DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to applicant’s RCE filed 3/9/2026, claims 1-21 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-18, and 20-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton et al. (US 11,666,817) in view of Aloisio et al. (US 11,887,505) and Nealon et al. (US 2014/0024009).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Morton discloses a system for education comprising the presentation of disparate training topics associated with corresponding learning objectives, selection of topics by a first user to assess an understanding of a second user of the learning objectives, and generating and render an interactive 3D learning experience for the second user. See col. 6: 1-11, col. 6: 27-46. Morton discloses AI characters. See col. 7: 56-57. Morton does not explicitly teach of multiple topics with separate learning objectives, but this is well-established with regard to training systems, as is disclosed by the training system of Aloisio in col. 1: 33-37 and col. 18: 22-34. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicants filing, to consider this with the Morton system, in order to provide various training scenarios.
Morton does not disclose scoring the user interactions, wherein the scores correspond to a proficiency of the understanding of the learning objectives, and wherein alternate interactions are provided when the user doesn’t satisfy the score threshold. However, such remediation is well-established with regard to education systems, as is disclosed by the system of Nealon in paragraphs 0104-0105. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Morton system, so as to provide various training scenarios.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Morton discloses wherein the content is adapted based upon user interaction (i.e. the second student user). See col. 12: 23-26.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 13-14, Morton discloses wherein the system determines if the student user has a satisfactory understanding of the material based upon the user interaction with the environment including scores for the learning objectives. See col. 7: 23-30.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 15-16, Morton discloses wherein the environment is adapted by the first user (i.e. teacher) in the event the student did not satisfactorily understand the material. See col. 17: 1-4.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Morton discloses tracking a plurality of users to determine efficacy. See col. 7: 22-27.
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Morton discloses a wearable heartrate sensor for determining a characteristic of the student user, and modifying the presented content based thereon. See col. 12: 45-53.
Regarding claim 21, Aloisio teaches of multiple topics as desired in col. 1: 33-37, which would encompass the topics of claim 21. Multiple topics would be obvious as described above with regard to claim 1.
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morton et al. (US 11,666,817) in view of Aloisio et al. (US 11,887,505) and Nealon et al. (US 2014/0024009) and also Abecassis et al. (US 11,684,821).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 19, Morton discloses sensors for data as described above with regard to claim 8, but does not disclose a wearable heartrate sensor. However, this is established with regard to training systems, as is disclosed by the training system of Abecassis in col. 7: 11-19. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Morton system, in order to provide various scenarios.
Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments and remarks dated 3/9/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715