DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Application filed on 5/2/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 15-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 8-9, 10-11, 14-16 of co-pending Application No. 18/642662 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-4, 8-9, 10-11, 14-16 of co-pending Application No. 18/642662 contain elements of claims 1-2, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 15-16 of the instant application.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Instant Application 18/653899
Co-Pending Application 18/642662
1, 10, 15 A method implemented in a communication network to provide a contextual user interface to a client, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a controller application implemented at a system in the communication network, from a client, a request for a page to be displayed at the client, wherein the request comprises an
identifier of the client;
determining, by the controller application, content to display in the contextual user interface based on the page indicated in the request, wherein the content includes a first plurality of cards of a first quantity;
identifying, by the controller application, a segment associated with the client, wherein the segment comprises a grouping of a plurality of different clients based on a shared characteristic between the plurality of different clients;
identifying, by the controller application, a rule for displaying at least a portion of the content at the client, wherein the rule indicates one or more conditions for the portion of content to be included in the contextual user interface;
filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity;
determining, by the controller application, one or more dynamic attributes that are to be obtained from one or more external sources in the communication network based on metadata of the second plurality of cards;
receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in a single pass; and
transmitting, by the controller application, rendering parameters to the client for the client to render the contextual user interface based on the rendering parameters, wherein the rendering parameters indicate the filtered content and the one or more dynamic attributes.
1, 10, 15. A method implemented in a communication network to provide a contextual user interface to a client, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a controller application implemented at a system in the communication network, from a client, a request for a page to be displayed at the client, wherein the request comprises an
identifier of the client;
determining, by the controller application, content to display in the contextual user interface based on the page indicated in the request, wherein the content comprises one or more cards;
obtaining, by the controller application, the content from a content server in the communication network based on at least one of a segment associated with the client or a rule applicable to the client, wherein the segment indicates a categorical grouping of the client, and wherein the rule indicates one or more conditions for displaying a card;
generating, by the controller application, initial parameters for presenting the content in the contextual user interface, wherein the initial parameters indicate a layout for presenting the one or more cards and one or more visual elements associated with the one or more cards;
transmitting, by the controller application, the content and the initial parameters for the contextual user interface to the client for the client to initiate rendering of the contextual user interface using the content and the initial parameters;
obtaining, by the controller application, from one or more external sources in the communication network, one or more dynamic attributes to be added to the content;
generating, by the controller application, rendering parameters for the contextual user interface based on the dynamic attributes, wherein the rendering parameters are associated with presenting the dynamic attributes in the one or more cards; and
transmitting, by the controller application, the rendering parameters and the dynamic attributes to the client for the client to complete rendering of the contextual user interface based on the rendering parameters with the dynamic attributes.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the page is at least one of a webpage or application to be displayed at the client, and wherein determining the content to display in the contextual user interface is further based on the at least one of the webpages or the application.
2, 11,16. The method of claim 1, wherein the contextual user interface is associated with at least one of a webpage or application to be displayed at the client, and wherein determining the content to display in the contextual user interface is further based on the at least one of the webpages or the application.
11, 16. The method of claim 10, wherein the segment includes a plurality of clients categorically grouped together.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising storing, at a data store in a server implemented in the communication network, the segment and the rule, wherein the segment includes a plurality of identifiers of a plurality of clients categorically grouped together.
6, 14. The method of claim 1, wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the rule comprises: determining, by the controller application, one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a rule applicable to the one or more cards, wherein the rule comprises a condition that is to be satisfied for the one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface; and selecting, by the controller application, the one or more cards to include in the contextual user interface when the condition is satisfied.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the one or more conditions of the rule, when satisfied, indicates that the card is to be included in the contextual user interface.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein at least one of a size, color, or positioning of each of the second plurality of cards is based on the priority of each of the second plurality of cards.
8,14. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more visual elements associated with the one or more cards comprise at least one of a size, shape, or color of the one or more cards.
Claims 1, 10, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, and 15 of Co-Pending Application 18/642662 in view of Plasmeier et al. (US 20170177582 A1, hereinafter Plasmeier).
In regards to independent claim 1, as shown above claim 1 of the co-pending application teaches every element of claim 1 of the instant application except - “filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity”.
Plasmeier teaches filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity (“A Ranker 206 may receive, obtain, or retrieve cards provided by one or more of the Card Providers 208-1, 208-2 . . . 208-n (e.g., via a card cache). The Ranker 206 may select and rank a set of the cards that are pertinent to client device(s) based, at least in part, on a set of characteristics associated with the client device(s) or associated user(s). The set of characteristics may include contextual data and/or other profile characteristics.” Paragraph 0059, 0105-0106).
It would have been obvious to modify the co-pending application claimed invention to include the teaching of Plasmeier. Motivation to do so would be to provide relevant information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azmoon et al. (US 20220091726 A1, hereinafter Azmoon) in view of Plasmeier et al. (US 20170177582 A1, hereinafter Plasmeier) and Mecca (US 12153552 B1).
As to independent claim 1, Azmoon teaches a method implemented in a communication network to provide a contextual user interface to a client (“FIG. 6 illustrates a message flow diagram of operations related to generating user-specific graphical user interfaces.” Paragraph 0120), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a controller application implemented at a system in the communication network, from a client, a request for a page to be displayed at the client, wherein the request comprises an identifier of the client (“Client device 602 may, for example, be disposed within managed network 300. Client device 602 may be configured to receive user input associated with a user identifier, as indicate by block 606.” Paragraph 0121-0123);
determining, by the controller application, content to display in the contextual user interface based on the page indicated in the request, wherein the content includes a first plurality of cards of a first quantity (“Based on or in response to reception of the request at arrow 608, server application 600 may be configured to transmit, to persistent storage 604, a request for a framework definition, as indicate by arrow 610. The framework definition may specify a first plurality of predetermined components of the GUI, as well as a layout of the first plurality of predetermined components within the GUI.” Paragraph 0124, “component is to be displayed as a card, a list, a graph, a table, a text field, a modal window, and/or an overlay, among other possibilities.” Paragraph 0150);
identifying, by the controller application, a segment associated with the client, wherein the segment comprises a grouping of a plurality of different clients based on a shared characteristic between the plurality of different clients (“Group component attributes 722 may include one or more attributes of one or more components generated in connection with one or more other user identifiers belonging to a same group as the user identifier associated with user attributes 704…The particular user may be assigned to a group based on, for example, role(s) 710 and/or geographic region(s) 712, among other possibilities” Paragraph 0148).
Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach identifying, by the controller application, a rule for displaying at least a portion of the content at the client, wherein the rule indicates one or more conditions for the portion of content to be included in the contextual user interface;
filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity;
determining, by the controller application, one or more dynamic attributes that are to be obtained from one or more external sources in the communication network based on metadata of the second plurality of cards;
receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in a single pass;
transmitting, by the controller application, rendering parameters to the client for the client to render the contextual user interface based on the rendering parameters, wherein the rendering parameters indicate the filtered content and the one or more dynamic attributes.
Plasmeir teaches identifying, by the controller application, a rule for displaying at least a portion of the content at the client, wherein the rule indicates one or more conditions for the portion of content to be included in the contextual user interface (“In addition, the selection and/or ranking may be performed based, at least in part, on additional information pertaining to the client device and/or other client devices. This additional information may include, but is not limited to, historical information, user profile(s), metadata associated with cards, trustworthiness of the Card Providers.” paragraph 0106);
filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity (“A Ranker 206 may receive, obtain, or retrieve cards provided by one or more of the Card Providers 208-1, 208-2 . . . 208-n (e.g., via a card cache). The Ranker 206 may select and rank a set of the cards that are pertinent to client device(s) based, at least in part, on a set of characteristics associated with the client device(s) or associated user(s). The set of characteristics may include contextual data and/or other profile characteristics.” Paragraph 0059, 0105-0106);
transmitting, by the controller application, rendering parameters to the client for the client to render the contextual user interface based on the rendering parameters, wherein the rendering parameters indicate the filtered content and the one or more dynamic attributes (“A Ranker 206 may receive, obtain, or retrieve cards provided by one or more of the Card Providers 208-1, 208-2 . . . 208-n (e.g., via a card cache). The Ranker 206 may select and rank a set of the cards that are pertinent to client device(s) based, at least in part, on a set of characteristics associated with the client device(s) or associated user(s). The set of characteristics may include contextual data and/or other profile characteristics.” Paragraph 0059, “More particularly, the cards may be generated by the Card Providers, which may be implemented via the server(s) 102 and/or one or more external third-party server(s) 103. A third-party server may be associated with a third-party system (e.g., web site).” Paragraph 0030).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise identifying, by the controller application, a rule for displaying at least a portion of the content at the client, wherein the rule indicates one or more conditions for the portion of content to be included in the contextual user interface; filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain filtered content based on at least one of the segments or the rule, wherein the filtered content includes a second plurality of cards of a second quantity, wherein the first quantity is greater than the second quantity; and transmitting, by the controller application, rendering parameters to the client for the client to render the contextual user interface based on the rendering parameters, wherein the rendering parameters indicate the filtered content and the one or more dynamic attributes. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide relevant information.
Mecca teaches determining, by the controller application, one or more dynamic attributes that are to be obtained from one or more external sources in the communication network based on metadata of the second plurality of cards (“FIG. 1, system 100 containing instructions configuring the at least a processor to detect, at one remote web page of the plurality of remote web pages 120, a data structure change 144. As used in this disclosure, a “data structure change” refers to any modification, update, or alteration in the content or format of data presented on a web page. The data structure change 144 may include changes in text, updates to images or videos, addition or removal of links, modifications in metadata, or alterations in data presentation formats like tables or graphs.” Col. 21 lines 30-39);
receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in a single pass (“To ensure comprehensive coverage, processor 104 may employ heuristic algorithms to determine the relevance of data on remote web pages 120, based on criteria such as content similarity, metadata analysis, and contextual relevance to unified display subject 112. The system may also use API integrations where available, allowing for more direct and structured data retrieval from third-party sources 116. Further, advanced filtering mechanisms may be applied by processor 104 to refine the collected data. Refine includes removing redundant or irrelevant information and categorizing the data for efficient aggregation.” Col. 10 lines 32-43).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise determining, by the controller application, one or more dynamic attributes that are to be obtained from one or more external sources in the communication network based on metadata of the second plurality of cards; receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in a single pass. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to efficiently and accurately exchange information.
As to dependent claim 2, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon further teaches wherein the page is at least one of a webpage or application to be displayed at the client (“As mentioned above, pages (e.g., webpages on a browser or pages of an application) may include a user interface with multiple components that may be displayed on a screen of a client (e.g., an electronic device).” paragraph 0018) , and wherein determining the content to display in the contextual user interface is further based on the at least one of the webpages or the application (“FIG. 6 illustrates a message flow diagram of operations related to generating user-specific graphical user interfaces.” Paragraph 0120).
As to dependent claim 3, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon further teaches wherein the content comprises a card, wherein the card comprises an identifier of the segment, wherein user data associated with the client also comprises the identifier of the segment (“ Group component attributes 722 may include one or more attributes of one or more components generated in connection with one or more other user identifiers belonging to a same group as the user identifier associated with user attributes 704. Specifically, user attributes 704 may be associated with a particular user for which the GUI is being generated, while group component attributes 722 may be associated with other users that are similar to the particular user. Group component attributes 722 may indicate the components that the similar users are provided with and/or using, the components' positions within the respective GUIs, and the component's visual formats, among other attributes.” Paragraph 0148).
As to dependent claim 4, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein the second plurality of cards in the filtered content comprises a first card and a second card, wherein the first card and the second card both include a common dynamic attribute for the client, and wherein receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in the single pass comprises receiving, by the controller application, the common dynamic attribute from a single external source at one time, such that the common dynamic attribute is used for both the first card and the second card.
Mecca teaches wherein the first card and the second card both include a common dynamic attribute for the client, and wherein receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in the single pass comprises receiving, by the controller application, the common dynamic attribute from a single external source at one time, such that the common dynamic attribute is used for both the first card and the second card (“To ensure comprehensive coverage, processor 104 may employ heuristic algorithms to determine the relevance of data on remote web pages 120, based on criteria such as content similarity, metadata analysis, and contextual relevance to unified display subject 112. The system may also use API integrations where available, allowing for more direct and structured data retrieval from third-party sources 116. Further, advanced filtering mechanisms may be applied by processor 104 to refine the collected data. Refine includes removing redundant or irrelevant information and categorizing the data for efficient aggregation.” Col. 10 lines 32-43).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein the second plurality of cards in the filtered content comprises a first card and a second card, wherein the first card and the second card both include a common dynamic attribute for the client, and wherein receiving, by the controller application, the one or more dynamic attributes from the one or more external sources in the single pass comprises receiving, by the controller application, the common dynamic attribute from a single external source at one time, such that the common dynamic attribute is used for both the first card and the second card. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to efficiently and accurately exchange information.
As to dependent claim 7, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach the method further comprising determining, by the controller application, a layout of the second plurality of cards in the contextual user interface based on a priority of each of the second plurality of cards.
Plasmeier teaches determining, by the controller application, a layout of the second plurality of cards in the contextual user interface based on a priority of each of the second plurality of cards (“The Ranker 216 may also determine the order in which the cards are to be displayed via the client device 211. For example, the Ranker 216 may rank a plurality of cards and select the top N ranked cards to display via the client device. In this manner, the Ranker 216 may rank the cards that are to be displayed via the client device.” paragraph 0094).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise determining, by the controller application, a layout of the second plurality of cards in the contextual user interface based on a priority of each of the second plurality of cards. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide relevant content.
As to dependent claim 8, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 7, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein at least one of a size, color, or positioning of each of the second plurality of cards is based on the priority of each of the second plurality of cards.
Plasmeier teaches wherein at least one of a size, color, or positioning of each of the second plurality of cards is based on the priority of each of the second plurality of cards (“The Ranker 216 may also determine the order in which the cards are to be displayed via the client device 211. For example, the Ranker 216 may rank a plurality of cards and select the top N ranked cards to display via the client device. In this manner, the Ranker 216 may rank the cards that are to be displayed via the client device.” paragraph 0094).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein at least one of a size, color, or positioning of each of the second plurality of cards is based on the priority of each of the second plurality of cards. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to efficiently and accurately exchange information.
As to dependent claim 9, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 7, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein the priority of each of the second plurality of cards is included in the metadata of each of the second plurality of cards.
Plasmeier teaches wherein the priority of each of the second plurality of cards is included in the metadata of each of the second plurality of cards (“the metadata may indicate context(s) that are relevant to the card or module(s) within the card. As another example, the metadata may include a ranking guidance.” Paragraph 0103).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein the priority of each of the second plurality of cards is included in the metadata of each of the second plurality of cards. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to efficiently and accurately exchange information.
Claims 10, 12, 15, 17-20 are substantially the same as claims 1,4, 12, and 14 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5-6, 11, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azmoon et al. in view of Plasmeier et al., Mecca, and Alsina et al. (US 20150348102 A1, hereinafter Alsina).
As to dependent claim 5, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the segment comprises:
determining, by the controller application, one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a segment identified in the one or more cards; and
selecting, by the controller application, the one or more cards to include in the contextual user interface.
Alsina teaches determining, by the controller application, one or more contents to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a segment identified in the one or more contents; and selecting, by the controller application, the one or more contents to include in the contextual user interface (“The content-listing functions can identify and/or select specific items to include in a list of items from one or more master lists of items or databases. For example, the content-listing functions can access a database containing all content items and search or filter the content items based on a determined geofence or user segment to identify and/or select those content items associated with a specific segment and geographic area or perimeter specified in the geofence. The content items in the master list or database can include associations with specific businesses, people, locales, entities, or locations to enable the content-listing functions to identify content items having specific associations. In some configurations, the content items can include metadata defining their respective associations to enable the content-listing functions to search and identify content items having specific associations,” paragraph 0064).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the segment comprises: determining, by the controller application, one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a segment identified in the one or more cards; and selecting, by the controller application, the one or more cards to include in the contextual user interface. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide relevant content.
As to dependent claim 6, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 1, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the rule comprises:
determining, by the controller application, one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a rule applicable to the one or more cards, wherein the rule comprises a condition that is to be satisfied for the one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface; and
selecting, by the controller application, the one or more cards to include in the contextual user interface when the condition is satisfied.
Alsina teaches wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the rule comprises:
determining, by the controller application, one or more contents to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a rule applicable to the one or more contents, wherein the rule comprises a condition that is to be satisfied for the one or more contents to be included in the contextual user interface; and selecting, by the controller application, the one or more contents to include in the contextual user interface when the condition is satisfied (“The content-listing functions can identify and/or select specific items to include in a list of items from one or more master lists of items or databases. For example, the content-listing functions can access a database containing all content items and search or filter the content items based on a determined geofence or user segment to identify and/or select those content items associated with a specific segment and geographic area or perimeter specified in the geofence. In some configurations, the content items can include metadata defining their respective associations to enable the content-listing functions to search and identify content items having specific associations,” paragraph 0064).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein filtering, by the controller application, the content to obtain the filtered content based on the rule comprises: determining, by the controller application, one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface for the client based on a rule applicable to the one or more cards, wherein the rule comprises a condition that is to be satisfied for the one or more cards to be included in the contextual user interface; and selecting, by the controller application, the one or more cards to include in the contextual user interface when the condition is satisfied. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide relevant content.
As to dependent claim 11, Azmoon teaches the method of claim 10, Azmoon does not appear to expressly teach wherein the segment includes a plurality of clients categorically grouped together.
Alsina teaches wherein the segment includes a plurality of clients categorically grouped together (“For example, the device 302 can analyze the purchasing history or habits of customers and group the customers into segments based on the purchasing information analyzed” Paragraph 0091, Fig. 4, illustrates example mapping 400 of segment identifiers for segment targeting, paragraph 0097).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Azmoon to comprise wherein the segment includes a plurality of clients categorically grouped together. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide relevant content.
Claims 13-14 and 16 is substantially the same as claim 5-6 and 11 and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kumar et al. US 9952738 B1 teaches a method includes determining a content type in response to a user accessing a webpage and further based on a user attribute. In some embodiments, the user attribute may be related to a business organization that the user belongs to. In some embodiments, the method may further include determining relevant content to be displayed based on the determined content type, and transmitting webpage data including the relevant content for rendering on a device as a graphical user interface (GUI). In some embodiments, a method comprises of receiving a request to create a dynamic content component and identifying content to be displayed therein. In some embodiments, the method may further comprises customizing a look and feel of the dynamic content component based on the user attributes, and generating a code to display the dynamic content component in response to the user accessing a webpage.
Garavent US 20110197124 A1 teaches a method and system for creating and managing dynamic content on a web page is provided. An application programming interface that interacts with a user's browser application is provided. The browser application comprises multiple document objects contained in a document object model. A user input triggers retrieval of one or more dynamic content objects on the web page. The application programming interface dynamically retrieves the dynamic content objects from local and/or remotely hosted memory locations. The application programming interface updates the document object model using the retrieved dynamic content objects. The retrieved dynamic content objects define the document objects in the document object model. The application programming interface dynamically renders the retrieved dynamic content objects onto the web page from the document objects contained in the updated document object model. The application programming interface updates functionality of the rendered dynamic content objects on the web page at runtime.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171