Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “providing a crude methanol stream comprising at least 100 ppmw of carbon oxide or at least 100 ppmw C₂⁺ oxygenates” and “charging said crude methanol stream to an MTO reactor.” Claim 9 further recites “separating aqueous oxygenates from said crude methanol stream … before charging said crude methanol stream to said MTO reactor,” and claim 10 recites stripping oxygenates from “said product water stream and said aqueous oxygenate stream,” implying removal of oxygenates prior to charging the MTO reactor. These recitations render it unclear whether the crude methanol stream as charged to the MTO reactor must still comprise the recited oxygenates/carbon oxide, or whether such components are removed upstream. Accordingly, the scope of the claims is not reasonably certain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vora et al. (US 5,714,662).
Vora teaches converting a carbon-oxide-containing synthesis gas to produce a crude oxygenate (crude methanol) stream comprising methanol together with water and oxygenated impurities (Vora, col. 6, l. 33–67; col. 7, l. 1–23; col. 10, l. 33–58; col. 11, l. 1–22). Vora further teaches charging at least a portion of the crude oxygenate stream to an oxygenate-to-olefin (MTO) conversion zone to produce a light olefin effluent (Vora, col. 12, l. 3–55; Figs. 2–3). Vora also expressly teaches converting carbon oxide to the crude methanol stream upstream of the MTO reactor (Vora, col. 6, l. 33–67; col. 7, l. 1–23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vora et al. (US 5,714,662) in view of EP 0088494 A1 and CN 101903311 A.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 15
Vora teaches producing an MTO effluent comprising olefins and water (Vora, col. 12, l. 26–55).
EP ’494 teaches cooling/condensing the MTO effluent to form three phases: an aqueous phase containing unreacted methanol, a liquid hydrocarbon phase containing C₅⁺ hydrocarbons, and a gaseous phase containing light olefins and unreacted DME (EP ’494, ¶[0035], ¶[0040], ¶[0045]; Figs. 1 and 7).
CN ’311 similarly teaches quenching conversion effluents to form vapor and aqueous streams containing oxygenates (CN ’311: first conversion effluent 30 → separator 32 → streams 34/36; second conversion effluent 42 → separator 44 → streams 46/48).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Vora by separating the MTO effluent into a product olefin stream and an aqueous/product water stream and to strip oxygenates from product water and aqueous stream as suggested by EP’949 and CN’311 to produce desirable products.
Regarding claims 7-9, 11, and 16
EP ’494 teaches treating the aqueous phase obtained after condensation by steam stripping/evaporation/distillation to recover methanol/DME and to produce a substantially clean water stream (EP ’494, ¶[0046], ¶[0073]). EP ’494 further teaches absorbing DME from the gaseous phase using water or methanol followed by desorption (EP ’494, ¶[0040]–¶[0041], ¶[0047], ¶[0075]–¶[0076]).
CN ’311 teaches combining multiple aqueous oxygenate streams and stripping them in a stripping tower to recover oxygenates overhead and clean water bottoms (CN ’311, stripping tower 62, streams 60/64/68).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Vora by separating aqueous oxygenates prior to MTO charging and the stripping of oxygenates from product water and aqueous streams to improve operability and by-product management of Vora’s integrated MTO process.
Regarding claims 12-14 and 19-20,
Vora teaches light-ends removal/topping of crude methanol to separate light gases from oxygenated methanol streams (Vora, col. 10, l. 33–58; col. 11, l. 1–22; Fig. 1).
EP ’494 teaches charging methanol (optionally vaporized) to dehydration and MTO conversion with recovery and recycle of unreacted oxygenates (EP ’494, ¶[0014], ¶[0016], ¶[0022]–¶[0023], ¶[0035], ¶[0045]–¶[0047]; Figs. 1 and 7).
CN ’311 teaches separating methanol from syngas-derived oxygenates (separator 22, streams 24/26), vaporizing methanol, and charging it to conversion reactors (CN ’311).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Vora by separating light gases, forming oxygenated methanol streams, and charging methanol/vaporous methanol to an MTO reactor as suggested by CN’311 and EP’494 to produce desirable products.
Claims 4-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over references as applied to claims 1-3, 7-11 and 14 above, and further in view of Rosen et al. (US 7,470,412 B2).
The references applied to claims 1-3, 7-11 and 14 teach forming an oxygenate-containing by-product stream in an MTO process.
Rosen teaches combusting an auxiliary fuel in a CO combustor/CO boiler that receives regenerator flue gas, wherein combustion air and a combustible fuel are supplied to burners to form a flame zone through which the flue gas passes (Rosen, col. 1, l. 33–43; col. 3, l. 7–13; col. 4, l. 3–8). Rosen further teaches that the auxiliary fuel may be any suitable combustible fluid, including liquid fuels (Rosen, col. 4, l. 40–47).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Vora by combusting the oxygenate-containing stream as the auxiliary fuel in the CO boiler as suggested by Rosen to recover heating value and reduce external fuel demand.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771