DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection under 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2020/0137646 A1).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 3 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 3 recites “includes on at least one of” but it should be “includes at least one of.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 10-11, 17, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 2020/0137646 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 17, Shi discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (claim 1) and A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (claim 17), comprising (Fig. 6: flight terminal 100):
at least one memory (Fig. 6: memory 102); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 6: processor 101):
receive, from a network node, a configuration associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, wherein the configuration includes one or more parameters for cell selection or cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for aerial devices within a geographic area that has a transmission limitation for a frequency band for the aerial devices within the geographic area (Fig. 5, [0324]: the flight terminal receives, by using air interface information, the plurality of parameter configurations sent by the network device. [0325]: if a connection status of the flight terminal relative to the network device is an idle mode, the air interface message is a broadcast message. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0024]: The second cell selection and reselection parameter includes at least one of … a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication … the cell frequency priority is used to indicate respective cell access priorities corresponding to different cell frequencies when the flight terminal selects or reselects a cell, the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell, and the no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell); and
perform at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection, based on a condition of the UE being an aerial device and based on the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection indicated in the configuration ([0206]: if a base station sends a cell access barring (barring) indication to the flight terminal, although the target cell meets the S criterion, the flight terminal does not select or reselect the target cell for camping on, but reselects a proper cell for camping on. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the condition to apply the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection includes on at least one of:
the UE being in an aerial state or at a position above a height threshold, or the UE having an aerial subscription ([0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
determine that the UE is within the geographic area, wherein to perform at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection, the at least one processor is configured to perform at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection according to the configuration based on the UE being within the geographic area ([0206]: if a base station sends a cell access barring (barring) indication to the flight terminal, although the target cell meets the S criterion, the flight terminal does not select or reselect the target cell for camping on, but reselects a proper cell for camping on. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi discloses further comprising at least one of a transceiver or an antenna coupled to the at least one processor, wherein to receive the configuration, the at least one processor is configured to receive the configuration via at least one of the transceiver or the antenna (Fig. 6: communication module comprises a transmitter and a receiver).
Regarding claim(s) 21, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area include at least one of:
a separate cell selection criterion (S) for the cell selection or the cell reselection that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area,
a separate minimum reception (Rx) level indicated in inter-frequency carrier frequency information that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area,
a separate power class compensation indicated in the inter-frequency carrier frequency information that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area,
a separate priority for the frequency band for the cell selection or the cell reselection that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area,
a separate priority list for the cell selection or the cell reselection that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area,
a separate deprioritization request that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area, or
a separate cell reselection priority that is conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area ([0024]: The second cell selection and reselection parameter includes at least one of … a cell frequency priority … the cell frequency priority is used to indicate respective cell access priorities corresponding to different cell frequencies when the flight terminal selects or reselects a cell. [0295]: The cell frequency priority is added to the air parameter configuration. The cell frequency priority is used to indicate respective cell access priorities corresponding to different cell frequencies when the flight terminal selects or reselects a cell. [0294]: the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are further added to the air parameter configuration, so that in the no-fly zone, the flight terminal should be barred from accessing the network device).
Regarding claim 11, Shi discloses An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node (Fig. 7: network device 200), comprising:
at least one memory (Fig. 7: memory 202); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to (Fig. 7: processor 201):
transmit, for a user equipment (UE), a configuration associated with a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state or an RRC idle state, wherein the configuration includes one or more parameters for cell selection or cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for aerial devices within a geographic area that has a transmission limitation for a frequency band for the aerial devices within the geographic area (Fig. 5, [0324]: the flight terminal receives, by using air interface information, the plurality of parameter configurations sent by the network device. [0325]: if a connection status of the flight terminal relative to the network device is an idle mode, the air interface message is a broadcast message. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0024]: The second cell selection and reselection parameter includes at least one of … a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication … the cell frequency priority is used to indicate respective cell access priorities corresponding to different cell frequencies when the flight terminal selects or reselects a cell, the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell, and the no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell); and
receive an indication of at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection, based on a condition of the UE being an aerial device and based on the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection indicated in the configuration ([0206]: if a base station sends a cell access barring (barring) indication to the flight terminal, although the target cell meets the S criterion, the flight terminal does not select or reselect the target cell for camping on, but reselects a proper cell for camping on. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7-8, 12-13, 15, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0137646 A1) in view of Kazmi et al. (US 2026/0046821 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Shi all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the transmission limitation includes an indication to not transmit in the frequency band when the UE is within the geographic area and when the UE is the aerial device, or wherein the transmission limitation includes a transmission power limit for transmissions in the frequency band when the UE is within the geographic area and when the UE is the aerial device ([0050] a network node (e.g., an eNB or a gNB) configures a UE with a restricted zone, which may also be interchangeably referred to as a radio-restricted zone or a no-transmit zone or area or region or location. [0051]: Within the configured zone, in one example, the network node may not allow UE operation on certain frequency or part of frequency (e.g., on certain portion of the bandwidth) or spectrum band or part of spectrum band. [0092] The network node controls the UE to reduce the UE's transmit power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to further include a no-transmit zone where the UE may not allow operation on certain frequency and a control for UE’s transmit power, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the geographic area, in which the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area, comprises a zone associated with the transmission limitation ([0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0024]: The second cell selection and reselection parameter includes at least one of … a no-fly zone access barring indication … the no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell),
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the zone is indicated in the configuration as one of a three-dimensional (3D) zone, or a two-dimensional (2D) zone and a height range ([0051] a zone comprises a geographical area/volume which can be one or multi-dimensional. The zone may be defined by or is characterized by a set of geographical coordinates such as, for example, distance from reference point, set of 2-dimensional coordinates, set of 3-dimensional coordinates in Euclidean space, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to be indicated in one or multi-dimensional coordinates, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 7 and 19, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 5 and 17 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection indicates that the UE is to deprioritize the frequency band for the at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection when the UE is the aerial device and when the UE is within the geographic area, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to ([0079] Autonomously perform a cell change to another cell (e.g., to Cell2). In one example, the UE operating in Cell1 on band A performs cell change to a cell on another band e.g., to the cell on band B. [0080] This may be implemented by the UE giving a certain (low) priority to the frequency that is associated with the no-fly zone. The UE would, in this way ensure, that the UE would not use the frequency if there are other (higher priority) frequencies available … [0082] In the above examples of cell change procedures, the UE determines carrier frequency and/or the band (e.g., band B) of the target cell based on any of the following principles: [0083] In one example, the UE is pre-configured with the carrier frequency and/or the band of the target cell e.g., pre-configured by the network node by signalling such as RRC message, etc. … [0085] In another example, the UE is pre-configured with a set of carrier frequencies (Sf) and/or a set of bands (Sb) for the target cell):
deprioritize, based on a determination that the UE is within the geographic area, the frequency band for at least one of the cell selection or the cell reselection ([0080] This may be implemented by the UE giving a certain (low) priority to the frequency that is associated with the no-fly zone. The UE would, in this way ensure, that the UE would not use the frequency if there are other (higher priority) frequencies available).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to configure the UE with carrier frequency and/or the band of the target cell so that the UE gives a certain (low) priority to the frequency that is associated with the no-fly zone, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 8 and 20, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 and 17 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
switch to a different power class configuration based on the UE being within the geographic area ([0069] When the UE is in the proximity to the restricted zone such as, for example, when the UE is entering or about to enter the zone or has just entered the restricted zone, the UE can perform at least one of the following actions: [0070] The UE sends an indication to the network node via signalling message. [0086] Based on the indication received from the UE, in various particular embodiments, the network node can perform one or more of the following actions: [0092] The network node controls the UE to reduce the UE's transmit power such as, for example, by means of open loop or closed loop power control. In the open loop power control, the UE autonomously adjusts its transmit power (increase or decrease) based on e.g., path loss or received signal measured with respect to the serving cell. In the closed loop power control, the UE adjusts its transmit power (e.g., increase or decrease) based on a command or message received from the network node).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the flight terminal, as taught by Shi, to adjusts its transmit power based on entering the restricted zone, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Shi discloses or the UE having an aerial subscription ([0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration).
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the transmission limitation includes a first indication to not transmit in the frequency band when the UE is within the geographic area and when the UE is the aerial device, or wherein the transmission limitation includes a transmission power limit for transmissions in the frequency band when the UE is within the geographic area and when the UE is the aerial device ([0050] a network node (e.g., an eNB or a gNB) configures a UE with a restricted zone, which may also be interchangeably referred to as a radio-restricted zone or a no-transmit zone or area or region or location. [0051]: Within the configured zone, in one example, the network node may not allow UE operation on certain frequency or part of frequency (e.g., on certain portion of the bandwidth) or spectrum band or part of spectrum band. [0092] The network node controls the UE to reduce the UE's transmit power).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to further include a no-transmit zone where the UE may not allow operation on certain frequency and a control for UE’s transmit power, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 13, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the geographic area, in which the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices, comprises a zone associated with the transmission limitation ([0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0024]: The second cell selection and reselection parameter includes at least one of … a no-fly zone access barring indication … the no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell),
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the zone is indicated in the configuration as one of a three-dimensional (3D) zone, or a two-dimensional (2D) zone and a height range ([0051] a zone comprises a geographical area/volume which can be one or multi-dimensional. The zone may be defined by or is characterized by a set of geographical coordinates such as, for example, distance from reference point, set of 2-dimensional coordinates, set of 3-dimensional coordinates in Euclidean space, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to be indicated in one or multi-dimensional coordinates, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Kazmi discloses wherein the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection indicates that the UE is to deprioritize the frequency band for at least one the cell selection or the cell reselection when the UE is the aerial device and when the UE is within the geographic area (0079] Autonomously perform a cell change to another cell (e.g., to Cell2). In one example, the UE operating in Cell1 on band A performs cell change to a cell on another band e.g., to the cell on band B. [0080] This may be implemented by the UE giving a certain (low) priority to the frequency that is associated with the no-fly zone. The UE would, in this way ensure, that the UE would not use the frequency if there are other (higher priority) frequencies available … [0082] In the above examples of cell change procedures, the UE determines carrier frequency and/or the band (e.g., band B) of the target cell based on any of the following principles: [0083] In one example, the UE is pre-configured with the carrier frequency and/or the band of the target cell e.g., pre-configured by the network node by signalling such as RRC message, etc. … [0085] In another example, the UE is pre-configured with a set of carrier frequencies (Sf) and/or a set of bands (Sb) for the target cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second cell selection and reselection parameter that includes a cell frequency priority, a second cell access barring indication, a height access barring indication, and a no-fly zone access barring indication, as taught by Shi, to configure the UE with carrier frequency and/or the band of the target cell so that the UE gives a certain (low) priority to the frequency that is associated with the no-fly zone, as taught by Kazmi.
Doing so improves UAV communications in cellular network (Kazmi: [0042]), i.e., it may provide a technical advantage of enabling UAV communication in radio-restricted areas, thereby maintaining safe and reliable UAV operation (Kazmi: [0029]).
Claim(s) 6, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0137646 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0288390 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 18, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 5 and 17 as outlined above.
Shi discloses wherein the configuration of the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area is a first configuration (Fig. 5, [0324]: the flight terminal receives, by using air interface information, the plurality of parameter configurations sent by the network device. [0325]: if a connection status of the flight terminal relative to the network device is an idle mode, the air interface message is a broadcast message. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell):
apply the first configuration and not the second configuration based on a determination that the UE is within the geographic area ([0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell).
Shi does not disclose, but Wang discloses wherein the configuration is a first configuration included in a system information block (SIB) ([0032] the base station 10 may transmit the configuration information by using one or more of the existing System Information Blocks (SIBs). Accordingly, the aerial user terminal 20 may receive the configuration information by receiving the one or more SIBs … the SIB1 may also be used to transmit related information common for aerial user terminals, for example, the above flight restriction information, power restriction information and/or optimized communication parameters), wherein the SIB further includes a second configuration ([0032] the base station 10 may transmit the configuration information by using one or more of the existing System Information Blocks (SIBs). Accordingly, the aerial user terminal 20 may receive the configuration information by receiving the one or more SIBs … the existing SIB3 is used to transmit cell reselection information common for cell reselection of the intra-frequency, inter-frequency, or different Radio Access Technologies (RAT), the existing SIB4 is used to transmit related information on neighbor cells dedicated to intra-frequency cell reselection, and the existing SIB5 is used to transmit related information for inter-frequency cell reselection, that is, frequencies about inter-frequency cell reselection and information on neighbor cells on each frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network device transmitting first parameter configuration (ground parameter configuration) and second parameter configuration (air parameter configuration), as taught by Shi, to transmit the configurations in SIBs, as taught by Wang.
Doing so allows the aerial user terminal 20 to receive the configuration information by receiving the information in existing system information (Wang: [0032]).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Wang discloses wherein the configuration of the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area(Fig. 5, [0324]: the flight terminal receives, by using air interface information, the plurality of parameter configurations sent by the network device. [0325]: if a connection status of the flight terminal relative to the network device is an idle mode, the air interface message is a broadcast message. [0328]: The flight terminal selects a target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status, where the plurality of parameter configurations include at least a first parameter configuration and a second parameter configuration. [0329]: The flight terminal configures the flight terminal by using the target parameter configuration. [0330]: the flight terminal determines the flight status of the flight terminal by using the status parameter, and selects the target parameter configuration from the plurality of parameter configurations based on the flight status. [0331]: When the flight status of the flight terminal is on the ground, the selected target parameter configuration is the first parameter configuration. When the flight status of the flight terminal is in the air, the selected target parameter configuration is the second parameter configuration. [0035]: the first parameter configuration is a ground parameter configuration, and the second parameter configuration is an air parameter configuration. [0023]: The second parameter configuration includes at least one of a second cell selection and reselection parameter. [0293]: In the air parameter configuration, the cell access barring indication is modified, and the no-fly zone access barring indication and the height access barring indication are added. The no-fly zone access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal in a no-fly zone is barred from accessing a cell, and the height access barring indication is used to indicate that a flight terminal that exceeds a height threshold is barred from accessing a cell).
Shi does not disclose, but Wang discloses wherein the configuration is included in a system information block (SIB) ([0032] the base station 10 may transmit the configuration information by using one or more of the existing System Information Blocks (SIBs). Accordingly, the aerial user terminal 20 may receive the configuration information by receiving the one or more SIBs … the SIB1 may also be used to transmit related information common for aerial user terminals, for example, the above flight restriction information, power restriction information and/or optimized communication parameters), wherein the SIB further includes a second configuration ([0032] the base station 10 may transmit the configuration information by using one or more of the existing System Information Blocks (SIBs). Accordingly, the aerial user terminal 20 may receive the configuration information by receiving the one or more SIBs … the existing SIB3 is used to transmit cell reselection information common for cell reselection of the intra-frequency, inter-frequency, or different Radio Access Technologies (RAT), the existing SIB4 is used to transmit related information on neighbor cells dedicated to intra-frequency cell reselection, and the existing SIB5 is used to transmit related information for inter-frequency cell reselection, that is, frequencies about inter-frequency cell reselection and information on neighbor cells on each frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network device transmitting first parameter configuration (ground parameter configuration) and second parameter configuration (air parameter configuration), as taught by Shi, to transmit the configurations in SIBs, as taught by Wang.
Doing so allows the aerial user terminal 20 to receive the configuration information by receiving the information in existing system information (Wang: [0032]).
Claim(s) 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0137646 A1) in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (US 2021/0051595 A1) and Xu et al. (US 2022/0353631 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 9, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Rico Alvarino discloses wherein the configuration of the one or more parameters for the cell selection or the cell reselection that are conditionally applicable for the aerial devices within the geographic area is included in an RRC release message (Fig. 6, [0114]: at 625, the base station 105-f may optionally transmit DCI or RRC signaling separately from the connection establishment procedure that indicates whether the additional emission mask is to be applied and whether the first value of the emission limit or the second value of the emission limit is to be applied by the UE 115-k based on the UE type/status)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network node, as taught by Shi, to transmit emission masks via RRC signaling, as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Doing so allows the base station to separately transmit the additional emission mask from the connection establishment (Rico Alvarino: [0114]).
Shi in view of Rico Alvarino does not disclose, but Xu discloses wherein the configuration further indicates a deprioritization request or a cell reselection priority ([0095]: after obtaining the geo-fencing area information, the terminal device performs a cell selection or a cell reselection based on the geo-fencing area information. For example, the terminal device lowers a priority of a cell in the service-prohibited area during the cell selection or the cell reselection. [0097], [0115]: The UAV can consider the geo-fencing area information in the subsequent cell selection or cell reselection, such as lowering the priority of the cell in the no-fly zone during the cell selection or the cell reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the flight terminal, as taught by Shi, to perform cell (re)selection based on receiving the geo-fencing area information by lowering the priority of the cell in the no-fly zone during the cell selection or the cell reselection, as taught by Xu.
Doing so avoids a selection of the cell in the no-fly zone (Xu: [0097], [0115]).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Shi discloses all features of claim(s) 11 as outlined above.
Shi does not disclose, but Rico Alvarino discloses wherein the configuration is included in an RRC message (Fig. 6, [0114]: at 625, the base station 105-f may optionally transmit DCI or RRC signaling separately from the connection establishment procedure that indicates whether the additional emission mask is to be applied and whether the first value of the emission limit or the second value of the emission limit is to be applied by the UE 115-k based on the UE type/status)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the network node, as taught by Shi, to transmit emission masks via RRC signaling, as taught by Rico Alvarino.
Doing so allows the base station to separately transmit the additional emission mask from the connection establishment (Rico Alvarino: [0114]).
Shi in view of Rico Alvarino does not disclose, but Xu discloses wherein the configuration further indicates a deprioritization request or a cell reselection priority ([0095]: after obtaining the geo-fencing area information, the terminal device performs a cell selection or a cell reselection based on the geo-fencing area information. For example, the terminal device lowers a priority of a cell in the service-prohibited area during the cell selection or the cell reselection. [0097], [0115]: The UAV can consider the geo-fencing area information in the subsequent cell selection or cell reselection, such as lowering the priority of the cell in the no-fly zone during the cell selection or the cell reselection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the flight terminal, as taught by Shi, to perform cell (re)selection based on receiving the geo-fencing area information by lowering the priority of the cell in the no-fly zone during the cell selection or the cell reselection, as taught by Xu.
Doing so avoids a selection of the cell in the no-fly zone (Xu: [0097], [0115]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov