DETAILED ACTION
Note: all citations with respect to the specification of present application are citing the paragraph numbers in the Pre-Grant Publication US 2024/0382265 A1.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 102/23/2026 has been entered:
Claim 1 – 10 and 12 – 21 remain pending in the application;
Claim 1, 2, 6, 9, 15, 16 and 21 are amended.
Applicant’s amendments to claim overcome each and every claim objection as set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on12/23/2025. The corresponding claim objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim 1 – 10 and 12 - 21 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 1, 9 and 16, applicant amend claim 1 to include limitation “providing a second localizer in proximity to the first localizer, the second localizer comprising a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the second localizer further comprises an electromagnetic device positioned closer to the first end than to the second end and sized to be positioned within the patient anatomy”, and amended claim 9 and 16 with similar features. Applicant submitted on p.7 – 8 that “amended claim 1 further emphasizes features of the second localizer. The amendments are supported by at least Fig. 1D and the related text of the application as filed”; “Applicant submits that the art of record fails to teach, suggest, or describe the features currently recited in the independent claims.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the following reasons.
First, the amended limitations are NEW MATTER introduced in the amendment without written description support. The Fig.1D as recited by applicant does not provide any information with respect to the “electromagnetic device”. There is no index or legend to point out the position of “electromagnetic device”. Only second localizer 148 is illustrated as related feature to the amended limitation. Fig.1 does not provide any positional or size information regarding the electromagnetic device as claimed.
Other corresponding disclosure in the specification of present application are recited as: “The second localizer 148 may be positioned relative to the patient, such as relative to patient anatomy. The second localizer 148 may have a smaller footprint relative to the overall size of the first localizer 144. For example, the second localizer 148 may be or comprise an electromagnetic device implanted proximate patient anatomy. As shown in FIG. 1D, a schematic cross-section view of a vertebral section 168 according to at least one embodiment of the present disclosure may include the second localizer 148 disposed on or proximate thereto” in [0072]. The above disclosure only recites that the positional relationship is “proximate” not “within” the patient anatomy. In addition, there is no positional disclosure of the electromagnetic device along the second localizer 148. Further, there is no disclosure regarding the size or dimension of the electromagnetic device through whole specification.
Overall, there is no written description support for the amended limitations. The amendment introduced NEW MATTER and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (a).
Second, since the amendment changed the scope of claim, and for the purpose of compact prosecution, additional embodiment of cited prior art Snyder is introduced in new grounds of rejection to teach all claim limitations. See detail in later 103 Rejections.
Thus, applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of independent claim 1, 9 and 16 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Regarding dependent claim 2 and 6, applicant submitted on p.8 that “Claim 2, for example, recites features related to the electromagnetic device being positioned on the first end and physically contacting the patient anatomy. Claim 6, as another example, recites features related to the first localizer being positioned on the electromagnetic field emitter. Applicant respectfully submits that such features have not been shown, and do not appear, to be taught or suggested in the art of record.”
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, regarding the additional embodiment of cited prior art Snyder. See detail in later 103 Rejections.
Regarding the rejection of all other corresponding dependent claims, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.8 rely on supposed deficiencies with the rejection of parent claim 1, 9 and 16. Applicant’s arguments are moot for the same reasons detailed above.
Overall, applicant’s remarks submitted on p.7 – 8 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The amendments result in new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 – 10 and 12 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding limitation “providing a second localizer in proximity to the first localizer, the second localizer comprising a first end and a second end opposite the first end, wherein the second localizer further comprises an electromagnetic device positioned closer to the first end than to the second end and sized to be positioned within the patient anatomy” in claim 1, limitation “wherein the electromagnetic device is positioned on the first end and physically contacts the patient anatomy” in claim 2, limitation “the second localizer comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an electromagnetic device positioned closer to the first end than to the second end and sized to be positioned within a portion of a patient to physically contact an anatomical element” in claim 9, and limitation “wherein the second localizer comprises a first end, a second end opposite the first end, and an electromagnetic device positioned closer to the first end than the second end, wherein the electromagnetic device is sized to be implanted into a portion of a patient to couple with the patient anatomy” in claim 16, the corresponding disclosure in the specification of present application are recited as: “The second localizer 148 may be positioned relative to the patient, such as relative to patient anatomy. The second localizer 148 may have a smaller footprint relative to the overall size of the first localizer 144. For example, the second localizer 148 may be or comprise an electromagnetic device implanted proximate patient anatomy. As shown in FIG. 1D, a schematic cross-section view of a vertebral section 168 according to at least one embodiment of the present disclosure may include the second localizer 148 disposed on or proximate thereto” in [0072].
The above disclosure only recites that the positional relationship is “proximate” not “within” the patient anatomy. In addition, there is no positional disclosure of the electromagnetic device along the second localizer 148. Further, there is no disclosure regarding the size or dimension of the electromagnetic device through whole specification.
In addition, the Fig.1D as recited by applicant does not provide any information with respect to the “electromagnetic device”. There is no index or legend to point out the position of “electromagnetic device”. Only second localizer 148 is illustrated as related feature to the amended limitation. Fig.1 does not provide any positional or size information regarding the electromagnetic device as claimed.
Thus, there is no written description support for the amended limitations. The amendment introduced NEW MATTER.
Therefore, claim 1, 2, 9, 16 and all corresponding dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 – 10 and 12 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snyder et al. (US 2020/0237444 A1; published on 07/30/2020) (hereinafter "Snyder").
Regarding claim 1, Snyder, in one embodiment of Fig.3, teaches a method ("Discussed herein, according various embodiments, are processes and systems for allowing registration between various coordinate systems." [0036]), comprising:
providing a first localizer ("… tracking devices may include a subject tracking device 58 …" [0038]) relative to a patient anatomy ("… the patient tracker 58 may be fixed relative to the subject 30, such as to a portion of the pelvis, including the iliac crest, or other appropriate portions." [0067]);
providing a second localizer ("… and/or a tool tracking device 66." [0038]) in proximity to the fist localizer (see Fig.3), the second localizer comprising a first end and a second end opposite the first end (see Fig.3), where in the second localizer further comprises an electromagnetic device (“The instrument can also include more than one type or modality of tracking device 66, such as an EM tracking device 66 e …” [0053]) and a portion positioned within the patient anatomy (“The tool 68 may also include an implant, such as a spinal implant or orthopedic implant.” [0038]; see Fig.3, the tracking device 66 is part of the tool 68, and tool 68 is implanted into vertebra);
co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer ("The subject tracker 58 may also be used for registration and/or calibration of instruments including the instrument 68 with selected fiducial or registration portion 150. The registration portion 150 may include a divot or indent that the instrument 68 may contact to allow the navigation system 20 to determine a distal end or terminal end of the instrument 68 relative to the tracking device 66." [0064]);
determining, based on tracking a pose of the first localizer, first localizer pose information ("The patient 80 can also be tracked as the patient moves with a patient tracking device (also referred to as a dynamic reference frame (DRF)) or tracker 58." [0042]; "Thus, when updating the image 108 the known position of the tracking device may be used to assist in determining an appropriate position (e.g. three-dimensional position and appropriate number of degrees of freedom of orientation) in the image." [0130]);
determining, based on a combination of the first localizer pose information and the co-registering of the first localizer with the second localizer, second localizer pose information ("As discussed further herein, registration of the image space to the patient space or subject space allows for navigation of the instrument 68 with the image data. When navigating the instrument 68, a position of the instrument 68 can be illustrated relative to image data acquired of the patient 30 on a display device 84." [0042]; "After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]); and
outputting the second localizer pose information to a display device ("After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]).
In another embodiment of Fig.8, Snyder further teaches the second localizer comprises an implant portion (“… as illustrated in FIG. 8, implants may be positioned relative to the subject 30. As discussed above, the implant is the instrument 68.” [0104]), and the electromagnetic device is positioned closer to the first end than to the second end (“The pedicle screw 410 may include tracking members, such as … a second or shank tracking member 424 … the tracking members 422, 424 may be EM tracking members.” [0105]; see Fig.8, the lower end of the screw is the first end, which is introduced into anatomy) and sized to be positioned within the patient anatomy (see Fig.8, the size of 424 is within the screw, which is implanted into anatomy).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the instrument with EM tracking device as taught in one embodiment with the implantable screw as the instrument and corresponding EM tracking devices as taught in another embodiment. Doing so would make it possible to “track the position or relative position of different portions of the respective members” (see Snyder; [0107]).
Regarding claim 2, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the electromagnetic device is positioned on the first end and physically contacts the patient anatomy (“The pedicle screw 410 may include tracking members, such as … a second or shank tracking member 424 … the tracking members 422, 424 may be EM tracking members.” [0105]; see Fig.8, the lower end of the screw is the first end, which is introduced into anatomy), and wherein one or more surgical instruments are navigated based at least partially on the second localizer pose information ("Various portions of the navigation system 20, such as the instrument 68, and others as will be described in detail below, can be equipped with at least one, and generally multiple, of the tracking devices 66." [0053]; "The translation map allows the tracked position of the instrument 68 to be displayed on the display device 84 relative to the image data 108." [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer comprises:
providing a tracking tool that includes an optical tracker and an electromagnetic tracker in a predetermined pose relative to the optical tracker ("Further, the subject tracker 58 may include an electromagnetic tracking member or portion 58 e. The EM tracker 58 e may be fixed relative to the optical tracker 58 o such that the position (including three-dimensional location and/or one or more degree of freedom orientation) is fixed. " [0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 3, and further teaches wherein the optical tracker comprises a plurality of navigation markers ("… the patient tracker 58 may include one or more optical trackable members or portions, such as a reflective member 580." [0063]), and wherein the method further comprises:
determining a pose of the second localizer relative to the electromagnetic tracker ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 3, and further teaches wherein the tracking tool is provided on a patient ("… the patient tracker 58 may be fixed relative to the subject 30, such as to a portion of the pelvis, including the iliac crest, or other appropriate portions." [0067]).
Regarding claim 6, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer comprises:
providing an electromagnetic field emitter proximate the patient anatomy, wherein the first localizer is positioned on the electromagnetic field emitter (“… therefore, the individual member trackers 160 may only include a single type of tracking device. In various embodiments, the EM tracking devices may include one or more members of conductive material formed into coils that may sense and/or emit and electromagnetic field.” [0077]; here each individual tracker is equivalent to the first localizer); and
determining a pose of one or more navigation markers relative to the electromagnetic field emitter ("… as noted above, the members or elements in the navigation field may be tracked with individual trackers connected thereto. Further the portions or members moved relative to the subject 30 may also be tracked with a plurality of tracking devices. " [0092]).
Regarding claim 7, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 6, and further teaches wherein the one or more navigation markers are tracked optically ("The selected camera 340, 344 may be used to identify the type of reflected light and identify the specific tracking members 360, 364." [0098]).
Regarding claim 8, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches providing an optical camera that comprises an electromagnetic field emitter and that tracks the pose of the first localizer ("… the navigation system 20 may include various elements or portions, such as an optical localizer 88 …" [0037]; "The optical localizer 88 may include a plurality of cameras …" [0095]; "For example, the patient tracker 58 may include one or more optical trackable members or portions, such as a reflective member 580." [0063]); and
determining a pose of the second localizer relative to the electromagnetic field emitter ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]).
Regarding claim 9 Snyder, in one embodiment of Fig.3, teaches a system ("Discussed herein, according various embodiments, are processes and systems for allowing registration between various coordinate systems." [0036]), comprising:
a first localizer ("… tracking devices may include a subject tracking device 58 …" [0038]);
a second localizer positionable proximate the first localizer ("… and/or a tool tracking device 66." [0038]; see Fig.3), the second localizer comprising a first end, a second end opposite the first end (see Fig.3), an electromagnetic device (“The instrument can also include more than one type or modality of tracking device 66, such as an EM tracking device 66 e …” [0053]), and a member that is implanted into a portion of a patient to physically contact an anatomical element (“The tool 68 may also include an implant, such as a spinal implant or orthopedic implant.” [0038]; see Fig.3, the tracking device 66 is part of the tool 68, and tool 68 is implanted into vertebra);
a processor ("The controller 96, in various embodiments, may include a processor 97 …" [0045]); and
a memory storing data thereon that, when processed by the processor, cause the processor ("… and/or various memory portions." [0045]; "If implemented in software, the functions may be stored as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium and executed by a hardware-based processing unit." [0153]) to:
co-register the first localizer and the second localizer ("The subject tracker 58 may also be used for registration and/or calibration of instruments including the instrument 68 with selected fiducial or registration portion 150. The registration portion 150 may include a divot or indent that the instrument 68 may contact to allow the navigation system 20 to determine a distal end or terminal end of the instrument 68 relative to the tracking device 66." [0064]);
determine, based on tracking a pose of the first localizer, first localizer pose information ("The patient 80 can also be tracked as the patient moves with a patient tracking device (also referred to as a dynamic reference frame (DRF)) or tracker 58." [0042]; "Thus, when updating the image 108 the known position of the tracking device may be used to assist in determining an appropriate position (e.g. three-dimensional position and appropriate number of degrees of freedom of orientation) in the image." [0130]);
determine, based on a combination of the first localizer pose information and the co-registering of the first localizer with the second localizer, second localizer pose information ("As discussed further herein, registration of the image space to the patient space or subject space allows for navigation of the instrument 68 with the image data. When navigating the instrument 68, a position of the instrument 68 can be illustrated relative to image data acquired of the patient 30 on a display device 84." [0042]; "After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]); and
output the second localizer pose information to a display device ("After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]).
In another embodiment of Fig.8, Snyder further teaches the second localizer comprises an implant portion (“… as illustrated in FIG. 8, implants may be positioned relative to the subject 30. As discussed above, the implant is the instrument 68.” [0104]), and the electromagnetic device is positioned closer to the first end than to the second end (“The pedicle screw 410 may include tracking members, such as … a second or shank tracking member 424 … the tracking members 422, 424 may be EM tracking members.” [0105]; see Fig.8, the lower end of the screw is the first end, which is introduced into anatomy) and sized to be positioned within a portion of the patient to physically contact an anatomical element (see Fig.8, the size of 424 is within the screw, which is implanted into anatomy).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the instrument with EM tracking device as taught in one embodiment with the implantable screw as the instrument and corresponding EM tracking devices as taught in another embodiment. Doing so would make it possible to “track the position or relative position of different portions of the respective members” (see Snyder; [0107]).
Regarding claim 10, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first localizer is positioned relative to the anatomical element and disposed on at least one of a surgical tool ("… the patient tracker 58 may be fixed relative to the subject 30, such as to a portion of the pelvis, including the iliac crest, or other appropriate portions." [0067]; "the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 ..." [0063]; DRF is a surgical tool).
Regarding claim 12, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and further teaches wherein the anatomical element comprises a vertebra ("A tracking member may be connected to a vertebrae or portion of a vertebrae of a patient." [0011]), and wherein the second localizer comprises a smaller footprint than the first localizer (see Fig.3; tracking device 66 is smaller than patient marker 58).
Regarding claim 13, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first localizer and the second localizer are co-registered by:
identifying an optical tracker and an electromagnetic tracker disposed in a pose relative to the optical tracker ("Further, the subject tracker 58 may include an electromagnetic tracking member or portion 58 e. The EM tracker 58 e may be fixed relative to the optical tracker 58 o such that the position (including three-dimensional location and/or one or more degree of freedom orientation) is fixed ... Accordingly, the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94. " [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first localizer and the second localizer are co-registered by:
determining a pose of one or more optically tracked navigation markers relative to an electromagnetic field emitter ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]).
Regarding claim 15, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 9, and further teaches wherein the first localizer and the second localizer are co-registered by:
determining a pose of the second localizer relative to an electromagnetic field emitter ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]); and
determining a pose of the electromagnetic field emitter relative to an optical camera that is configured to optically track the pose of the first localizer ("Within the operating theater, the navigation system 20 may include various elements or portions, such as an optical localizer 88 and an electromagnetic (EM) localizer 94, which define or are used to generate navigation or tracking spaces in selected first and/or second coordinate systems, as discussed further herein. The respective localizers 88, 94 may also be registered, also referred to as correlated, relative to one another, as also discussed further herein, to allow for tracking one or more instruments in either or both of the coordinate systems and relating the tracked position to an additional coordinate system." [0037]; here the registration between 88 and 94 is a relative pose between two system).
Regarding claim 16, Snyder teaches a processor 9 "The controller 96, in various embodiments, may include a processor 97 …" [0045]); and
a memory storing data thereon that, when processed by the processor, cause the processor ("… and/or various memory portions." [0045]; "If implemented in software, the functions may be stored as one or more instructions or code on a computer-readable medium and executed by a hardware-based processing unit." [0153]) to:
co-register a first localizer and a second localizer ("… tracking devices may include a subject tracking device 58 and/or a tool tracking device 66." [0038]; "The subject tracker 58 may also be used for registration and/or calibration of instruments including the instrument 68 with selected fiducial or registration portion 150. The registration portion 150 may include a divot or indent that the instrument 68 may contact to allow the navigation system 20 to determine a distal end or terminal end of the instrument 68 relative to the tracking device 66." [0064]), the first localizer positionable relative to a patient anatomy ("… the patient tracker 58 may be fixed relative to the subject 30, such as to a portion of the pelvis, including the iliac crest, or other appropriate portions." [0067]) and the second localizer positionable proximate the first localizer ("… and/or a tool tracking device 66." [0038]; see Fig.3), wherein the second localizer comprises a first end, a second end opposite the first end (see Fig.3), and an electromagnetic device (“The instrument can also include more than one type or modality of tracking device 66, such as an EM tracking device 66 e …” [0053]), and a member that is implanted into a portion of a patient to couple with the patient anatomy (“The tool 68 may also include an implant, such as a spinal implant or orthopedic implant.” [0038]; see Fig.3, the tracking device 66 is part of the tool 68, and tool 68 is implanted into vertebra);
determine, based on information from an optical camera that tracks a pose of the first localizer, first localizer pose information ("The patient 80 can also be tracked as the patient moves with a patient tracking device (also referred to as a dynamic reference frame (DRF)) or tracker 58." [0042]; "The tracking system is able to generate a signed based on the tracking (e.g. within a field of view of a camera, EM field, etc.) and the signal is used within the navigation system to determine the position of the tracked element." [0043]; "Thus, when updating the image 108 the known position of the tracking device may be used to assist in determining an appropriate position (e.g. three-dimensional position and appropriate number of degrees of freedom of orientation) in the image." [0130]);
determine, based on a combination of the first localizer pose information and the co-registering of the first localizer with the second localizer, second localizer pose information ("As discussed further herein, registration of the image space to the patient space or subject space allows for navigation of the instrument 68 with the image data. When navigating the instrument 68, a position of the instrument 68 can be illustrated relative to image data acquired of the patient 30 on a display device 84." [0042]; "After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]); and
output the second localizer pose information to a display device ("After the registration of the image space to the patient space, the instrument 68 can be tracked relative to the image 108. As illustrated in FIG. 1, the icon 68 i representing a position (which may include a 6 degree of freedom position (including 3D location and orientation)) of the instrument 68 can be displayed relative to the image 108 on the display 84." [0062]).
In another embodiment of Fig.8, Snyder further teaches the second localizer comprises an implant portion (“… as illustrated in FIG. 8, implants may be positioned relative to the subject 30. As discussed above, the implant is the instrument 68.” [0104]), and the electromagnetic device is positioned closer to the first end than to the second end (“The pedicle screw 410 may include tracking members, such as … a second or shank tracking member 424 … the tracking members 422, 424 may be EM tracking members.” [0105]; see Fig.8, the lower end of the screw is the first end, which is introduced into anatomy) and sized to be implanted into a portion of a patient to couple with the patient anatomy (see Fig.8, the size of 424 is within the screw, which is implanted into anatomy).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the instrument with EM tracking device as taught in one embodiment with the implantable screw as the instrument and corresponding EM tracking devices as taught in another embodiment. Doing so would make it possible to “track the position or relative position of different portions of the respective members” (see Snyder; [0107]).
Regarding claim 17, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 16, and further teaches wherein the co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer comprises:
identifying a tracking tool ("the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 ..." [0063]; DRF is a surgical tool) that comprises one or more optical navigation markers and an electromagnetic tracker disposed in a pose relative to the one or more optical navigation markers ("Further, the subject tracker 58 may include an electromagnetic tracking member or portion 58 e. The EM tracker 58 e may be fixed relative to the optical tracker 58 o such that the position (including three-dimensional location and/or one or more degree of freedom orientation) is fixed ... Accordingly, the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94. " [0063]).
Regarding claim 18, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 16, and further teaches wherein the co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer comprises:
determining a pose of one or more optical navigation markers relative to an electromagnetic field emitter ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]).
Regarding claim 19, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 16, and further teaches wherein the co-registering the first localizer and the second localizer comprises:
determining a pose of the second localizer relative to an electromagnetic field emitter ("… the patient tracker 58 may be used as a registration or dynamic reference frame relative to the patient 30 using at least two tracking systems, such as the optical localizer 88 and the EM localizer 94." [0063]; "As discussed above, the tracking device 66 may also be tracked in more than one tracking system including the optical tracking device 66 o and the EM tracking device 66 e." [0064]; "... the instrument 68, as discussed above, may include one or both tracking devices 66 e and 66 o to be tracked relative to the subject 30 ..." [0075]); and
determining a pose of the electromagnetic field emitter relative to the optical camera ("Within the operating theater, the navigation system 20 may include various elements or portions, such as an optical localizer 88 and an electromagnetic (EM) localizer 94, which define or are used to generate navigation or tracking spaces in selected first and/or second coordinate systems, as discussed further herein. The respective localizers 88, 94 may also be registered, also referred to as correlated, relative to one another, as also discussed further herein, to allow for tracking one or more instruments in either or both of the coordinate systems and relating the tracked position to an additional coordinate system." [0037]; here the registration between 88 and 94 is a relative pose between two system).
Regarding claim 20, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 16, and further teaches wherein the robotic controller navigates one or more surgical instruments based at least partially on the second localizer pose information ("Various portions of the navigation system 20, such as the instrument 68, and others as will be described in detail below, can be equipped with at least one, and generally multiple, of the tracking devices 66." [0053]; "The translation map allows the tracked position of the instrument 68 to be displayed on the display device 84 relative to the image data 108." [0056]).
Regarding claim 21, Snyder teaches all claim limitations, as applied in claim 1, and further teaches wherein the electromagnetic device is positioned within the patient anatomy percutaneously via a laparoscopic incision or a stab incision (“The navigation system 20 and the various instruments may be used in any appropriate procedure, such as one that is generally minimally invasive or an open procedure.” [0038]; the final arrangement of tracking devices as shown in Fig.3 or Fig.8 is inherent result of either minimally invasive or open procedure which requires either a laparoscopic incision for minimally invasive procedure or a stab incision for open procedure).
Conclusion
/CHAO SHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797