DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farris (US 2007/0135814 A1) in view of Mitchell et al. (US 2006/0241597 A1).
Claim 1. Farris discloses a spinal implant system, comprising:
a facet implant member (intermediate section 30) for positioning in a facet joint (see para. 0018); and
a lateral mass fixation portion (first section 21 and second section 22) comprising two tabs (first section 21 and second section 22) extending from the facet implant member wherein only the tabs transition between an insertion configuration (see Figs. 5A-5B) and a deployed configuration (see Figs. 2-4) (note that the configuration of intermediate section 30 does not change as first section 31 and second section 32 remain in the overlapping configuration in both the insertion configuration shown in Figs. 5A-5B and the deployed configuration shown in Figs. 2-3; therefore, intermediate section 30 does not transition, or change configuration, between the insertion configuration and the deployed configuration) and in the deployed configuration, the tabs contact lateral masses of adjacent vertebrae (see Fig. 4) (Figs. 2-5B; paras. 0016-0021).
Claim 7. Farris discloses wherein the tabs have one or more holes (apertures 23) formed therethrough to receive one or more fixation devices (screws 41) configured to secure the tabs to the lateral masses of adjacent vertebrae (see para. 0016) (Figs. 2-5B; paras. 0016-0021).
Claim 11. Farris discloses wherein the tabs are moveable from the insertion configuration for delivery of the system in a patient to the deployed configuration for attachment to lateral masses of adjacent vertebrae, wherein the tabs are positioned at a first angle (as shown in Figs. 5A-5B) relative to the implant member in the insertion configuration and at a second angle (as shown in Figs. 2-3) relative to the implant member in the deployed configuration and the first angle and the second angle are different (Figs. 2-5B; paras. 0016-0021).
Claim 12. Farris discloses a guide member (tube 80) for guiding the facet implant member to a spine for attachment thereto (see para. 0019) (Figs. 2-5B; paras. 0016-0021).
Farris fails to disclose wherein said member comprises teeth on at least one surface (claim 1).
Mitchell teaches a spinal implant system comprising: a facet implant member (spacer 2810) for positioning in a facet joint, said member comprising teeth (protrusions 2807) on at least one surface, wherein the teeth resist slippage of the facet implant member when deployed in the facet joint (see para. 0149); and a lateral mass fixation portion (lateral mass plates 2820 and 2850) comprising two tabs (lateral mass plates 2820 and 2850) extending from the facet implant member (Fig. 41C; para. 0149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spinal implant system of Farris such that said member comprises teeth on at least one surface (claim 1), as suggested by Mitchell, as such teeth resist slippage of the facet implant member when deployed in the facet joint.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Farris fails to teach that only the tabs transition between an insertion configuration and a deployed configuration because first section 31 and second section 32 of intermediate section 30 overlap and thus the entire device folds for deliver (see pg. 4). The Examiner disagrees. The claim recites that only the tabs transition between an insertion configuration and a deployed configuration. As stated in the rejection above, the configuration of intermediate section 30 does not change as first section 31 and second section 32 remain in the overlapping configuration in both the insertion configuration shown in Figs. 5A-5B and the deployed configuration shown in Figs. 2-3. Thus, intermediate section 30 does not transition, or change configuration, between the insertion configuration and the deployed configuration.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773