DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-31 of U.S. Patent No. US 9675739 B2, claims 1-20 of US Patent US 9987404 B2, claims 1-20 of US Patent US 10737005 B2, claims 1-20 of US Patent US 11633586 B2, and claims 1-19 of US Patent US 11998729 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the application claims read on the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 9138518 B2) in view of Muller (US 2015/0290371 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Campbell discloses a catheter pump system (eg. Fig. 1), comprising: a catheter assembly including an impeller assembly adapted to be percutaneously insertable within a vasculature of a heart patient (eg. Col, 4, Ln. 20-39); and a motor causing the impeller assembly to pump blood in a desired location in the vasculature (eg. Col. 3, Ln. 29 – Col. 5, Ln. 17), wherein the motor includes: a stator (eg. Col. 4, Ln. 39-51, Col. 5, Ln. 3-17, Col. 15, Ln. 35-46, magnet Fig. 11-12); a rotor disposed radially with the stator assembly (eg. Fig. 11-12 Col. 4, Ln. 39-51, Col. 5, Ln. 3-17, Col. 15, Ln. 35-46, rotor 470): an output shaft (Eg. Col. 15, Ln. 25-46); but does not disclose at least one damper configured to reduce a transmission of vibration while the percutaneously insertable impeller assembly is pumping blood in the performance of a heart procedure.
Muller teaches a catheter pump system that has a damper between the drive and the drive member to reduce noise (eg. Para. 19-21, 80-81).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Campbell with the dampener as taught by Muller since both references are related to catheter pumps and the dampener is used to provide the predictable result of reducing the noise at and around the connection between the drive and drive members (eg. Muller, Para. 20).
Regarding claim 22, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the motor further includes a housing and at least one mounting flange coupled to the housing, the at least one damper provided on the at least one mounting flange (eg. Campbell, Col. 15, Ln. 25-35, Col. 21, Ln. 28 – Col. 22, Ln. 5, drive housing, Muller, Para. 69, 74-76).
Regarding claim 23, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the at least one mounting flange includes an inner flange portion and an outer flange portion, the inner flange portion radially spaced apart from the outer flange portion and defining an annular gap (eg. Campbell, Col. 8, Ln. 66 – Col. 9, Ln. 36, annular space 274 with outer surface 278, Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81 disposed between separate housings and radially outside housing as an O-ring).
Regarding claim 24, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the at least one damper is disposed within the annular gap (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, O-ring, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have modified the O-rings to be in an annular ring to provide the predictable result of dampening vibrations between any parts as desired).
Regarding claim 25, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses at least one damper includes a rubber material (eg. Muller, Para. 81 visco-elastic or elastic polymer).
Regarding claim 26, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the at least one damper includes a elastomer material (eg. Muller, Para. 81 visco-elastic or elastic polymer).
Regarding claim 27, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses at least one damper includes a polymer material (eg. Muller, Para. 81 visco-elastic or elastic polymer).
Regarding claim 28, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses at least one damper includes a spring (eg. Muller, Para. 81 visco-elastic or elastic polymer, a spring acts like an elastic material and would be an obvious alternative).
Regarding claim 29, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the at least one damper includes a grommet disposed about the catheter assembly in a spaced relation from the at least one mounting flange, wherein the grommet reduces mechanical vibration of a drive shaft for the percutaneously insertable impeller assembly (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, O-ring basically functions as a grommet).
Regarding claim 30, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses at least one damper includes a first damper and second damper spaced apart from one another (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, can be put on multiple locations).
Regarding claim 31, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the first damper and the second damper are respectively associated with first and second motor mounting flanges eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, Muller teaches damper on the cap/housing interface and another around the motor, one of ordinary skill would have been able to rearrange the O rings onto Campbell’s motor mounting structures eg. Col. 15, Ln. 25-35, to provide the predictable result of reducing vibration at each location).
Regarding claim 32, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the rotor extends between the first and second motor mounting flanges (eg. Campbell, Col. 15, Ln. 25-40, Muller, Para. 85).
Regarding claim 33, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses a flow diverter defining a chamber, and the rotor extending in the chamber (Eg. Col. 9, Ln. 35-50, Col. 21, Ln. 48 – Col. 22, Ln. 55).
Regarding claim 34, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the first damper and the second damper extend radially in the respective first and second motor mounting flanges (eg. Campbell, Col. 8, Ln. 66 – Col. 9, Ln. 36, annular space 274 with outer surface 278, Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81 disposed between separate housings and radially outside housing as an O-ring, one of ordinary skill would have been able to put the damper to extend radially in the motor flanges to provide spaced damping).
Regarding claim 35, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the motor is located outside the vasculature of the heart patient while the percutaneously insertable impeller assembly is pumping blood (eg. Campbell, Col. 4, Ln. 39-51).
Regarding claim 36, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses a drive shaft extending through the catheter assembly, wherein the drive shaft interconnects the motor output shaft and the percutaneously insertable impeller assembly (eg. Col. 4, Ln. 65 – Col. 5, Ln. 17, Col. 13, Ln. 30-51, Col. 31, Ln. 35-65).
Regarding claim 37, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the at least one damper includes a first damper operable to attenuate a mechanical vibration of the drive shaft (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, the damper is capable of reducing vibration).
Regarding claim 38, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the first damper is a grommet eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, O-ring basically functions as a grommet).
Regarding claim 39, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses at least one damper further includes a second damper operable to reduce a mechanical vibration of the motor (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, the damper is capable of reducing vibration).
Regarding claim 40, the combined invention of Campbell and Muller discloses the second damper reduces a mechanical vibration of a motor housing (eg. Muller, Para. 19-21, 80-81, the damper is capable of reducing vibration).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796