DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to Applicants' response filed on 06/15/26. Claims 1, 3-37 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Applicant respectfully disagrees at least because, as shown in the cited FIG. 4 of Huang (reproduced below), in Huang, (1) "DC/DC converter 108" has a rectifier circuit (circled) formed by switching devices 512-518 on the secondary side of transformer 510, but no terminal (e.g., terminal C or D) of that rectifier circuit is coupled to switches 304-310; (2) terminals A and B (allegedly corresponding to the first and second rectifier terminals coupled to the switches) are terminals of DC/DC converter 108, rather than rectifier terminals as mapped by the Office; (3) the mapping of the "rectifier circuit of 108" "magnetically coupled to dc terminals" "between the first and second rectifier terminals" to "a rectifier circuit coupled between the first and second rectifier terminals" by the Office is confusing and beyond broadest reasonable interpretation; and (4) the Office appears to map terminals C and D to both the input terminals of the rectifier circuit that are coupled to the secondary side terminals of transformer 510 and the first and second rectifier terminals that are alleged to be magnetically coupled to switches 304-310. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the mapping and characterization of Huang by the Office are confusing and incorrect, and Huang fails to teach "a first switch coupled between a first power terminal and a first rectifier terminal ...; a second switch coupled between the first rectifier terminal and a second power terminal ...; a third switch coupled between the second power terminal and a second rectifier terminal ...; a fourth switch coupled between the second rectifier terminal and a reference terminal ...; and a rectifier circuit coupled between the first and second rectifier terminals, the rectifier circuit having inputs coupled to secondary side terminals" as recited in claim 23. For at least these reasons, claim 23 is patentable over Huang. Other references cited in the Office Action are not alleged to, and indeed do not, teach or suggest the above-discussed features of claim 23, and thus fail to cure the deficiencies of Huang with respect to claim 23. Therefore, claim 23 is patentable over the references cited in the Office Action. Should the Office disagree, Applicant respectfully requests that the Office clearly map the first rectifier terminal, the second rectifier terminal, and the second side terminals of claim 23 to the references.
Examiner respectively disagrees: The interpretation use by examiner follows applicant’s own definition of “coupled” per paragraphs 180-181 of applicant’s specification. The definition never clarifies the number of intervening elements that can be between any specific elements or any other means of connection, thus, when claiming “coupled between” any elements can be map to be placed between other elements. As shown by applicant replicated drawings using terminals A,B item 306 is coupled between rectifier terminals since the upper terminal of 306 coupled to A and the lower terminal of 306 is coupled to B between switches. Leaving 306 in between terminals A and B. Item 306 can also be between C and D as it is magnetically coupled between C and D. This interpretation can be applied to all the elements recited in the claim when they are claiming “coupled between” any specific terminals.
Applicant argues claim 34 and 36:
Huang teaches sensors 124, but nowhere does Huang teach or suggest "determining a voltage at the second power terminal" using a sensor 124, much less teaching or suggesting "responsive to the voltage being above a threshold, and after the first interval ends, switching from the first mode to a second mode." Regarding the cited act 610, Huang discloses:
[0090] At act 610, the controller 112 determines whether the positive half- cycle of the output AC waveform is complete. For example, the controller 112 may determine if half a period of the output AC waveform has elapsed since beginning to provide the negative half-cycle of the output AC waveform at act 602. If the positive half-cycle of the output AC waveform is not complete (610 NO), the process 600 returns to act 606. Acts 606-610 are repeated until a determination is made that the positive half-cycle of the output AC waveform is complete (610 YES), at which point the process 600 continues to act 612.
Act 604 is not described as being repeated at least because the controller 112 may control the inverter switching devices 304, 308 to remain closed as acts 606-610 are repeatedly executed, that is, the inverter switching devices 304, 308 need not be closed again while acts 606-610 are repeatedly executed.
(Emphases added).
As cited above, Huang determines "if half a period of the output AC waveform has elapse," but nowhere does Huang teach or suggest "responsive to the voltage being above a threshold, AND after the first interval ends, switching from the first mode to a second mode" as recited in claim 34. For at least these reasons, claim 34 is patentable over Huang.
Other references cited in the Office Action are not alleged to, and indeed do not, teach or suggest the above-discussed features of claim 34, and thus fail to cure the deficiencies of Huang with respect to claim 34.
Office Action at pp. 6-7. Applicant respectfully disagrees at least because (1) the cited portions of Huang describe operations of a DC/AC inverter 114, rather than operations of a rectifier circuit; and (2) nowhere does Huang teach or suggest "while in the first mode, determining a voltage at the second power terminal; and responsive to the voltage being below a threshold, switching from the first mode to a second mode," as discussed above with respect to claim 34. For at least these reasons, claim 36 is patentable over Huang.
Examiner respectively disagrees: See paragraphs 42-43, these disclose that the sensor is configured to sense parameters of the input voltage which are then fed to the controller in order to drive the steps provided in 600. Claim recites that modes are driven when a voltage is above a specific threshold, as shown by paragraph 43 of Huang, the function of the sensor is to provide the controller that the parameters meet specific values or outside acceptable voltage value and, thus, is the same as when the voltage is above a threshold or below a threshold the controller adjust accordingly the steps indicated in 600.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 23, 25, 34-37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 20240063722 A1)
Regarding claim 23. Huang teaches an apparatus [fig 5, coupled is interpreted as connected between intervening elements] comprising: a first switch [304] coupled between a first power terminal [106a] and a first rectifier terminal [see 106a rectifier terminal from AC voltage of 104], the first switch having a first switch control input;
a second switch [306] coupled between the first rectifier terminal and a second power terminal [106b], the second switch having a second switch control input;
a third switch [310] coupled between the second power terminal and a second rectifier terminal [see cathode of 310], the third switch having a third switch control input;
a fourth switch [308] coupled between the second rectifier terminal and a reference terminal [524], the fourth switch having a fourth switch control input;
and a rectifier circuit [rectifier circuit of 108] coupled [magnetically coupled to dc terminals] between the first and second rectifier terminals, the rectifier circuit having inputs coupled to secondary side terminals [i.e. magnetically coupled to secondary side of 510].
Regarding claim 25. Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the reference terminal is a first reference terminal [i.e. 524], wherein the apparatus further comprises: a fifth switch [500] coupled between a third power terminal [i.e. left terminal of L1] and a first inverter terminal [i.e. upper terminal of 312], the fifth switch having a fifth switch control input;
a sixth switch [504] coupled between the first inverter terminal and a fourth power terminal [upper terminal of 506], the sixth switch having a sixth switch control input;
a seventh switch [506] coupled between the fourth power terminal and a second inverter terminal [lower terminal 312], the seventh switch having a seventh switch control input;
an eighth switch [502] coupled between the second inverter terminal and a second reference terminal [left terminal of 520], the eighth switch having an eighth switch control input;
and an inverter circuit [inverter of 108] coupled between first and second inverter terminals, the inverter circuit having outputs coupled to primary side terminals.
Regarding claim 34. Huang teaches a method [method of fig 1, coupled is interpreted as connected between intervening elements] comprising: in a first mode [fig 6, 1st mode being operating positive half cycle of output AC waveform], connecting first and second inverter terminals of a primary side inverter to, respectively, a first power terminal and a second power terminal [dc terminals];
while in the first mode, switching the primary side inverter to transfer power from a primary side to a secondary side within a first interval [¶ 72-73];
determining a voltage [function of sensor] at the second power terminal;
responsive to the voltage being above a threshold [610 completion], and after the first interval ends, switching from the first mode to a second mode [fig 6, 2nd mode being operating negative half cycle of output AC waveform], in which in the second mode, connecting the first and second inverter terminals to, respectively, the second power terminal and a reference terminal [524 inverter in both modes is coupled to 524];
and while in the second mode, switching the primary side inverter to transfer power from a primary side to a secondary side [function of 510] within a second interval [negative AC half wave cycle].
Regarding claim 35. Huang teaches the method of claim 34, wherein the threshold is a first threshold, and the method further comprises: determining the voltage at the second power terminal [function of sensor];
and responsive to the voltage being below a second threshold, and after the second interval ends, switching from the second mode back to the first mode [i.e. terminal indicating YES of 620 in fig6].
Regarding claim 36. Huang teaches a method [method of fig 1, coupled is interpreted as connected between intervening elements] comprising: in a first mode [fig 6, 1st mode being operating positive half cycle of output AC waveform], connecting first and second rectifier terminals [upper lower terminals of 312] of a second side rectifier to, respectively, a first power terminal and a second power terminal [dc terminals];
while in the first mode, determining a voltage [124] at the second power terminal;
and responsive to the voltage being below [610 YES branch] a threshold [i.e. below positive threshold], switching from the first mode to a second mode [fig 6, 2nd mode being operating negative half cycle of output AC waveform], in which in the second mode, connecting the first and second rectifier terminals to, respectively, the second power terminal and a reference terminal [524].
Regarding claim 37. Huang teaches the method of claim 36, wherein the threshold is a first threshold, and the method further comprises: determining the voltage at the second power terminal;
and responsive to the voltage being below a second threshold [negative AC value still below 0 volts threshold to begin 602], switching from the second mode back to the first mode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24 and 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Claims 1, 3-22 and 27-33 are allowed.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838