, 5, 13, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et al. (JUNG hereinafter) (US 20210315026 A1) in view of Hsu et al. (Hsu hereinafter) (US 20180343697 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 18, JUNG teaches, An information reporting method, performed by a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises multiple communication modules, and the method comprises:
reporting first information to a network device if a first preset condition is satisfied, wherein the first preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have a communication conflict (JUNG; an in-device coexistence (IDC) problem ... related to a bandwidth part (BWP), dual connectivity (DC), or supplementary uplink (SUL), Par. 0047), and the first information represents assistance information for assisting solving the communication conflict (JUNG; The UE may monitor IDC for each resource and connection in real time according to configured information. Also, when a certain IDC problem that may not be solved by the UE itself is observed for a corresponding resource and connection or other IDC problem information transmission conditions are satisfied, the UE may trigger and start an operation of transmitting information on the IDC problem to the network, Par. 0136);
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device (JUNG; ul-DC-Assistancelnfo ... affectedCarrierFreqCombList, Par. 0180; Carrier frequency combination information ... field named affectedCarrierFreqCombList … AffectedCarrierFreqComb may include ... uplink (UL) frequency information (AffectedCarrierFreqUL), Par. 0197-0198);
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available uplink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available uplink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available downlink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available downlink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no uplink radio frequency that can be used for carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC);
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC and
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
Although JUNG teaches hardware sharing may exist for DC (dual connectivity), but failed explicitly teach that different RAT like LTE and NR have separate modules that shares resources. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsu teaches BB module and RF module for RAT1 and RAT2 in Fig. 2 .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to include the use of resource sharing as taught by Hsu in order to process simultaneously (Hsu; Par. 0026).
Specifically for claim 18, JUNG teaches, A terminal device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented (JUNG; The UE, Par. 0136).
Regarding claim 13 and claim 20, JUNG teaches, An information receiving method, performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving first information from a terminal device, wherein the terminal device comprises multiple communication modules, the first information is sent by the terminal device when a first preset condition is satisfied, the first preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have a communication conflict (JUNG; an in-device coexistence (IDC) problem ... related to a bandwidth part (BWP), dual connectivity (DC), or supplementary uplink (SUL), Par. 0047), and the first information represents assistance information for assisting solving the communication conflict (JUNG; The UE may monitor IDC for each resource and connection in real time according to configured information. Also, when a certain IDC problem that may not be solved by the UE itself is observed for a corresponding resource and connection or other IDC problem information transmission conditions are satisfied, the UE may trigger and start an operation of transmitting information on the IDC problem to the network, Par. 0136);
wherein the first information comprises at least one of the following:
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device (JUNG; ul-DC-Assistancelnfo ... affectedCarrierFreqCombList, Par. 0180; Carrier frequency combination information ... field named affectedCarrierFreqCombList … AffectedCarrierFreqComb may include ... uplink (UL) frequency information (AffectedCarrierFreqUL), Par. 0197-0198);
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available uplink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available uplink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available downlink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no available downlink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no uplink radio frequency that can be used for carrier aggregation (CA) or dual connectivity (DC);
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC and
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has no downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
Although JUNG teaches hardware sharing may exist for DC (dual connectivity), but failed explicitly teach that different RAT like LTE and NR have separate modules that shares resources. However, in the same field of endeavor, Hsu teaches BB module and RF module for RAT1 and RAT2 in Fig. 2 .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG to include the use of resource sharing as taught by Hsu in order to process simultaneously (Hsu; Par. 0026).
Specifically for claim 20, JUNG teaches, A network device, comprising: a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, where when the computer program is executed by the processor, steps of the method according to claim 13 are implemented (JUNG; base stations, Par. 0046).
Regarding claim 3, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple communication modules and the network device (JUNG; ul-DC-Assistancelnfo, Par. 0180);
the terminal device starts a multi-communication mode, and the multiple communication modules are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode;
a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device; or
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device.
Regarding claim 5, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting first information to a network device if a first preset condition is satisfied comprises at least one of the following:
if a first communication module is in a connected state, reporting, by the first communication module, the first information to the network device (JUNG; A network (e.g., an NR base station or an evolved universal terrestrial radio access network (EUTRAN) base station) ... UE is capable of reporting a DC-related problem to the network, Par. 0111);
if a first communication module is in a connected state and a second communication module will enter the connected state, reporting, by the first communication module, the first information to the network device;
if a second communication module receives a paging message from the network device, reporting, by the first communication module, the first information to the network device;
if a second communication module receives a paging message from the network device, reporting, by the second communication module, the first information to the network device; and
before the first communication module initiates a network connection, reporting, by the second communication module, the first information to the network device.
Claim 2 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG- Hsu and in further view of Plestid et al. (Plestid hereinafter) (US 20150011211 A1).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 21, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 1 and The terminal device according to claim 18 respectively, wherein the first information further comprises.
Although JUNG teaches IDC report, but failed to teach that report include priority. JUNG- Hsu failed explicitly teach,
priorities of the multiple communication modules, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, or a priority of resource occupation.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Plestid teaches,
priorities of the multiple communication modules, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order (Plestid; the device can send ... The preferred access technology, with or without specifying a reason, such as reducing thermal level and/or RF interference ... the UE device can specify the preferred network, e.g., for WLAN, Par. 0048-0049).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu to include the use of preference as taught by Plestid in order to prioritize access technology (Plestid; Par. 0050).
Claim 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG- Hsu and in further view of HONG (HONG hereinafter) (US 20210022146 A1).
Regarding claim 6, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 1, wherein the reporting first information to a network device comprises:
sending a message to the network device, wherein the RRC message carries the first information;
wherein the message comprises at least one of the following:
a user assistance message (JUNG; the UE starts transmitting the InDeviceCoexIndication message … ul-DC-Assistancelnfo, Par. 0175-0180); a customized message used to indicate that a user is unreachable; a message Msg1 during random access; a message Msg3 during random access; a message Msg5 during random access; a response message of an RRC release message; and a response message of an RRC suspend message.
JUNG- Hsu failed explicitly teach,
a radio resource control (RRC).
However, in the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches,
a radio resource control (RRC) (HONG; the user equipment may send the IDC interference report through Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, Par. 0112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu to include the use of RRC as taught by HONG in order to send report (HONG; Par. 0112).
Regarding claim 14, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 13, further comprising.
JUNG- Hsu failed explicitly teach,
performing first resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the first information.
However, in the same field of endeavor, HONG teaches,
performing first resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the first information (HONG; the user equipment may perform data transmission based on the information for coordinating IDC interference configured by the base station, so as to solve IDC interference, Par. 0119).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu to include the use of coordination as taught by HONG in order to resolve interference issue (HONG; Par. 0119).
Claim 7-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG- Hsu and in further view of Takahashi et al. (Takahashi hereinafter) (US 20210092662 A1).
Regarding claim 7, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 1.
JUNG- Hsu failed explicitly teach,
wherein after the reporting first information to a network device, the method further comprises:
if a second preset condition is satisfied, performing at least one of the following operations:
reporting second information to the network device; and entering a preset communication procedure; wherein the second preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches,
wherein after the reporting first information to a network device (Takahashi; In step S205, the user equipment 100 sends an interference notification, Par. 0062), the method further comprises:
if a second preset condition is satisfied, performing at least one of the following operations:
reporting second information to the network device (Takahashi; step S208, Par. 0065); and entering a preset communication procedure; wherein the second preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have no communication conflict (Takahashi; Upon detecting resolution of the device-internal interference, Par. 0065) or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device (Takahashi; in step S208, the user equipment 100 reports that the device-internal interference has been eliminated, to the master base station 201 by sending an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu to include the use of empty IDC indication as taught by Takahashi in order to report that issues have been resolved (Takahashi; Par. 0065).
Regarding claim 8, JUNG- Hsu- Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 7, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple communication modules and the network device (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
the terminal device recovers a multi-communication mode, and the multiple communication modules are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device; a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device; a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
priorities of the multiple communication modules, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, and a priority of resource occupation;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available uplink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available uplink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available downlink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available downlink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC; which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has a[n] downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; or
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has a downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Takahashi is the same as for Claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, JUNG- Hsu teaches, The method according to claim 13, further comprising.
JUNG- Hsu failed explicitly teach,
receiving second information from the terminal device, wherein the second information is sent by the terminal device when a second preset condition is met, the second preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Takahashi teaches,
receiving second information from the terminal device (Takahashi; step S208, Par. 0065), wherein the second information is sent by the terminal device when a second preset condition is met, the second preset condition represents that the multiple communication modules have no communication conflict or a communication conflict is solved, (Takahashi; Upon detecting resolution of the device-internal interference, Par. 0065), and the second information represents information for normal communication of the terminal device (Takahashi; in step S208, the user equipment 100 reports that the device-internal interference has been eliminated, to the master base station 201 by sending an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu to include the use of empty IDC indication as taught by Takahashi in order to report that issues have been resolved (Takahashi; Par. 0065).
Regarding claim 16, JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 15, wherein the second information comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal device is in a multi-communication state or supports a multi-communication state, and the multi-communication state represents that there are communication connections between the multiple communication modules and the network device (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
the terminal device recovers a multi-communication mode, and the multiple communication modules are allowed to communicate with the network device in the multi-communication mode (Takahashi; an empty IDC indication, Par. 0065);
a number of uplinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of downlinks supported by the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available uplink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequencies of the terminal device;
a number of available downlink radio frequency links of the terminal device;
priorities of the multiple communication modules, wherein the priorities comprise at least one of a priority order, a priority of a bearer service, a priority of hardware sharing, and a priority of resource occupation;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available uplink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available uplink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available downlink radio frequency;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an available downlink radio frequency link;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an uplink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has an uplink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC;
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has a[n] downlink radio frequency that can be used for CA or DC; or
which communication modules of the terminal device have or a current communication module has a downlink radio frequency link that can be used for CA or DC.
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Takahashi is the same as for Claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 15, further comprising: performing second resource scheduling for the terminal device based on the second information (Takahashi; in step S705, upon receiving IDC indication [empty], the master base station 201 executes switching to the multiple UL carrier simultaneous transmission of LTE and NR, Par. 0116).
The rational and motivation for adding this teaching of Takahashi is the same as for Claim 15.
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi and in further view of INGALE et al. (INGALE hereinafter) (US 20180263048 A1).
Regarding claim 9, JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi teaches, The method according to claim 7.
JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi failed explicitly teach,
wherein the second preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
one or more communication modules in an unreachable state switch to a reachable state;
a third communication module receives an RRC release message, wherein the third communication module is one or more communication modules in the connected state in the terminal device;
the third communication module sends a first request message to the network device, wherein the first request message is used to request an RRC release message from the network device;
the third communication module receives an RRC suspend message; the third communication module sends a second request message to the network device, wherein the second request message is used to request an RRC suspend message from the network device; and
timing duration of a preset timer exceeds preset duration;
or,
wherein the entering a preset communication process comprises at least one of the following:
a target communication module initiates a tracking area update (TAU) to the network device, wherein the target communication module is one or more communication modules that switch from the unreachable state to the reachable state when the second preset condition is satisfied;
one or more communication modules of the terminal device initiate TAU to the network device;
the target communication module enters the idle state;
one or more communication modules of the terminal device enter the idle state; the target communication module enters an inactive state;
one or more communication modules of the terminal device enter the inactive state;
a state of the target communication module before the target communication module enters the unreachable state;
a state of one or more communication modules of the terminal device before the one or more communication modules enter the unreachable state;
the target communication module enters a power saving mode; and
one or more communication modules of the terminal device enter the power saving mode.
However, in the same field of endeavor, INGALE teaches,
wherein the second preset condition comprises at least one of the following:
a third communication module receives an RRC release message, wherein the third communication module is one or more communication modules in the connected state in the terminal device (INGALE; The eNB 700 sends (S728) the RRC message ... the RRC message includes at least one of: release the concerned LAA SCell reported by UE 200, Par. 0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of JUNG- Hsu-Takahashi to include the use of IDC indication as taught by INGALE in order to release cell to resolve the IDC issue (INGALE; Par. 0102).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416