DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The drawings do not contain any reference numerals. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no reference numeral for each part of the invention. Per 37 CFR 1.74 “When there are drawings, there shall be a brief description of the several views of the drawings and the detailed description of the invention shall refer to the different views by specifying the numbers of the figures and to the different parts by use of reference letters or numerals (preferably the latter).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the plurality of batteries" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, only requires a single multi-voltage battery.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the glow plug driver" in 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 1 and 5, from which claim 7 depends, do not have a limitation requiring a glow plug driver.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US 10,266,130).
In regard to Claim 1:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, a wiring harness for a combustion engine-controlled scale model vehicle, comprising:
a multi-voltage battery (63, 64), various gauge wire harness and wiring system for control and power supply delivery, in a single harness (20, 30, 40; Column 5: lines 26-30 and Column 6: lines 43-48), configured in a manner to seamlessly control and relay electrical power to a plurality of the vehicle’s components, thereby servicing across the entirety of the vehicle (Column 5: lines 14-31).
In regard to Claim 2:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the plurality of batteries (63, 64) in the harness comprise combinations of voltages (12V, 48V) based on the component that the battery power is controlling (Column 8: lines 3-8).
In regard to Claim 3:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 2, wherein said battery voltage is 6 volts, 4.8 volts, 12 volts (63 is 12V), or a combination thereof.
In regard to Claim 5:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein said harness comprises a charger lead, Y harness standard reverser, a splitter connector (21, 22, 23; Column 10: lines 59-63), or a combination thereof.
In regard to Claim 8:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein said harness powers light system, servos, radio, glow plug driver, A/C fan, brakes, parking lights, front headlights, starter motor (62), or a combination thereof (Column 11: lines 20-35).
In regard to Claim 9:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the harness connects internal and external devices comprising servos, receiver, lights and starter motor to allow dash controls (10, Column 6: lines 43-48 and Column 8: lines 27-46) to manually activate parking lights, front headlights, A/C fan, starter motor (62) or a combination thereof (Column 11: lines 20-35).
In regard to Claim 10:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the harness connects chassis and body to initiate activation of the vehicle’s lights on either the chassis or the body (Column 6: lines 51-67).
In regard to Claim 11:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein said harness comprises a 35amp fuse to power the interior cabin A/C fan and switch, starter motor and keyed switch, (Column 11: lines 48-60) and a 12V automotive relay switch (Column 17: lines 46-59) and charging lead for 12V lead battery (63).
In regard to Claim 13:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the vehicle has gas engine (Engine block) or nitromethane engine.
In regard to Claim 14:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein said vehicle’s components are serviceable based on power supply voltage and current rating requirements and wherein said harness is configurable based on selection of components by a user (Column 2: lines 4-14).
In regard to Claim 15:
Saito discloses, in Figure 3, the wiring harness of claim 14 wherein said harness is configurable and reconfigurable based on said component selections and power delivery requirements (Column 1: lines 22-31 and Column 5: lines 26-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 10,266,130), in view of Gupta et al. (US 2021/0402937).
In regard to Claim 4:
All of the claim limitations have been discussed with respect to Claims 1-3 above, except for wherein various wire gauges are utilized, interchangeably, based on battery voltage, power supply distance and serviced component, or a combination thereof, commensurate with battery voltage, power supply distance and serviced component.
Gupta discloses wherein various wire gauges are utilized, interchangeably, based on battery voltage, power supply distance and serviced component, or a combination thereof, commensurate with battery voltage, power supply distance and serviced component (Paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to use the various wire gauges taught by Gupta with the wiring harness taught by Saito, in order to utilize the proper wire size for the vehicle at issue and whether a particular wire is utilized for electrical power conduction or signal transmission purposes (Gupta Paragraph 0019).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maynard et al. (US 6,674,182) discloses a wiring harness for use with an emergency vehicle. The wiring harness can be an independent wiring harness added after the vehicle has been manufactured or it can be included in the original equipment manufacturer's wiring harness. The wiring harness permits the addition of emergency vehicle equipment, such as two-way radios, computers, radar guns, etc., without splicing into the original equipment manufacturer's wiring.
Osada et al. (US 2018/0326926) discloses a wire harness includes a power trunk line, a power branch line, a communication trunk line, and a communication branch line. The power trunk line is connected to a power source mounted on a vehicle and extend in a longitudinal direction of the vehicle. The power branch line branches off from the power trunk lines and extends in a direction intersecting with the longitudinal direction. The communication trunk line is arranged along the power trunk lines or also serves as the power trunk lines. The communication branch line branches off from the communication trunk line and extends in a direction intersecting with the longitudinal direction.
Ogue et al. (US 2011/0088944) discloses a wire harness which can improve the workability, stability, durability and safety. The wire harness 21 includes a plurality of high-voltage electric wires 22 connecting an inverter 4 and the battery 5, a protection member 23 protecting the plurality of high-voltage electric wires 22, and a fixation member 24 for a fixation with respect to a vehicle. The wire harness 21 is arranged to extend from a front portion inside vehicle 6 through a vehicle under-floor 10 to a rear portion inside vehicle 7. The protection member 23 includes an in-vehicle protection member 26, 27 and an under-floor protection member 28. The under-floor protection member 28 is a flat-shaped tube having a non-circular cross-sectional shape, is made of insulating synthetic resin and is formed into a concertina-shape having independent, circumferential projection portion and recess portion arranged alternatively in a continuous manner.
Martin (US 2021/0122313) discloses a power distribution harness system provided as a unit for distribution of power from a primary power source.
Davis (US 10,710,519) discloses a vehicle wiring harness assembly for installing an aftermarket electronic device into a vehicle electrical system includes a relay plug that is insertable into a starter relay socket in a vehicle electrical system fuse box. The relay plug takes the place of the starter relay in the vehicle electrical system fuse box. A fuse plug is insertable into a fuse slot in the vehicle electrical system fuse box. Thus, the fuse plug is in electrical communication with the battery of the vehicle electrical system. A wiring harness is electrically coupled to each of the relay plug and the fuse plug. In this way the wiring harness can supply voltage and ground to an aftermarket electronic device without modifying existing wiring in the vehicle electrical system.
/JOHN W POOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896