DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted has requiring (in line 4) a component that can remove both grease and stains, and (in line 7) one or more dispersants OR (not and) emulsifiers (see indefiniteness rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21 and 37-39 are indefinite because they recite “one or more dispersants and emulsifiers.” It is unclear if this means both dispersants and emulsifiers are required or if just one or more of these as a group is required. This may be changed to “one or more dispersants or emulsifiers” to overcome this rejection.
Claim 25 is indefinite because it is unclear whether every one of the removers is required, or if one or more is required. To overcome this rejection, “one or more selected from the group of” can be inserted before “an alkalinity agent.”
Claims 22-24, 26-36 and 40-42 are rejected for depending from an indefinite parent claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-29 and 32-42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/424,611 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of the instant claims are encompassed in the copending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 24, 25, 28, 29, 33, 36, 39 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silvernail et al. (US 8,216,989).
Silvernail et al. ‘989 teach a cleaning composition including sodium bicarbonate (grease/stain remover), sodium metasilicate (grease/stain remover), potassium hydroxide (caustic cleaner), nonionic surfactants (Dehypon LS-36 and Pluronic 25R2), water, and sodium citrate dehydrate (see Table 5, abstract). The sodium citrate satisfies the dispersant and chelating agent limitations of the claims. Also disclosed that sorbitan esters and nonylphenol ethoxylate surfactants can be used as the nonionic surfactants (col. 3, lines 33-62). One skilled in the art will understand that the cleaning solution can be used to clean filter oil from a surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 23, 26, 27, 34, 35, 37, 38, 40 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail et al. ‘989.
Silvernail et al. ‘989 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that preferred volume percentages of components are used. Absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the amount of each component present in the composition is considered to be a parameter that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide a cleaner that has adequate cleaning and durability properties.
Claim(s) 30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail et al. ‘989 in view of Menard et al. (US 2010/0256033 A1).
Silvernail et al. ‘989 disclose all of the limitations of the claim except that polyoxyethylene (10) oleyl ether (Brij O10) surfactant is used at a preferred concentration. Menard et al. ‘033 discloses the use of non-ionic surfactants such as polyoyethylene-10 oleyl ether (Brij O10) in a cleaning solution (see abstract, paragraph 19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to select a surfactant that is known to be effective in a cleaning composition. Absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the amount of each component present in the composition is considered to be a parameter that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide a cleaner that has adequate cleaning and durability properties.
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvernail et al. ‘989 in view of CN 1430667 A.
Silvernail et al. ‘989 disclose all of the limitations of the claim except that the surfactant includes a mixture of a first surfactant having a high HLB and a second surfactant having a low HLB. CN ‘667 discloses a cleaning composition having a mixture of low HLB and high HLB surfactants (see page 4 of the machine-generated English translation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the surfactant of the primary references by using a mixture of low HLB and high HLB surfactants in order to provide a cleaner that has a broader spectrum of properties and effectiveness for both oil and water environments.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl