DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 has been considered
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 14-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (WO 2024051713 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen discloses a LiDAR system ([0067]) for a vehicle ([0008]) comprising:
a LiDAR unit mounted inside a cabin of the vehicle ([0008]: “A sensor, installed inside the vehicle”) and spaced away from a windshield of the vehicle ([0065]: “or it can be fixedly installed on the vehicle body 20 by means of a bracket or the like.” This means it is spaced away from the windshield and lens assembly.), the LiDAR unit configured to generate a transmitted beam ([0106]: The optical signal L0 emitted by the sensor 11”) and to receive reflected light resulting from the transmitted beam ([0008]; e.g., [0108]: “Sensor 11: A lidar is selected, whose emitted and received light signal L0 has a wavelength of 905nm;”); and
a lens system mounted to the windshield ([0065]: “The guide 12 has a first surface 124 that conforms to the laminated glass 13,”; [0066]: “The laminated glass 13 can be used as a windshield, a rear windshield, or a side window;”; [0070] discloses that the light guide refracts light, and [0080] discloses that it may be glass or quartz, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner takes this to represent a lens.) and positioned in a path of the transmitted beam and the reflected light ([0068] discloses that the optical signal L0 exits and enters through the light guide.), wherein the lens system is configured to expand a field of view of the transmitted beam ([0086]: The light guide “thereby expanding the actual detection field of view range of the sensor 11 in the second direction D2.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Chen further discloses wherein the LiDAR unit is configured to generate the transmitted beam with a field of view, and wherein the lens system is configured to increase the field of view ([0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view prior to passing through the light guide.)
Regarding Claim 5, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Chen further discloses wherein the transmitted beam and the reflected light both pass through the lens system ([0068] discloses that the optical signal L0 exits and enters through the light guide.).
Regarding Claim 8, which depend from rejected Claim 1, Chen further discloses wherein the lens system includes a lens that has a lens surface facing the windshield, wherein the lens surface has a first contour that matches a second contour of an interior surface of the windshield so that the lens mates with the windshield ([0007]; [0065]: “The guide 12 has a first surface 124 that conforms to the laminated glass 13, and a second surface 123 disposed opposite to the first surface 124.”).
Regarding Claim 10, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Chen further discloses wherein the lens system is configured to multiply a field of view of the transmitted beam in multiple axes, after the transmitted beam has left the LiDAR unit (Figures 13 and 14; [0096]; [0097] discloses increasing the field of view in the direction D2; [0098] discloses increasing the field of view in the direction D3, which is perpendicular to D2.).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses a LiDAR system ([0067]) for a vehicle ([0008]) comprising:
a cabin of the vehicle defined in-part by a windshield of the vehicle, wherein the cabin is inside the vehicle ([0102] discloses that the inner part of the windshield is closer to the interior (cabin) of the vehicle);
a LiDAR unit mounted inside the cabin of the vehicle ([0008]: “A sensor, installed inside the vehicle”) and spaced away from the windshield of the vehicle ([0065]: “or it can be fixedly installed on the vehicle body 20 by means of a bracket or the like.” This means it is spaced away from the windshield and lens assembly.), wherein the LiDAR unit is configured to generate a transmitted beam ([0106]: The optical signal L0 emitted by the sensor 11”) and to receive reflected light resulting from the transmitted beam ([0008]; e.g., [0108]: “Sensor 11: A lidar is selected, whose emitted and received light signal L0 has a wavelength of 905nm;”) to perceive objects external to the cabin ([0064]: “The laminated glass assembly 10 is used to detect objects around the vehicle 1”, the laminated glass assembly includes the LiDAR sensor); and
a lens system mounted to the windshield ([0065]: “The guide 12 has a first surface 124 that conforms to the laminated glass 13,”; [0066]: “The laminated glass 13 can be used as a windshield, a rear windshield, or a side window;”; [0070] discloses that the light guide refracts light, and [0080] discloses that it may be glass or quartz, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner takes this to represent a lens.) and positioned to pass the transmitted beam and the reflected light ([0068] discloses that the optical signal L0 exits and enters through the light guide.), wherein the lens system is configured to expand the transmitted beam by increasing a field of view of the transmitted beam ([0086]: The light guide “thereby expanding the actual detection field of view range of the sensor 11 in the second direction D2.”), after the transmitted beam has left the LiDAR unit ([0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view prior to passing through the light guide.).
Regarding Claim 14, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein the LiDAR unit is configured to generate the transmitted beam with a field of view within the cabin and wherein the lens system is configured to increase the field of view external to the cabin ([0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view prior to passing through the light guide.).
Regarding Claim 15, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein the transmitted beam and the reflected light both pass through the lens system which refracts the transmitted beam ([0068] discloses that the optical signal L0 exits and enters through the light guide.).
Regarding Claim 18, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein the lens system includes a lens with a lens surface facing the windshield, wherein the lens surface has a first contour that matches a second contour of an interior surface of the windshield, wherein the lens mates with, and is fixed to ([0071]: “The first surface 124 of the guide 12 is attached to the laminated glass 13 in the signal transmission area 131.”), the windshield ([0007]; [0065]: “The guide 12 has a first surface 124 that conforms to the laminated glass 13, and a second surface 123 disposed opposite to the first surface 124.”).
Regarding Claim 19, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen further discloses wherein the lens system is configured to multiply a field of view of the transmitted beam, after the transmitted beam has left the LiDAR unit, wherein exterior to the cabin, the field of view of the transmitted beam is larger than inside the cabin (Figures 13 and 14; [0096]; [0097] discloses increasing the field of view in the direction D2; [0098] discloses increasing the field of view in the direction D3, which is perpendicular to D2.).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen discloses A LiDAR system ([0067]) for a vehicle ([0008]), comprising:
a cabin defined by a windshield of the vehicle and a body of the vehicle ([0066] discloses that the window glass portions can be mounted between the A, B, or C pillars, which are part of the body), wherein the cabin is inside the vehicle ([0102] discloses that the inner part of the windshield is closer to the interior (cabin) of the vehicle);
a LiDAR unit mounted inside the cabin of the vehicle ([0008]: “A sensor, installed inside the vehicle”) and spaced away from the windshield of the vehicle ([0065]: “or it can be fixedly installed on the vehicle body 20 by means of a bracket or the like.” This means it is spaced away from the windshield and lens assembly.), the LiDAR unit configured to generate a transmitted beam ([0106]: The optical signal L0 emitted by the sensor 11”) and to receive reflected light resulting from the transmitted beam ([0008]; e.g., [0108]: “Sensor 11: A lidar is selected, whose emitted and received light signal L0 has a wavelength of 905nm;”) to perceive objects external to the cabin ([0064]: “The laminated glass assembly 10 is used to detect objects around the vehicle 1”, the laminated glass assembly includes the LiDAR sensor); and
a lens system mounted to the windshield ([0065]: “The guide 12 has a first surface 124 that conforms to the laminated glass 13,”; [0066]: “The laminated glass 13 can be used as a windshield, a rear windshield, or a side window;”; [0070] discloses that the light guide refracts light, and [0080] discloses that it may be glass or quartz, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the examiner takes this to represent a lens.) and positioned to pass the transmitted beam and the reflected light ([0068] discloses that the optical signal L0 exits and enters through the light guide.), wherein the lens system is configured to expand the transmitted beam by multiplying a field of view of the transmitted beam ([0086]: The light guide “thereby expanding the actual detection field of view range of the sensor 11 in the second direction D2.”), after the transmitted beam has left the LiDAR unit so that the field of view is larger outside the cabin as compared to inside the cabin ([0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view prior to passing through the light guide.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bao (US 2024/0118389 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen suggests but does not explicitly teach (Figures 10 and 14) and Bao does teach wherein the lens system comprises a plano-concave lens mounted to the windshield ([0117]: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 10A-10C, both the inner surface (e.g., 1083A, 1083B, or 1083C) and the outer surface (e.g., 1081A, 1081B, and 1081C) are curved with the inner surface having the greater curvature. In other embodiments, the outer surface may be a flat surface” Bao discloses a lens with a flat outer surface and a curved inner surface making a plano-concave lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bao to use a plano-concave lens into the LiDAR system of Chen. Bao notes in [0117] that a flat outer may be useful “depending on the vehicle contour fitting requirements”, meaning that a plano surface may be useful for mating to a flat windshield. Such contour matching promotes better bonding between the lens system and the windshield, resulting in the need for fewer repairs.
Regarding Claim 12, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen teaches wherein the light guide has an inward curved surface facing the LiDAR unit (Figures 10 and 14, the surface 123 is curved inward toward the sensor system).
Chen suggests but does not explicitly teach (Figures 10 and 14) and Bao does teach wherein the lens system comprises a plano-concave lens mounted to the windshield ([0117]: “In some embodiments, as shown in FIGS. 10A-10C, both the inner surface (e.g., 1083A, 1083B, or 1083C) and the outer surface (e.g., 1081A, 1081B, and 1081C) are curved with the inner surface having the greater curvature. In other embodiments, the outer surface may be a flat surface” Bao discloses a lens with a flat outer surface and a curved inner surface making a plano-concave lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Bao to use a plano-concave lens into the LiDAR system of Chen. Bao notes in [0117] that a flat outer may be useful “depending on the vehicle contour fitting requirements”, meaning that a plano surface may be useful for mating to a flat windshield. Such contour matching promotes better bonding between the lens system and the windshield, resulting in the need for fewer repairs.
Claims 3, 7, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Shani (US 2020/0393545 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Chen teaches wherein the LiDAR is configured to pass light through the lens system.
Chen does not teach and Shani does teach wherein the LiDAR unit comprises lens optics internal to the LiDAR unit ([0075]: “LIDAR system 100 may include at least one optional optical window 124 for directing light projected towards field of view 120 and/or receiving light reflected from objects in field of view 120… In one embodiment, optional optical window 124 may be an opening, a flat window, a lens, or any other type of optical window.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LiDAR system of Chen with the teaching of Shani to incorporate internal lens optics. Such lenses are well-known in the art and Shani provides several examples of their advantageous uses in [0075], such as “collimation of the projected light and focusing of the reflected light.” These effects may serve to more precisely sample the target scene and increase power focused on a detector, respectively, both of which are beneficial to the data quality of LiDAR systems.
Regarding Claim 7, Chen does not teach and Shani does teach wherein the LiDAR unit includes lens optics with a coaxial lens through which both the transmitted beam and the reflected light pass ([0075]: “LIDAR system 100 may include at least one optional optical window 124 for directing light projected towards field of view 120 and/or receiving light reflected from objects in field of view 120.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Shani to use a coaxial lens for the Tx and Rx light into the LiDAR system of Chen. Such an arrangement requires fewer optical components overall, thereby decreasing the size and cost of the LiDAR system. Regarding Claim 13, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen teaches wherein the LiDAR generates a transmitted beam with a field of view within the cabin ([0008]: “A sensor, installed inside the vehicle”; [0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view inside the vehicle prior to passing through the light guide.).
Chen does not teach and Shani does teach wherein the LiDAR unit comprises lens optics internal to the LiDAR unit ([0075]: “LIDAR system 100 may include at least one optional optical window 124 for directing light projected towards field of view 120 and/or receiving light reflected from objects in field of view 120… In one embodiment, optional optical window 124 may be an opening, a flat window, a lens, or any other type of optical window.” Since the device is within the cabin of a vehicle, the generated field of view is by definition within the cabin.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the LiDAR system of Chen with the teaching of Shani to incorporate internal lens optics. Such lenses are well-known in the art and Shani provides several examples of their advantageous uses in [0075], such as “collimation of the projected light and focusing of the reflected light.” These effects may serve to more precisely sample the target scene and increase power focused on a detector, respectively, both of which are beneficial to the data quality of LiDAR systems.
Regarding Claim 17, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen teaches wherein the LiDAR generates a transmitted beam with a field of view within the cabin ([0008]: “A sensor, installed inside the vehicle”; [0096] and [0097] disclose that the field of view outside the vehicle after light has passed through the light guide is greater than the field of view inside the vehicle prior to passing through the light guide.).
Chen does not teach and Shani does teach wherein the LiDAR unit includes lens optics with a coaxial lens through which both the transmitted beam and the reflected light pass ([0075]: “LIDAR system 100 may include at least one optional optical window 124 for directing light projected towards field of view 120 and/or receiving light reflected from objects in field of view 120.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Shani to use a coaxial lens for the Tx and Rx light into the LiDAR system of Chen. Such an arrangement requires fewer optical components overall, thereby decreasing the size and cost of the LiDAR system. Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Hirai (US 2013/0027557 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Chen does not teach and Hirai does teach wherein the windshield includes an infrared shielding material that is modified in a window area of the windshield through which the transmitted beam passes to reduce an effect of the infrared shielding material on the transmitted beam (Figures 8 and 9; [0099]: “the front-end filter 210 can be segmented into one filter area such as an infra-red cut-filter area 211, and another filter area such as an infra-red transmittance-filter area 212.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen with the teaching of Hirai to modify the infrared shielding to reduce the effect on a transmitted beam. In [0093], Hirai notes that with an appropriately chosen cut or band-pass filter, “the image sensor 206 can effectively receive light emitted from the light source 202 using such filters.” This filter can suppress light from other sources such as the sun yielding higher quality data retrievals.
Regarding Claim 16, which depends from rejected Claim 11, Chen does not teach and Hirai does teach wherein the windshield includes an infrared shielding material that is modified in a window area of the windshield through which the transmitted beam passes to reduce an effect of the infrared shielding material on the transmitted beam (Figures 8 and 9; [0099]: “the front-end filter 210 can be segmented into one filter area such as an infra-red cut-filter area 211, and another filter area such as an infra-red transmittance-filter area 212.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen with the teaching of Hirai to modify the infrared shielding to reduce the effect on a transmitted beam. In [0093], Hirai notes that with an appropriately chosen cut or band-pass filter, “the image sensor 206 can effectively receive light emitted from the light source 202 using such filters.” This filter can suppress light from other sources such as the sun yielding higher quality data retrievals.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Bao (WO 2025/213362 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, which depends from rejected Claim 1, Chen does not teach and Bao does teach comprising a light tray enclosing the field of view in the cabin ([0088]: “As shown in Figures 10 and 11, a sunshade 70 is typically installed below the vision camera (binocular vision camera 30 and/or long-range vision camera 50) and the lidar 40, which are usually installed inside the vehicle and located on the windshield.”) without violating vehicle up-vision requirements ([0091]: “The lower boundary of the light shield 70 is significantly moved upward. Without changing the field of view of the lidar 40, the length L and height H of the light shield 70 are reduced at the same time, so as to avoid the light shield 70 from obstructing the driver's line of sight.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light tray which meets vision requirements according to the teaching of Bao into the LiDAR system of Chen. Bao notes in [0088] that large light trays can obstruct the driver’s field of view. This poses a safety hazard, and it is therefore advantageous to minimize this risk by incorporating a light tray which satisfies the driver’s line-of-sight requirements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boguslawski (WO 2020/187994 A1) discloses a windshield having an attached lens for passing light for sensors and cameras.
Kaplan (US 2020/0047689 A1) discloses a laminated windshield with a hole that is filled with an optical device for passing light for a sensor.
Hirano (JP 2004138436 A) discloses a lens for condensing light which is attached to the inner surface of a windshield.
/B.W.C./ Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645