DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention..
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the first conductive pin” and “the second conductive pin" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10, line 3-4, the limitation, “a first conductive pin and a second conductive pin” is confusing. Are these in addition to the one already claimed in claim 9?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahara et al. (US 2012/0236469) in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2000-195762).
Regarding claim 1, Takahara et al. disclose a wound capacitor package structure, comprising:
a wound assembly (1);
a conductive assembly including a first conductive pin (2) and a second conductive pin (3);
a packaging casing (5) configured to accommodate the wound assembly (1);
an elastic sealing component (6, [0027]) disposed inside the packaging casing (5) and cooperating with the packaging casing (5), wherein the elastic sealing component (6) is configured to isolate the wound assembly (1) from an external environment; and
an elastic buffer body (7, [0031], silicone or urethane resin) disposed on a first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) and surrounded by the packaging casing (5), wherein the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly (1);
wherein the first conductive pin (2) includes a first embedded portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a first exposed portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) exposed outside the packaging casing (5), and the second conductive pin (3) includes a second embedded portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a second exposed portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) exposed outside the packaging casing (5);
wherein the packaging casing (5) has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) recessed inward to press the elastic sealing component (see annotated Fig.1 above), and a surrounding convex end portion (see annotated Fig.1 above) protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the elastic sealing component (6).
While Takahara et al. are silent with regard to the elastic buffer body is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly, it is understood to be an inherent feature. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body.
Nakamura et al. disclose a wound capacitor comprising bottom seat plate (21), and the bottom seat plate (21) is configured at a bottom side of a packaging casing (12) for cooperating with a packaging casing (Fig. 1); and wherein the bottom seat plate (21) has a first through hole (22) and a second through hole (23), a first conductive pin (14) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively pass through the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate (21), and the first conductive pin (15) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively fit closely with the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide a seal (Fig. 1 & 2, 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the capacitor art to form the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body, since such a modification would form a capacitor device having high mount stability.
Regarding claim 5, Takahara et al. disclose a movable device [0001] configured to use a wound capacitor package structure,
characterized in that the wound capacitor package structure comprises:
a wound assembly (1);
a conductive assembly including a first conductive pin (2) and a second conductive pin (3);
a packaging casing (5) configured to accommodate the wound assembly (1);
an elastic sealing component (6, [0027]) disposed inside the packaging casing (5) and cooperating with the packaging casing, wherein the elastic sealing component (5) is configured to isolate the wound assembly (1) from an external environment; and
an elastic buffer body (7, [0031], silicone or urethane resin) disposed on a first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) and surrounded by the packaging casing (5), wherein the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly (1);
wherein the first conductive pin (2) includes a first embedded portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a first exposed portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) exposed outside the packaging casing (5), and the second conductive pin (3) includes a second embedded portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a second exposed portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) exposed outside the packaging casing (5);
wherein the packaging casing (5) has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) recessed inward to press the elastic sealing component (6), and a surrounding convex end portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the elastic sealing component (6).
While Takahara et al. are silent with regard to the elastic buffer body is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly, it is understood to be an inherent feature. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body.
Nakamura et al. disclose a wound capacitor comprising bottom seat plate (21), and the bottom seat plate (21) is configured at a bottom side of a packaging casing (12) for cooperating with a packaging casing (Fig. 1); and wherein the bottom seat plate (21) has a first through hole (22) and a second through hole (23), a first conductive pin (14) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively pass through the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate (21), and the first conductive pin (15) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively fit closely with the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide a seal (Fig. 1 & 2, 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the capacitor art to form the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body, since such a modification would form a capacitor device having high mount stability.
Regarding claim 9, Takahara et al. disclose a method for manufacturing a wound capacitor package structure, comprising:
providing a semi-finished wound capacitor (1), wherein the semi-finished wound capacitor includes a wound assembly(1), a conductive assembly (2, 3), a packaging casing (5) and an elastic sealing component (6) that cooperate with each other;
forming an elastic buffer material (7, [0031], silicone or urethane resin) on a first surface of the elastic sealing component (6); and
curing the elastic buffer material [0033] to form an elastic buffer body (7); wherein the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly (1).
While Takahara et al. are silent with regard to the elastic buffer body is configured to slow down an impact force caused by an external force on the wound assembly and reduce a thermal shock caused by an external temperature on the wound assembly, it is understood to be an inherent feature. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body.
Nakamura et al. disclose a wound capacitor comprising bottom seat plate (21), and the bottom seat plate (21) is configured at a bottom side of a packaging casing (12) for cooperating with a packaging casing (Fig. 1); and wherein the bottom seat plate (21) has a first through hole (22) and a second through hole (23), a first conductive pin (14) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively pass through the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate (21), and the first conductive pin (15) and the second conductive pin (15) respectively fit closely with the first through hole (22) and the second through hole (23) of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide a seal (Fig. 1 & 2, 16).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the capacitor art to form the wound capacitor package structure further includes a bottom seat plate, and the bottom seat plate is configured at a bottom side of the packaging casing for cooperating with the packaging casing; and wherein the bottom seat plate has a first through hole and a second through hole, the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively pass through the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate, and the first conductive pin and the second conductive pin respectively fit closely with the first through hole and the second through hole of the bottom seat plate in order to completely hide the elastic buffer body, since such a modification would form a capacitor device having high mount stability.
Regarding claim 10, Takahara et al. disclose the conductive assembly includes a first conductive pin (2) and a second conductive pin (3), and the packaging casing (5) is configured to accommodate the wound assembly (1);
wherein the elastic sealing component (6) is disposed inside the packaging casing (5) and cooperates with the packaging casing (5), and the elastic sealing component (6) is configured to isolate the wound assembly from an external environment; wherein
the first conductive pin (2) includes a first embedded portion accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a first exposed portion exposed outside the packaging casing, and the second conductive pin (2) includes a second embedded portion accommodated inside the packaging casing (5) and a second exposed portion exposed outside the packaging casing (5);
wherein the packaging casing (5) has a surrounding concave position-limiting portion recessed inward to press the elastic sealing component (6), and a surrounding convex end portion protruding from the surrounding concave position-limiting portion to abut against the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein the first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) is completely covered by the elastic buffer body (7), and the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to protect the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein a part of the first embedded portion of the first conductive pin (2) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a first contact interface between the first conductive pin and the elastic sealing component, thereby avoiding generating a first moisture path between the first conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein a part of the second embedded portion of the second conductive pin (3) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a second contact interface between the second conductive pin and the elastic sealing component, thereby avoiding generating a second moisture path between the second conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein an inner surrounding surface of the surrounding convex end portion of the packaging casing is covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a third contact interface between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component, thereby avoiding generating a third moisture path between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different thermal insulation coefficients (different materials), the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different elastic coefficients (different materials), and the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different heat resistances (different materials); wherein the first exposed portion of the first conductive pin and the second exposed portion of the second conductive pin extend in different directions by bending (Nakamura et al. – Fig. 1-2).
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahara et al. (US 2012/0236469) and Nakamura et al. (JP 2000-195762) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of JP H0579938U (‘938) and Yoneya et al. (WO 2024/004571).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, the modified Takahara et al. disclose the wound assembly (1) is positioned inside the packaging casing (5), and an unoccupied surrounding space is formed between the wound assembly (1) and the packaging casing (5);
the packaging casing (5) has an accommodating opening, and the elastic sealing component (6) is disposed at the accommodating opening of the packaging casing (5) for closing and sealing the accommodating opening of the packaging casing (5);
wherein the first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) is completely covered by the elastic buffer body (7 – see Fig. 1), and the elastic buffer body is configured to protect the elastic sealing component;
wherein a part of the first embedded portion (see annotated figure above) of the first conductive pin (2) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly (1) through a first contact interface between the first conductive pin (2) and the elastic sealing component (7), thereby avoiding generating a first moisture path between the first conductive pin (2) and the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein a part of the second embedded portion (see annotated Fig. 1 above) of the second conductive pin (3) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a second contact interface between the second conductive pin (2) and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a second moisture path between the second conductive pin (3) and the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein an inner surrounding surface of the surrounding convex end portion of the packaging casing (5) is covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly (1) through a third contact interface between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component (7), thereby avoiding generating a third moisture path between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component (7);
wherein the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7)have the same or different thermal insulation coefficients (different materials), the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different elastic coefficients (different materials), and the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different heat resistances (different materials), wherein the first exposed portion of the first conductive pin and the second exposed portion of the second conductive pin extend in different directions by bending (Nakamura et al. – Fig. 1-2) .
Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for:
the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material;
the wound assembly is connected to a second surface of the elastic sealing component through a top connecting glue material; and
A) ‘938 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a heat resistant electrical insulating film (11) that is attached to the inside of a packaging casing (7) and a wound capacitor (1), wherein the insulating film (and wound capacitor package) is connected to bottom of the casing (7) through a bottom connecting glue material (adhesive – [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor device of Takahara et al. so that the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material since such a modification would form an electrolytic capacitor having reduced height.
B) Yoneya et al. disclose in Fig. 2, an electrolytic capacitor comprising a holding material (14) that is attached to an elastic sealing component (12) and a wound capacitor package, wherein the holding material (and wound capacitor package) is connected to an elastic sealing component through a top connecting glue material (adhesive – P: 10, P:3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor device of Takahara et al. so that it includes a holding material that includes a glue on one surface, wherein the wound assembly is connected to the elastic sealing component through the glue (and holding material), since such a modification would form an electrolytic capacitor having an antioxidant.
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahara et al. (US 2012/0236469) and Nakamura et al. (JP 2000-195762) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of JP H0579938U (‘938).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, the modified Takahara et al. disclose wherein the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing, an unoccupied spacing space is formed between the wound assembly (1) and the elastic sealing component (6), and an unoccupied surrounding space is formed between the wound assembly (1)and the packaging casing (5);
wherein the packaging casing (5) has an accommodating opening, and the elastic sealing component (6) is disposed at the accommodating opening of the packaging casing for closing and sealing the accommodating opening of the packaging casing (5);
wherein the first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) is completely covered by the elastic buffer body (7) , and the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to protect the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein a part of the first embedded portion of the first conductive pin (2) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a first contact interface between the first conductive pin (2) and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a first moisture path between the first conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein a part of the second embedded portion of the second conductive pin (3) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a second contact interface between the second conductive pin (3) and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a second moisture path between the second conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein an inner surrounding surface of the surrounding convex end portion of the packaging casing (5) is covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a third contact interface between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a third moisture path between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component;
wherein the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different thermal insulation coefficients (different materials), the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different elastic coefficients (different materials), and the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different heat resistances (different materials); wherein the first exposed portion of the first conductive pin and the second exposed portion of the second conductive pin extend in different directions by bending (Nakamura et al. – Fig. 1-2).
Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for: the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material.
‘938 discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a heat resistant electrical insulating film (11) that is attached to the inside of a packaging casing (7) and a wound capacitor (1), wherein the insulating film (and wound capacitor package) is connected to bottom of the casing (7) through a bottom connecting glue material (adhesive – [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor device of Takahara et al. so that the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material since such a modification would form an electrolytic capacitor having reduced height.
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahara et al. (US 2012/0236469) and Nakamura et al. (JP 2000-195762) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 2021/0391119).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, the modified Takahara et al. disclose wherein the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing, an unoccupied spacing space is formed between the wound assembly (1) and the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein the packaging casing (5) has an accommodating opening, and the elastic sealing component (6) is disposed at the accommodating opening of the packaging casing for closing and sealing the accommodating opening of the packaging casing (5);
wherein the first surface of the elastic sealing component (6) is completely covered by the elastic buffer body (7) , and the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to protect the elastic sealing component (6);
wherein a part of the first embedded portion of the first conductive pin (2) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a first contact interface between the first conductive pin (2) and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a first moisture path between the first conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein a part of the second embedded portion of the second conductive pin (3) is surrounded and covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a second contact interface between the second conductive pin (3) and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a second moisture path between the second conductive pin and the elastic sealing component;
wherein an inner surrounding surface of the surrounding convex end portion of the packaging casing (5) is covered by the elastic buffer body (7), so that the elastic buffer body (7) is configured to block external moisture from contacting the wound assembly through a third contact interface between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component (6), thereby avoiding generating a third moisture path between the surrounding convex end portion and the elastic sealing component;
wherein the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different thermal insulation coefficients (different materials), the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different elastic coefficients (different materials), and the elastic sealing component (6) and the elastic buffer body (7) have the same or different heat resistances (different materials); wherein the first exposed portion of the first conductive pin and the second exposed portion of the second conductive pin extend in different directions by bending (Nakamura et al. – Fig. 1-2).
The modified Takahara et al. disclose the claimed invention except for: the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material; and the wound assembly is surrounded and covered by a surrounding connecting glue material that is connected between the wound assembly and the packaging casing.
Lin et al. discloses an electrolytic capacitor comprising a wound assembly (1) the wound assembly (1) is positioned inside a packaging casing (21) through a bottom positioning glue material (221a – cured polymer – [0036]); and the wound assembly (1) is surround and covered by a surrounding connecting glue material (222 – cured polymer – [0033]) that is connected between the wound assembly (1) and the packaging casing (21).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor device of Takahara et al. so that the wound assembly is positioned inside the packaging casing through a bottom positioning glue material; and the wound assembly is surrounded and covered by a surrounding connecting glue material that is connected between the wound assembly and the packaging casing since such a modification would form a capacitor element secured to the casing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2848