DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 05/02/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19 recite ‘based on selection’; however, they should recite - - based on a selection - -.
Claims 3, 11, and 19 recite ‘the selected wallpaper based on the selected wallpaper type’; however, they should recite - - a selected wallpaper based on a selected wallpaper type- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “displaying a first page on a top layer based on a content to be edited corresponding to the editing operation”. It is unclear whether “based on a content to be edited” is intended to modify “displaying” or “a top layer”. It is further unclear which previous limitation “corresponding to the editing operation” is intended to modify. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: displaying, on a top layer, a first page, wherein the displaying is based on a content to be edited, wherein the content to be edited corresponds to the editing operation
Claim 1 further recites “the at least one content option on the first page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited at least one content option for editing the content to be edited. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: at least one second content option on the first page
Regarding claims 9 and 17, claims 9 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, claims 9 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20, claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-20 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “the lock screen interface displayed on the lock screen interface”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited lock screen interface. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second lock screen interface displayed on the lock screen interface
Claim 2 further recites “the content to be edited corresponding to the first control option selected by a user on the first-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited content to be edited. It is further unclear how “first control option selected by a user on the first-level page” relates to the previously recited first control option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second content to be edited corresponding to a second control option selected by a user on the first-level page
Claim 2 further recites “the content option on the second-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited content option and at least one content option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second content option on the second-level page
Regarding claims 10 and 18, claims 10 and 18 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claims 10 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “the second control option on the second-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited the second control option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a third control option on the second-level page
Regarding claims 11 and 19, claims 11 and 19 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claims 11 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 recites “the types of wallpapers”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited different types of wallpapers. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second types of wallpapers
Claim 4 further recites “the selected wallpaper that supports image cutout according to a layering effect”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited selected wallpaper. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second selected wallpaper that supports image cutout according to a layering effect
Regarding claims 12 and 20, claims 12 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 12 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “the content to be edited corresponding to the lock screen content”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited content to be edited corresponding to the editing operation. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: second content to be edited corresponding to the lock screen content
Claim 5 further recites “the selection of the content option on the first page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited selection of a content option from the at least one content option on the first page. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second selection of the content option on the first page
Claim 5 further recites “the content option on the second-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited content option and at least one content option on the first page. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second content option on the second-level page
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 13 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 recites “editing the content to be edited based on selection of the content option on the second-level page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited editing the content to be edited based on the content option on the second-level page. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: editing the content to be edited based on a second selection of a second content option on the second-level page
Claim 6 further recites “each of the text sub-regions”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited one or more text sub-regions. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: each text sub-region of a plurality of text sub-regions
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 recites “the text sub-region selected by the user”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited text sub-region. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second text sub-region selected by the user
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claims 15 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “the at least one style option displayed on the second-level sub-page”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited at least one style option corresponding to the selected third control option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a second at least one style option displayed on the second-level sub-page
Claim 8 further recites “the style option selected by the user”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited style option. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: the style option selected by the user
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claims 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Clarke et al. (US 20230367472 A1, published 11/16/2023), hereinafter Clarke.
Regarding claim 9, Clarke teaches the claim comprising:
An apparatus for editing a lock screen interface, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0007], the device has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple function; Executable instructions for performing these functions are, optionally, included in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium or other computer program product configured for execution by one or more processors; [0199], while the device wakes up to leave the low power state, an animation is displayed to transition the device from being off (e.g., displaying a black background optionally with the “always on” time and/or date) to displaying a wake screen user interface 501 (also referred to herein as a lock screen user interface)):
in response to detecting an editing operation to edit the lock screen interface, display a first page on a top layer based on a content to be edited corresponding to the editing operation, wherein at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0199], while the device wakes up to leave the low power state, an animation is displayed to transition the device from being off (e.g., displaying a black background optionally with the “always on” time and/or date) to displaying a wake screen user interface 501 (also referred to herein as a lock screen user interface); as explained in more detail below, the device detects and responds to user input(s) (e.g., inputs directed to the editing user interface 565-a in 5W1 or 565 in 5X) that correspond to request(s) to change one or more settings of the wake screen user interface, for example to change a font color and/or style of the time and/or date indication and/or to change the complications that are included in the wake screen user interface; [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 further includes a user-selectable option 553 to customize the wake screen that is centered in the expanded face switcher user interface 561. For example, a user selection input on option 553 would open the editing user interface (e.g., editing user interface 565, FIG. 5X) for the wake screen corresponding to representation 550. In some embodiments, expanded face switcher user interface 561 includes an option 555 for changing a background image of the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550. In some embodiments, in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550);
and edit the content to be edited based on selection of a content option from the at least one content option on the first page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0251], the device 100 ceases displaying the editing user interface 565, and displays a wake screen user interface 5001 having the properties, as selected by the user in the editing user interface, as illustrated in FIG. 5AH)
Regarding claims 1 and 17, claims 1 and 17 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 9. Consequently, claims 1 and 17 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein detecting the editing operation comprises: receiving the editing operation on a lock screen editing interface, wherein the editing operation triggers editing of a pre-set template of the lock screen interface displayed on the lock screen interface (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230], in response to a user input 558, such as a tap input or other input, the device scrolls to the right to bring the representation 554 to the center of the wake screen selector user interface 548-2 (FIG. 5V); [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 further includes a user-selectable option 553 to customize the wake screen that is centered in the expanded face switcher user interface 561. For example, a user selection input on option 553 would open the editing user interface (e.g., editing user interface 565, FIG. 5X) for the wake screen corresponding to representation 550 [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X) ;
wherein displaying the first page on the top layer comprises: displaying a first-level page, wherein a first control option is displayed on the first-level page, and selection of the first control option triggers editing of a template content in the pre-set template; and based on the content to be edited corresponding to the first control option selected by a user on the first-level page, displaying a second-level page on the top layer, wherein the at least one content option for editing the content to be edited is displayed on the second-level page; wherein editing the content to be edited based on selection of the content option from the at least one content option on the first page comprises: editing the content to be edited based on the content option on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE)
Regarding claims 10 and 18, claims 10 and 18 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claims 10 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the content to be edited comprises a lock screen wallpaper, the at least one content option comprises a second control option, and the second control option is configured to trigger editing of the lock screen wallpaper (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230], in response to a user input 558, such as a tap input or other input, the device scrolls to the right to bring the representation 554 to the center of the wake screen selector user interface 548-2 (FIG. 5V); [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0371], image or wallpaper (e.g., as shown in FIG. 7B); [0460], a first background (e.g., image and/or wallpaper));
wherein editing of the content to be edited based on the content option on the second-level page comprises: in response to detecting that the second control option on the second-level page is selected, displaying a second-level sub-page, wherein different types of wallpapers are classified and displayed on the second-level sub-page, and wallpapers of a same type comprises multiple different wallpapers; and based on selection of a wallpaper and selection of a wallpaper type, returning back to display the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper based on the selected wallpaper type on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0252], FIG. 5AI illustrates a portrait-style wake screen user interface 5001 that optionally includes a plurality of complications, including health complication 502-15, weather complication 502-16, breathe complication 502-17 and sports complication 502-18, and includes a background photo with a subject (e.g., an individual); [0253], a wake screen user interface that includes a photo as the background image (e.g., such as the portrait-style background image illustrated in FIG. 5AI), displays the photo with a different aspect ratio than the aspect ratio of the stored photo (e.g., as stored in a photos application). For example, the device 100 automatically centers, zooms and/or crops a photo stored in the photos application to be displayed as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0256-0257], crop indication 5003 optionally includes a textual indication such as, “pinch to crop” to inform the user that a pinch gesture, or other type of gesture, will cause the device 100 to crop the photo used as the background of wake user interface 5001; [0262], different styles of text for the time and/or date indication (e.g., including a font style and/or a color), and/or different background colors for a photo; [0313], the background of the wake screen user interface is an emoji-style background (e.g., a smiley face emoji), in which one or more emojis are arranged in a pattern (e.g., a geometric pattern). In some embodiments, different views of the emoji user interface include changing a size and/or arrangement (e.g., pattern) of the emojis in the background of the wake screen user interface. In some embodiments, an option 628b for selecting additional and/or alternative emojis (e.g., using an emoji picker) is displayed in editing user interface 626; [0314-0315], in FIG. 6H2, a smiley face emoji is selected, and the grid pattern includes the smiley face emoji; [0323], FIG. 6K illustrates a user interface 652 for creating a new wake screen user interface (also referred to herein as a face) to add to the set of wake screen user interfaces; in response to user input 656 selecting to create a new face based on a photo, the device 100 displays a photo picker user interface 668 (FIG. 6N), for the user to select a photo to be used as the background of the new face, and enables the user to, after selecting the photo, modify other features of the face, including font features; [0324], ser interface 652 includes one or more “Featured Faces” that correspond to wake screen user interfaces that have been automatically generated (e.g., by device 100), without user input. For example, the Featured Faces optionally includes a “Smart Album” that identifies a plurality of images (e.g., photos) to include in the wake screen user interface; [0325], the Featured Faces includes an emoji user interface, which includes a preselected emoji and/or pattern of emoji. In some embodiments, the Featured Faces includes a weather user interface that creates a visual effect that corresponds to a current weather forecast, a globe user interface that includes an image of a glob, an astronomy user interface that includes one or more celestial bodies, and/or a Pride user interface that includes a symbol representing Pride; [0329], in response to user input 676, illustrated in FIG. 6O, the device 100 displays editing user interface 678-a, including displaying at least one reticle (e.g., a reticle 572 for editing one or more complications, and optionally a reticle for the time and/or date indication) behind; [0330], FIG. 6P illustrates editing user interface 678 for editing the wake screen user interface with the photo 672 as the background, in response to user input 676; [0335], FIG. 6U illustrates a user interface 6004 for selecting one or more categories for photos to be included in a Smart Album, and an option for selecting a frequency for changing the background while a Smart Album is selected as the background of the wake screen user interface)
Regarding claims 11 and 19, claims 11 and 19 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 3. Consequently, claims 11 and 19 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 3, further comprising:
wherein the types of wallpapers comprise a first wallpaper type, and a wallpaper belonging to the first wallpaper type supports an image cutout function; wherein displaying the selected wallpaper based on the selected wallpaper type on the second-level page comprises: starting a layering function in the second-level page, and displaying the selected wallpaper that supports image cutout according to a layering effect, wherein the layering function is configured to support the image cutout function (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226-0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces; [0234], in response to a user selection input on option 555, a photo picker is displayed in which the computer system detects and responds to user inputs that correspond to requests to select a photo or image to be used as the background of the wake screen corresponding to representation 550; [0252], FIG. 5AI illustrates a portrait-style wake screen user interface 5001 that optionally includes a plurality of complications, including health complication 502-15, weather complication 502-16, breathe complication 502-17 and sports complication 502-18, and includes a background photo with a subject (e.g., an individual); [0253], a wake screen user interface that includes a photo as the background image (e.g., such as the portrait-style background image illustrated in FIG. 5AI), displays the photo with a different aspect ratio than the aspect ratio of the stored photo (e.g., as stored in a photos application). For example, the device 100 automatically centers, zooms and/or crops a photo stored in the photos application to be displayed as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0256-0257], crop indication 5003 optionally includes a textual indication such as, “pinch to crop” to inform the user that a pinch gesture, or other type of gesture, will cause the device 100 to crop the photo used as the background of wake user interface 5001; [0262], different styles of text for the time and/or date indication (e.g., including a font style and/or a color), and/or different background colors for a photo; [0323], FIG. 6K illustrates a user interface 652 for creating a new wake screen user interface (also referred to herein as a face) to add to the set of wake screen user interfaces; in response to user input 656 selecting to create a new face based on a photo, the device 100 displays a photo picker user interface 668 (FIG. 6N), for the user to select a photo to be used as the background of the new face, and enables the user to, after selecting the photo, modify other features of the face, including font features; [0324], user interface 652 includes one or more “Featured Faces” that correspond to wake screen user interfaces that have been automatically generated (e.g., by device 100), without user input. For example, the Featured Faces optionally includes a “Smart Album” that identifies a plurality of images (e.g., photos) to include in the wake screen user interface; [0329], in response to user input 676, illustrated in FIG. 6O, the device 100 displays editing user interface 678-a, including displaying at least one reticle (e.g., a reticle 572 for editing one or more complications, and optionally a reticle for the time and/or date indication) behind, or at least partially occluded by, a portion of the background image, such as the subject of the background image (e.g., the airplanes); [0330], FIG. 6P illustrates editing user interface 678 for editing the wake screen user interface with the photo 672 as the background, in response to user input 676; [0335], FIG. 6U illustrates a user interface 6004 for selecting one or more categories for photos to be included in a Smart Album, and an option for selecting a frequency for changing the background while a Smart Album is selected as the background of the wake screen user interface; [0539], crops the photo at the selected zoom and/or with the selected center to fit the display region of the display generation component. For example, as described with reference to FIGS. 5AJ and 5AK, a user input 5004 (e.g., an outward pinch gesture) and/or user input 5006 (e.g., an inward pinch gesture) causes the device 100 to change a size and/or crop of the background image (e.g., the subject of the portrait-style photo); [0371], image or wallpaper (e.g., as shown in FIG. 7B); [0460], a first background (e.g., image and/or wallpaper))
Regarding claims 12 and 20, claims 12 and 20 contain substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claims 12 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein detecting the editing operation comprises: receiving the editing operation on the lock screen interface, wherein the editing operation triggers editing of a lock screen content displayed on the lock screen interface (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230], in response to a user input 558, such as a tap input or other input, the device scrolls to the right to bring the representation 554 to the center of the wake screen selector user interface 548-2 (FIG. 5V); [0234], expanded face switcher user interface 561 further includes a user-selectable option 553 to customize the wake screen that is centered in the expanded face switcher user interface 561. For example, a user selection input on option 553 would open the editing user interface (e.g., editing user interface 565, FIG. 5X) for the wake screen corresponding to representation 550 [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X);
wherein displaying the first page on the top layer comprises: displaying a second-level page on the top layer, wherein a content option for editing the content to be edited corresponding to the lock screen content is displayed on the second-level page; wherein editing the content to be edited based on the selection of the content option on the first page comprises: editing the content to be edited based on selection of the content option on the second-level page (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X; [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563). In some embodiments, an indication 574 that other views (e.g., pre-generated views that change a color tone, apply a visual effect, and/or change a background view) are available for the selected wake screen user interface 563; [0241], in FIG. 5Y, and the device detects and responds to user inputs selecting the displayed complications to add the selected complications to the wake screen user interface 563; [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE)
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claims 13 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the content to be edited comprises a screen lock text, the at least one content option comprises a screen lock text region, and one or more types of lock screen texts are displayed in the screen lock text region; wherein editing the content to be edited based on selection of the content option on the second-level page comprises: in response to detecting a selection operation on the lock screen text region, displaying the second-level page, wherein one or more text sub-regions are displayed on the second-level page, and each of the text sub-regions corresponds to a lock screen text type; in response to detecting a selection operation of selecting a text sub-region from the one or more text sub-regions, displaying a second-level sub-page, wherein at least one text option is displayed on a top layer of the second-level sub-page, and the at least one text option corresponds to a lock screen text type selected in the text sub-region; and in response to detecting selection of a text option from the at least one text option, returning back to display the second-level page, wherein a lock screen text corresponding to the selected text option is displayed in the text sub-region on the second-level page selected by the user (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date)
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claims 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein displaying the at least one text option on the top layer of the second-level sub-page comprises: displaying the at least one text option in a pop-up window on the second-level sub-page, wherein a distance between a window region displayed in the pop-up window and the text sub-region selected by the user is less than a distance threshold (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date; [0312], in response to a user input on the “Font Color” button in FIG. 6G, a user interface element 630, as illustrated in FIG. 6H is displayed; as shown, distances are less than a screen size threshold; see also [0184], [0405], for distance thresholds that are larger than the distance between a window region displayed in the pop-up window and the text sub-region selected by the user is less than a distance threshold)
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 7. Consequently, claims 15 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 8, Clarke teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
wherein at least one third control option is displayed on the second-level page, the at least one third control option is configured to adjust a style of the lock screen text, and the style comprises at least one of font or color; and the method further comprises: in response to detecting selection of a third control option from the at least one third control option, displaying the second-level sub-page, wherein at least one style option corresponding to the selected third control option is displayed on the second-level sub-page, and the at least one style option displayed on the second-level sub-page corresponds to one or more text sub-regions on the second-level page; and in response to detecting selection of a style option from the at least one style option, updating a style of one or more text sub-regions corresponding to the selected style option displayed in the lock screen text region to a style corresponding to the style option selected by the user (Clarke Figs. 1-17; [0226], FIG. 5R further illustrates a user input 544 corresponding to a request to switch to another wake screen user interface via a wake screen selector user interface; [0228], FIG. 5T illustrates the wake screen selector user interface 548-1 In some embodiments, the wake screen selector user interface 548 includes representations for a plurality of wake screen user interfaces, including a representation 552 of a portion of a first wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-1), a representation 550 of a second wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 540-2), and a representation 554 of a portion of a third wake screen user interface (e.g., wake screen user interface 507-1 (FIG. 5W)); [0230-0236], in response to user input 568 (e.g., a tap input or other selection input) on the Edit button, the device 100 displays an editing user interface 565 for the wake screen, as illustrated in FIG. 5X); [0240], editing user interface 565 includes a plurality of reticles indicating portions of the wake screen user interface that are customizable. For example, reticle 568 around the date and reticle 569 around the time indicate the date and time are editable (e.g., in text font and/or the type of information displayed), and reticle 572 indicates that one or more complications are customizable (e.g., the computer system detects and responds to a user input directed to reticle 572 that corresponds to a request to initiate a process to add, remove, and edit the complications displayed on wake screen user interface 563); [0248], FIG. 5AD illustrates a user interface element 586 that is displayed in response to detecting a user input 584 at a position within the reticle 569 around the time. In some embodiments, user interface element 586 includes options for modifying properties of the time. For example, the device detects user input(s) directed to different font colors, fonts, and display styles in the user interface element 586 and modifies a text style (e.g., font, font size and/or font color) and/or modifies how the time is displayed (e.g., as a 24-hour indication or as a 12-hour indication); [0249], the device detects and responds to user input(s) directed to user interface element 586 that correspond to request(s) to modify a color of the time; [0250], in response to user input 588 selecting “Style 5”, a text style of the date and time are updated to be displayed with text style 5, as illustrated in FIG. 5AE; [0259], a user input 5010 is detected for changing a text style of the time and/or date indications to “Style 2.” In some embodiments, in response to user input 5010, device 100 changes the time and optionally date indication to be displayed with text style “Style 2,” as illustrated in FIG. 5AN; [0276], FIG. 5AX3 further illustrates user input 5088 corresponding to selection of the reticle for the textual indication of the date; [0277], FIG. 5AX4 illustrates user input 5092 selecting a complication to be displayed above the textual indication of the time; in response to user input 5092, the selected complication is displayed in reticle 5094, as illustrated in FIG. 5AX5, above the textual indication of the time, and replaces display of the textual indication of the date)
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 8. Consequently, claims 16 is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US 20250004799 A1) see Figs. 1-16 and [0104], [0205-0208], [0235-0243].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143