DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The submission of the reply filed on 02/03/2026 to the non-final Office action of 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. The Office action on the currently pending claims 1-4, 7-14, 16-17, and 19-21 follows.
Double Patenting
As requested by Applicant, the double patenting rejection over US 12,010,820 will be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is discovered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is believed to constitute new matter since the subject matter is not believed to be supported by Applicant’s original disclosure. Based on figure 11 and paragraphs [0027] and [0055] of Applicant’s specification (see US PG-Pub version of Applicant’s specification), the heat exchanger (119) is responsible for forming the condensed/subcooled dielectric fluid. In other words, the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the vessel to form the subcooled dielectric fluid that is held within the vessel, and not configured to transfer heat to the subcooled dielectric fluid as currently claimed (i.e., the heat exchanger does the exact opposite of what is being claimed). The Office notes that if the heat exchanger does transfer heat from the vessel to the subcooled dielectric fluid, as claimed, then the device would not work as intended. If the heat exchanger transfers heat to the subcooled dielectric, as claimed, then the heat exchanger cannot form the subcooled dielectric fluid since the heat exchanger is now heating instead of cooling the vaporized dielectric fluid (which is the fluid that turns into the subcooled dielectric fluid), which means that the subcooled dielectric fluid cannot be formed since there is nothing else in the device that would be able to condense the vaporized dielectric fluid, and thus rendering the device inoperable for its intended purpose. Furthermore, the heat exchanger would no longer be an actual heat exchanger, but would rather be considered to be a heater since the claim is requiring the heat exchanger to heat a fluid, and thus the term “heat exchanger” would not be used in its accepted meaning.
For all of the reasons outlined above, the claim is believed to have a New Matter issue. As outlined in the previous Office action, the claim was interpreted as “wherein the heat exchanger is configured to transfer heat from the vessel to [the dielectric fluid]--a cooling fluid-- held within the [vessel]--heat exchanger--” in order to stay consistent with Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS) in view of Ong Kong Chye (US 20210385974) and in further view of Chen (US 20230046075).
Regarding claim 1, Enright discloses (Figs.10A-D):
A system comprising: a vessel (500) configured to hold dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]: the immersion fluid itself is a dielectric fluid) within a bath area (Figs.10C-D and [0148]: the area where 310/400 is located, which is also where the computer component is located, will define the "bath area") and within a sump area (523) (Figs.10C-D, [0148], and [0150]: the dielectric fluid is held within 310/400, and any dielectric fluid that spills out 310/400 will go into 523, and thus the dielectric fluid can also be held within 523), the dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]) being thermally conductive and condensable (See Abstract and [0238]: the dielectric fluid is a two-phase liquid that is thermally conductive and will vaporize and condense); a computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") mounted within a chassis (400) of a plurality of chassis (Fig.10C: there are a plurality of 310, which means that there will also be a plurality of 400), configured to be at least partially submersed (See Fig.10D and [0151]) within the dielectric fluid in the bath area; a heat exchanger (132) configured to provide cooling within the vessel (500) such that the dielectric fluid held in the sump area (532) is subcooled (Fig.10C, [0148], and [0150]: the dielectric fluid that spills into and gets held in 532 can flow back to 310/400, and when that dielectric fluid evaporates, 132 can condense the fluid back to liquid, which can then spill again into 532 as subcooled liquid, and that fluid will define the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled”); a fluid circulation system ([0150]: the described fluid circulation with the sump area 523 will define the "fluid circulation system") including a pipe (521), the fluid circulation system configured to draw the dielectric fluid that is subcooled (Fig.10C, [0148] and [0150]: as explained above, the dielectric fluid that spilled into 523, returned to 310/400 to be evaporated, condensed by 132, and then spills again into 523 will define “the dielectric fluid that is subcooled”) from the sump area (523) of the vessel (500), transfer the dielectric fluid that is subcooled through the pipe (521), and direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") that is at least partially submersed within the dielectric fluid in the bath area (Figs.10C-D and [0148]-[0151]: as represented by 524, the computer component is at least partially submerged within the dielectric fluid in the bath area, and as explained above, the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled” can be returned back to 310/400 in order to cool the computer component that is at last partially submerged within the dielectric fluid in the bath area).
However, Enright does not disclose:
A fluid circulation system including a pipe and a nozzle, and spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled out of the nozzle to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component that is at last partially submersed within the dielectric fluid in the bath area.
Ong Kong Chye however teaches (Fig.2D):
A fluid circulation system (See Fig.2D) including a pipe (242) and a nozzle (244).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Ong Kong Chye to modify the device of Enright such that the fluid circulation system has a nozzle so that the fluid circulation system has a pipe and nozzle that can spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled out of the nozzle to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component that is at least partially submersed within the dielectric fluid in the bath area, as claimed, in order to provide an efficient means of distributing the subcooled dielectric fluid since the nozzle will ensure that the subcooled dielectric fluid is uniformly distributed as taught by Ong Kong Chye ([0017] and [0069]), and thus provide a more efficient heat dissipation assembly.
Alternatively, Ong Kong Chye further teaches:
A heat exchanger (212) configured to provide cooling within the vessel (200) such that the dielectric fluid ([0030]: “Liquid used in the present invention is a dielectric fluid”) held in the sump area (204) is subcooled (Fig.2D, [0039], and [0064]: condensed liquid from 212 falls directly back into 204, and thus the liquid that goes directly from 212 to 204 will define the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further utilize the above teaching of Ong Kong Chye such that the heat exchanger provides cooling within the vessel such that the dielectric fluid held in the sump area is subcooled (i.e., provide a direct path from the heat exchanger to the sump area so that the sump area also holds the dielectric fluid that is subcooled) in such a way that the fluid circulation system draws the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area, transfers the dielectric fluid that is subcooled through the pipe, and then spray the computer component that is at least partially submerged within the dielectric fluid in the bath area via the nozzle, as claimed, in order to further optimize the cooling efficiency (i.e., now that the sump area directly receives condensed dielectric fluid, which defines the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled”, from the heat exchanger, the dielectric fluid that spills out of 310/400 of Enright and gets held in 523 of Enright can get precooled by the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled”, so that when the fluid gets returned back to 310/400, the fluid will be at a lower temperature, and thus providing improved cooling for the computer component).
However, the above combination (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye) still fails to teach:
Wherein the nozzle is submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area, and the nozzle is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the subcooled dielectric fluid at the computer component.
Chen however teaches (Fig.3):
See next page→
The nozzle (230) is mounted to the chassis (See Fig.3) such that a discharge outlet (Fig.3: the outlet of 230) of the nozzle (230) is positioned within an interior (220) of the chassis (See Fig.3) to spray the dielectric fluid (18) at the computer component (any one of more of 214a and 216a-n) (Fig.3 and [0056]: 230 sprays 18 at the computer components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Saito to further modify the device of modified Enright such that the nozzle is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the subcooled dielectric fluid at the computer component, and such that the nozzle is submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area (i.e., due to the nozzle now being coupled to an interior of the chassis, as modified above, the nozzle will also have to be submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area as a result since the chassis itself is also submersed in the dielectric fluid), as claimed, in order to further optimize the cooling capabilities since the dielectric fluid/subcooled dielectric fluid can be sprayed directly to the computer component, and thus providing a more direct form of cooling for the computer component.
Regarding claim 2, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") is one of a plurality of computer components ([0148]).
However, Enright does not disclose:
The nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles, and wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is configured to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at a corresponding one of the plurality of computer components.
Ong Kong Chye however further teaches:
The nozzle (244) is one of a plurality of nozzles (See Fig.2D: there are a plurality of 244), and wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is configured to direct the dielectric fluid ([0030]: “Liquid used in the present invention is a dielectric fluid”) at a corresponding one of the plurality of computer components ([0069]: "heat generating components") (Fig.2D and [0069]: each of the nozzles will have a corresponding computer component that it sprays the coolant to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Ong Kong Chye to further modify the device of modified Enright (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye) such that the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles, and each of the nozzles is configured to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at a corresponding one of the plurality of computer components, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved heat dissipation assembly as outlined in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the fluid circulation system ([0150]: the described fluid circulation with the sump area 523 will define the "fluid circulation system") further includes a pump (522) that is configured to draw the dielectric fluid that is subcooled (Fig.10C, [0148] and [0150]: as explained in claim 1, the dielectric fluid that spilled into 523, returned to 310/400 to be evaporated, condensed by 132, and then spills again into 523 will define “the dielectric fluid that is subcooled”) from the sump area (523), transfer the dielectric fluid that is subcooled through the pipe (521), and direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") (Fig.10C, [0148], and [0150]: as explained above, the fluid that spills into 523, returns to 310/400 to be evaporated, condensed by 132, and then spills again into 523 to define the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled” can then be redistributed and directed at the computer component).
Regarding claim 4, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the pump (522) is configured to pass the dielectric fluid that is subcooled (Fig.10C, [0148] and [0150]: as explained in claim 1, the dielectric fluid that spilled into 523, returned to 310/400 to be evaporated, condensed by 132, and then spills again into 523 will define “the dielectric fluid that is subcooled”) through a filter (520) prior to directing the dielectric fluid that is subcooled out (Fig.10C, [0148], and [0150]: as described above, the fluid that is used the define “the dielectric fluid that is subcooled” will have to pass through 520 before being redistributed and directed at the computer component).
However, Enright does not disclose:
Wherein the pump is configured to pass dielectric fluid that is subcooled through a filter prior to directing the dielectric fluid that is subcooled out of the nozzle (emphasis added).
However, as outlined in claim 1 above, Ong Kong Chye teaches:
The nozzle (244).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Ong Kong Chye to further modify the device of modified Enright (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye) such that when the nozzle is incorporated into the fluid circulation system, as modified in claim 1 above (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye), the pump is configured to pass the dielectric fluid that is subcooled through a filter prior to directing the dielectric fluid that is subcooled out of the nozzle, in order to achieve the more efficient heat dissipation assembly as outlined in claim 1 since the filter will ensure the redistributed fluid is fresh (i.e., devoid of contaminants).
Regarding claim 7, Chen further teaches:
Wherein the chassis (See Fig.3) includes a hole (Fig.3: the hole in 282 where 226 is located), and wherein the discharge outlet (outlet of 230) of the nozzle (230) is positioned through the hole (Fig.3 and [0056]: the discharge outlet of 230 is indirectly positioned through the hole via 212) to direct the dielectric fluid (18) to the computer component (any one of more of 214a and 216a-n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Chen to further modify the device of modified Enright (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye) such that the chassis includes a hole so that the discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned through the hole to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled to the computer component, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved cooling capabilities as outlined in claim 1 above.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS), Ong Kong Chye (US 20210385974), and Chen (US 20230046075) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Duchesne (US 20220214727).
Regarding claim 8, modified Enright (with or without the alternative rejection with Ong Kong Chye) does not teach:
A pass through plate having a sub-plate configured to inflow the dielectric fluid to the vessel and to outflow the dielectric fluid from the vessel.
Duchesne however teaches (Fig.3):
A pass through plate (200 and 300 in combination) having a sub-plate (200) configured to inflow the dielectric fluid ([0113]: water goes into 303, and water is a dielectric fluid) to the vessel (100) and to outflow the dielectric fluid from the vessel (100) (Fig.3 and [0113]: sub-plate 200 inflows the dielectric fluid to 100 via 303 and will outflow the dielectric fluid out of 100 via 304).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Duchesne to further modify the device of modified Enright such that it has a pass through plate having a sub-plate that is configured to inflow the dielectric fluid to the vessel and to outflow the dielectric fluid from the vessel, as claimed, in order to provide a simple and efficient means of delivering the dielectric fluid to the vessel.
Claims 9-11, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS) in view of Shelnutt (US 20150062806) and in further view of Chen (US 20230046075).
Regarding claim 9, Enright discloses (Figs.10A-D):
A system comprising: a vessel (500) configured to hold dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]: the immersion fluid itself is a dielectric fluid) within a bath area (Figs.10C-D and [0148]: the area where 310/400 is located, which is also where the computer component is located, will define the "bath area") and within a sump area (523) (Figs.10C-D, [0148], and [0150]: the dielectric fluid is held within 310/400, and any dielectric fluid that spills out 310/400 will go into 523, and thus the dielectric fluid can also be held within 523), the dielectric fluid being thermally conductive and condensable (See Abstract and [0238]: the dielectric fluid is a two-phase liquid that is thermally conductive and will vaporize and condense); a computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") mounted within a chassis (400) of a plurality of chassis (Fig.10C: there are a plurality of 310, which means that there will also be a plurality of 400), configured to be at least partially submersed within the dielectric fluid in the bath area (See Fig.10D and [0151]), the computer component configured to emit heat that vaporizes the dielectric fluid in the bath area (See Abstract, [0148], and Figs.10C-D: the computer components will generate heat to vaporize the dielectric coolant); a fluid circulation system ([0150]: the described fluid circulation with the sump area 523 will define the "fluid circulation system") including a pump (522) configured to transfer the dielectric fluid from the sump area (523) to the bath area (See Fig.10C-D and [0150]: the thermally conductive, condensable dielectric fluid that spills into 523 gets redelivered back to the bath area via 522); and a cooling system (132).
However, Enright does not disclose:
Wherein the fluid circulation system is configured to deliver dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area.
Shelnutt however teaches (Fig.4):
A deflector (440) that provides a flow path (See Fig.4 and [0073]-[0074]: the path from 460 to 440 and into the lower area where 412 is located will define the “flow path”) from the cooling system (460) for delivering dielectric fluid that is subcooled (462) from the cooling system (460).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Shelnutt to modify the device of Enright such that it has a deflector so that the fluid circulation system includes both the pump and deflector so that the fluid circulation system is configured to deliver dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area, as claimed, in order to better ensure that unnecessary splashing in the bath area does not occur due to the deflector of the fluid circulation system catching the subcooled dielectric fluid and transporting the fluid to the sump area while also better ensuring that the dielectric fluid is free from contaminants when redistributed to the bath area (i.e., since the subcooled dielectric fluid is immediately transferred to the sump area, the pump will move the subcooled dielectric fluid to the filter 520 of Enright to ensure that the subcooled dielectric fluid has no contaminants when brough back to the bath area), and thus improve the overall heat dissipation efficiency.
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
A fluid circulation system including a nozzle and a pump configured to transfer the dielectric fluid from the sump area to the bath area via the nozzle; and wherein the nozzle is submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area, and the nozzle is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the subcooled dielectric fluid at the computer component.
Chen however teaches (Fig.3):
A fluid circulation system (See Fig.3) including a nozzle (230) configured to transfer the dielectric liquid (18) via the nozzle (230); and the nozzle (230) is mounted to the chassis (See Fig.3) such that a discharge outlet (Fig.3: the outlet of 230) of the nozzle (230) is positioned within an interior (220) of the chassis (See Fig.3) to spray the dielectric fluid (18) at the computer component (any one of more of 214a and 216a-n) (Fig.3 and [0056]: 230 sprays 18 at the computer components).
See next page→
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Chen to further modify the device of modified Enright such that the fluid circulation system includes a nozzle that is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the subcooled dielectric fluid at the computer component so that the nozzle submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area (i.e., due to the nozzle now being mounted to an interior of the chassis, the nozzle will also as a result be immersed in the dielectric fluid in the bath area since the chassis is also immersed in the dielectric fluid), and such that the fluid circulation system includes the nozzle and pump that are configured to transfer the dielectric fluid from the sump area to the bath area via the nozzle, as claimed, in order to provide an improved cooling arrangement since the computer component can now be directly cooled by the dielectric fluid due to the nozzle spraying the dielectric fluid directly to the computer component (i.e., the computer component now has direct contact with the dielectric coolant, and thus providing more efficient cooling).
Regarding claim 10, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the cooling system (132) includes a condenser (Fig.10C and [0148]: the cooling system itself is a condenser) that is configured to condense vaporized dielectric fluid ([0148]) to produce the dielectric fluid that is subcooled (Fig.10C and [0148]: the condensed fluid that goes from 132 back to the bath area will define the “dielectric fluid that is subcooled”).
Regarding claim 11, Enright does not disclose:
Wherein the fluid circulation system includes a deflector that provides a flow path from the cooling system to the sump area for delivering the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area.
However, as outlined in claim 9 above, Shelnutt teaches:
A deflector (440) that provides a flow path (See Fig.4 and [0073]-[0074]: the path from 460 to 440 and into the lower area where 412 is located will define the “flow path”) from the cooling system (460) for delivering the dielectric fluid that is subcooled (462) from the cooling system (460).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Shelnutt to further modify the device of modified Enright such that when the fluid circulation system is modified to incorporate the deflector, as modified in claim 9 above, the deflector provides a flow path from the cooling system to the sump area for delivering the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved heat dissipation efficiency as described in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 13, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the pump (522) is configured to draw the dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]: the immersion fluid itself is a dielectric fluid) from the sump area (523) and transfer the dielectric fluid from the sump area (523) to the computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component").
However, modified Enright does not teach:
Wherein the pump is configured to draw the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area and transfer the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area to the nozzle to spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component.
However, as outlined in claim 9 above, Chen teaches:
Wherein the fluid circulation system (See Fig.3) includes a nozzle (230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Chen to further modify the device of modified Enright such that when the nozzle is added to the fluid circulation system, as modified in claim 9 above, the nozzle is arranged such that the pump draws the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area and transfers the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area to the nozzle to spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at the computer component, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved cooling capabilities as outlined in claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 16, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the chassis (See Fig.3) includes a hole (Fig.3: the hole in 282 where 226 is located), and wherein the discharge outlet (outlet of 230) of the nozzle (230) is positioned through the hole (Fig.3 and [0056]: the discharge outlet of 230 is indirectly positioned through the hole via 212) to direct the dielectric fluid (18) to the computer component (any one of more of 214a and 216a-n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Chen to further modify the device of modified Enright such that the chassis includes a hole so that the discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned through the hole to direct the dielectric fluid that is subcooled to the computer component, as claimed, in order to achieve the improved cooling capabilities as outlined in claim 9 above.
See next page→
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS), Shelnutt (US 20150062806), and Chen (US 20230046075) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Saito (US 20170354061).
Regarding claim 14, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") is one of a plurality of computer components (See Figs.10C-D and [0148]).
However, modified Enright does not teach:
Wherein the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles and each of the plurality of nozzles is submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area, wherein the fluid circulation system includes a fluid circulation pipe, each of the plurality of nozzles being fluidly connected to the fluid circulation pipe, and wherein the pump is configured to draw the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area and transfer the dielectric fluid that is subcooled to each of the plurality of nozzles to spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at each of the plurality of computer components.
Saito however teaches (Figs.6-7):
Wherein the nozzle (161) is one of a plurality of nozzles (Fig.7: there are a plurality of 161) and each of the plurality of nozzles is submersed (See Fig.7) in the dielectric fluid (11) ([0043] and [0054]: the utilized fluid is a dielectric fluid) held in the bath area (Figs.6-7: the area that 120 is held in will define the “bath area”) (Fig.7: each 161 is below the liquid line 19 of 11, and thus each of the plurality of 161 is submersed in 11), wherein the fluid circulation system (See Figs.6-7) includes a fluid circulation pipe (160), each of the plurality of nozzles being fluidly connected (See Figs.6-7) to the fluid circulation pipe (160) (Figs.6-7: all of 161 are coupled to 160).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Saito to further modify the device of modified Enright such that the nozzle is one of a plurality of nozzles that are each submersed in the dielectric fluid held in the bath area, arrange the nozzles such that they are all coupled to a fluid circulation pipe, to then arrange the nozzles in such a way that the pump draws the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the sump area and transfers the dielectric fluid that is subcooled to each of the plurality of nozzles to spray the dielectric fluid that is subcooled at each of the plurality of computer components, as claimed, in order provide an improved means of routing the dielectric fluid to the computer components (i.e., now that a plurality of nozzles are being utilized, each of the nozzles can be pointed directly at the computer components to provide a more efficient coolant route to cool the computer components).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS), Shelnutt (US 20150062806), and Chen (US 20230046075) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Peterson (US 20220408612).
Regarding claim 12, modified Enright does not teach:
Wherein the fluid circulation system includes a subcooled fluid pipe that extends from the cooling system to the sump area for delivering the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area.
Peterson however teaches (Fig.2):
A subcooled fluid pipe (220) that extends from the cooling system (206).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Peterson to further modify the device of modified Enright to substitute the deflector, as modified in claim 9, with the subcooled fluid pipe such that the fluid circulation system includes the subcooled fluid pipe that extends from the cooling system to the sump area for delivering the dielectric fluid that is subcooled from the cooling system to the sump area, as claimed, in order to further optimize transporting the subcooled fluid from the cooling system to the sump area (i.e., using the subcooled fluid pipe taught by Peterson in place of the deflector, as modified in claim 9, can provide a simpler way of directly transporting the subcooled fluid from the cooling system to the sump area).
Finally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination / modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 17 and 21, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS) in view of Mao (US 20200257342) and in further view of Chen (US 20230046075).
Regarding claim 17, Enright discloses (Figs.10A-D):
A system comprising: a vessel (500) configured to hold dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]) within a bath area (Figs.10C-D and [0148]: the area where 310/400 is located, which is also where the computer component is located, will define the "bath area") and a sump area (523) (Figs.10C-D, [0148], and [0150]: the dielectric fluid is held within 310/400, and any dielectric fluid that spills out 310/400 will go into 523, and thus the dielectric fluid can also be held within 523), the dielectric fluid being thermally conductive and condensable (See Abstract and [0238]: the dielectric fluid is a two-phase liquid that is thermally conductive and will vaporize and condense); a computer component ([0148]: "computing components"- any one of the 'computing components' will define the "computer component") mounted within a chassis (400) of a plurality of chassis (Fig.10C: there are a plurality of 310, which means that there will also be a plurality of 400), configured to be at least partially submersed within the dielectric fluid in the bath area (See Fig.10D and [0151]), the computer component configured to emit heat that vaporizes the dielectric fluid (See Abstract, [0148], and Figs.10C-D: the computer components will generate heat to vaporize the dielectric coolant); and a fluid circulation system ([0150]: the described fluid circulation with the sump area 523 will define the "fluid circulation system") including a pump (522) and a pipe (521), the fluid circulation system configured to (i) transfer the dielectric fluid from a heat exchanger (132) within the vessel (500) to the sump area (523) (Fig.10C, [0148], and [0150]: the condensed fluid from 132 can spill into 523 from 310/400), and (ii) transfer the dielectric fluid from the sump area (523) to the bath area to cool the computer component submersed in the dielectric fluid in the bath area (Fig.10C, [0148], and [0150]: the condensed fluid from 132 that can spill into 523 from 310/400, which can be redistributed to the bath area via the pump 522 of the fluid circulation system to cool the computer component that is submersed in the dielectric fluid in the bath area), wherein the dielectric fluid (See Abstract, Fig.10C, and [0150]) is subcooled (Fig.10C: the dielectric fluid is subcooled by 132, which can condense into the sump area, which can then be redistributed to the bath area).
However, Enright does not disclose:
A fluid circulation system including a pump, a pipe, and a nozzle, the fluid circulation system configured to (i) transfer dielectric fluid both from an external source and from a heat exchanger within the vessel to the sump area.
Mao however teaches (Fig.2):
A fluid circulation system (See Fig.2) including a nozzle (33), the fluid circulation system (See Fig.2) configured to (i) transfer dielectric fluid (20) from an external source (5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Mao to modify the device of Enright such that the fluid circulation system includes a nozzle so that the fluid circulation system includes a pump, a pipe, and a nozzle, and such that the fluid circulation system is configured to transfer dielectric fluid from an external cooling source so that the field circulation system is configured to transfer dielectric fluid both from an external source and from a heat exchanger within the vessel to the sump area, as claimed, in order to provide a simple means of supplying the dielectric fluid to the vessel and immersing the computer component in the dielectric fluid in the bath area. Furthermore, incorporating the nozzle will provide an improved means of ensuring that uniform flow is achieved as taught by Mao ([0015]).
However, the above combination still fails to teach:
Wherein the nozzle is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the dielectric fluid at the computer component.
Chen however teaches (Fig.3):
See next page→
Wherein the nozzle (230) is mounted to the chassis (See Fig.3) such that a discharge outlet (Fig.3: the outlet of 230) of the nozzle (230) is positioned within an interior (220) of the chassis (See Fig.3) to spray the dielectric fluid (18) at the computer component (any one of more of 214a and 216a-n) (Fig.3 and [0056]: 230 sprays 18 at the computer components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Chen to further modify the device of modified Enright such that the nozzle is mounted to the chassis such that a discharge outlet of the nozzle is positioned within an interior of the chassis to spray the dielectric fluid at the computer component, as claimed, in order to provide a more efficient means of cooling the computer component since the computer component can now be directly cooled by the dielectric fluid.
Regarding claim 21, Enright further discloses (using the interpretation outlined in the 112(a) rejection above):
Wherein the heat exchanger (132) is configured to transfer heat from the vessel (500) to a cooling fluid ([0061]: the water flowing within 132 will define “a cooling fluid”) held within the heat exchanger (132).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enright (WO 2020102090) (of record, cited in the IDS), Mao (US 20200257342), and Chen (US 20230046075) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Duchesne (US 20220214727).
Regarding claim 19, modified Enright does not teach:
See next page→
Wherein the fluid circulation system includes a pass through plate having a module that flows the dielectric fluid into and out of the vessel, the module fluidly connected to the external source and configured to transfer the dielectric fluid from the external source to the bath area.
Duchesne however teaches (Fig.3):
A pass through plate (200 and 300 in combination) having a module (303 and 304) that flows the dielectric fluid ([0113]: the water will define the “dielectric fluid”) into and out of the vessel (100) (Fig.3 and [0113]: 303 will allow the water/fluid into 100, and 304 will allow water/fluid out of 100), the module (303 and 340) fluidly connected to the external source (Fig.3 and [0113]: an external source has to be provided in order to provide the cold water to the inlet 303 and then out of 304) and configured to transfer the dielectric fluid ([0113]: the water will define the “dielectric fluid”) from the external source to the bath area (Fig.3: interior space of 100 will define the ”bath area”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the above teaching of Duchesne to further modify the device of modified Enright such that that fluid circulation system includes a pass through plate that has a module that flows the dielectric fluid into and out of the vessel, and such that the module is fluidly connected to the external source and configured to transfer the dielectric fluid from the external source to the bath area, as claimed, in order to further improve delivering the dielectric fluid to the vessel (i.e., by providing a pass through plate that has the module to deliver the dielectric fluid to the bath area from the external source and acts as a lid, there is a simple and efficient means of delivering the dielectric fluid to the bath area of the vessel while also providing extra protection for the computer component due to the pass through plate acting as a lid that can better protect contaminants from entering the bath area).
Regarding claim 20, Enright further discloses:
Wherein the heat exchanger (132) is a condenser (Fig.10C and [0148]: the cooling system itself is a condenser) that is configured to condense vaporized dielectric fluid that has been vaporized (Fig.10C and [0148]: 132 is designed to condense vaporized dielectric fluid that is then returned back to 310/400).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments of 02/03/2026 have been fully considered, but notes that Applicant's arguments are directed to the claims as amended, and are thus moot since the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20240098944: teaches nozzles that are plugged into a housing.
US 20110315350: teaches nozzles that extend through a housing.
US 5924482: teaches nozzles that extend through a housing.
US 5329419: teaches a nozzle that extend through a housing.
See next page→
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
See next page→
/STEPHEN S SUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835