DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/11/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites:
at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the first page
a content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page
the at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the second-level page
the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page
the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page
the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page
The relationship between these elements is unclear. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as:
at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the first page
a content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page
the at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the second-level page
the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page
a second content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page
a third at least one content option displayed on the second-level page
Claim 1 further recites “the second control option on the second-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited the second control option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a third control option on the second-level page
Claim 1 further recites “a sub-page corresponding to the main layer”, “a sub-page corresponding to the background layer”, and “the sub-page”. It is unclear whether “the sub-page” is intend to refer back to either of the previously recited sub-pages. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second sub-page.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, claims 9 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 9 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 6-8 and 14-16, claims 6-8 and 14-16 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. (US 20230367472 A1, published 11/16/2023), hereinafter Clarke.
Regarding claim 1, Clarke teaches the claim comprising:
A method for editing a lock screen interface, comprising (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0007], the device has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple function; Executable instructions for performing these functions are, optionally, included in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium or other computer program product configured for execution by one or more processors; [0199], while the device wakes up to leave the low power state, an animation is displayed to transition the device from being off (e.g., displaying a black background optionally with the “always on” time and/or date) to displaying a wake screen user interface 501 (also referred to herein as a lock screen user interface)):
in response to detecting an editing operation to edit the lock screen interface, displaying, based on a content to be edited corresponding to the editing operation, a first page on a top layer, wherein at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0199], while the device wakes up to leave the low power state, an animation is displayed to transition the device from being off (e.g., displaying a black background optionally with the “always on” time and/or date) to displaying a wake screen user interface 501 (also referred to herein as a lock screen user interface); as explained in more detail below, the device detects and responds to user input(s) (e.g., inputs directed to the editing user interface 565-a in 5W1 or 565 in 5X) that correspond to request(s) to change one or more settings of the wake screen user interface, for example to change a font color and/or style of the time and/or date indication and/or to change the complications that are included in the wake screen user interface; [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 further includes a user-selectable option 553 to customize the wake screen that is centered in the expanded face switcher user interface 561. For example, a user selection input on option 553 would open the editing user interface (e.g., editing user interface 565, FIG. 5X) for the wake screen corresponding to representation 550. In some embodiments, expanded face switcher user interface 561 includes an option 555 for changing a background image of the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550. In some embodiments, in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550);
and editing the content to be edited based on a selection of a content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0251], the device 100 ceases displaying the editing user interface 565, and displays a wake screen user interface 5001 having the properties, as selected by the user in the editing user interface, as illustrated in FIG. 5AH)
wherein detecting the editing operation comprises: receiving the editing operation on a lock screen editing interface, wherein the editing operation triggers editing of a pre-set template displayed on the lock screen interface, and the pre-set template corresponds to the lock screen interface (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230], in response to a user input 558, such as a tap input or other input, the device scrolls to the right to bring the representation 554 to the center of the wake screen selector user interface 548-2 (FIG. 5V); [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 further includes a user-selectable option 553 to customize the wake screen that is centered in the expanded face switcher user interface 561. For example, a user selection input on option 553 would open the editing user interface (e.g., editing user interface 565, FIG. 5X) for the wake screen corresponding to representation 550 [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X) ;
wherein displaying the first page on the top layer comprises: displaying a first-level page, wherein a first control option is displayed on the first-level page, and a selection of the first control option triggers editing of a template content in the pre-set template; and based on the first control option selected by a user on the first-level page, displaying a second-level page on the top layer, wherein the at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the second-level page, and the first control option corresponds to the content to be edited; wherein editing the content to be edited based on the selection of the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page comprises: editing the content to be edited based on the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE)
wherein the content to be edited comprises a lock screen wallpaper, the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page comprises a second control option, and the second control option is configured to trigger editing of the lock screen wallpaper (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230], in response to a user input 558, such as a tap input or other input, the device scrolls to the right to bring the representation 554 to the center of the wake screen selector user interface 548-2 (FIG. 5V); [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0371], image or wallpaper (e.g., as shown in FIG. 7B); [0460], a first background (e.g., image and/or wallpaper));
wherein editing of the content to be edited based on the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page comprises: in response to detecting that the second control option on the second-level page is selected, displaying a second-level sub-page, wherein different types of wallpapers are classified and displayed on the second-level sub-page, and wallpapers of a same type comprises multiple different wallpapers; and based on a selection of a wallpaper and selection of a wallpaper type, returning back to display the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper based on a selected wallpaper type on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0252], FIG. 5AI illustrates a portrait-style wake screen user interface 5001 that optionally includes a plurality of complications, including health complication 502-15, weather complication 502-16, breathe complication 502-17 and sports complication 502-18, and includes a background photo with a subject (e.g., an individual); [0253], a wake screen user interface that includes a photo as the background image (e.g., such as the portrait-style background image illustrated in FIG. 5AI), displays the photo with a different aspect ratio than the aspect ratio of the stored photo (e.g., as stored in a photos application). For example, the device 100 automatically centers, zooms and/or crops a photo stored in the photos application to be displayed as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0256-0257], crop indication 5003 optionally includes a textual indication such as, “pinch to crop” to inform the user that a pinch gesture, or other type of gesture, will cause the device 100 to crop the photo used as the background of wake user interface 5001; [0262], different styles of text for the time and/or date indication (e.g., including a font style and/or a color), and/or different background colors for a photo; [0313], the background of the wake screen user interface is an emoji-style background (e.g., a smiley face emoji), in which one or more emojis are arranged in a pattern (e.g., a geometric pattern). In some embodiments, different views of the emoji user interface include changing a size and/or arrangement (e.g., pattern) of the emojis in the background of the wake screen user interface. In some embodiments, an option 628b for selecting additional and/or alternative emojis (e.g., using an emoji picker) is displayed in editing user interface 626; [0314-0315], in FIG. 6H2, a smiley face emoji is selected, and the grid pattern includes the smiley face emoji; [0323], FIG. 6K illustrates a user interface 652 for creating a new wake screen user interface (also referred to herein as a face) to add to the set of wake screen user interfaces; in response to user input 656 selecting to create a new face based on a photo, the device 100 displays a photo picker user interface 668 (FIG. 6N), for the user to select a photo to be used as the background of the new face, and enables the user to, after selecting the photo, modify other features of the face, including font features; [0324], ser interface 652 includes one or more “Featured Faces” that correspond to wake screen user interfaces that have been automatically generated (e.g., by device 100), without user input. For example, the Featured Faces optionally includes a “Smart Album” that identifies a plurality of images (e.g., photos) to include in the wake screen user interface; [0325], the Featured Faces includes an emoji user interface, which includes a preselected emoji and/or pattern of emoji. In some embodiments, the Featured Faces includes a weather user interface that creates a visual effect that corresponds to a current weather forecast, a globe user interface that includes an image of a glob, an astronomy user interface that includes one or more celestial bodies, and/or a Pride user interface that includes a symbol representing Pride; [0329], in response to user input 676, illustrated in FIG. 6O, the device 100 displays editing user interface 678-a, including displaying at least one reticle (e.g., a reticle 572 for editing one or more complications, and optionally a reticle for the time and/or date indication) behind; [0330], FIG. 6P illustrates editing user interface 678 for editing the wake screen user interface with the photo 672 as the background, in response to user input 676; [0335], FIG. 6U illustrates a user interface 6004 for selecting one or more categories for photos to be included in a Smart Album, and an option for selecting a frequency for changing the background while a Smart Album is selected as the background of the wake screen user interface)
wherein displaying the selected wallpaper based on the selected wallpaper type on the second-level page comprises: in response to the selected wallpaper type being a type that supports an image cutout function, starting a layering function in the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper according to a layering effect, wherein the layering function is configured to support the image cutout function (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226-0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces; [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0252], FIG. 5AI illustrates a portrait-style wake screen user interface 5001 that optionally includes a plurality of complications, including health complication 502-15, weather complication 502-16, breathe complication 502-17 and sports complication 502-18, and includes a background photo with a subject (e.g., an individual); [0253], a wake screen user interface that includes a photo as the background image (e.g., such as the portrait-style background image illustrated in FIG. 5AI), displays the photo with a different aspect ratio than the aspect ratio of the stored photo (e.g., as stored in a photos application). For example, the device 100 automatically centers, zooms and/or crops a photo stored in the photos application to be displayed as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0256-0257], crop indication 5003 optionally includes a textual indication such as, “pinch to crop” to inform the user that a pinch gesture, or other type of gesture, will cause the device 100 to crop the photo used as the background of wake user interface 5001; [0262], different styles of text for the time and/or date indication (e.g., including a font style and/or a color), and/or different background colors for a photo; [0323], FIG. 6K illustrates a user interface 652 for creating a new wake screen user interface (also referred to herein as a face) to add to the set of wake screen user interfaces; in response to user input 656 selecting to create a new face based on a photo, the device 100 displays a photo picker user interface 668 (FIG. 6N), for the user to select a photo to be used as the background of the new face, and enables the user to, after selecting the photo, modify other features of the face, including font features; [0324], user interface 652 includes one or more “Featured Faces” that correspond to wake screen user interfaces that have been automatically generated (e.g., by device 100), without user input. For example, the Featured Faces optionally includes a “Smart Album” that identifies a plurality of images (e.g., photos) to include in the wake screen user interface; [0329], in response to user input 676, illustrated in FIG. 6O, the device 100 displays editing user interface 678-a, including displaying at least one reticle (e.g., a reticle 572 for editing one or more complications, and optionally a reticle for the time and/or date indication) behind, or at least partially occluded by, a portion of the background image, such as the subject of the background image (e.g., the airplanes); [0330], FIG. 6P illustrates editing user interface 678 for editing the wake screen user interface with the photo 672 as the background, in response to user input 676; [0335], FIG. 6U illustrates a user interface 6004 for selecting one or more categories for photos to be included in a Smart Album, and an option for selecting a frequency for changing the background while a Smart Album is selected as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0539], crops the photo at the selected zoom and/or with the selected center to fit the display region of the display generation component. For example, as described with reference to FIGS. 5AJ and 5AK, a user input 5004 (e.g., an outward pinch gesture) and/or user input 5006 (e.g., an inward pinch gesture) causes the device 100 to change a size and/or crop of the background image (e.g., the subject of the portrait-style photo); [0371], image or wallpaper (e.g., as shown in FIG. 7B); [0460], a first background (e.g., image and/or wallpaper))
wherein displaying the selected wallpaper according to the layering effect comprises: dividing the selected wallpaper into a main layer and a background layer; when receiving a user gesture on the main layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the main layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a second control option corresponding to the main layer; and when receiving a user gesture on the background layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the background layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a further second control option corresponding to the background layer (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 includes an option 555 for changing a background image of the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550. In some embodiments, in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0304], user input selecting option 609b enables a user to view a gallery view (e.g., user interface 652, FIG. 6K) for creating a new wake screen user interface to add to the set of user interfaces; [0510], selection of the selectable option in the first user interface for navigating to the third user interface, causes display of the first user interface to be replaced by the display of the third user interface (e.g., selection of option 609b (FIG. 6D) causes the device 100 to display the user interface 652 (FIG. 6K)); [0323], FIG. 6K illustrates a user interface 652 for creating a new wake screen user interface; in response to user input 656 selecting to create a new face based on a photo, the device 100 displays a photo picker user interface 668 (FIG. 6N); [0328], FIG. 6N illustrates photo picker user interface 668 for selecting a photo to use as a background image for the wake screen user interface. In some embodiments, in response to user input 670 selecting a photo 672, the device 100 displays user interface 674 (FIG. 6O) for viewing a preview of the photo 672 as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0329], in response to user input 676, illustrated in FIG. 6O, the device 100 displays editing user interface 678-a, including displaying at least one reticle (e.g., a reticle 572 for editing one or more complications, and optionally a reticle for the time and/or date indication) behind, or at least partially occluded by, a portion of the background image, such as the subject of the background image (e.g., the airplanes). In some embodiments, in response to user input 682-a directed to a reticle 569 for editing the time indication, the reticles, including reticle 572, reticle 569 and reticle 568, are displayed in front of the subject of the background image, as illustrated in FIG. 6P; [0330], FIG. 6P illustrates editing user interface 678 for editing the wake screen user interface with the photo 672 as the background, in response to user input 676. In some embodiments, the device edits the wake screen user interface in response to a user's request to adding one or more complications to the wake screen user interface, as illustrated in FIGS. 6P-6Q. For example, in response to user input 682 selecting the plus button in editing user interface 678 in FIG. 6P, the device 100 displays user interface element 680 for adding complications as shown in FIG. 6Q; [0331], FIG. 6Q illustrates user input 684 selecting a set of complications 686 to add to the wake screen user interface. In some embodiments, in response to user input 684, the device 100 displays the set of complications 686 under the time indication (FIG. 6R); [0332], FIG. 6Q further illustrates user input 685 selecting a reticle for the time indication, and in response to user input 685, the device 100 displays user interface element 687 for modifying one or more properties (e.g., color and/or font style) of the time and/or date indication; [0356], FIG. 6AJ illustrates user input 6064 corresponding to a request to modify a background of the wake screen user interface. In some embodiments, in response to user input 6064, device 100 displays a color picker 6066 for changing a color applied to the photo. In some embodiments, the initially selected color is selected to have a color tone that matches the tone of the original photo. For example, as indicated in FIG. 6AK, the selected color has a high level of luminance (e.g., for a high-key original photo), as indicated by the selector being to the left on the slider bar 6068 that indicates a level of luminance that defines the tone of the currently selected color; [0357], user input 6070 corresponds to a request to change a tone of the selected color. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 6AL, in response to user input 6070, the background of user interface 6050-8 is displayed with a darker (e.g., more low-key) tone of the same color of the background in user interface 6050-7 in FIG. 6AK; [0359], FIG. 6AL illustrates a user input 6069 selecting another color that is displayed in the color picker 6066. In some embodiments, in response to user input 6069)
Regarding claims 9 and 17, claims 9 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 9 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the content to be edited comprises a lock screen text, the at least one content option comprises a lock screen text region, and one or more types of lock screen texts are displayed in the lock screen text region; wherein editing the content to be edited based on the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page comprises: in response to detecting a selection operation on the lock screen text region, displaying the second-level page, wherein one or more text sub-regions are displayed on the second-level page, and each of the one or more text sub-regions corresponds to a lock screen text type; in response to detecting a selection operation of selecting a text sub-region from the one or more text sub-regions, displaying a second-level sub-page, wherein at least one text option is displayed on a top layer of the second-level sub-page, and the at least one text option corresponds to a lock screen text type selected in the text sub-region; and in response to detecting selection of a text option from the at least one text option, returning back to display the second-level page, wherein a lock screen text corresponding to the selected text option is displayed in the text sub-region on the second-level page selected by the user (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein displaying the at least one text option on the top layer of the second-level sub-page comprises: displaying the at least one text option in a pop-up window on the second-level sub-page, wherein a distance between a window region displayed in the pop-up window and the text sub-region is less than a distance threshold (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date; [0312], in response to a user input on the “Font Color” button in FIG. 6G, a user interface element 630, as illustrated in FIG. 6H is displayed; as shown, distances are less than a screen size threshold; see also [0184], [0405], for distance thresholds that are larger than the distance between a window region displayed in the pop-up window and the text sub-region selected by the user is less than a distance threshold)
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claims 15 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein at least one third control option is displayed on the second-level page, the at least one third control option is configured to adjust a style of the lock screen text, and the style comprises at least one of font or color; and wherein the method further comprises: in response to detecting selection of a third control option from the at least one third control option, displaying the second-level sub-page, wherein at least one style option corresponding to the selected third control option is displayed on the second-level sub-page, and the at least one style option corresponds to the one or more text sub-regions on the second-level page; and in response to detecting selection of a style option from the at least one style option, updating a style of one or more text sub-regions corresponding to the selected style option displayed in the lock screen text region to a style corresponding to the style option (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claims 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6-9, and 14-17 and the cancellation of claims 2-5, 10-13, and 18-20. The previous objections to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are respectfully withdrawn. The corrections to the claims to address the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are approved; however, the claims stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as necessitated by the amendments.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Clarke as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach wherein displaying the selected wallpaper according to the layering effect comprises: dividing the selected wallpaper into a main layer and a background layer; when receiving a user gesture on the main layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the main layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a second control option corresponding to the main layer; and when receiving a user gesture on the background layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the background layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a further second control option corresponding to the background layer, as has been amended to the claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Clarke is considered to teach in response to detecting an editing operation to edit the lock screen interface, displaying, based on a content to be edited corresponding to the editing operation, a first page on a top layer, wherein at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0199], [0234]); and editing the content to be edited based on a selection of a content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], [0240-0241], [0248], [0250-0251]) wherein detecting the editing operation comprises: receiving the editing operation on a lock screen editing interface, wherein the editing operation triggers editing of a pre-set template displayed on the lock screen interface, and the pre-set template corresponds to the lock screen interface (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], [0228], [0230], [0234], [0236]); wherein displaying the first page on the top layer comprises: displaying a first-level page, wherein a first control option is displayed on the first-level page, and a selection of the first control option triggers editing of a template content in the pre-set template; and based on the first control option selected by a user on the first-level page, displaying a second-level page on the top layer, wherein the at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the second-level page, and the first control option corresponds to the content to be edited; wherein editing the content to be edited based on the selection of the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the first page comprises: editing the content to be edited based on the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], [0240-0241], [0248], [0250]) wherein the content to be edited comprises a lock screen wallpaper, the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page comprises a second control option, and the second control option is configured to trigger editing of the lock screen wallpaper (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226],; [0228], [0230], [0234], [0371]); wherein editing of the content to be edited based on the content option in the at least one content option displayed on the second-level page comprises: in response to detecting that the second control option on the second-level page is selected, displaying a second-level sub-page, wherein different types of wallpapers are classified and displayed on the second-level sub-page, and wallpapers of a same type comprises multiple different wallpapers; and based on a selection of a wallpaper and selection of a wallpaper type, returning back to display the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper based on a selected wallpaper type on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], [0252-0253], [0256-0257], [0262], [0313-0315], [0323-0325], [0329-0330], [0335]); wherein displaying the selected wallpaper based on the selected wallpaper type on the second-level page comprises: in response to the selected wallpaper type being a type that supports an image cutout function, starting a layering function in the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper according to a layering effect, wherein the layering function is configured to support the image cutout function (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226-0228],; [0234], [0252-0253], [0256-0257], [0262], [0323-0324], [0329-0330], [0335], [0371], [0539]); wherein displaying the selected wallpaper according to the layering effect comprises: dividing the selected wallpaper into a main layer and a background layer; when receiving a user gesture on the main layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the main layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a second control option corresponding to the main layer; and when receiving a user gesture on the background layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the background layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a further second control option corresponding to the background layer (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], [0236], [0240-0241], [0250], [0304], [0328-0332], [0356-0359], [0510]). Thus, Clarke is considered to teach claim 1.
Specifically, applicant alleges that Clarke fails to disclose "dividing the selected wallpaper into a main layer and a background layer" (see remarks p. 23). Applicant alleges Clarke provides a "crop indication 5003" to resize the image. However, Clarke does not disclose that the background (the human face in FIG. SAi) is divided into different layers (see remarks p. 24). Applicant further alleges the "Smart Album" actually provides a feature of scrolling background photos at a set frequency. However, this is different from the layering effect recited in claim 1 of the present application because none of the photos in FIG. 6U is divided into different layers (see remarks pp. 25-26). The "Smart Album" in Clarke as shown in FIG. 6U is not displaying of different layers of a wallpaper, but is scroll display of multiple photos. None of the photos in FIG. 6U is divided into different layers, let alone disclosing popping up sub-pages corresponding to the main layer and background, respectively when receiving user gestures for the main layer and the background layer, respectively (see remarks p. 26). The "crop indication 5003" in FIG. SAi in Clarke is also different from the "layering" effect as specified in claim 1 of the present application, and thus fails to disclose popping up sub-pages corresponding to the main layer and background, respectively when receiving user gestures for the main layer and the background layer, respectively, as well as providing second control options on corresponding sub-pages (see remarks pp 26.-27). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed above, Clarke teaches a system including a lockscreen an interface to edit a lockscreen comprising multiple layers (1-17; [0199], [0234]). The lockscreen provides controls to a user to select one of a plurality of wallpapers (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], [0228], [0230], [0234], [0371]), such wallpapers that support an image cutout function. For example, in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed ([0234], [0323], [0328]). FIG. 5AI illustrates a portrait-style wake screen user interface 5001 that includes a plurality of layer options including complications, time, and a background ([0248-0253]). The selected image can be edited such as by cropping ([0256-0257]). The system allows the user to select different styles of text and different background colors for the photo ([0262]). The system provides a layering effect such that the user input a first gesture to edit a first layer of the wallpaper. In response to the gesture, popup menus are displayed that enable the user to add complications to the layered wallpaper (Figs. 6p, 6q, [0329-0331]) and modify properties of the time display (Fig. 6r, [0332]). The user can input a second gesture to edit a second layer of the wallpaper. In response to the gesture, popup menus are displayed that enable the user select a photo (Figs. 6k, 6n, [0234], [0323], [0328]) as well as adjust the color of the background of the photo (Figs. 6AJ-6AL, [0356-0359]).
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the wallpaper, main layer, background layer, user gestures, sub-pages, and control options must comprise. Examiner further notes the claims do not require that the photo be divided into different layers (see remarks pp. 24-26). The claims require that a wallpaper, that supports an image cut-out function, be divided into a main layer and background layer. Thus, Clarke’s disclosure of dividing the selected wallpaper into a main layer and a background layer; when receiving a user gesture on the main layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the main layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a second control option corresponding to the main layer; and when receiving a user gesture on the background layer, popping up a sub-page corresponding to the background layer, wherein the sub-page comprises a further second control option corresponding to the background layer (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], [0236], [0240-0241], [0250], [0304], [0328-0332], [0356-0359], [0510]) is considered to teach the claim.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 9 and 17 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Clarke is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoon (US 20140245202 A1) see Figs. 1-12 and [0038-0053].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143