DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The status of the claim(s) is as follows:
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended,
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 were previously presented, and
Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Conrad (2021/0402333).
As to claim 1, Conrad discloses a structure comprising: an external support ( 70 and 50) structure for multi-cell air filters used during packaging and delivery, comprising: a top cover (70) having a base component (upper surface), a first and second end redistribution components (as shown in above Figure 2, it shows the intermediate wall 80 with redistribution component, but two end wall 72a and 72b also have the same redistribution components), and one or more internal redistribution components (76); a bottom cover (50) having a base component and one or more internal redistribution components (the projection between the recesses 56); and wherein the top and bottom covers are positioned around an air filter frame (34 and 36 of the air filter 30 are considered as the outer frame of the air filter) to contact the air filter frame on a top, a bottom, a left side, a right side, and spaces between one or more adjacent cells of the air filter (Figure 3 shows that filter 30 and the projections from the top and bottom insert into the recesses of the air filter), wherein the redistribution components of the top cover and the bottom cover are configured to redistribute external forces away from a pivot point region of one or more cells of the air filter when so as to redistribute external forces are applied to a top, a bottom, a left side, or a right side of the air filter frame.
As to claim 2, Conrad further discloses the base component on each of the top and bottom covers is a flat structure (as shown in Figure 4 , the outer surface of the top 50 and bottom 70 are flat surface).
As to claim 3, Conrad further discloses the base component of the top cover is configured to extend beyond a left and right ends of an air filter, wherein the first and second end redistribution components are configured on the base component of the top cover to extend along and abut against the left and right ends of the air filter (Figures 2 and 5).
As to claim 4, Conrad further discloses the first and second end redistribution components complement a shape of the left and right ends of the air filter such that the first and second end redistribution components snugly fit against an entire length of the left and right ends of the air filter (Figure 2).
As to claim 5, Conrad as annotated above Figure 2, further discloses the first and second end redistribution components are wider at the connection with the base component of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2, the end redistributions are wider at the attachment to the base and taper as away from the base component).
As to claim 6, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover (70) are configured on the base component of the top cover, wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover project away from the base component of the top cover and have a shape that complements a shape of one or more open spaces between internal cells of the air filter, wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover fit snugly between the one or more open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter (Figure 2 the internal redistribution component are also shape with wider portion attached to the base component and taper away from the base component to fit snugly between the open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter).
As to claim 7, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components (76) of the top cover (70) are wider at a connection with the base component of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2, the structure of the redistribution components are wider attached to the base component and taper away from the base).
As to claim 8, Conrad further discloses the base component of the bottom cover is configured to extend beyond a left and right ends of an air filter, wherein the base component of the bottom cover has a length and a width that is equal to a length and a width of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2 that the base component of the bottom cover 50 and top cover 70 are greater than the size of the filter 40 and Figure 1 shows that the size of the top cover and the size of the bottom cover are the same size).
As to claim 9, Conrad further discloses one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover are configured on the base component of the bottom cover, wherein the internal redistribution components of the bottom cover project away from the base component of the bottom cover and have a shape that complements a shape of one or more open spaces between internal cells of an air filter (as shown in Figure 5 above, the internal redistribution components inserted into the recess of the air filter), wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover fit snugly between the one or more open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter .
As to claim 10, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover are wider at a connection with the base component of the bottom cover (as shown in above, the internal redistribution component are wider at the connection with the base component and taper upward).
As to claim 11, Conrad discloses a structure comprising: an external support ( 70 and 50) structure for multi-cell air filters used during packaging and delivery, comprising: a top cover (70) having a base component (upper surface), a first and second end redistribution components (as shown in above Figure 2, it shows the intermediate wall 80 with redistribution component, but two end wall 72a and 72b also have the same redistribution components), and one or more internal redistribution components (76); a bottom cover (50) having a base component and one or more internal redistribution components (the projection between the recesses 56); and wherein the top and bottom covers are positioned around an air filter frame (34 and 36 of the air filter 30 are considered as the outer frame of the air filter) to contact the air filter frame on a top, a bottom, a left side, a right side, and spaces between one or more adjacent cells of the air filter (Figure 3 shows that filter 30 and the projections from the top and bottom insert into the recesses of the air filter), so as to redistribute external forces applied to the top, the bottom, the left side, and the right side of the air filter frame, wherein such that the applied external forces are applied evenly transferred across the air filter frame to redirect the external forces away from collapse points in the one or more cells of the air filter (any force applied to the top or the bottom end are evenly distribute to the air filter).
As to claim 12, Conrad further discloses the base component on each of the top and bottom covers is a flat structure (as shown in Figure 4 , the outer surface of the top 50 and bottom 70 are flat surface).
As to claim 13, Conrad further discloses the base component of the top cover is configured to extend beyond a left and right ends of an air filter, wherein the first and second end redistribution components are configured on the base component of the top cover to extend along and abut against the left and right ends of the air filter (Figures 2 and 5).
As to claim 14, Conrad further discloses the first and second end redistribution components complement a shape of the left and right ends of the air filter such that the first and second end redistribution components snugly fit against an entire length of the left and right ends of the air filter (Figure 2).
As to claim 15, Conrad as annotated above Figure 2, further discloses the first and second end redistribution components are wider at the connection with the base component of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2, the end redistributions are wider at the attachment to the base and taper as away from the base component).
As to claim 16, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover (70) are configured on the base component of the top cover, wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover project away from the base component of the top cover and have a shape that complements a shape of one or more open spaces between internal cells of the air filter, wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the top cover fit snugly between the one or more open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter (Figure 2 the internal redistribution component are also shape with wider portion attached to the base component and taper away from the base component to fit snugly between the open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter).
As to claim 17, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components (76) of the top cover (70) are wider at a connection with the base component of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2, the structure of the redistribution components are wider attached to the base component and taper away from the base).
As to claim 18, Conrad further discloses the base component of the bottom cover is configured to extend beyond a left and right ends of an air filter, wherein the base component of the bottom cover has a length and a width that is equal to a length and a width of the top cover (as shown in Figure 2 that the base component of the bottom cover 50 and top cover 70 are greater than the size of the filter 40 and Figure 1 shows that the size of the top cover and the size of the bottom cover are the same size).
As to claim 19, Conrad further discloses one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover are configured on the base component of the bottom cover, wherein the internal redistribution components of the bottom cover project away from the base component of the bottom cover and have a shape that complements a shape of one or more open spaces between internal cells of an air filter (as shown in Figure 5 above, the internal redistribution components inserted into the recess of the air filter), wherein the one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover fit snugly between the one or more open spaces of the internal cells of the air filter .
As to claim 20, Conrad further discloses the one or more internal redistribution components of the bottom cover are wider at a connection with the base component of the bottom cover (as shown in above, the internal redistribution component are wider at the connection with the base component and taper upward).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUN HOI CHEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736