DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 18-37 remain pending in the application.
Applicants amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 1/8/2026.
Applicants amendments to the claims have failed to overcome all of the rejections under 35 USC 112 previously set forth in the Non-final Office Action mailed 1/8/2026. Specifically, the 112 rejection of “the recessed surface” in claim 32 was not overcome.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/13/2026 and 2/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 32,
Line 3 recites “the recessed surface”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation in this claim. Claim 32 depends on claim 28. It is also unclear what structure the recessed surface is of. For examination purposes Examiner construes "the recessed surface" to be "a recessed surface".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20, 22-30, and 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karthikeyan (U.S. PG publication 20190247642) further in view of Burkholz (U.S. PG publication 20150306369) as evidenced by Utterberg (U.S. PG publication 20070093762).
In regard to claim 18,
Karthikeyan discloses an intravenous priming cap (see figure 3C, item 34; paragraph [0052]; Examiner notes item 34 is construed as a cap due to the presences of venting element 40 which is gas permeable but not blood permeable; paragraph [0048]) comprising:
a cover body (see figure 3C above) having a proximal end surface (see figure 3C above wherein the surface labeled is a surface of the proximal end of the cover body), a distal end (see figure 3C above), and an inner surface defining a connector cavity (see figure 3C above) extending into the cover body from the proximal end surface of the cover body toward the distal end of the cover body (see figure 3C above), wherein the connector cavity comprises a longitudinal connector cavity axis (see figure 3C above) extending from the proximal end surface of the cover body toward the distal end of the cover body (see figure 3C above), and a priming passage (see figure 3C above; paragraph [0052]; Examiner notes the passage is construed as a priming passage since air is able to be vented) that extends from within the connector cavity to outside the cover body (see figure 3C above).
Karthikeyan fails to disclose a coupling tab extending from an outer surface of the cover body, the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm and a second coupling arm, each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body, a base portion and a tip portion such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm, and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm.
Burkholz teaches a coupling tab (figure 3A and 3B, item 40; paragraph [0039]: wherein clip 40 comprises a pair of opposed arms) extending from an outer surface (figure 3A and 3B, item 18) of the cover body (see figure 3A and 3B wherein item 10 forms a cover body), the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm (see figure 3A above) and a second coupling arm (see figure 3A above), each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with the proximal end surface of the cover body (see figure 3A above), a base portion (see figure 3A below) and a tip portion (see figure 3A below) such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 3A below wherein the tubing passage is construed as the opening between the base portion of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm), and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 3A below wherein the slot is construed as the opening between the tip portion of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3A)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intravenous priming cap of Karthikeyan to include the coupling tab of Burkholz, as taught by Burkholz, for the purpose of preventing undesired contact of the cap with the floor or other undesirable surfaces (paragraph [0039] of Burkholz). Examiner notes incorporating the coupling tab of Burkhloz onto the intravenous priming cap of Karthikeyan would result in a coupling tab extending from an outer surface of the cover body, the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm and a second coupling arm, each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with the proximal end surface of the cover body, a base portion and a tip portion such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm, and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm.
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz is silent as to each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the proximal most end surface of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm on the cover body of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to be aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It is noted that a coupling tab having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body would still enable the cap to be attached to tubing to avoid contact of the cap with the floor or other undesirable surfaces as evidenced by Utterberg which supports that a coupling tab (figure 1, item 32) having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body (see cover body formed by item 11; see figure 1-3) enables the cap to be attached to tubing (see figure 3).
Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to include each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body since applicant has not disclosed that having each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
In regard to claim 19,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise an inner surface facing the other of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 3A of Burkholz above), and wherein the tubing passage and the slot are defined between the inner surface of the first coupling arm and the inner surface of the second coupling arm (see figure 3A of Burkholz above and analysis of claim 18 above).
In regard to claim 20,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein an inner surface of the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm is spaced apart by a first distance (see figure 3A of Burkholz above and figure 3B of Burkholz), and an inner surface of the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm is spaced apart by a second distance (see figure 3A of Burkholz above and figure 3B of Burkholz), and wherein the first distance is less than the second distance (see figure 3A of Burkholz above and figure 3B of Burkholz).
In regard to claim 22,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a wall that extends above a recessed surface (see figure 3C of Karthikeyan, wherein the recessed surface is construed as a surface of the cap which forms an opening and has threads 46; see figure 3A of Burkholz where each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a wall that extends above the recessed surface which forms opening 12) .
In regard to claim 23,
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3A)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein the tip portion of the first coupling arm or the second coupling arm extends inward toward the other of the first coupling arm or the second coupling arm (see figure 3A of Burkholz above).
In regard to claim 24,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein the cover body comprises any of a rib (figure 3B, item 52 of Karthikeyan) and a channel (channel in-between ribs 52 of Karthikeyan) extending along the outer surface of the cover body (see figure 3B of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 25,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, further comprising a hydrophobic filter (figure 3C, item 40 of Karthikeyan; see paragraph [0056] of Karthikeyan) positioned along the priming passage (see figure 3C of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 26,
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3A)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm extends from the outer surface of the cover body in a first direction that is transverse to the longitudinal connector cavity axis (see figure 3A above of Burkholz).
In regard to claim 27,
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3A)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 26, wherein the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm extends from the base portion in a second direction that is different than the first direction (see figure 3A above of Burkholz).
In regard to claim 28,
Karthikeyan discloses an intravenous administration set (figure 1, item 10, figure 2A, item 30 and figure 3C, item 34; Examiner notes the intravenous administration set includes tubing 16, y-adapter 30 and flow control plug 34; paragraph [0051]-[0052]) comprising:
an intravenous line (figure 1, item 16) and an intravenous priming cap (see figure 3C, item 34; paragraph [0052]; Examiner notes item 34 is construed as a cap due to the presence of venting element 40 which is gas permeable but not blood permeable; paragraph [0048]), the intravenous line comprising a distal end (see figure 1) and a fluid connector (figure 2A, item 30) configured to couple with the distal end of the intravenous line (Examiner notes “configured to couple with the distal end of the intravenous line” is a functional limitation. The y-adaptor 30 is fully capable due to its structure of coupling with tubing 16; see for example figure 1), and
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Proximal end surface of cover body)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Cover body)][AltContent: textbox (Priming passage)][AltContent: textbox (Longitudinal connector cavity axis)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Connector cavity)][AltContent: textbox (Distal end of cover body)][AltContent: ]
the intravenous priming cap configured to couple with the fluid connector (paragraph [0052]), the intravenous priming cap comprising a cover body (see figure 3C above), the cover body having a proximal end surface (see figure 3C above wherein the surface labeled is a surface of the proximal end of the cover body), a distal end (see figure 3C above), and an inner surface defining a connector cavity (see figure 3C above) extending into the cover body from the proximal end surface of the cover body toward the distal end of the cover body (see figure 3C above), wherein the connector cavity comprises a longitudinal connector cavity axis (see figure 3C above) extending from the proximal end surface of the cover body toward the distal end of the cover body (see figure 3C above), and a priming passage (see figure 3C above) that extends from within the connector cavity (see figure 3C above) to outside the cover body (see figure 3C above).
Karthikeyan fails to disclose a coupling tab and the coupling tab extending from an outer surface of the cover body, the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm and a second coupling arm, each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body, a base portion and a tip portion such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm, and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm.
Burkholz teaches a coupling tab (figure 3A and 3B, item 40; paragraph [0039]: wherein clip 40 comprises a pair of opposed arms) and the coupling tab extending from an outer surface (figure 3A and 3B, item 18) of the cover body (see figure 3A and 3B wherein item 10 forms a cover body), the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm (see figure 3A above) and a second coupling arm (see figure 3A above), each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with the proximal end surface of the cover body (see figure 3A above), a base portion (see figure 3A below) and a tip portion (see figure 3A below) such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 3A below wherein the tubing passage is construed as the opening between the base portion of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm), and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 3A below wherein the slot is construed as the opening between the tip portion of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 3A)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Base portion)][AltContent: textbox (Tip portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the intravenous priming cap of the intravenous administration set of Karthikeyan to include the coupling tab of Burkholz, as taught by Burkholz, for the purpose of preventing undesired contact of the cap with the floor or other undesirable surfaces (paragraph [0039] of Burkholz). Examiner notes incorporating the coupling tab of Burkhloz onto the intravenous priming cap of Karthikeyan would result in a coupling tab and the coupling tab extending from an outer surface of the cover body, the coupling tab comprising a first coupling arm and a second coupling arm, each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with the proximal end surface of the cover body, a base portion and a tip portion such that a tubing passage is formed between the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm, and a slot is formed between the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm.
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz is silent as to each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the proximal most end surface of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm on the cover body of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to be aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. It is noted that a coupling tab having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body would still enable the cap to be attached to tubing to avoid contact of the cap with the floor or other undesirable surfaces as evidenced by Utterberg which supports that a coupling tab (figure 1, item 32) having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body (see cover body formed by item 11; see figure 1-3) enables the cap to be attached to tubing (see figure 3).
Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to include each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body since applicant has not disclosed that having each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to the criticality of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
In regard to claim 29,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein the connector cavity is configured to receive the fluid connector therein (see figure 4A and 4C of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 30,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein the inner surface of the cover body comprises a ridge (figure 3C, item 46 of Karthikeyan) configured to engage against the fluid connector (paragraph [0059] of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 32,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a wall that extends above the recessed surface (see figure 3C of Karthikeyan, wherein the recessed surface is construed as a surface of the cap which forms an opening and has threads 46; see figure 3A of Burkholz where each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a wall that extends above the recessed surface which forms opening 12).
In regard to claim 33,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein the tip portion of the first coupling arm or the second coupling arm extends inward toward the other of the first coupling arm or the second coupling arm (see figure 3A of Burkholz above).
In regard to claim 34,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein the cover body comprises any of a rib (figure 3B, item 52 of Karthikeyan) and a channel (channel in-between ribs 52 of Karthikeyan) extending along the outer surface of the cover body (see figure 3B of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 35,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, further comprising a hydrophobic filter (figure 3C, item 40 of Karthikeyan; see paragraph [0056] of Karthikeyan) positioned along the priming passage (see figure 3C of Karthikeyan).
In regard to claim 36,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein the base portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm extends from the outer surface of the cover body in a first direction that is transverse to the longitudinal connector cavity axis (see figure 3A above of Burkholz).
In regard to claim 37,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 36, wherein the tip portion of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm extends from the base portion in a second direction that is different than the first direction (see figure 3A above of Burkholz).
Claims 21 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karthikeyan (U.S. PG publication 20190247642) in view of Burkholz (U.S. PG publication 20150306369) as evidenced by Utterberg (U.S. PG publication 20070093762). further in view of Peters (U.S. PG publication 20110319830).
In regard to claim 21,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous priming cap of Claim 18, wherein each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a distal end surface (see surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm at the distal end of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm).
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg is silent as to wherein the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a recessed surface.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal end surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal end surface)]
Peters teaches wherein the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 6 above) comprise a recessed surface (figure 6, item 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg to include a recessed surface and to modify the fluid connector of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg accordingly, as taught by Peters, for the purpose of inhibiting longitudinal movement when a medical article is secured (paragraph [0009] and [0136] of Peters).
In regard to claim 31,
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg teaches the intravenous administration set of Claim 28, wherein each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a distal end surface (see surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm at the distal end of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm).
Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg is silent as to wherein the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm comprise a recessed surface.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal end surface)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Distal end surface)]
Peters teaches wherein the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm (see figure 6 above) comprise a recessed surface (figure 6, item 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end surface of each of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg to include a recessed surface and to modify the fluid connector of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz as evidenced by Utterberg accordingly, as taught by Peters, for the purpose of inhibiting longitudinal movement when a medical article is secured (paragraph [0009] and [0136] of Peters).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in regard to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 that the claims were amended in the manner requested in the Office Action. The 112 rejection of “the recessed surface” in claim 32 was not addressed. As no specific arguments are included in regard to the 112 rejection of claim 32, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 remains.
On page 7 of the arguments Applicant refers to independent claim 1. As claim 1 has been canceled, Examiner is construing the arguments in regard to claim 1 to be arguments in regard to claim 18.
Applicant argues in regard to claim 18 and 28 that Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz fails to disclose the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm having a proximal most end surface aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body. As detailed above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the location of the proximal most end surface of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm on the cover body of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to be aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Applicant states “Further, the features of the present Application provide priming caps that can be coupled to an end of an IV tubing to resist contamination while permitting priming of the tubing, and where the priming cap and the coupling tab features provide controlled biasing of the coupling arms, reinforced coupling strength during attachment, and intuitive, guided engagement that promotes coaxial alignment of a longitudinal connector cavity axis with a longitudinal tubing axis during use. Additionally, the coupling arms simultaneously reinforce the coupling tab structure and guide alignment of the connector cavity axis with the tubing axis during coupling”. However, no benefit appears to be present for the specific claimed location of the proximal most end surface of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm. Further, relocating the proximal most end surface of the first coupling arm and the second coupling arm to be aligned with a proximal most end surface of the cover body would still enable the priming cap of Karthikeyan in view of Burkholz to prevent undesired contact of the cap with the floor or other undesirable surfaces as evidenced by Utterberg as detailed above.
Applicant argues the dependent claims are allowable for similar reasons as the independent claims. See response to arguments above in regard to the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA LALONDE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/KEVIN C SIRMONS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783