DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 02 May 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) was/were submitted on 03 December 2024. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Request for priority to Provisional App. No. 63/552,025 is acknowledged. Examiner notes that the current claims do not appear to be fully supported by the provisional application and further notes that the Applicant may be requested to perfect one or more of the claims in the situation where applied prior art has priority falling between the filing date of the non-provisional application dated 02 May 2024 and the provisional application dated 09 February 2024. No action on the part of the Applicant is requested at this time.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that” should be “the at least one memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that”; and
Claim 13: “a score indicating the proficiency of a pilot of the airplane” should be “a score indicating [[a proficiency of a pilot of the airplane”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character “2401” has been used to designate both “…where an application receives flight data associated with a flight path, such as in a similar manner to receiving flight data as part of the process for transmitting a social media post described above.” (para. 0149) and “…where the application generates one or more measure of the turbulence experienced while the plane flew along the flight path based on the flight data and the additional data.” (para. 0151). Correcting para. 0151 will resolve this objection.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show 1301, 1302, and 1403, as described in the specification. Specifically:
para. 0117 recites “act 1301” as “…where the application identifies one or more attributes of a user of the social media service for airplane pilots” and FIG. 13 shows 1301 as “Identify attributes indicating a user’s flight experience”;
para. 0118 recites “act 1302” as “…where the application identifies one or more instances of content based on the attributes of the user” and FIG. 13 shows 1302 as “Identify one or more instances of content based on the identified attributes of the user’s flight experience”; and
para. 0125 recites “act 1403, where the application updates a repository of off-airport landing area information maintained, managed, accessed, updated, or otherwise used by the social media service” and FIG. 14 shows 1403 as “Update a repository of off-airport landing area information based on the indication of off-airport landing data and the indicated off-airport landing area”.
Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
2102, 2103, 2104, 2105, 2106, 2107, and 2108, in FIG. 21;
2403, in FIG. 24 (Correcting para. 0151 will resolve this objection.);
2831, in FIG. 28 (Replacing 2831 with 2832, to match para. 0179, will resolve this objection.); and
2856 and 2856a, in FIG. 28.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “2840” has been used to designate both “server” (FIG. 28 and para. 0182) and “communications programs” (para. 0181). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9, 11-13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the user of the second user device has interacted with the post.”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation (“the user”) in the claim. Examiner is interpreting “the user” as “a user”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the representation of the flight path". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting claim 11 as if it depends on claim 10, instead of claim 1. As claim 12 depends on claim 11, claim 12 is similarly rejected.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the post". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner is interpreting claim 12 as if claim 11 depends on claim 10, instead of claim 1.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “based on the flight data and the additional data.” It is unclear whether “the flight data” in this limitation is referring to the “flight data associated with the flight path”, recited earlier in claim 13, or the “flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane” from claim 1. It is also unclear whether these two recitations of “flight data” (in claim 1 and claim 13) are the same. Examiner is interpreting these two recitations of “flight data” as being different, and that the flight data recited in claim 13 (“based on the flight data and the additional data.”) is referring to “flight data associated with the flight path”, recited earlier in claim 13.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “generate, based on the flight data and the additional data”. It is unclear whether “the flight data” in this limitation is referring to the “flight data associated with the flight path”, recited earlier in claim 18, or the “flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane” from claim 1. It is also unclear whether these two recitations of “flight data” (in claim 1 and claim 18) are the same. Examiner is interpreting these two recitations of “flight data” as being different, and that the flight data recited in claim 18 (“generate, based on the flight data and the additional data”) is referring to “flight data associated with the flight path”, recited earlier in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a system (i.e., a machine), claim 19 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e., a machine) and claim 20 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Therefore, independent claims 1, 19, and 20 are each within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A system comprising:
a display;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
receive an indication of an airplane associated with a user;
receive an indication of flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane;
identify one or more airports based on the flight data;
generate a flight path based on the identified one or more airports, the flight data, and the indicated airplane;
receive an indication of descriptive data regarding the flight path;
cause the display to visually display a pattern showing an indication of the flight path and an indication of the descriptive data to the user on a first user device; and
cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission to a second user device.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, the “identify…” limitation encompasses a person looking at flight data for an aircraft and identifying which airports are relevant to the aircraft, and the “generate…” limitation encompasses a person looking at flight data for an aircraft drawing a flight path of an aircraft based on data about the aircraft. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A system comprising:
[A] a display;
[A] at least one processor; and
[A] at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
[B] receive an indication of an airplane associated with a user;
[B] receive an indication of flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane;
identify one or more airports based on the flight data;
generate a flight path based on the identified one or more airports, the flight data, and the indicated airplane;
[B] receive an indication of descriptive data regarding the flight path;
[B] cause the display to visually display a pattern showing an indication of the flight path and an indication of the descriptive data to the user on a first user device; and
[B] cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission to a second user device.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations, identified with [A], “a display”, “at least one processor” and “at least one memory…having computer-executable instructions stored thereon…”, examiner submits that these limitations are merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea. Regarding the additional limitations, identified with [B], “receive an indication of an airplane…”, “receive an indication of flight data…,” “receive an indication of descriptive data…”, “cause the display to visually display…”, and “cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission…,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities. In particular, the receiving limitations are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The displaying limitation is also recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying the result of the data gathering and abstract idea), and amounts to mere post-solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Lastly, the “cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission” limitation merely describes receiving or transmitting data over a network.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations of “a display”, “at least one processor” and “at least one memory…having computer-executable instructions stored thereon…” amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “receive an indication of an airplane…”, “receive an indication of flight data…,” “receive an indication of descriptive data…”, “cause the display to visually display…”, and “cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission…”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “receive an indication of an airplane…”, “receive an indication of flight data…,” “receive an indication of descriptive data…”, and “cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission…”, are the well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the background recites that the display, processors, and memory are all conventional displays, processors and computer-based memories, and the specification does not provide any indication that the system is anything other than a conventional computer. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. The additional limitation of “cause the display to visually display…”, is a well-understood, routine, and conventional activity because the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Claims 19 and 20 recite similar limitations to those discussed above with regards to claim 1 and therefore discussion is omitted for brevity. Hence, independent claims 1, 19, and 20 are not patent subject matter eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 2-18 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent subject matter eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional limitations of the dependent claims include additional aspects of the abstract idea, like identifying, detecting, determining, updating, selecting, extrapolating, and generating and include additional aspects of well-understood, routine, and conventional additional elements like receiving data, transmitting data, and displaying data. Therefore, dependent claims 2-18 are not patent subject matter eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are subject matter ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, 14, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US-8700236-B1, hereinafter “Berman”.
Regarding claim 1, and analogous claims 19 and 20, Berman discloses A system (Berman, FIG. 1-3; col. 1, line 15: “The present disclosure relates to maintaining an online flight logbook to help track flying activities for a pilot, and more particularly, to systems [i.e., A system] and methods for recording and publishing related flight information.”) comprising:
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Berman also discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having contents configured to cause at least one processor to perform a method (Berman, FIG. 2-3, computer-readable medium 295, computer-readable medium 395; Claim 11) and a method (Berman, col. 1, line 15: “The present disclosure relates to maintaining an online flight logbook to help track flying activities for a pilot, and more particularly, to systems and methods [i.e., A method] for recording and publishing related flight information.”).
a display (Berman, FIG. 1, remote location-aware mobile device 200; col. 4, line 19: “The detailed description that follows is represented largely in terms of processes and symbolic representations of operations by conventional computer components, including a processor, memory storage devices for the processor, connected display devices and input devices.”);
at least one processor (Berman, FIG. 2-3, processing unit 210, processing unit 310; col. 4, line 19: “The detailed description that follows is represented largely in terms of processes and symbolic representations of operations by conventional computer components, including a processor [i.e., at least one processor], memory storage devices for the processor, connected display devices and input devices.”); and
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor (Berman, FIG. 2-3, memory 250, memory 350; col. 4, line 19: “The detailed description that follows is represented largely in terms of processes and symbolic representations of operations by conventional computer components, including a processor, memory storage devices for the processor [i.e., at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor], connected display devices and input devices.”),
the memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the at least one processor (Berman, FIG. 2-3; col. 7, line 63: “The memory 350 stores program code for a number of applications, which includes executable instructions for receiving routine 360 (see FIG. 22, discussed below), generation routine 365 (see FIG. 22, discussed below), authorization routine 370 (see FIG. 24, discussed below), designation routine 375 (see FIGS. 22 and 23, discussed below), and publishing/posting routine 380 (see FIGS. 17 and 20, discussed below).”), cause the system to:
receive an indication of an airplane associated with a user (Berman, col. 3, line 64: “…a mobile flight logbook system and method are described that overcome the hereinafore-mentioned disadvantages of the heretofore-known devices of this general type and that provide automatic generation of a flight logbook entry using a remote location-aware mobile device and then store the generated entry in an online flight logbook maintained on a flight server. Among other features, the remote location-aware device automatically detects aircraft takeoffs and landings for the pilot and populates flight logbook entry based on information available to the location-aware mobile device [i.e., receive an indication of an airplane associated with a user].”);
receive an indication of flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane (Berman, col. 5, line 46: “…mobile flight logbook systems and methodologies, which collect flight information via a remote location-aware mobile device [i.e., receive an indication of flight data from one or more flight data repositories based on the indicated airplane] and transmit the collected flight information to a flight server. The remote location-aware mobile device automatically generates an entry for a flight logbook, including actively updating the number of detected landings associated with the flight.”);
identify one or more airports based on the flight data (Berman, col. 9, line 29: “The application has access to a database of airports 412 so that it can quickly look up the airport nearest to its position even when there is no network connectivity available, and it also keeps track of the information about the current flight in progress 415 so that it can build up the flight information as it learns more about it from the location services.”);
generate a flight path based on the identified one or more airports, the flight data, and the indicated airplane (Berman, col. 10, line 41: “…Flight Telemetry represents a text-based table of flight data, expressed as a series of rows and columns. The format of this is fairly arbitrary, but if it includes a column of timestamps, latitudes, and longitudes, then the path of the flight can be reconstructed from this.”);
receive an indication of descriptive data regarding the flight path (Berman, col. 6, line 23: “…the remote location-aware mobile device 200 may generate a flight entry from collected flight data 150 for a flight logbook 400. The flight logbook may include both flight data describing facts of the flight and pilot experience data sharing notable experiences in the con text of the flight [i.e., receive an indication of descriptive data regarding the flight path]. Examples of pilot experience data may include personal notes and multimedia, Such as pictures and video, taken during the flight to better share the experience with those reviewing the flight later.”);
cause the display to visually display a pattern showing an indication of the flight path and an indication of the descriptive data to the user on a first user device (Berman, FIG. 11 and 16; col. 16, line 9: “The pilot in this example can select the level of detail that they wish to display about the flight. In this particular embodiment, the choice is simple and stark: show simply the route of flight, or show a variety of details, but any degree of granularity for these preferences could be specified.”); and
cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored for transmission to a second user device (Berman, FIG. 4, myflightbook server 401, internet 408, social networks 416; col. 9, line 45: “The application then submits the flight to the web application 402, which stores a record of the flight in the flight database 406 [i.e., cause the flight path and the descriptive data to be stored]. If the request to submit the flight indicates that the flight should also be posted to one or more social networking sites, then for each requested site the web application 402 looks up an authorization token in the user database 407 and, if one is found, submits a link to the flight over the Internet 408 to the appropriate social networking site 416 [i.e., for transmission to a second user device].”).
Regarding claim 2, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein, to cause the flight path and descriptive data to be stored for transmission to the second user device, the computer-executable instructions further causes the system to:
transmit data indicating the flight path and the descriptive data to a server configured to distribute the flight path and descriptive data to one or more user devices (Berman, FIG.4, myflightbook server 401, internet 408, social networks 416; col. 9, line 45: “The application then submits the flight to the web application 402, which stores a record of the flight in the flight database 406 [i.e., transmit data indicating the flight path and the descriptive data to a server]. If the request to submit the flight indicates that the flight should also be posted to one or more social networking sites, then for each requested site the web application 402 looks up an authorization token in the user database 407 and, if one is found, submits a link to the flight over the Internet 408 to the appropriate social networking site 416 [i.e., configured to distribute the flight path and descriptive data to one or more user devices].”).
Regarding claim 3, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein, to generate the flight path, the computer-executable instructions further causes the system to:
receive an indication of a departure airport and a destination airport (Berman, col. 4, line 59: “The terms “flight information” and “flight data” are synonymous and generally refer to data collected for a particular flight. Flight information may include a variety of information associated with the flight, such as the date of the flight, aircraft information (e.g., aircraft registration number (tail number), make, and model), route of flight, number of landings, number of instrument approaches, amount of time spent as member of flight crew, any multimedia (e.g., video, sound, or photographs) associated with the flight, comments about the flight, and any other information that may be useful to the pilot or necessary for regulatory, employment, or insurance purposes. The route of flight may include a starting airport, any intermediate airports, and a final airport [i.e., receive an indication of a departure airport and a destination airport].”);
identify a starting time for the flight path based on the flight data and the departure airport (Berman, FIG. 5, data structures 500, “Flights”, “Flight Start Time (1st Takeoff)”);
identify an ending time for the flight path based on the flight data and the destination airport (Berman, FIG. 5, data structures 500, “Flights”, “Flight End Time (Last Landing)”);
identify one or more intermediate airports based on the starting time for the flight path, the ending time for the flight path, and the flight data (Berman, col. 4, line 59: “The terms “flight information” and “flight data” are synonymous and generally refer to data collected for a particular flight. Flight information may include a variety of information associated with the flight, such as the date of the flight, aircraft information (e.g., aircraft registration number (tail number), make, and model), route of flight, number of landings, number of instrument approaches, amount of time spent as member of flight crew, any multimedia (e.g., video, sound, or photographs) associated with the flight, comments about the flight, and any other information that may be useful to the pilot or necessary for regulatory, employment, or insurance purposes. The route of flight may include a starting airport, any intermediate airports [i.e., identify one or more intermediate airports based on the starting time for the flight path, the ending time for the flight path, and the flight data], and a final airport.);
generate the flight path based on the departure airport, the destination airport, the starting time, the ending time, and the one or more intermediate airports (Berman, FIG. 16, col. 18, line 13: “In FIG. 16, when the flight is displayed on a map, an icon can then be overlayed on the map, showing where the image was taken, or the image can include a link to zoom the map to its location. In one embodiment, the process of geotagging of images uses EXIF and adds overlays of and callouts over maps.”).
Regarding claim 4, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
identify at least one instance of content based on the indicated airplane, the flight path, the one or more airports, or the user associated with the indicated airplane; and cause the display to display the at least one instance of content (Berman, FIG. 16; col 18, line 1: “Referring now to FIG. 16, a screenshot 1600 is shown of Picture Geotagging 1650 in accordance with one embodiment. When pilots fly for fun, it is quite common to want to take pictures. But it can be difficult to determine what the picture was of or where it was taken is after the fact. Location aware mobile devices, such as Smartphones and tablets, help address this problem by enabling the user pilot to take a picture with the device's built-in camera, and then automatically add latitude/longitude information to the picture, and store the image with the record of the flight in the pilot's flight logbook [i.e., identify at least one instance of content based on the indicated airplane, the flight path, the one or more airports, or the user associated with the indicated airplane]. In one embodiment, a pilot may also geotag video taken using the camera of the location-aware mobile device and append it to the flight information. In FIG. 16, when the flight is displayed on a map, an icon can then be overlayed on the map, showing where the image was taken, or the image can include a link to zoom the map to its location [i.e., cause the display to display the at least one instance of content].”).
Regarding claim 5, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of flight data, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
detect that the indicated airplane has taken off from or landed at an airport; and in response to detecting that the indicated airplane has taken off from or landed at an airport, transmit a request for flight data to a flight repository (Berman, col. 4, line 3: “Among other features, the remote location-aware device automatically detects aircraft takeoffs and landings [i.e., detect that the indicated airplane has taken off from or landed at an airport] for the pilot and populates flight logbook entry [i.e., and in response to detecting that the indicated airplane has taken off from or landed at an airport, transmit a request for flight data to a flight repository] based on information available to the location-aware mobile device.”).
Regarding claim 6, Berman discloses The system of claim 1,
wherein, the flight data includes flight data for two or more flights (Berman, col. 10, line 12: “The Flights data structure includes Date of flight, Comments, Starting/Ending Hobbs timer, Engine Start/End Time, Flight Start/End Time, Number of Landings, Route of flight, Total Time, and Flight Telemetry.”), and
wherein to generate the flight path, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to: receive an indication of two or more stops via user input; receive an indication of an order of the two or more stops via user input (Berman, FIG. 10A-10C; col. 13, line 52: “Pilots typically record their route of flight in a de-duped manner. For example, if they fly from San Francisco to Portland, do several landings at Portland and then continue to Seattle, they would record this as SFO-PDX-SEA (and record the appropriate count of landings) rather than as SFO-PDX-PDX-PDX-SEA [i.e., the flight data includes flight data for two or more flights]. In the present invention, there are several scenarios where it is desirable to append the code for the nearest airport in a de-duped manner: at engine start (typically noting the initial airport), upon take-off or landing, at engine stop, or when the pilot explicitly requests it (e.g., hitting a “nearest” button) [i.e., receive an indication of an order of the two or more stops via user input]. As a practical matter, it is sufficient to append the nearest airport code at engine start, upon landing, or upon pilot request. The algorithm for appending is fairly straightforward: the airport nearest to the most recently received position report is looked up in the application’s database [i.e., receive an indication of an order of the two or more stops via user input].”); and
generate a flight track based on the indication of flight data, the indication of two or more stops, and the indication of the order of the two or more stops (Berman, col. 10, line 12: “The Flights data [i.e., based on the indication of flight data] structure includes Date of flight, Comments, Starting/Ending Hobbs timer, Engine Start/End Time, Flight Start/End Time, Number of Landings [i.e., the indication of two or more stops], Route of flight [i.e., the indication of the order of the two or more stops], Total Time, and Flight Telemetry.”; col. 10, line 32: “Route of flight represents a sequence of airport codes that describe the route of the flight. E.g., “SEA BOS LHR” would mean Seattle to Boston to London [i.e., the indication of the order of the two or more stops]. In one embodiment, Total Time represents the total time that is recorded for the flight; when a pilot says that they have a given number of hours of flight experience, it is based on this time. This is typically the time from engine start to engine shutdown, but pilots may choose for this to be exclusively airborne time (i.e., exclusive of taxi and idle time). In one embodiment, Flight Telemetry represents a text-based table of flight data, expressed as a series of rows and columns. The format of this is fairly arbitrary, but if it includes a column of timestamps, latitudes, and longitudes, then the path of the flight can be reconstructed [i.e., generate a flight track] from this.”).
Regarding claim 7, Berman discloses The system of claim 1,
wherein the flight data includes data indicating one or more of: at least one latitude; at least one longitude; at least one altitude; or at least one groundspeed (Berman, col. 13, line 28: “Engine start/stop times are used to determine when to autodetect and record telemetry data…If the engine is running, the application looks for takeoffs and landings, and records flight telemetry [i.e., wherein the flight data includes data indicating one or more of: at least one latitude; at least one longitude; at least one altitude; or at least one groundspeed] based on received location updates. When the engine is shut down, the system assumes that the airplane is parked and stops recording telemetry or looking for takeoffs/landings.”; col. 10, line 41: “…Flight Telemetry represents a text-based table of flight data, expressed as a series of rows and columns. The format of this is fairly arbitrary, but if it includes a column of timestamps, latitudes, and longitudes [i.e., at least one latitude; at least one longitude; at least one altitude; or at least one groundspeed], then the path of the flight can be reconstructed from this.”).
Regarding claim 8, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
identify a user of the second user device; identify an airport ribbon display setting associated with the user of the second user device; identify one or more airports indicated by the flight path; and cause an airport ribbon to be displayed on the second user device based on the identified one or more airports and the airport ribbon display setting (Berman, col. 16, line 7: “The pilot in this example can select the level of detail that they wish to display about the flight. In this particular embodiment, the choice is simple and stark: show simply the route of flight, or show a variety of details, but any degree of granularity for these preferences could be specified.”; Note: It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, to know that digital content that can be displayed on multiple types of devices must be responsive to display limitations and/or settings of each type of device. For example, screen size or number of items to display must be considered, or the content will be distorted, partially displayed, or otherwise difficult to view by the device user.).
Regarding claim 10, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
cause the second user device to display a post based on the flight path and descriptive data, wherein the post includes a representation of the flight path (Berman, FIG. 11, FIG. 16 [i.e., the post includes a representation of the flight path]; col. 18, line 23: “For social networking integration, the user can select on the device from among several popular social networking sites (currently Facebook and Twitter, but any number can be supported). The user can additionally choose how much detail to expose about the flight: if the flight is marked as being shared, then details such as the pilot's name, the aircraft and type, and any pictures associated with the flight [i.e., based on…descriptive data] are displayed to visitors [i.e., cause the second user device to display a post based on the flight path and descriptive data]. Otherwise, all details other than the date of the flight and the route (airport-to-airport) [i.e., based on the flight path] are suppressed. Obviously, any range of settings in between these could be offered as well, but these were the simplest to use. When the user submits the flight, they check boxes indicating which (if any) social networks on which to share the flight. This simply sets flags which are passed up along with the flight to the flight logbook server. After storing the flight in the database, a web link (“URL”) to the flight is generated for and passed to each selected social network, along with either the user-provided description of the flight (e.g., “Flew with Joe to Chelan for lunch”) or a generic comment that is generated by the server (e.g., “Flight added.”).”), and
wherein the representation of the flight path includes an indication of one or more of: a starting point of the flight path; an ending point of the flight path; a groundspeed of an airplane that flew along the flight path; a crosswind experienced by an airplane that flew along the flight path; a turbulence experienced by an airplane that flew along the flight path; a g-force experienced by an airplane that flew along the flight path; a time of day during which an airplane flew along the flight path; a stop made by an airplane that flew along the flight path; or a radio call made by an occupant of an airplane that flew along the flight path (Berman, FIG. 16 [i.e., wherein the representation of the flight path includes an indication of one or more of: a starting point of the flight path; an ending point of the flight path…]).
Regarding claim 11, Berman discloses The system of claim 1,
wherein the representation of the flight path includes two or more colors (Berman, FIG. 16, col. 18, line 13: “In FIG. 16, when the flight is displayed on a map, an icon can then be overlayed on the map, showing where the image was taken, or the image can include a link to zoom the map to its location. In one embodiment, the process of geotagging of images uses EXIF and adds overlays of and callouts over maps.”).
Regarding claim 14, Berman discloses The system of claim 1,
wherein the flight data includes data generated by one or more of: a global-positioning-system device; an automatic dependent surveillance broadcasting device; a wearable user device; and a black box of the airplane (Berman, FIG. 2, location sensor (GPS) 245; col. 6, line 66: “As shown in FIG. 2, the location-aware mobile device 200 includes a location sensor 245 for providing navigational information and/or accessing a third party navigation system, such as a Global Positioning System (GPS) or Galileo to obtain satellite navigation information.”).
Regarding claim 17, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein, to generate the flight path, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
detect that the flight data does not include data for one or more locations at which the airplane flew during a flight; and extrapolate flight data for the airplane based on at least a portion of the flight data; and combine the flight data and the extrapolated flight data to obtain final flight data includes flight data for the one or more locations for which data was detected as not included (Berman, col. 15, line 4: “This causes the system to move back to state (1002), but since this is treated as a final step before the completion and submission of the flight (most flights, after all, do not last long after the source of thrust is removed), hobbs, total time, and cross-country time are auto-filled (1012) at this point [i.e., detect that the flight data does not include data for one or more locations at which the airplane flew during a flight; and extrapolate flight data for the airplane based on at least a portion of the flight data] before returning to state (1002) [i.e., final flight data includes flight data for the one or more locations for which data was detected as not included]. The auto-fill process (1012) is described in more detail below in FIGS. 13, 14, and 15. From state (1002), the process can begin again, or the pilot can submit the existing flight from the device (1004) to the server, where it is processed (1005), which is described below.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of "Reactions Now Available Globally”, hereinafter “Facebook”.
Regarding claim 9, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
cause the second user device to display a post based on the flight path and descriptive data (Berman, FIG. 28a, FIG. 29),
Berman does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein the post includes a user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post; determining whether the user of the second user device has interacted with the post; and based on a determination that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post, causing the user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post to move.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Facebook teaches:
wherein the post includes a user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post; determining whether the user of the second user device has interacted with the post; and based on a determination that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post, causing the user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post to move (Facebook, first paragraph: “That’s why today we are launching Reactions [i.e., wherein the post includes a user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post], an extension of the Like button, to give you more ways to share your reaction to a post [i.e., determining whether the user of the second user device has interacted with the post] in a quick and easy way.”; Note: As one can see in Wired’s YouTube video and the video’s description about Facebook Reactions, the Reactions are animations: “Facebook just expanded the ‘Like’ button with a feature it calls Reactions—six animated emoji [i.e., based on a determination that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post, causing the user interface component indicating that the user of the second user device has interacted with the post to move] the company hopes will let users to respond with more emotional nuance to the posts in their news feeds.” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of an animated [i.e., it moves] user interface component that can be used to determine if a user interacts with a post on a social media content feed, taught by Facebook, in order to provide users of a social media platform with more nuanced options to react to posts (Facebook, first paragraph: “That’s why today we are launching Reactions, an extension of the Like button, to give you more ways to share your reaction to a post in a quick and easy way”).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of "Emergence of web technology: An implementation of web accessibility design in organizations", hereinafter “Perrenoud”.
Regarding claim 12, Berman discloses The system of claim 11,
Berman does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
wherein, to display the post, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to: receive an indication that a user of the second user device is color-blind; and select the two or more colors based on the indication that the user of the second user device is color-blind.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Perrenoud teaches:
wherein, to display the post, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to: receive an indication that a user of the second user device is color-blind; and select the two or more colors based on the indication that the user of the second user device is color-blind (Perrenoud, pg. 638, col. 2, first full paragraph: “Color provides distinct visibility that can be recognized and identified, and it also provides aesthetic characteristics for the design. When developing and designing a webpage, colors such as green, red, and yellow are difficult for color blind audiences, which can impact accessibility and user experiences [i.e., receive an indication that a user of the second user device is color-blind; and select the two or more colors based on the indication that the user of the second user device is color-blind]. Using contrast when choosing color helps with visibility for users with weak vision. Choosing contrasting colors helps in the identification and differentiation of objects and webpage content.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of digital content being designed for accessibility, including color selection that is easier for color blind users to see, taught by Perrenoud, in order to increase the accessibility of digital content (Perrenoud, pg. 638, col. 2, first full paragraph: “Color provides distinct visibility that can be recognized and identified, and it also provides aesthetic characteristics for the design.”).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-20110246002-A1, hereinafter “Shavit”.
Regarding claim 13, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
receive flight data associated with the flight path (Berman, col. 10, line 12: “The Flights data structure includes Date of flight, Comments, Starting/Ending Hobbs timer, Engine Start/End Time, Flight Start/End Time, Number of Landings, Route of flight, Total Time, and Flight Telemetry.”);
Berman does not appear to disclose the following:
receive additional data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path; generate a score indicating the proficiency of a pilot of the airplane based on the flight data and the additional data.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shavit teaches:
receive additional data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path (Shavit, FIG. 2, Avionics data 262, GPS 3D location 264; para. 0039: “Airborne data logger 202 may obtain and store timed location data and other flight parameter data, and transmit them to a ground-based server 203 [i.e., receive additional data].”; para. 0050: “For example, digital avionics data 262 [i.e., data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path] may include at least one of airspeed, altitude, bank and pitch angles, engine RPM, various engine temperatures, and manifold pressure.”);
generate a score indicating the proficiency of a pilot of the airplane based on the flight data and the additional data (Shavit, para. 0015: “The system may further comprise a data logger configured to obtain flight data during a flight of an aircraft or simulated flight of an aircraft and transmit the flight data in a prioritized order. The server transmitting and receiving unit may be configured to receive the transmitted flight data. The server processing unit may be further configured to correct measurement errors in the received flight data, segment the received flight data into flight segments, recognize locations of airports and runways in the flight data used by the aircraft or simulated flight for takeoff and landing, and provide evaluation information about pilot performance [i.e., indicating the proficiency of a pilot of the airplane based on the flight data and the additional data] in at least one of the flight segments.”; para. 0082: “For each stage of a flight, grader 710 may compute a numeric grade [i.e., generate a score], reflecting the consistency of the pilot's performance on that stage.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of using flight data to determine the proficiency of a pilot, taught by Shavit, in order to support a pilot and/or their instructor(s) in measuring the pilot’s progress in improving their skills (Shavit, para. 0082: “Collectively, such grades may help a user measure his progress as he applies feedback from the system 100 to improve his piloting skills.”).
Regarding claim 15, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
Berman does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
receive input indicating an off-airport landing area; receive an indication of off-airport landing data; update a repository of off-airport landing area information based on the indication of off-airport landing data and the indicated off-airport landing area; and display one or more off-airport landing areas to one or more users.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Shavit teaches:
receive input indicating an off-airport landing area; receive an indication of off-airport landing data; update a repository of off-airport landing area information based on the indication of off-airport landing data and the indicated off-airport landing area; and display one or more off-airport landing areas to one or more users (Shavit, para. 0060: “Following a normal flight in which the pilot flies aircraft 201 and operates airborne data logger 202, aircraft 201 may experience a flight incident. During the flight, airborne data logger 202 may continuously or intermittently broadcast location information to ground-based server 203 [i.e., receive an indication of off-airport landing data]. Airborne data logger 202 may continue to broadcast location information after a flight incident. Even in the event that airborne data logger 202 does not survive a flight incident, location information will have already been sent while aircraft 201 was still airborne, immediately prior to the flight incident [i.e., receive input indicating an off-airport landing area].”; para. 0061: “Ground-based server 203 may monitor the location of an aircraft 201 during flight and detect a possible flight incident scenario based on location information [i.e., update a repository of off-airport landing area information based on the indication of off-airport landing data and the indicated off-airport landing area]. A flight incident detection strategy running on ground-based server 203 and monitoring the flight may trigger a flight incident alert when it detects a potential flight incident, signified, for instance, by data indicating that the aircraft is stationary on the ground at a point that is not an airport, or by communication being lost after a descent. Ground-based server 203 may automatically send messages via HTTP to designated emergency services 207 [i.e., display one or more off-airport landing areas to one or more users].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of receiving data about an off-airport landing of an airplane, storing that data, and displaying that data to one or more users of an airplane flight logbook-type system, taught by Shavit, in order to alert users of the airplane flight logbook-type system that could potentially aid after the off-airport landing (Shavit, para. 0059: “Referring again to FIG. 2, ground-based server 203 may send data (e.g., automatically) to an emergency locator service 207 for use in aiding in a search for an aircraft that may have undergone a flight incident and for analyzing the reasons for the flight incident Emergency locator service 207 may be implemented in the exemplary manner described below.”).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-20200184833-A1, hereinafter “Schwindt”.
Regarding claim 16, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
Berman does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
receive health data from one or more sensors configured to obtain health data for the user; determine one or more stress levels of the user based on the received health data; and indicate at least one of the determined stress levels to a user.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Schwindt teaches:
receive health data from one or more sensors configured to obtain health data for the user; determine one or more stress levels of the user based on the received health data (Schwindt, para. 0003: “…the disclosure relates to a method of adjusting pilot workload during a flight includes tracking over a time period, using at least one sensor, one of inputs by a pilot indicative of a pilot workload or image sensor data or a biometric parameter indicative of a pilot stress level during flight of the aircraft.”); and
indicate at least one of the determined stress levels to a user (Schwindt, para. 0040: “Tracking a pilot's stress level can be accomplished by tracking a pilot's eye movements or body movements from the image sensor 103 or by tracking various biometric parameters of the pilot. For example, the image sensor 103 can track both the eye movements and body movements of the pilot during all or portions of the flight. In addition, biometric parameters of the pilot such as heart rate, breathing rate, skin temperature, and the like, can be indicative of the pilot's stress level. It should be recognized that this data can be used to make real-time decisions about pilot workload or stress level during a flight or the data can be saved to a database and processed after the flight.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of measuring the workload or stress of an airplane pilot, with indication to the pilot, taught by Schwindt, in order to adjust the workload of a pilot based on their current capacity and therefore increase flight safety (Schwindt, para. 0003: “Determining, using a controller that is operatively connected to the at least one sensor, a level of one of the pilot workload or pilot stress level. The method also includes adjusting, using a controller that is operatively connected to the flight control computer, the pilot workload when the level of one of the pilot workload or pilot stress level exceeds a predetermined threshold.”).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berman, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US-20120259549-A1 hereinafter “McDonald”.
Regarding claim 18, Berman discloses The system of claim 1, wherein, to receive the indication of flight data, the computer-executable instructions further cause the system to:
receive flight data associated with the flight path (Berman, col. 10, line 12: “The Flights data structure includes Date of flight, Comments, Starting/Ending Hobbs timer, Engine Start/End Time, Flight Start/End Time, Number of Landings, Route of flight, Total Time, and Flight Telemetry.”);
Berman does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
receive additional data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path; and generate, based on the flight data and the additional data, one or more measures of at least one of: turbulence experienced by occupants of the airplane or a g-force experienced by occupants of the airplane.
However, in the same field of endeavor, McDonald teaches:
receive additional data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path; and generate, based on the flight data and the additional data, one or more measures of at least one of: turbulence experienced by occupants of the airplane or a g-force experienced by occupants of the airplane (McDonald, para. 0002: “…systems and methods for characterizing regions of turbulence are provided. In one implementation, a method includes: measuring turbulence with an inertial reference unit on an aircraft to acquire a turbulence measurement [i.e., receive additional data from one or more sensors for measuring movement that were present on the airplane while the airplane was flying along the flight path]; recording a position of the aircraft associated with the turbulence measurement and the turbulence measurement on at least one memory device; processing the turbulence measurement on a processing unit to determine a turbulence intensity setting; determining a turbulence region for the recorded position; associating the turbulence region with the turbulence intensity setting; and transmitting the turbulence intensity setting and the associated turbulence region.”; para. 0013: “To characterize the turbulence in a region, aircraft unit 102 includes an inertial reference unit 106. Inertial reference unit 106 includes inertial sensors, such as accelerometers and gyroscopes, that measure acceleration of aircraft unit 102. For example, inertial reference unit 106 measures changes in parameters such as heading, velocity, and attitude. As turbulence can cause unforeseen changes in heading, velocity, and attitude, inertial reference unit 106 produces turbulence measurements of the acceleration experienced by aircraft unit 102 [i.e., generate, based on the flight data and the additional data, one or more measures of at least one of: turbulence experienced by occupants of the airplane].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Berman, with the concept of using airplane flight data to determine flight turbulence, taught by McDonald, in order to develop better processes for accurately predicting turbulence and avoiding or minimizing turbulence avoidance maneuvers which can drive flight inefficiencies (McDonald, para. 0001: “Commercial aircraft flights try to avoid areas of severe turbulence as turbulence has a negative impact on passenger comfort, passenger safety, and equipment/airframe integrity. Systems, using sensors, try to forecast and predict areas of strong/severe turbulence based on the sensing of atmospheric conditions. Also, when an airplane passes through areas with turbulence, pilots communicate verbal reports about the turbulence which are then passed along through air traffic control or the airline's control center. Improved accuracy for characterizing turbulence would allow commercial aircraft an improved probability of avoiding severe turbulence as well as minimizing unnecessary and/or inefficient avoidance maneuvers.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-9734722-B1 (2017-08-15) | “An application engine receives flight position data associated with an airplane through a global computing network. The flight position data includes a list of recorded locations of the airplane. Using the list of recorded locations of the airplane, the application engine computes a current position of the airplane and a polling interval. Responsive to calculating the current position of the airplane, the application engine generates a flight status view of the airplane based on the current position of the airplane. The flight status view includes a flight tracker image representative of the airplane's current location and flight path, and one or more visual indicators corresponding to social network data and informative data associated with the current position of the airplane. The application engine periodically updates the flight status view of the airplane using an updated current position of the airplane.”
US-20120232791-A1 (2012-09-13) | “Techniques are described herein for generating a moving map that includes a graphical representation of a vehicle, such as an airplane, and content relevant to a location of the vehicle as the vehicle is in transit. An in-route entertainment server that serves the moving map may be onboard the vehicle or offboard the vehicle. The moving map may display the current location of the vehicle displayed by modifying a delayed location of the vehicle to account for a speed, a heading, and an amount of delay. Content items may be included on the moving map if they are within a bounded region around the location of the vehicle or in the vehicle. Content items may also be included if they are associated with a region that overlaps the bounded region. The bounded region changes as the vehicle moves in transit.”
US-20200410607-A1 (2020-12-31) | “A pilot information portal enables airline passengers to view airline pilots operating their flight and leave comments relating to their pilot and their flight experience. The pilot information portal includes pilot avatars corresponding to each pilot that may be viewed by portal users and may be presented specifically to airline passengers when they book a flight piloted by the corresponding pilot. Each pilot avatar may display biographical information, credentials, flight history, and one or more photographs of the pilot. Portal users may view information and interact via a user interface which, in addition to displaying pilot data, may also display flight or ticket data, and provide a digital network which enables the user to post and browse comments associated with their pilot.”
US-20220301443-A1 (2022-09-22) | “Aircraft display systems and methods. Flight data is received from a Flight Management System (FMS) or other flight data source. A map display is generated based on the flight data including a depiction of a flight path and a plurality of waypoints or other fixes. A user selection of one of the waypoints or other fixes is received. An edit dialog box is generated. A value for a constraint or condition for the selected one of the waypoints or fixes is entered in the edit dialog box display by the user via a user interface device. The value for the constraint or condition is applied to the selected one of the waypoints or fixes via the FMS or other flight data source. The map display is generated including the depiction of the flight path and the plurality of waypoints or fixes. An icon is tagged to the selected one of the waypoints or fixes. The icon denotes an existence of the constraint or condition and a type of the constraint or condition. A constraint or condition dialog box is generated providing further information on the constraint or condition, in response to the user selecting the icon using the user interface device.”
Conclusion
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3666