Status of the Claims
Claims 2-11 have been canceled. Claim 1 is pending in the application
Withdrawn Rejections and Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 6/12/2026 (hereafter, “Remarks”) have been fully considered and are addressed as follows.
The following rejections are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 6/12/26: the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 101; the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN113304504A. Applicant’s arguments to these effects are persuasive. New grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment are presented below.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendments of 6/12/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110384015A (hereafter “Wang”, cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 11/4/2025 and listed in the file wrapper as a foreign reference) in view of “Study on the inhibition of phytopathogenic fungi by chlorogenic acid within the burdock leaf”, Plant Protection, Vol. 31, No. 3, pp 35-38, Linnology, Sulvet Dove, hospegreen, China, 20050608 (hereafter “Study” and provided by Applicant as non-patent literature dated 11/4/2025 in file wrapper and cited accordingly on the IDS filed 11/4/2025).
Claim 1 as amended is drawn to a method for treating citrus huanglongbing (HLB) disease in an HLB-infected citrus tree comprising administering chlorogenic acid or a chlorogenic acid-rich substance to an HLB-infected citrus tree in need thereof, wherein the chlorogenic acid has a concentration greater than or equal to 0.5 mg/mL as further specified in the claim.
Wang teaches chlorogenic acid as an ingredient for application and treatment of citrus holongerone disease by spraying citrus gardens with an aqueous suspension of 7-10 days spraying and 3-4 treatments to kill pathogenic bacteria for instance. The formulations may include insecticide active agents as well to destroy vector insects. See Wang paragraphs 0012-0013 in particular.
While Wang teaches the administration method step as claimed, Wang does not specify the claimed concentration. “Study” cures this deficiency. “Study” teaches concentrations including chlorogenic acid having an effective concentration of 5 g/L (equal to 5.0 mg/mL) to be applied in methods of treating fungal spore and/or pathogenic fungi on certain plants.
Both Wang and “Study” teach methods of applying chlorogenic acid to treat agents (i.e., bacteria, fungus) harmful to citrus plants. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the chlorogenic acid concentration demonstrated in the treatment methods of “Study” in the particular application methods of Wang, with a reasonable expectation of success. One would have been motivated to do so in the absence of Wang’s specification of a chlorogenic acid concentration to be effective and further in view of the suggestion of “Study” to effectively apply chlorogenic acid active agents to other plants for analogous methods of eliminating undesirable pathogens from agricultural or plant applications. Moreover, it would have been obvious to do so because Wang teaches application of chlorogenic acid to citrus plants which demonstrates an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose and because “Study” provides rationale for selecting a particular concentration as a starting point from which to perform routine optimization procedures so to ascertain efficacy alongside any reduced harms.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUDREA B CONIGLIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617