DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 were filed with the amendment dated 01/07/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant’s arguments are found to be persuasive.
The restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control unit (claim 8) (see also para [0073] of the specification) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a storage device” in claim 12.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112a
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 6, the phrase “the low-pressure connection and the high-pressure connection are connected to one another only via the third valve” renders the claim noncompliant with the written description requirement. The drawings clearly show that the low pressure connection (41) is connected to the high pressure connection (42) are connected via the third valve (33), but ALSO by the first and second pressure reducers (valves 51, 52) (see Figs 2a – 5d). Therefore, the claim is not compliant with the written description requirement. The examiner suggests deleting claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 5, the phrase “a low-pressure connection” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites a low-pressure connection at line 5. Therefore, it is not clear if claim 5 is referring to a different low-pressure connection or the same one. For purposes of examination, the low-pressure connections are considered to be the same.
With regard to claim 5, the phrase “a high-pressure connection” renders the claim indefinite. Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites a high-pressure connection at line 5. Therefore, it is not clear if claim 5 is referring to a different high-pressure connection or the same one. For purposes of examination, the high-pressure connections are considered to be the same.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first and second pressure reducing valves" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 10 depends from claim 8, which depends from claim 7, which depends from claim 1. The first and second pressure reducing valves are introduced in claim 2. Therefore, it is not clear if claim 10 should be amended to depend from claim 2 or if claim 10 should be amended to delete “and/or the first and second pressure reducing valves” or if claim 10 should be amended to change “the first” to delete “the.” For purposes of examination, claim 10 will be construed as if it changes “the first” to just “first.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112d
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 merely restates the requirements of claim 1. No additional limitations are added into claim 5.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107620859 (hereinafter “Han”).
With regard to claim 1, Han discloses a storage device for storing a gas and supplying a consumer with different gas pressure levels (Fig 1), comprising at least one low-pressure storage tank (A1) and at least one high-pressure storage tank (D1), wherein - the low-pressure storage tank (A1) is connected to a low-pressure connection (G-01) via a switchable first valve (V2-05) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) is connected to a high-pressure connection (G-04) via a switchable second valve (V2-08), wherein a higher gas pressure level can be made available to a connected consumer via the high-pressure connection (G-04) than via the low-pressure connection (G-02) (see Translation at page 6, line 3: “G-01 – G-4 represent the low, middle, middle, and high pressure gas pipes”), - the low-pressure connection (G-01) and the high-pressure connection (G-04) are connected to each other via a switchable third valve (V2-09; see Fig 1 showing V2-09 between G-01 and G-04), - the low-pressure storage tank (A1) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) are connected to each other via a fourth valve (valve V2-11 is between A1 and D1, see Fig 1), and - the valves (V2-05, V2-09, V2-11, V2-08) are switchable in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) can be emptied to a lower minimum pressure level (6 MPa) than the high-pressure storage tank (20Mpa) (see page 7, para B. – A1 is less than or equal to 6MPa, D1 less than or equal to 20MPa).
With regard to claim 5, Han discloses that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) is connected to a low-pressure connection (G-01) via the switchable first valve (V2-05) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) is connected to a high-pressure connection (G-04) via the switchable second valve (V2-08), wherein a higher gas pressure level can be made available to a connected consumer via the high-pressure connection (G-04) than via the low-pressure connection (G-01) (see Translation at page 6, line 3: “G-01 – G-4 represent the low, middle, middle, and high pressure gas pipes”), wherein the low-pressure storage tank (A1) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) are connected to one another via the third valve (V2-09 is between A1 and D1, see Fig 1) and wherein the valves (V2-09, V2-05, V2-08) are switchable in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) can be emptied to a lower minimum pressure level (6MPa) than the high-pressure storage tank (D1 – 20 MPa) (see page 7, para B. – A1 is less than or equal to 6MPa, D1 less than or equal to 20MPa).
With regard to claim 11, Han discloses Working equipment, (Fig 1) comprising a storage device according to claim 1 (see above with respect to claim 1), and a consumer (vehicle), which comprises a low-pressure inlet connected to the low-pressure connection of the storage device and a high-pressure inlet connected to the high-pressure connection of the storage device, via which the consumer can be supplied with different gas pressure levels (vehicle connects to all connections, so would have a low-pressure inlet and a high-pressure inlet: “B. For the first time, supply the first independent gas cylinders A1, B1, C1, and D1 directly connected to each gas exchange pipe to the gas receiving car in a sequence of low pressure to high pressure” page 7, para “b”).
With regard to claim 20 (which depends from claim 11), Han discloses that the working equipment is a gas-operated vehicle (vehicle – page 1, lines 12-15; and page 7, para b.).
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 217540363 (hereinafter “Dong”).
With regard to claim 1, Dong discloses a storage device for storing a gas and supplying a consumer (vehicle) with different gas pressure levels (see Figs 1-2, comprising at least one low-pressure storage tank (3/32) and at least one high-pressure storage tank (5/52), wherein - the low-pressure storage tank (3/32) is connected to a low-pressure connection (35 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs) via a switchable first valve (valve adjacent 35 MPA 21, see annotated Figs) and the high-pressure storage tank (5/52) is connected to a high-pressure connection (70 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs) via a switchable second valve (valve adjacent 70 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs), wherein a higher gas pressure level can be made available to a connected consumer (vehicle) via the high-pressure connection than via the low-pressure connection (because high-pressure connection delivers at 70 MPa versus 35 MPa, see Figs 1-2), - the low-pressure connection (35MPa at 21) and the high-pressure connection (70 MPa at 21) are connected to each other via a switchable third valve (see “3rd valve” in annotated Figs), - the low-pressure storage tank (3/32) and the high-pressure storage tank (5/52) are connected to each other via a fourth valve (see annotated Figs), and - the valves (see annotated Figs) are switchable in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank can be emptied to a lower minimum pressure level than the high-pressure storage tank (as so broadly written, the claims are met because the low pressure storage tank (3/32) can be (capable of being emptied) emptied to a lower pressure level than the high pressure tank (5/52)).
With regard to claim 4, Dong discloses that the low-pressure (3/32) and high-pressure (5/52) storage tanks are connected to a common gas inlet (1) and can be jointly filled with gas via the latter (see Fig 1 and page 5, lines 1-10).
With regard to claim 5, Dong discloses that the low-pressure storage tank (3/32) is connected to a low-pressure connection (35 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs) via the switchable first valve (see annotated Figs) and the high-pressure storage tank (5/52) is connected to a high-pressure connection (70 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs) via the switchable second valve (see annotated Figs), wherein a higher gas pressure level can be made available to a connected consumer (vehicle) via the high-pressure connection than via the low-pressure connection (via the 70 MPa at 21 versus the 35 MPa at 21, see annotated Figs), wherein the low-pressure storage tank (3/32) and the high-pressure storage tank (5/52) are connected to one another via the third valve (see annotated Figs) and wherein the valves are switchable in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank can be emptied to a lower minimum pressure level than the high-pressure storage tank (as so broadly written, the claims are met because the low pressure storage tank (3/32) can be (capable of being emptied) emptied to a lower pressure level than the high pressure tank (5/52)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107620859 (hereinafter “Han”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,409,046 (“Swenson”).
With regard to claim 2, Han discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a first pressure reducing valve connected to the low-pressure connection and a second pressure reducing valve connected to the high-pressure connection, wherein the first pressure reducing valve provides a defined first gas pressure level at the low-pressure connection, which is lower than a second gas pressure level provided via the second pressure reducing valve at the high-pressure connection.
Han does disclose that the pressure at the low-pressure connection is lower than the high-pressure connection (see Translation at page 6, line 3: “G-01 – G-4 represent the low, middle, middle, and high pressure gas pipes”).
Swenson discloses a storage device for storing and supplying a consumer with gas (see abstract), similar to that of Han, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify the storage device by including pressure reducing valves at the storage tanks that connect to a connection (outlet) for the purpose of maintaining each storage tank at a desired pressure setting (“Suitable pressure reducing valves (not shown) can be connected from each pressure storage tank 106, 105 etc. to the next lowest pressure storage tank in the cascade to maintain pressure at their desired settings” - Swenson at col. 6, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add pressure reducing valves at each storage tank (A1, D1) of Han, such as taught by Swenson, which would have the pressure reducing valves that connect (via fluid connection along pipes) to the low pressure connection and high-pressure connection for the purpose of maintaining each storage tank at a desired pressure setting (Swenson at col. 6, lines 41-44).
Claims 7-10, 12, 13, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107620859 (hereinafter “Han”) in view of 2018/0023764 (hereinafter “Okuno”).
With regard to claim 7, Han discloses a first pressure sensor (PT1) is arranged in a low-pressure region (see Fig 1), which first pressure sensor (PT1) detects the pressure level in the low-pressure region near the low pressure storage tank (A1) (see Fig 1), and a second pressure sensor (PT4) is arranged in a high-pressure region near the high-pressure storage tank (D1), which second pressure sensor (PT4) detects the pressure level in the high-pressure region (See Fig 1) (page 6, lines 30-31).
Han discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the first pressure sensor is between the low-pressure storage tank and the first valve, and that the second pressure sensor (PT4) is between the high-pressure storage tank (D1) and the second valve
Okuno teaches that it is known in the art to modify a gas filling system, similar to that of Han, to include a first pressure sensor (41) between a low pressure storage tank (231) and a first valve (V11), and a second pressure sensor (42) between a high pressure storage tank (232) and a second valve (V21) (see paras [0033] and [0035] and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the pressure sensors of Han at any suitable location, such as between the storage tank and related valve, such as taught by Okuno, for the purpose of providing a more accurate representation of the pressure downstream of the storage tank, such as shown by Okuno (at Fig 1 and paras [0033] and [0035]).
With regard to claim 8, Han, as modified by Okuno above for claim 7, discloses a control unit (“valve control module” page 6, lines 38-50) which is connected to the first, second and third valves (V2-05, V2-08, V2-09) and is configured to switch them independently of one another (page 4, lines 4-8).
With regard to claim 9, Han, as modified above by Okuno for claim 8, discloses that the control unit (“valve control module” page 6, lines 38-45) is connected to the first and second pressure sensors (PT1, PT4) and is configured to switch the first, second and third valves (V2-05, V2-08, V2-09) automatically as a function of the pressures detected via the pressure sensors (PT1, Pt4) in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) is emptied to a first minimum pressure level (6MPa) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) is emptied to a second minimum pressure level (20MPa) (see page 7, para B. – A1 is less than or equal to 6MPa, D1 less than or equal to 20MPa), wherein the second minimum pressure level (20MPa) is above the first minimum pressure level (6 MPA), while simultaneously supplying pressure to the low- and high-pressure connections (G-01, G-04) (see page 6, lines 38-50, page 4, lines 4-8; and page 7, para B).
With regard to claim 10, as far as it is definite and understood, Han, as modified by Okuno above for claim 8, discloses that the first and second valves
With regard to claim 12, Han discloses a method (see pages 6-7, method inherent in apparatus provided) for supplying a consumer (vehicle), with different gas pressure levels by means of a storage device according to claim 1 (see above for claim 1), wherein a first pressure (PT1) is measured in a low-pressure region and a second pressure (PT2) is measured in a high-pressure region (see Fig 1), and the valves (V2-05, V2-08, V2-09, V2-11) are switched as a function of the measured pressures in such a way that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) can be emptied to a first minimum pressure level (6MPa) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) can be emptied to a second minimum pressure level (20 MPa), wherein the second minimum pressure level is higher than the first minimum pressure level (see page 6, lines 38-50, page 4, lines 4-8; and page 7, para B).
Han discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the first pressure sensor is between the low-pressure storage tank and the first valve, and that the second pressure sensor (PT4) is between the high-pressure storage tank (D1) and the second valve
Okuno teaches that it is known in the art to modify a gas filling system, similar to that of Han, to include a first pressure sensor (41) between a low pressure storage tank (231) and a first valve (V11), and a second pressure sensor (42) between a high pressure storage tank (232) and a second valve (V21) (see paras [0033] and [0035] and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the pressure sensors of Han at any suitable location, such as between the storage tank and related valve, such as taught by Okuno, for the purpose of providing a more accurate representation of the pressure downstream of the storage tank, such as shown by Okuno (at Fig 1 and paras [0033] and [0035]).
With regard to claim 13, Han, as modified by Okuno above for claim 12, discloses that the first and second valves (V2-05 and V2-08) are opened and the third and fourth valves (V2-09 and V2-11) are closed when the first measured pressure (Pt1) is greater than the first minimum pressure level (above 6 MPa), so that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) can be emptied to the first minimum pressure level (6 Mpa) (in order for A1 to empty to 6 Mpa or lower, then V2-09 and V2-11 can be closed, see Fig 1 and page 7, para b) and wherein the second and third valves (V2-08 and V2-09) are open and the first and fourth valves (V2-05 and V2-11) are closed when the first measured pressure (Pt1) is less than or equal to the first minimum pressure level (less than or equal to 6 MPa, page 7, para b), so that the high-pressure storage tank (D1) can be emptied to the second minimum pressure level (20 Mpa; page 7, para b; for D1 to empty, the first and fourth valves can be closed so that D1 empties out to G-04, see also Fig 1).
With regard to claim 16, Han, as modified by Okuno above for claim 12, discloses that the first and second valves (V2-05 and V2-08) are open and the third valve (V2-09) is closed so that the low-pressure storage tank (A1) can be emptied to the first minimum pressure level (6 MPa) and the high-pressure storage tank (D1) can be emptied to the second minimum pressure level (20 MPa) (page 7, para b and Fig 1).
With regard to claim 17, Han, as modified by Okuno above for claim 12, discloses that the supply to the consumer (vehicle) is stopped (“supply the cylinders A1..D1 to the gas receiving car until (i.e., stop) pressure of A1 is reaches less than or equal to 6MPa or D1 is less than or equal to 20 MPa, page 7, para b) once the first measured pressure (PT1) reaches or falls below the first minimum pressure level (6MPa) or the second measured pressure (Pt4) reaches or falls below the second minimum pressure level (20 MPa) in the case of low-pressure and high-pressure connections (G1 and G4) which are separated from one another in a gas-tight manner (when valve V2-11 or V2-09 is closed), or once the second measured pressure reaches or falls below the second minimum pressure level in the case of low-pressure and high-pressure connections which are connected to one another in a gas-conducting manner.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107620859 (hereinafter “Han”) in view of 2018/0023764 (hereinafter “Okuno”) as set forth above for claim 9, and further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2010/0193045 (hereinafter “Xu”).
With regard to claim 19, Han (as modified by Okuno above for claim 9) discloses the first (V2-05), second (V2-08), and third (V2-09) valves.
Han (as modified by Okuno) discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing that the valves are solenoid valves.
Xu teaches that it is known in the art to modify a storage device for supplying a consumer with a gas, similar to that of Han, to include valves that are solenoid valves (see para [0016]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize solenoid valves, as taught by Xu, in place of the valves of Han, since the valves are known equivalents and the use of which would be known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 217540363 (hereinafter “Dong”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,409,046 (“Swenson”).
With regard to claim 2, Dong discloses all the claimed features with the exception of disclosing a first pressure reducing valve connected to the low-pressure connection and a second pressure reducing valve connected to the high-pressure connection, wherein the first pressure reducing valve provides a defined first gas pressure level at the low-pressure connection, which is lower than a second gas pressure level provided via the second pressure reducing valve at the high-pressure connection.
Dong does disclose that the pressure at the low-pressure connection is lower than the high-pressure connection (35 MPa at 21 for low-pressure connection; 70 MPa at 21 for high-pressure connection, see annotated Figs).
Swenson discloses a storage device for storing and supplying a consumer with gas (see abstract), similar to that of Dong, and teaches that it is known in the art to modify the storage device by including pressure reducing valves at the storage tanks that connect to a connection (outlet) for the purpose of maintaining each storage tank at a desired pressure setting (“Suitable pressure reducing valves (not shown) can be connected from each pressure storage tank 106, 105 etc. to the next lowest pressure storage tank in the cascade to maintain pressure at their desired settings” - Swenson at col. 6, lines 41-44).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add pressure reducing valves at each storage tank (3/32 and 5/52) of Dong, such as taught by Swenson, which would have the pressure reducing valves that connect (via fluid connection along pipes) to the low pressure connection and high-pressure connection for the purpose of maintaining each storage tank at a desired pressure setting (Swenson at col. 6, lines 41-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 14, 15, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2023/0204159 discloses a storage device for storing a gas and supplying a consumer.
/JESSICA CAHILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753