DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In Claim 1, a limitation “a first supporting means” is interpreted as “two support arms” according to [0048] in the current specification.
In Claim 1, a limitation “a second supporting means” is interpreted as “two support arms” according to [0048] in the current specification.
In Claim 7, a limitation “at least one alignment means” is interpreted as “an alignment pin” according to [0065] of the current specification.
In Claim 8, a limitation “a first alignment means” is interpreted as “an alignment pin” according to [0065] of the current specification.
In Claim 8, a limitation “a second alignment means” is interpreted as “two alignment bolts” according to [0066] of the current specification.
In Claim 13, a limitation “a third supporting means” is interpreted as “a rigid body formed in one piece with the second base body part” according to [0070] of the current specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0186744).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a tool cartridge (Fig. 1, 10) for supporting tool parts, comprising
a base body (Fig. 2, 12 & 30),
a first supporting means (Fig. 2, 14) attached to the base body (Fig. 2, 12 & 30) for reversibly detachably receiving a first tool part (punch) ([0065]: two punch-retention arms 14), and
a second supporting means (Fig. 2, 16) attached to the base body (Fig. 2, 12) for reversibly detachably receiving a second tool part (die) ([0065]: two die-retention arms 16),
wherein the base body (Fig. 2, 12 & 30) is configured in two parts (12 & 30),
wherein the first supporting means (Fig. 2, 14) is arranged at a first base body
part (Fig. 2, 30), and
wherein the second supporting means (Fig. 2, 16) is arranged at a second base body part (Fig. 2, 12).
Examiner notes that the claim language such as “for reversibly detachably receiving a first tool part” and “for reversibly detachably receiving a second tool part” are statements of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Lee's first supporting means and second supporting means are not only capable of performing the intended function, but also actually perform the intended functions. (see MPEP 2114)
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the tool cartridge (Fig. 1, 10) is construed for supporting a multi-part machining tool (punch & die) ([0065]: two punch-retention arms 14 & two die-retention arms 16) for at least one of a punching and forming apparatus.
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the first base body part (Fig. 2, 30) is reversibly detachably connected to the second base body part (Fig. 2, 12) ([0068]).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, comprising at least one bearing means (Fig. 2, 134) attached to both base body parts (Fig. 2, 12 & 30) for pivotably mounting at least one of the first supporting means (Fig. 2, 14) at the base body (Fig. 2, 12 & 30) ([0068]: each arm 14 is adapted to pivot on a pin 134).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 4, wherein the at least one bearing means (Fig. 2, 134) is designed as a bearing bolt ([0068]: a pin) that is rigidly connected to the base body (Fig. 2, 12 & 30) ([0068]: a pin 134 anchored to the main body and/or to the center piece).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein at least one alignment means (Fig. 2, 36) is arranged at the base body (Fig. 2, 12 or 30) for fixing an alignment of the first tool part relative to the base body (Fig. 2, 12 or 30) ([0075]).
Examiner notes that the claim language such as “for fixing an alignment of the first tool part relative to the base body” is a statement of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, the structure of Lee's at least one alignment means is not only capable of performing the intended function, but also actually performs the intended function. (see MPEP 2114)
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, comprising a first alignment means (Fig. 2, 36) at the first base body part (Fig. 2, 30) ([0075]) and a second alignment means (Fig. 2, 20) at the second base body part (Fig. 2, 12) ([0077]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee teaches the tool cartridge (1) according to claim 1, wherein the base body (Fig. 2, 12) has undercuts (Fig. 1, 56, 58, 60) in each spatial direction ([0099]: front, side, bottom).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the base body (Fig. 2, 12) is manufactured using an additive manufacturing process.
This is considered a product-by-process claim whose patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. (see MPEP 2113) The main body (12) of Lee teaches all structural limitations in the claimed base body according to Claim 1 and there is no structural or functional distinction in the claimed article attributable to the additive manufacturing process.
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the base body (Fig. 2, 12) comprises a plastic material. ([0100]: conventional plastic cartridge)
Regarding Claim 13, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, comprising a third supporting means (Fig. 2, 18) formed in one piece with the second base body part (Fig. 2, 12) ([0081]: integral to the main body 12) for reversibly detachably receiving a third tool part ([0078]: stripper plate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0186744) in view of Gregg (U.S. Patent No. 9,248,967).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee teaches the tool cartridge according to claim 1, wherein the first supporting means (Fig. 2, 14) has a counter-bearing means (Fig. 2, holes in the main body 12 for receiving pins 134.). Lee does not teach a counter-bearing means having a bearing collar.
Gregg teaches the first supporting means (Fig. 3, 120) has a counter-bearing means (Fig. 3, 128) having a bearing collar (Fig. 3, 182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a bushing inside the hole in the main body (12) of Lee for receiving a pin as taught by Gregg (134) in order to prevent a wear and tear of the hole in the main body (12) and simplify a repair process if the bushing (182) is damaged.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0186744) in view of Kerscher et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0344324).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches the tool cartridge (1) according to claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the base body comprises a fiber-reinforced plastic material.
Kerscher teaches the base body comprises a fiber-reinforced plastic material. ([0023]: The cartridge base body 2 is made of plastic, for example, a fiber-reinforced polyamide.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the base body of Lee with a fiber-reinforced polyamide as taught by Kerscher as fiber-reinforced polyamide is light as suggested in Kerscher [0011] and it further offers increased mechanical strength and rigidity.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2007/0186744).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches a combination, comprising
the tool cartridge (Fig. 1, 10) according to claim 1.
Although Lee does not explicitly teach the first tool part received at the tool cartridge, it teaches that the two punch-retention arms are adapted to removable retain a punch on the cartridge. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the first tool part in the tool cartridge of Lee in order to easily exchange several different sets of tools including a punch during a machining process.
Regarding Claim 15, Lee teaches the combination according to claim 14, wherein the first tool part (punch) is part of a multi-part machining tool ([0003]: punch, die, stripper) for a punching apparatus or a forming apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUN S YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726 9/5/2026