Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 2, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 9 – 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acar et al. (US 2006/0032308 A1) (herein after Acar) in view of Kuroda et al. (US 2015/0094964 A1) (herein after Kuroda), and further in view of Funk et al. (US 6,443,008 B1) (herein after Funk).
Regarding Claim 1, Acar discloses, 1. A method to detect weak signals in a noisy environment (Fig. 1, ¶ 16 method will be described; ¶ 14 improved performance and low actuation voltages, which leads to reduced drive-signal interference and lower noise), the method comprising: operating a system of coupled oscillators (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 three interconnected rotary masses), the system includes each of a left oscillator (Fig. 1, active gimbal 12), a middle oscillator (Fig. 1, passive gimbal 14) and a right oscillator (Fig. 1, sensing plate 16) with a given coupling strength (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 coupled to substrate 28) among them, —.
Acar fails to disclose, — and the middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data from at least one sensor to detect a signal at a frequency; driving the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; and based on a function of the difference of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator being equal to or above a settable threshold, using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.
In analogous art, Kuroda discloses, and the middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data (Fig. 1, ¶ 18 external disturbances such as oscillation and electrical noise; Note: Figs 1, 3, 5A and 5B refer to Embodiment 1, see ¶ 54, 57, 59) from at least one sensor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 119 An electrostatic capacitance displacement meter (corresponding to the displacement sensor 2) to detect a signal at a frequency; — and based on a function of the difference (Fig. 5B, ¶ 126 compares the oscillation displacement x, determines whether or not the oscillator 1 is oscillating, based on the comparison result) of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator (Fig. 1, ¶ 52 the power spectrum is a line spectrum) being equal to or above a settable threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 108 determine that the oscillator 1 is oscillating, by a preset threshold or more), —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar by combining the method performed by the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar with a method performed by a system of coupled oscillators with, the middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data from at least one sensor to detect a signal at a frequency; and based on a function of the difference of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator being equal to or above a settable threshold; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Acar in view of Kuroda fail to disclose, — driving the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; — using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.
In analogous art, Funk discloses, — driving the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency (Fig. 4. Col. 3. Ln. 28 disks may each be designed for oscillation in any range) equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; — using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency (Fig. 4. Col. 3. Ln. 28 disks may each be designed for oscillation in any range) and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal (Fig. 5c. Col. 4. Ln. 54 external disturbing accelerations such as vibrations and jarring accelerations are filtered out; Note: FIGS. 5a, 5b, and 5c illustrate the different conditions and responses to acceleration or momentum inputs to the gyroscope system shown in FIG. 4. - Col 4, 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda by combining the method performed by the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda with a method performed by a system of coupled oscillators comprising, driving the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal; disclosed by Funk for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while filtering out external movement [Funk: Col. 4, Ln. 39 – 56: As shown in FIG. 5c, an external movement of the gyroscope system around the secondary motion axis (for example, a vibration or jarring of the system) will cause both disks to move in the same direction, … external disturbing accelerations such as vibrations and jarring accelerations are filtered out, and thus not detected, while external angular velocities are detected].
Regarding Claim 2, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 2. The method of Claim 1, wherein the right oscillator, the middle oscillator and the left oscillator are mathematically modeled by differential equations with a sinusoidal nonlinear term (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 inertia matrix of each mass 12, 14, 16, will be obtained using the appropriate transformations); —
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, — and wherein the data is time series data further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations, each of applying a settable scaling factor to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component for N number of samplings of time series data; calculating a detection coefficient P equal to a function.
Kuroda further discloses, — and wherein the data is time series data (Fig. 8, ¶ 326 the feedback control system uses digital technology) further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations (Fig. 1, ¶ 21 an actuator for causing the oscillator to self-oscillate, positively feeding back the oscillation), each of applying a settable scaling factor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 36 a gain adjustment step of selectively changing) to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component (Fig. 1, ¶ 18 external disturbances such as oscillation and electrical noise) for N number of samplings of time series data (Fig. 8, ¶ 326 the feedback control system uses digital technology); calculating a detection coefficient P (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 C is a damping coefficient of the oscillator) equal to a function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the method performed by the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a method performed by a system of coupled oscillators wherein, the data is time series data further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations, each of applying a settable scaling factor to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component for N number of samplings of time series data; calculating a detection coefficient P equal to a function; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Regarding Claim 3, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 3. The method of Claim 2, wherein the N number of samplings of time series data is a non-overlapping or partially overlapping time series data (Fig. 3A, ¶ 34 the flat region of the drive-oscillator has to be designed to overlap with the sense-direction resonance peak).
Regarding Claim 5, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 5. The method of claim 1, wherein the right oscillator, the middle oscillator and the left oscillator are mathematically modeled by differential equations with a nonlinear term (Fig. 1, ¶ 45 equation of motion of the sensing plate about the sense-axis).
Regarding Claim 6, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 5, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 6. The method of claim 5, wherein the nonlinear term is any one of sin(x), x2, x3 or x4 (Fig. 1, ¶ 61 sinusoidal electrostatic drive moment).
Regarding Claim 9, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment.
Kuroda further discloses, 9. The method of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment (Fig. 6A, ¶ 141 the viscoelastic body is a fluid, the "contact" indicates that the oscillator such as a cantilever is inserted into the fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the method performed by the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a method performed by a system of coupled oscillators wherein, the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Regarding Claim 10, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment.
Kuroda further discloses, 10. The method of claim 1, wherein the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment (Fig. 6A, ¶ 141 the viscoelastic body is a fluid, the "contact" indicates that the oscillator such as a cantilever is inserted into the fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the method performed by the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a method performed by a system of coupled oscillators wherein, wherein the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Regarding Claim 11, Acar discloses, 11. A system to detect weak signals in a noisy environment (Fig. 1, ¶ 16 apparatus will be described; ¶ 14 improved performance and low actuation voltages, which leads to reduced drive-signal interference and lower noise), the system comprising: a left oscillator (Fig. 1, active gimbal 12); a middle oscillator (Fig. 1, passive gimbal 14) — a right oscillator (Fig. 1, sensing plate 16) with a given coupling strength (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 coupled to substrate 28) between each of the left oscillator, the middle oscillator and the right oscillator; —.
Acar fails to disclose, — a middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data from at least one sensor to detect a signal at a frequency; — a frequency generator to drive the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; and a power spectrum circuit to calculate a function of the difference of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator being equal to or above a settable threshold, using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.
In analogous art, Kuroda discloses, — a middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data (Fig. 1, ¶ 18 external disturbances such as oscillation and electrical noise; Note: Figs 1, 3, 5A and 5B refer to Embodiment 1, see ¶ 54, 57, 59) from at least one sensor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 119 An electrostatic capacitance displacement meter (corresponding to the displacement sensor 2) to detect a signal at a frequency; — and a power spectrum circuit (Fig. 8, ¶ 209 computing unit 33 stores these computation results) to calculate a function of the difference (Fig. 5B, ¶ 126 compares the oscillation displacement x, determines whether or not the oscillator 1 is oscillating, based on the comparison result) of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator (Fig. 1, ¶ 52 the power spectrum is a line spectrum) being equal to or above a settable threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 108 determine that the oscillator 1 is oscillating, by a preset threshold or more), —.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar by combining the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar with a system of coupled oscillators with, a middle oscillator receiving signal data with environmental noise data from at least one sensor to detect a signal at a frequency; and a power spectrum circuit to calculate a function of the difference of a power spectrum of the left oscillator and a power spectrum of the right oscillator being equal to or above a settable threshold; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Acar in view of Kuroda fail to disclose, — a frequency generator to drive the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; — using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.
In analogous art, Funk discloses, — a frequency generator (Fig. 4. Col. 3. Ln. 6 comb drives are shown for oscillating the disks) to drive the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency (Fig. 4. Col. 3. Ln. 28 disks may each be designed for oscillation in any range) equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; — using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency (Fig. 4. Col. 3. Ln. 28 disks may each be designed for oscillation in any range) and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal (Fig. 5c. Col. 4. Ln. 54 external disturbing accelerations such as vibrations and jarring accelerations are filtered out; Note: FIGS. 5a, 5b, and 5c illustrate the different conditions and responses to acceleration or momentum inputs to the gyroscope system shown in FIG. 4. - Col 4, 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda by combining the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda with a system of coupled oscillators comprising, a frequency generator to drive the right oscillator and the left oscillator with a user-selectable frequency equal to the frequency of the signal to detect; using data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal; disclosed by Funk for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while filtering out external movement [Funk: Col. 4, Ln. 39 – 56: As shown in FIG. 5c, an external movement of the gyroscope system around the secondary motion axis (for example, a vibration or jarring of the system) will cause both disks to move in the same direction, … external disturbing accelerations such as vibrations and jarring accelerations are filtered out, and thus not detected, while external angular velocities are detected].
Regarding Claim 12, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 12. The system of Claim 11, wherein the right oscillator, the middle oscillator and the left oscillator are mathematically modeled by differential equations with a sinusoidal nonlinear term (Fig. 1, ¶ 36 inertia matrix of each mass 12, 14, 16, will be obtained using the appropriate transformations); —
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, — and wherein the data is time series data further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations, each of applying a settable scaling factor to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component for N number of samplings of time series data; calculating a detection coefficient P equal to a function.
Kuroda further discloses, — and wherein the data is time series data (Fig. 8, ¶ 326 the feedback control system uses digital technology) further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations (Fig. 1, ¶ 21 an actuator for causing the oscillator to self-oscillate, positively feeding back the oscillation), each of applying a settable scaling factor (Fig. 5A, ¶ 36 a gain adjustment step of selectively changing) to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component (Fig. 1, ¶ 18 external disturbances such as oscillation and electrical noise) for N number of samplings of time series data (Fig. 8, ¶ 326 the feedback control system uses digital technology); calculating a detection coefficient P (Fig. 1, ¶ 38 C is a damping coefficient of the oscillator) equal to a function.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a system of coupled oscillators wherein, the data is time series data further comprising: iteratively performing for a settable number of iterations, each of applying a settable scaling factor to the sinusoidal nonlinear term that includes a noise and signal component for N number of samplings of time series data; calculating a detection coefficient P equal to a function; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Regarding Claim 13, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 12, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 13. The system of Claim 12, wherein the N number of samplings of time series data is a non-overlapping or partially overlapping time series data (Fig. 3A, ¶ 34 the flat region of the drive-oscillator has to be designed to overlap with the sense-direction resonance peak).
Regarding Claim 15, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 15. The system of claim 11, wherein the right oscillator, the middle oscillator and the left oscillator are mathematically modeled by differential equations with a nonlinear term (Fig. 1, ¶ 45 equation of motion of the sensing plate about the sense-axis).
Regarding Claim 16, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Acar further discloses, 16. The system of claim 15, wherein the nonlinear term is any one of sin(x), x2, x3 or x4 (Fig. 1, ¶ 61 sinusoidal electrostatic drive moment).
Regarding Claim 19, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, 19. The system of claim 11, wherein the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment.
Kuroda further discloses, 19. The system of claim 11, wherein the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment (Fig. 6A, ¶ 141 the viscoelastic body is a fluid, the "contact" indicates that the oscillator such as a cantilever is inserted into the fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a system of coupled oscillators wherein, the signal is transmitted in an atmospheric environment; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Regarding Claim 20, Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk disclose the limitations of claim 11, which this claim depends on.
Acar and Funk fail to disclose, 20. The system of claim 11, wherein the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment.
Kuroda further discloses, 20. The system of claim 11, wherein the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment (Fig. 6A, ¶ 141 the viscoelastic body is a fluid, the "contact" indicates that the oscillator such as a cantilever is inserted into the fluid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk by combining the system of coupled oscillators disclosed by Acar in view of Kuroda in view of Funk with a system of coupled oscillators wherein, the signal is transmitted in an underwater environment; disclosed by Kuroda for the benefit of detecting weak signals in a noisy environment while distinguishing the material properties contact with the oscillators [Kuroda: ¶ 19: measurement device that are effective in estimating the internal properties of a viscoelastic body while clearly distinguishing elasticity and viscosity especially in the case where the viscoelastic body has complex viscoelasticity unable to be represented by a simple mechanical model].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 8, 14, 17, and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “4. The method of Claim 2, wherein the detection coefficient P equal to a function is
P
=
1
N
∑
j
=
1
N
F
P
j
1
-
P
j
3
F(x) is a function of (Pj1 - Pj3);
where Pj1 is a value of a square root of the power spectrum of the left oscillator and Pj3 is a value of a square root of the power spectrum of the right oscillator at the user-selectable frequency; and in the event P is above the settable threshold, which is a nonzero threshold, using the data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.”
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim:
Regarding claim 14, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim: “14. The system of Claim 12, wherein the detection coefficient P equal to a function is
P
=
1
N
∑
j
=
1
N
F
P
j
1
-
P
j
3
F(x) is a function of (Pj1 - Pj3);
where Pj1 is a value of a square root of the power spectrum of the left oscillator and Pj3 is a value of a square root of the power spectrum of the right oscillator at the user-selectable frequency; and in the event P is above the settable threshold, which is a nonzero threshold, using the data from the sensor associated with the middle oscillator to detect the signal at the user selectable frequency and otherwise based on the difference between below a threshold ignoring the signal.”
Regarding claim 17, the prior art fails to teach in combination with the rest of the limitations in the claim:
Claim 8 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 7;
Claim 18 is objected to due to its dependency on claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Waters et al. (US 2014/0062567 A1) discloses, a system to detect weak signals in a noisy environment (Fig. 4C, ¶ 204 In one approach, time quantization noise is reduced through the use of Vernier interpolators).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858