DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0041] reference to “federated training 106.” However, Fig.1 identifies reference numeral 106 as “Detect Communities.”
Paragraph [0053], refers to “CD technique 108.” However, Fig.1 identifies reference numeral 108 as “Find Leader Nodes”.
Correct these informalities consistently throughout the specification and drawings. No amendment may introduce new matters.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms “enhance agricultural process”, “effective operation”, and “reducing network usage” in claim 13 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “enhance agricultural process”, “effective operation”, and “reducing network usage” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Therefore, claim 13 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter regarded as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3, 5-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claims 1 and 16
Step 1:
Claim 1 recites a system comprising a memory and a processor and therefore falls within the machine category. Claim 16 recites a method and falls within the process category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[U]sing a community detection (CD) algorithm to partition a network of nodes into a plurality of communities (the limitation could encompass mental processes (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). It can be performed mentally or using a pen and paper. Further, partitioning a graph using CD algorithm is a mathematical calculation (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2))).
[U]sing graph-based measurements of the network to elect a leader node for each community (the limitation could encompass mentally evaluating a graph measurement (e.g., counting each node’s connections) and selecting a leader node based on that evaluation. The graph-based measurements are also mathematical calculations. Therefore, the claims recite mental processes and mathematical concepts.)
Step 2A Prong 2:
A system comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions (a memory and a processor are generic computer components with the purpose of storing and executing instructions. This limitation amounts to a mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f))).
[P]erforming federated learning within and between the communities through the elected leader nodes (this limitation recites federated learning at a high level of generality. It does not recite what model is trained or how the learning is carried out. These are mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer programmed with generic computer algorithm (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application).
Step 2B:
Claims 1 and Claim 16 do not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis at this step mirrors that of Step 2A Prong 2. The claim is direct to the mental and mathematical process of grouping network nodes and selecting a representative node for each group, applied to generic federated learning.
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected because they are directed as an abstract idea. The claims group a network of nodes into communities and select a leader node for each community based on graph-based measurements. These are mental processes (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). The claim then performs federated learning, recited generically, using the selected leaders. The use of a computer on an abstract idea does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Regarding Claims 3 and 18,
Step 1:
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, which is a system claim (machine) and Claim 18 depends from Claim 16, which is a method claim (process). Both are within the statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
The claims recite the same judicial exceptions as in claims 1 and 16, respectively.
Step 2A Prong 2:
[T]he federated learning between the communities is performed exclusively through the leader nodes (the additional claim recites no communication technique, protocol or hardware that is implemented (MPEP 2106.05(f)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application).
[T]hereby reducing overall communication over the nodes of the network (this limitation states a benefit without reciting how it is achieved or measured and is not tied to a technical implementation). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.05(a)).
Step 2B:
The claims do not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis at this step mirrors that of Step 2A Prong 2.
Claims 3 and 18 inherit the abstract idea of their respective parent claims and recite no additional elements that integrate into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Accordantly, claim 3 and 18 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 5,
Step 1:
Claim 5 depends from claim 1 and is a system claim (machine) and it is within the statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[T]he leader node is elected using a centrality measure to determine a representative node within each community (This limitation further specifies the mathematical calculation used to select the leader node. For small network, the selection could also be performed mentally (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claim recites the same judicial exception as in claim 1).
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding Claim 6,
Step 1:
Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and it is a system claim (machine), which is within the statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[T]he representative node is a most representative node within the community (this limitation further specifies the mathematical calculation used to select the leader node. For small network, the selection could also be performed mentally (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claim recites the same judicial exception as in claim 1).
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding Claim 7,
Step 1:
Claim 7 depends from claim 5 and it is a system claim (machine), which is within the statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
wherein the centrality measure is betweenness centrality (this limitation further specifies the mathematical calculation used to select the leader node. For small network, the selection could also be performed mentally. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). The claim recites the same judicial exception as in claim 1).
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim 1 applies.
Regarding Claim 9
Step 1:
Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and is a system claim (machine), which is within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[E]each leader node …aggregates the received models into a single model… (this limitation recites a mental process. Combining multiple models into a single model, recited without any particular technique, is an evaluation that can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper. This limitation further defines the abstract idea of claim 8).
Step 2A Prong 2:
[I]n the synchronous exchange regime, …receives models from other leader nodes… for distribution to client nodes within its community (receiving models from other leader nodes is mere data gathering, distributing, and mere outputting of the result. Both are insignificant extra-solution activities of mere data gathering and output (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The receiving and distribution limitations also recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2006.05(d)(II).
Regarding Claim 10
Step 1:
Claim 10 depends from claim 8 and is a system claim (machine), which is within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[E]ach leader node aggregates models based on a predefined number of received models without waiting for all models from other leader nodes (this limitation could encompass a mathematical calculation together with a mental judgment of when to aggregate. This limitation further recites the abstract idea of claim 8).
Step 2A Prong 2:
[I]n the synchronous exchange regime, …receives models from other leader nodes… for distribution to client nodes within its community (receiving models from other leader nodes is mere data gathering, distributing, and mere outputting of the result. Both are insignificant extra-solution activities of mere data gathering and output (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The receiving and distribution limitations also recite the well-understood, routine, and conventional activity of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2006.05(d)(II).
Regarding Claim 11,
Step 1:
Claim 11 depends from claim 1 and is directed to a machine, which is within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[D]determining a number of communities k into which the network is to be partitioned, wherein k is user-defined or automatically estimated by the CD algorithm (this limitation recites a mathematical concept and a mental process. Estimating the number of communities k is a mathematical calculation performed on the network data, recited without any particular technique (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). Alternatively, a person defining k is a selection of a value based on observation, evaluation, and judgment, which can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III))). This limitation further defines the abstract idea of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim 1 applies.
Regarding Claim 12,
Step 1:Claim 12 depends from claim 1 and is a system claim (machine), within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[T]he CD algorithm is selected from a group comprising a Girvan-Newman algorithm, non-negative matrix factorization methods, and hierarchical clustering methods (each of these is a mathematical algorithm and recites a mathematical concept).
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Regarding Claim 13,
Step 1:
Claim 13 depends from claim 1 and it is a system claim (machine), and it is within the statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites the same judicial exceptions as in claim 1
Step 2A Prong 2:
[O]perable in a smart farming environment (this is a mere statement of the field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)) so as to enhance agricultural processes by reducing network usage and enabling effective operation despite geographical dispersion of devices (this merely states an intended result (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1))). The claim as a whole encompasses the field of use and recites no particular agricultural device or step and no improvement to agriculture or to a computer is claimed (MPEP 2106.05(h))). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis at this step mirrors that of Step 2A Prong 2.
Regarding Claim 14,
Step 1:
Claim 14 depends from claim 1 and is directed to a machine, which is within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
[T]he network is represented as an undirected graph
G
=
(
V
,
E
)
,
V
is a set of vertices representing the nodes, and
E
is a set of edges representing connections between the nodes (this limitation recites a mathematical concept (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I)). It defines a network as a graph made up of a set of vertices and a set of edges is a mathematical relationship. This claim recites the same judicial exceptions as in claim 1).
Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite no additional elements beyond those of claim 1. The analysis of claim 1 applies here.
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. The analysis of claim applies.
Regarding Claim 15,
Step 1:
Claim 15 depends from claim 14 and is directed to a machine, which is within a statutory category.
Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites the same judicial exceptions as in claim 14.
Step 2A Prong 2:
[T]he graph
G
is an in-memory graph (this is a mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application)
Step 2B:
The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception. Storing the graph in memory also recites the well- understood, routine, and conventional activity of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)).
Regarding Claim 20,
Step 1:
Claim 20 recites a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium. Therefore, the claim is directed at the statutory category of article of manufacture.
Step 2A Prong 1:
The claim recites the same judicial exceptions as in claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2:
A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon program code of one or more software programs (the analysis is the same as that of claim 1, with the exception that claim 20 has the additional element (“a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium”) which is a mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) and this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application).
Step 2B:
A non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon program code of one or more software programs (the analysis at this step mirrors that of claim 1, with the exception that claim 20 has the additional element “a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium.” This is a mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)). The claim does not contain significantly more than the judicial exception).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11, 12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hall (US 2022/0344049 A1), in view of Zhang (US 11943114 B2)
Regarding Claim 1, Hall discloses a system comprising: a memory comprising instructions; and a processor communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions, the instructions comprising (see e.g., para. [0082], “system comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory comprising instructions to configure the at least one processor” and see e.g., para. [0282], “The processor(s) may be configured to load and execute[d] the software modules or instructions stored in the memory.”) …. to partition a network of nodes into a plurality of communities (see e.g., para. [0159], Fig. 1, “the N nodes 10 are separated into k clusters (communities) so that there is a finite and smaller number of clusters than the total number of nodes (k<N).”) ... and perform federated learning within and between the communities… (see e.g., para. [0160], Fig. 3, “A decentralized training process 200 … performed separately in each of the k clusters…a cluster representative node (leader node) that stores the cluster model that is the output of decentralized training within the cluster… The cluster representative node may be an administrative node for the cluster” and see e.g., para. [0161], “From this point, only the k cluster representative (administrative) nodes participate in the training”).
However, Hall does not expressly teach …through the elected leader nodes using a community detection (CD) algorithm and using graph-based measurements of the network to elect a leader node for each community.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a community detection (CD) algorithm (see e.g., Embodiment [2], Fig. 3., “[The] dividing the users into different user groups (community of nodes) by using a Louvain community discovery algorithm (a community detection algorithm) … The method used for user grouping in the present disclosure is not limited to the Louvain algorithm but may alternatively be graph segmentation algorithms (other CD algorithms) such as Kernighan-Lin, and Newman and Girvan”)
using graph-based measurements of the network to elect a leader node for each community (see e.g., para, Embodiment [2], “in each user group, first computing a centrality …of each user…[with]…the number of shortest path links between all users in the D2D (device to device/node to node) content sharing graph” and see e.g., para, Embodiment 2, Fig. 2., step(4) “sorting the users(nodes) in different user groups(communities) according to the degrees of importance…and selecting the most important user as the user caching node (leader node) in each user group….” and see e.g., Embodiment [2(E)(3)], “… in each user group, first computing a centrality Bu of each user, where Bu is computed by
where, Gi; j represents the number of shortest path links between all users in the D2D content sharing graph, and gi; j (u) is the number of links that pass-through user U in Gi; j…” teaching graph-based selection of a designated node for each community).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Zhang’s community-discovery algorithm and graph-centrality ranking to Hall’s system to group connected nodes and select structurally important nodes as training representatives. The modification supply clustering and representative-selection criteria while retaining Hall’s within-cluster and inter-cluster training operations and select representatives based on their importance within each community, as suggested by Zhang (Embodiment [2], Fig. 2, step (4)).
Regarding Claim 3, Hall teaches wherein the federated learning between the communities is performed exclusively through the leader nodes (see e.g., para. [0161], Fig. 3, “only the k cluster (communities) representative (administrative) nodes (leader node) participate in the training.”) thereby reducing overall communication over the nodes of the network. (see e.g., para [0277], “using distillation to train the final model from a set of teacher models, we can reduce the overall network cost…[because] the nodes no longer need to synchronize every batch”).
Regarding Claim 4, Hall teaches wherein performing federated learning between the communities includes: exchanging aggregated models between the leader nodes of different communities (See. e.g., para. [0160], Fig. 3, “a cluster representative node (leader node) that stores the cluster model (aggregated models) that is the output of decentralized training within the cluster… can then be treated as separate nodes from this point on forming a first node layer 310… A further decentralized training (training between communities) process 200 is carried out on this node layer 310 using only these k cluster representative nodes (leader nodes)”) and updating the aggregated models based on the exchanged models (see e.g., para. [0018], “parameters obtained from one (or multiple) models (Teacher(s)) are used to inform…updates of another model (Student)” see e.g., para. [0050], “training a plurality of Student models, wherein each Student model is a Teacher model at a first node which is trained by a plurality of Teacher models at other nodes by moving the Student model to another node and training the Student model using the Teacher model at the node using the node dataset,” Hall suggest updating a model maintained at a cluster representative based on model information received form another cluster representative).
Claim 5, 6, and 7 are rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of limitation in claim 1 that recites elect a leader node for each community. The equation that recites centrality Bu , in claim 1, corresponds to the mathematical definition of betweenness centrality.
Regarding Claim 8, Hall discloses wherein the system is operable in a synchronous exchange regime or an asynchronous exchange regime for model exchanges among communities (the model exchange for communities is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4 and see e.g., para. [0163], “The training may then be synchronized among the batches….in the case of distillation, the training need not be synchronized”).
Regarding Claim 9, wherein in the synchronous exchange regime (this part of the claim is substantially similar to 8’s similar limitation and it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 8.) each leader node receives models from other leader nodes and aggregates the received models into a single model for distribution to client nodes within its community (this part of the claim is substantially similar to 2 and it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding Claim11 Hall discloses wherein the instructions further include determining a number of communities k into which the network is to be partitioned, wherein k is user-defined or automatically estimated by the CD algorithm. (see e.g., clm.[26], “wherein the plurality of nodes are separated into k clusters where k is less than the total number nodes, and the method is performed separately in each cluster to generate k cluster models, wherein each cluster model is stored at a cluster representative node, and the method is performed on the k cluster representative nodes, wherein the plurality of nodes comprises the k cluster representative nodes”). Although Hall does not expressly characterize K as “user-defined,” selecting the number of clusters before partitioning the nodes would have been obvious matter of system configuration and a person of ordinary skill would have selected k according to the number of participating nodes.
Regarding Claim 12, wherein the CD algorithm is selected from a group comprising a Girvan-Newman algorithm, non-negative matrix factorization methods, and hierarchical clustering methods. (Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 1’s limitation community detection (CD) algorithm and using graph-based measurements. It is rejected for the same reason set forth above regarding that specific limitation in claim 1. Further it is obvious that Girvan-Newman algorithm, non-negative matrix factorization methods, hierarchical clustering methods and community detection algorithms that Zhang expressively mentioned other CD algorithms see e.g., Embodiment [2], Fig. 3, “is not limited to the Louvain algorithm but may alternatively…”).
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 1 except that it is a method claim and rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 2 except that it is a method claim and rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 3 except that it is a method claim and rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 4 except that it is a method claim and rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding Claim 20, Hall discloses a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored thereon program code of one or more software programs … (see e.g., para. [0283], “non-transitory computer(processor)-readable media …The software codes may be stored in a memory unit and the processor may be configured to execute them.”) The remaining limitations of claim 20 correspond substantively to claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 1.
Claims 2, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Zhang and further in view of Shih (Shih et al. IEEE Global Comm., 2023, pp. 231-236)
Regarding Claim 2, Shih teaches. The system of claim 1, wherein performing federated learning within the communities includes: receiving model updates from client nodes within each community (see e.g., Sect. II (A), “the training process …each cluster head sends its model to its members. Each cluster member receives the model, performs training using its local data, and uploads the model updates to its cluster head.” Shih expressively establishes that the member-and -leader training process in federated learning and the specific operations included.) aggregating the received model updates at the leader node of each community; (see e.g., Sect. II (A), “Each cluster head then aggregates the received models”) and broadcasting the aggregated model from the leader node to the client nodes within the same community (see e.g., Sect. II (A), “sends (broadcast) the aggregated model to its neighboring cluster heads in the communication topology”).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hall, in view of Zhang and further in view of Mortazavi (US 2023/0162047 A1)
Regarding Claim 10. wherein in the asynchronous exchange regime (see e.g., para. [0055], “perform local model optimization cycle, and submit model update contributions asynchronously”) … based on a predefined number of received models without waiting for all models from other leader nodes (see e.g., para. [0064], “the aggregation configuration repository 118 can include an update threshold indicating an amount of received responses”).
Regarding the claim recitation each leader node aggregates models, it is rejected for the same reasons as given in the rejection of claim 4.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hall, in view of Zhang and further in view of Knuesel (US 2022/0405651 A1)
Regarding Claim 13, Knuesel discloses wherein the system is operable in a smart farming environment so as to enhance agricultural processes… despite geographical dispersion of devices (see e.g., para. [0248], “Federated Learning application in the context of sensors…Connected agriculture: learn best vegetable growing conditions based on sensor measurements. For example, sensors may be configured for imaging, sensing soil conditions across multiple farmers/farming companies, to optimize growing conditions”) by reducing network usage and enabling effective operation (see e.g., para. [0212], “A cluster may comprise fewer clients than the total number of clients, and thus reduce network overhead”).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hall, in view of Zhang and further in view of Epasto (US2020/0065333 A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Epasto discloses, wherein the network is represented as an undirected graph
G
=
(
V
,
E
)
,
V
is a set of vertices representing the nodes, and
E
is a set of edges representing connections between the nodes (see e.g., para. [0050], “An (undirected, unweighted) graph G=(V,E) consists of a finite set V of nodes and an edge set E⊂V×V such that u v for each (u,v)∈E and (u, v)∈E iff (v, u)∈E.” reparenting the network).
Regarding Claim 15, Epasto discloses wherein the graph
G
is an in-memory graph (see e.g., para. [0036] “an undirected graph G=(V,E)” and see e.g., para. [0115], “an in-memory version of this algorithm was applied to cluster”).
Conclusion
/TIBEBU HAILEMARIAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2125
/KAMRAN AFSHAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2125