DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lixil Corp (JP 5881236).
As to claim 1, Lixil discloses a system comprising a substrate surface; an antimicrobial system disposed on the surface comprising an antimicrobial compound having a cationic group on one end of a hydrocarbon chain and a silane group on a second end, opposite the first end; and a device at least in communication with the surface to measure the resistance of the antimicrobial system (see 0030-34). Lixil discloses the use of octadecyldimethyl (3-trimethoxysilylpropyl) ammonium chloride (See 0028). Lixil states the methoxysilyl group reacts with the methachloroxy group of the adhesion promoter to ensure adhesion of the material to the resin surface (see 0007, 0015 of the translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lixil Corp (JP 5881236) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Ohlhausen et al. (US 6994890).
The teachings of Lixil Corp as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Lixil Corp fails to teach the substrate is part of an aircraft as required by claim 3.
Ohlhausen et al. discloses the use of cationic quaternary ammonium organosilane based antimicrobial treatments for surfaces (see abstract, col. 2, lines 45-53). Ohlhasuen et al. states the treatment can be applied to a various substrates such as those made metals, glass, plastics, rubbers, resins, etc. that are everyday surfaces such as those found in aircrafts (see abstract, col. 6, line 37-61) and those used for cooking, eating, drinking, bathing, and showering.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the aircraft substrate in the system of Lixil Corp. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to the application of an antimicrobial agent to surfaces where Ohlhausen et la. further shows an aircraft as a substrate (sink) that can be used with such agents, and it would be beneficial to measure the resistance of such coatings to make sure the aircraft has the desired resistance to bacteria and viruses to maintain a healthy environment.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lixil Corp (JP 5881236) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Man et al. (CA3031505).
The teachings of Lixil Corp as applied to claim 1 are as stated above.
Lixil Corp fails to teach the antimicrobial system comprises an anionic surfactant by claim 3.
Man et al. discloses activated and inactivated compositions that comprise of ammonium compounds with anionic surfactants (see abstract). Man et al. states activated antimicrobial compositions comprising a quaternary ammonium compound and an anionic surfactant to enhance the surface activity of the substrate (see pages 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lixil Corp to include an anionic surfactant in the antimicrobial system as taught by Man et al. in order to enhance the antimicrobial activity on the surface of the substrate.
Conclusion
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712