Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 440-445, 451-454, 456, 462-464 in Fig. 7E and PU2 in Fig 7I. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the language in Claim 8 and 19 recite “near side… far side”. For the purpose of examination, the examiner has interpreted “near side” as “upper edge of the mobile device when held in a standard upright orientation”. In an STO (Side Top Orientation) configuration, the “near side” corresponds to the upper left edge of the device”. “Far side” is interpreted as “lower edge of the mobile device when held in a standard upright orientation”. In an STO (Side Top Orientation) configuration, the “near side” corresponds to the upper right edge of the device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okabe et al. (JP 2022549685 A)(hereinafter Okabe).
Regarding Claim 1, Okabe discloses a radio frequency front end system comprising: a first receiver system including a first receive path connected to a first antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band”. Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3). ), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain”. The first antenna is 631-1 with the 610-1 receiver RX chain) and configured to output a first receive signal in a first band, (Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3)), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain.”. Pg. 9: “the two first band transmission chains and the two second band transmission chains are in the first and second frequency bands, respectively”. The first antenna is 631-1 with the 610-1 receiver RX chain as the first receive signal) a second receive path connected to a second antenna (Pg. 7: A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first first band antenna 631-1 through a first switch 640-1.Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”) and configured to split a first filtered receive signal to output a second receive signal in the first band and to output a third receive signal in a second band, (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) the second band adjacent to the first band, (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that n78 and n79 bands are adjacent bands) and a third receive path connected to a third antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. The third receive path is the feedline from antenna 632-1) and configured to output a fourth receive signal (Pg. 7: “The first second band receive chain 620-1 is switchably coupled to either the first second band antenna 632-1”. The feed line from 632-1 antenna outputs into RX chain 620-1 is the fourth receive signal output) in the second band (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”); and a second receiver system including a fourth receive path connected to a fourth antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band”) and configured to output a fifth receive signal in the first band, (Pg.7: “A second first band receive chain 610-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2”. Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3).), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain”. The fourth antenna is 631-2 with the 610-2 receiver RX chain and is the output of the fourth receive path) a fifth receive path connected to a fifth antenna (Pg. 8: “A second first band transmission chain 615-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a third switch”. The fifth antenna is 635-2 and is where the fifth receive path originates) and configured to split a second filtered receive signal to output a sixth receive signal in the first band (Pg. 8: “second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The dual band antenna 635-2 connects to 650-2 diplexer and has two paths with an associated switch. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies. Pg. 8: “A second second band transmission chain 625-2 is switchably coupled to either a second dual band antenna 635-2 or a second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4 be done.”. The first branch is from switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-4 that outputs the sixth receive signal in the first band) and to output a seventh receive signal in the second band, (Pg. 8: “A fourth second band receive chain 620-4 is switchably coupled to either the second dual band antenna 635-2 or the second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4 be done”. The second branch is from the diplexer to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-2 which is the seventh receive signal) and a sixth receive path connected to a sixth antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. The sixth receive path originates from 632-2 antenna ”) and configured to output an eighth receive signal in the second band (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. Pg. 8: “A second second band receive chain 620-2 is switchably coupled to either a second second band antenna 632-2”).
Regarding Claim 2, Okabe discloses wherein the radio frequency front end system is adapted to output the first, second, fifth, and sixth receive signals simultaneously (Pg. 7: “communication device 600 has eight receive chains (610-1, 610-2, 610-3, 610-4, 620-1, 620-2, 620-3, and 620-4 )”. Pg. 7: “the first first band receive chain 610-1 is connected to the first first band antenna 631-1”. The first receive signal is from ANT 631-1 to switch 640-1 to RX Chain 610-1. Pg. 7: “A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1”. The second receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to diplexer 610-1 to switch 640-1 to RX chain 610-3. Pg. 7: “A second first band receive chain 610-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2”. The fifth receive signal is from ANT 631-2 to switch 640-3 to RX chain 610-2. Pg. 7: “A fourth first band receive chain 610-4 is switchably coupled to either a second dual band antenna 635-2 or a second first band antenna 631-2 through a third switch 640-3”. The sixth receive signal is from ANT 631-2 to diplexer 650-2 to switch 640-3 to RX chain 610-4.) for 4x4 DL-MIMO operation in the first band (Pg. 4: “The UE employs 6 antennas with 4x4 MIMO on the 5G NR FR1 TDD bands (e.g., n78 and n79)”. Pg. 13: “Embodiments support simultaneous operation of the n78 and n79 bands (DL CA) while supporting DL 4x4 MIMO (e.g., Figures 2, 3). Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band. A first band antenna 631 is included”).
Regarding Claim 3, Okabe discloses wherein the radio frequency front end system is adapted to output the third, fourth, seventh, and eighth receive signals (Pg. 7: “communication device 600 has eight receive chains (610-1, 610-2, 610-3, 610-4, 620-1, 620-2, 620-3, and 620-4 )”. Pg. 7: “A third second band receive chain 620-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first second band antenna 632-1 through a second switch 670-2 be done.” The third receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to switch 640-2 to RX chain 620-3. Pg. 7: “The first second band receive chain 620-1 is switchably coupled to either the first second band antenna 632-1”. The fourth receive signal is from ANT 632-1 to switch 640-2 to RX chain 620-1. Pg. 8: “A fourth second band receive chain 620-4 is switchably coupled to either the second dual band antenna 635-2 or the second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4. be done.” The seventh receive signal is from ANT 635-2 to diplexer 650-2 to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-4. Pg. 8: “A second second band receive chain 620-2 is switchably coupled to either a second second band antenna 632-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a fourth switch 640-4. be done”. The eighth receive signal is from ANT 632-2 to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-2) simultaneously for 4x4 DL-MIMO operation in the second band (Pg. 4: “The UE employs 6 antennas with 4x4 MIMO on the 5G NR FR1 TDD bands (e.g., n78 and n79)”. Pg. 13: “Embodiments support simultaneous operation of the n78 and n79 bands (DL CA) while supporting DL 4x4 MIMO (e.g., Figures 2, 3)”. Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. A dual band antenna 632 is also included”).
Regarding Claim 12, Okabe discloses a mobile device comprising: first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth antennas (Pg. 4: “The UE employs 6 antennas with 4x4 MIMO on the 5G NR FR1 TDD bands (e.g., n78 and n79)”); and a radio frequency front end system including a first receive path connected to a first antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band”. Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3). ), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain”. The first antenna is 631-1 with the 610-1 receiver RX chain as the first receive signal) and configured to output a first receive signal in a first band (Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3)), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain.”. Pg. 9: “the two first band transmission chains and the two second band transmission chains are in the first and second frequency bands, respectively”. The first antenna is 631-1 with the 610-1 receiver RX chain), a second receive path connected to a second antenna (Pg. 7: A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first first band antenna 631-1 through a first switch 640-1.Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”) and configured to split a first filtered receive signal to output a second receive signal in the first band and to output a third receive signal in a second band, (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) the second band adjacent to the first band, (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that n78 and n79 bands are adjacent bands) a third receive path connected to a third antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. The third receive path is the feedline from antenna 632-1) and configured to output a fourth receive signal (Pg. 7: “The first second band receive chain 620-1 is switchably coupled to either the first second band antenna 632-1”. The feed line from 632-1 antenna outputs into RX chain 620-1 is the fourth receive signal output) in the second band, (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”); a fourth receive path connected to a fourth antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band”) and configured to output a fifth receive signal in the first band, (Pg.7: “A second first band receive chain 610-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2”. Pg. 7: “eight receive chains are configured to receive signals within a first frequency band: first (610-1), second (610-2), third (610-3).), and a fourth (610-4) first band receive chain”. The fourth antenna is 631-2 with the 610-2 receiver RX chain and is the output of the fourth receive path) a fifth receive path connected to a fifth antenna (Pg. 8: “A second first band transmission chain 615-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a third switch”. The fifth antenna is 635-2 and is where the fifth receive path originates) and configured to split a second filtered receive signal to output a sixth receive signal in the first band (Pg. 8: “second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The dual band antenna 635-2 connects to 650-2 diplexer and has two paths with an associated switch. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies. Pg. 8: “A second second band transmission chain 625-2 is switchably coupled to either a second dual band antenna 635-2 or a second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4 be done.”. The first branch is from switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-4 that outputs the sixth receive signal in the first band) and to output a seventh receive signal in the second band, (Pg. 8: “A fourth second band receive chain 620-4 is switchably coupled to either the second dual band antenna 635-2 or the second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4 be done”. The second branch is from the diplexer to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-2 which is the seventh receive signal) and a sixth receive path connected to a sixth antenna (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. The sixth receive path originates from 632-2 antenna ”) and configured to output an eighth receive signal in the second band (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. Pg. 8: “A second second band receive chain 620-2 is switchably coupled to either a second second band antenna 632-2”).
Regarding Claim 13, Okabe discloses wherein the radio frequency front end system is adapted to output the first, second, fifth, and sixth receive signals simultaneously (Pg. 7: “communication device 600 has eight receive chains (610-1, 610-2, 610-3, 610-4, 620-1, 620-2, 620-3, and 620-4 )”. Pg. 7: “the first first band receive chain 610-1 is connected to the first first band antenna 631-1”. The first receive signal is from ANT 631-1 to switch 640-1 to RX Chain 610-1. Pg. 7: “A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1”. The second receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to diplexer 610-1 to switch 640-1 to RX chain 610-3. Pg. 7: “A second first band receive chain 610-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2”. The fifth receive signal is from ANT 631-2 to switch 640-3 to RX chain 610-2. Pg. 7: “A fourth first band receive chain 610-4 is switchably coupled to either a second dual band antenna 635-2 or a second first band antenna 631-2 through a third switch 640-3”. The sixth receive signal is from ANT 631-2 to diplexer 650-2 to switch 640-3 to RX chain 610-4) for 4x4 DL-MIMO operation in the first band (Pg. 4: “The UE employs 6 antennas with 4x4 MIMO on the 5G NR FR1 TDD bands (e.g., n78 and n79)”. Pg. 13: “Embodiments support simultaneous operation of the n78 and n79 bands (DL CA) while supporting DL 4x4 MIMO (e.g., Figures 2, 3). Pg. 7: “The six antennas are two, having a first first band antenna 631-1 and a second first band antenna 631-2, both configured for communication within a first frequency band. A first band antenna 631 is included”).
Regarding Claim 14, Okabe discloses wherein the radio frequency front end system is adapted to output the third, fourth, seventh, and eighth receive signals (Pg. 7: “communication device 600 has eight receive chains (610-1, 610-2, 610-3, 610-4, 620-1, 620-2, 620-3, and 620-4 )”. Pg. 7: “A third second band receive chain 620-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first second band antenna 632-1 through a second switch 670-2 be done.” The third receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to switch 640-2 to RX chain 620-3. Pg. 7: “The first second band receive chain 620-1 is switchably coupled to either the first second band antenna 632-1”. The fourth receive signal is from ANT 632-1 to switch 640-2 to RX chain 620-1. Pg. 8: “A fourth second band receive chain 620-4 is switchably coupled to either the second dual band antenna 635-2 or the second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4. be done.” The seventh receive signal is from ANT 635-2 to diplexer 650-2 to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-4. Pg. 8: “A second second band receive chain 620-2 is switchably coupled to either a second second band antenna 632-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a fourth switch 640-4. be done”. The eighth receive signal is from ANT 632-2 to to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-2) simultaneously for 4x4 DL-MIMO operation in the second band (Pg. 4: “The UE employs 6 antennas with 4x4 MIMO on the 5G NR FR1 TDD bands (e.g., n78 and n79)”. Pg. 13: “Embodiments support simultaneous operation of the n78 and n79 bands (DL CA) while supporting DL 4x4 MIMO (e.g., Figures 2, 3)”. Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. A dual band antenna 632 is also included”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6, 9, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Hwang et. al. (US 20210359411 A1)(hereinafter Hwang).
Regarding Claim 4, Okabe discloses the second band is 5G NR n79 (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46.
Hwang discloses wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 (¶[0120]: Operating bands for dual connectivity may be specified to operate in EN-DC, NGEN-DC, or NR-DC configuration. EN-DC or NGEN-DC band combinations may include at least one E-UTRA operating band. ¶[0305]: Diversity may be performed in an LTE B46 band) and the second band is 5G NR n79 (¶[0245]: the second band B2 may be an n77 band and the third band B3 may be an n79 band, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto. The second band B2 and the third band B3 may be changed according to an application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components and antennas are designed for a dual and adjacent band and apply Hwang’s teachings wherein a first band is LTE B46 and the second band is NR N79. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 5, Okabe discloses the third receive path (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. The third receive path is the feedline from antenna 632-1) and the sixth receive path (g. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. The sixth receive path originates from 632-2 antenna).
Okabe does not disclose the third receive path is configured to split a third filtered receive signal to output the fourth receive signal in the second band and to output a ninth receive signal in a third band, and the sixth receive path is configured to split a fourth filtered receive signal to output the eighth receive signal in the second band and to output a tenth receive signal in the third band.
Hwang discloses the third receive path is configured to split a third filtered receive signal to output the fourth receive signal in the second band and to output a ninth receive signal in a third band, (¶[0235]: the first antenna ANT1 may be configured to receive a second signal of a second band B2 and a third signal of a third band B3. ¶[0234]: Meanwhile, a plurality of signals that can be branched through the plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT8 may be transmitted to the input of the front-end modules FEM1 to FEM11 or to the plurality of switches SW1 to SW10 through one or more filters. The chain that begins at ANT1 is the third receive path, passes through filtering and reaches FEM (front end module) via SW (switch) and becomes the third filtered receive signal. In ¶[0234], after ANT1 signal is filtered by the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream corresponds to the third filtered receive signal. After the split inside FEM1, B2 branch is the fourth receive signal and B3 branch is the ninth receive signal in ¶[0235]. In ¶[0234], after reaching the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream is split inside FEM, B2 branch is the fourth receive signal and B3 branch is the ninth receive signal) and the sixth receive path is configured to split a fourth filtered receive signal to output the eighth receive signal in the second band and to output a tenth receive signal in the third band. (¶[0251]: For an example, the seventh antenna ANT7 may be configured to receive signals in a 5G band. In this case, the seventh antenna ANT7 may be configured to receive a third signal of a second band B2 and a third signal of a third band B3. ¶[0234]: Meanwhile, a plurality of signals that can be branched through the plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT8 may be transmitted to the input of the front-end modules FEM1 to FEM11 or to the plurality of switches SW1 to SW10 through one or more filters. The chain that begins at ANT7 is the sixth receive path, passes through filtering and reaches FEM (front end module) via SW (switch) and becomes the fourth filtered receive signal. In ¶[0234], after reaching the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream is split inside FEM, B2 branch is the eighth receive signal and B3 branch is the tenth receive signal in ¶[0251]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system with eight RX chains and RF front end components designed for a dual and adjacent band and apply Hwang’s teachings wherein there first, second and third band wherein the third and sixth path splits for a B2 and B3 branch through the same antenna set. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 6, Okabe discloses the second band is 5G NR n79 (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 and the third band is 5GHz WiFi.
Hwang discloses wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 (¶[0120]: Operating bands for dual connectivity may be specified to operate in EN-DC, NGEN-DC, or NR-DC configuration. EN-DC or NGEN-DC band combinations may include at least one E-UTRA operating band. ¶[0305]: Diversity may be performed in an LTE B46 band) and the third band is 5GHz WiFi (¶[0246]: the fifth antenna ANT5 may be configured to transmit and/or receive signals in a WiFi band. ¶[0091]: 4G+WiFi CA may be performed using the 4G wireless communication module 111 and the Wi-Fi communication module 113. Or, 5G+WiFi CA may be performed using the 5G wireless communication module 112 and the WiFi communication module 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components and antennas are designed for a dual and adjacent band and apply Hwang’s teachings wherein a first band is LTE B46 and the second band is NR N79. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 9, Okabe discloses wherein the second receive path is adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the frequency split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) and the fifth receive path is adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands (Pg. 8: “second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The fifth receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-2 to diplexer 650-2, which carries the second filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-2, which does the frequency split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the second receive path includes a first bandpass filter adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, and the fifth receive path includes a second bandpass filter adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands.
Hwang discloses wherein the second receive path includes a first bandpass filter adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, (¶[0239]: Meanwhile, the second antenna ANT2 may operate in a low band LB. In addition, the second antenna ANT2 may be configured to operate in a mid-band MB and/or a high band HB. Here, the middle band MB and high band HB may be referred to as MHB. A first output of the first filter bank FB1 connected to the second antenna ANT2. In ¶[0239], ANT2 is where the second receive path originates and goes through first filter bank FB1 to produce the first filtered receive signal. A filter bank according to Wikipedia is “an array of bandpass filters that separates the input signal into multiple components, each one carrying a single frequency sub-band of the original signal”. Hence, the second receive path would include a first band pass filter that has a frequency range of midband MB as the first band or highband HB as the second band) and the fifth receive path includes a second bandpass filter adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands (¶[0247]: the fifth antenna (ANT5) may be connected to the third filter bank (FB3). ¶[0289]: the antennas ANT may be configured to operate in a mid-band MB and a high-band HB. In ¶[0247], ANT5 is where the fifth receive path originates and goes through third filter bank FB3 to produce the second filtered receive signal. A filter bank according to Wikipedia is “an array of bandpass filters that separates the input signal into multiple components, each one carrying a single frequency sub-band of the original signal”. Hence, the fifth receive path would include a second band pass filter that has a frequency range of midband MB as the first band or highband HB as the second band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the received signal paths that is to be filtered combined with Hwang’s teachings wherein the received signals includes a band pass filter, which is inside a filter bank, in order to be filtered received signals. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 15, Okabe discloses wherein the second band is 5G NR n79 (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”). Okabe does not disclose wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46.
Hwang discloses wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 (¶[0120]: Operating bands for dual connectivity may be specified to operate in EN-DC, NGEN-DC, or NR-DC configuration. EN-DC or NGEN-DC band combinations may include at least one E-UTRA operating band. ¶[0305]: Diversity may be performed in an LTE B46 band) and the second band is 5G NR n79 (¶[0245]: the second band B2 may be an n77 band and the third band B3 may be an n79 band, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto. The second band B2 and the third band B3 may be changed according to an application).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components and antennas are designed for a dual and adjacent band and apply Hwang’s teachings wherein a first band is LTE B46 and the second band is NR N79. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 16, Okabe discloses the third receive path (Pg. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2”. The third receive path is the feedline from antenna 632-1) and the sixth receive path (g. 7: “The six antennas are also configured for communication within a second frequency band, including a first second band antenna 632-1 and a second second band antenna 632-2. The sixth receive path originates from 632-2 antenna).
Okabe does not disclose the third receive path is configured to split a third filtered receive signal to output the fourth receive signal in the second band and to output a ninth receive signal in a third band, and the sixth receive path is configured to split a fourth filtered receive signal to output the eighth receive signal in the second band and to output a tenth receive signal in the third band.
Hwang discloses the third receive path is configured to split a third filtered receive signal to output the fourth receive signal in the second band and to output a ninth receive signal in a third band, (¶[0235]: the first antenna ANT1 may be configured to receive a second signal of a second band B2 and a third signal of a third band B3. ¶[0234]: Meanwhile, a plurality of signals that can be branched through the plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT8 may be transmitted to the input of the front-end modules FEM1 to FEM11 or to the plurality of switches SW1 to SW10 through one or more filters. The chain that begins at ANT1 is the third receive path, passes through filtering and reaches FEM (front end module) via SW (switch) and becomes the third filtered receive signal. In ¶[0234], after ANT1 signal is filtered by the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream corresponds to the third filtered receive signal. After the split inside FEM1, B2 branch is the fourth receive signal and B3 branch is the ninth receive signal in ¶[0235]. In ¶[0234], after reaching the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream is split inside FEM, B2 branch is the fourth receive signal and B3 branch is the ninth receive signal) and the sixth receive path is configured to split a fourth filtered receive signal to output the eighth receive signal in the second band and to output a tenth receive signal in the third band (¶[0251]: For an example, the seventh antenna ANT7 may be configured to receive signals in a 5G band. In this case, the seventh antenna ANT7 may be configured to receive a third signal of a second band B2 and a third signal of a third band B3. ¶[0234]: Meanwhile, a plurality of signals that can be branched through the plurality of antennas ANT1 to ANT8 may be transmitted to the input of the front-end modules FEM1 to FEM11 or to the plurality of switches SW1 to SW10 through one or more filters. The chain that begins at ANT7 is the sixth receive path, passes through filtering and reaches FEM (front end module) via SW (switch) and becomes the fourth filtered receive signal. In ¶[0234], after reaching the FEM, the resulting composite B2/B3 stream is split inside FEM, B2 branch is the eighth receive signal and B3 branch is the tenth receive signal in ¶[0251]).
Regarding Claim 17, Okabe discloses the second band is 5G NR n79 (Pg. 6: “the first and second bands correspond to the n78 and n79 bands, respectively”).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 and the third band is 5GHz WiFi.
Hwang discloses wherein the first band is 4G LTE B46 (¶[0120]: Operating bands for dual connectivity may be specified to operate in EN-DC, NGEN-DC, or NR-DC configuration. EN-DC or NGEN-DC band combinations may include at least one E-UTRA operating band. ¶[0305]: Diversity may be performed in an LTE B46 band) and the third band is 5GHz WiFi (¶[0246]: the fifth antenna ANT5 may be configured to transmit and/or receive signals in a WiFi band. ¶[0091]: 4G+WiFi CA may be performed using the 4G wireless communication module 111 and the Wi-Fi communication module 113. Or, 5G+WiFi CA may be performed using the 5G wireless communication module 112 and the WiFi communication module 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components and antennas are designed for a dual and adjacent band and apply Hwang’s teachings wherein a first band is LTE B46 and the second band is NR N79. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Regarding Claim 20, Okabe discloses wherein the second receive path is adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the frequency split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) and the fifth receive path is adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands (Pg. 8: “second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The fifth receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-2 to diplexer 650-2, which carries the second filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-2, which does the frequency split. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the second receive path includes a first bandpass filter adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, and the fifth receive path includes a second bandpass filter adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands.
Hwang discloses wherein the second receive path includes a first bandpass filter adapted to filter the first filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second band, (¶[0239]: Meanwhile, the second antenna ANT2 may operate in a low band LB. In addition, the second antenna ANT2 may be configured to operate in a mid-band MB and/or a high band HB. Here, the middle band MB and high band HB may be referred to as MHB. A first output of the first filter bank FB1 connected to the second antenna ANT2. In ¶[0239], ANT2 is where the second receive path originates and goes through first filter bank FB1 to produce the first filtered receive signal. A filter bank according to Wikipedia is “an array of bandpass filters that separates the input signal into multiple components, each one carrying a single frequency sub-band of the original signal”. Hence, the second receive path would include a first band pass filter that has a frequency range of midband MB as the first band or highband HB as the second band) and the fifth receive path includes a second bandpass filter adapted to filter the second filtered receive signal with a passband having a frequency range including the first band and the second bands (¶[0247]: the fifth antenna (ANT5) may be connected to the third filter bank (FB3). ¶[0289]: the antennas ANT may be configured to operate in a mid-band MB and a high-band HB. In ¶[0247], ANT5 is where the fifth receive path originates and goes through third filter bank FB3 to produce the second filtered receive signal. A filter bank according to Wikipedia is “an array of bandpass filters that separates the input signal into multiple components, each one carrying a single frequency sub-band of the original signal”. Hence, the fifth receive path would include a second band pass filter that has a frequency range of midband MB as the first band or highband HB as the second band.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the received signal paths that is to be filtered combined with Hwang’s teachings wherein the received signals includes a band pass filter, which is inside a filter bank, in order to be filtered received signals. The motivation would have been for antenna performance to “be improved without changing a mechanical structure and design factors of an electronic device such as a rollable device.” (Hwang, ¶[0043]).
Claims 7-8, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Tatomirescu et. al. ("Optimal placement of MIMO antenna pairs with different quality factors in smart-phone platforms," 2013 7th European Conference on Antennas and Propagation (EuCAP), Gothenburg, Sweden, 2013, pp. 732-735)(hereinafter Tatomirescu).
Regarding Claim 7, Okabe discloses wherein the first receiver system (Cluster 1 of RF front end parts: Upper antennas 631-1 635-1 632-1, Fig. 6 First diplexer 650-1, Receive paths 610-1, 615-1, 610-3, 620-3, 625-1, 620-1), is positioned in a location in a mobile device (Pg. 14: “The use of two pairs of DPDT switches helps position the RF front-end components in close proximity to their respective antennas, thus improving
the device's link budget”. Fig. 6 cluster 1 in top half distinct from cluster 2 lower half. Fig. 6 shows two clearly delimited clusters of hardware and from Pg. 14, the respective RF front end component is placed close to their respective antennas) and the second receiver system (Cluster 2 of RF front end parts: Lower antennas 631-2 635-2 632-2, Fig. 6 Second diplexer 650-2, Receive paths 610-2, 615-2, 610-4, 620-4, 652-2, 620-2.) is positioned in a second location in the mobile device (Pg. 14: “The use of two pairs of DPDT switches helps position the RF front-end components in close proximity to their respective antennas, thus improving the device's link budget Fig. 6 cluster 2 in lower half distinct from cluster 1 top half ).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the first receiver system is positioned in a first location in a mobile device, and the second receiver system is positioned in a second location in the mobile device spaced from the first location.
Tatomirescu discloses wherein the first receiver system is positioned in a first location in a mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (right) and on top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (left) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on top on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on top on the right hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”), and the second receiver system is positioned in a second location in the mobile device spaced from the first location (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (left) and on bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (right) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on bottom on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on bottom on the left hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”. In handset design and as clearly depicted in Fig. 2 and Pg. 1, mirrored clusters are placed at opposite ends to obtain antenna isolation. The two clusters therefore occupy two different spaced-apart regions of the chassis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components are mounted in close proximity to their respective antennas and apply Tatomirescu’s teachings wherein the layout of the set of antennas and RF components and its placement is located in different/opposite side in the mobile device. The motivation would have been to “to have a sufficient level of isolation so that a good MIMO performance can be achieved” (Tatomirescu, Pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Okabe does not disclose wherein the first location is within a near side of the mobile device, and the second location is within a far side of the mobile device.
Tatomirescu discloses wherein the first location is within a near side of the mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (right) and on top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (left) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on top on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on top on the right hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”), and the second location is within a far side of the mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (left) and on bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (right) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on bottom on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on bottom on the left hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”. In handset design and as clearly depicted in Fig. 2 and Pg. 1, mirrored clusters are placed at opposite ends to obtain antenna isolation. The two clusters therefore occupy two different spaced-apart regions of the chassis, one with a near-side and far-side location depending on the point of reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components are mounted in close proximity to their respective antennas and apply Tatomirescu’s teachings wherein the layout of the set of antennas and RF components and its placement is located in opposite side one with a near-side and far-side location depending on the point of reference in the mobile device. The motivation would have been to “to have a sufficient level of isolation so that a good MIMO performance can be achieved” (Tatomirescu, Pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 18, Okabe discloses wherein the first, second, and third receive paths (Cluster 1 of RF front end parts: Upper antennas 631-1 635-1 632-1, Fig. 6 First diplexer 650-1, Receive paths 610-1, 615-1, 610-3, 620-3, 625-1, 620-1) are positioned in a first location a mobile device (Pg. 14: “The use of two pairs of DPDT switches helps position the RF front-end components in close proximity to their respective antennas, thus improving the device's link budget”. Fig. 6 cluster 1 in top half distinct from cluster 2 lower half. Fig. 6 shows two clearly delimited clusters of hardware and from Pg. 14, the respective RF front end component is placed close to their respective antennas) and the fourth, fifth, and sixth receive paths (Cluster 2 of RF front end parts: Lower antennas 631-2 635-2 632-2, Fig. 6 Second diplexer 650-2, Receive paths 610-2, 615-2, 610-4, 620-4, 652-2, 620-2) are positioned in a second location in the mobile device (Pg. 14: “The use of two pairs of DPDT switches helps position the RF front-end components in close proximity to their respective antennas, thus improving the device's link budget Fig. 6 cluster 2 in lower half distinct from cluster 1 top half).
Okabe does not disclose wherein the first, second, and third receive paths are positioned in a first location in a mobile device, and the fourth, fifth, and sixth receive paths are positioned in a second location in the mobile device spaced from the first location.
Tatomirescu discloses wherein the first, second, and third receive paths are positioned in a first location in a mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (right) and on top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (left) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on top on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on top on the right hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”), and the fourth, fifth, and sixth receive paths are positioned in a second location in the mobile device spaced from the first location (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (left) and on bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (right) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on bottom on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on bottom on the left hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”. In handset design and as clearly depicted in Fig. 2 and Pg. 1, mirrored clusters are placed at opposite ends to obtain antenna isolation. The two clusters therefore occupy two different spaced-apart regions of the chassis).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components are mounted in close proximity to their respective antennas and apply Tatomirescu’s teachings wherein the layout of the set of antennas and RF components and its placement is located in different/opposite side in the mobile device. The motivation would have been to “to have a sufficient level of isolation so that a good MIMO performance can be achieved” (Tatomirescu, Pg. 4).
Regarding Claim 19, Okabe does not disclose wherein the first location is within a near side of the mobile device, and the second location is within a far side of the mobile device.
Tatomirescu discloses wherein the first location is within a near side of the mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (right) and on top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the top, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (left) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on top on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on top on the right hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”), and the second location is within a far side of the mobile device (Fig. 2 Antenna element in OSTB placed in one side (left) and on bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STB placed in one side (left) on the bottom, Fig. 2 Antenna element in STO placed in one side (right) on the top. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBS placed on bottom on the left hand side. Fig. 2 Antenna element in TBO placed on bottom on the left hand side. Pg. 1: “There are five antenna position configurations which have been analyzed and for the sake of clarity, acronyms have been assigned to each of them, as illustrated in figure 2. They are the two classical top and bottom case, with opposite and same side feeding (TBO and TBS), as well as three cases with a side placement. The latter include opposite sides and top feeding(STO), same side with top and bottom feeding (STB) and opposite sides with top and bottom feeding (OSTB)”. In handset design and as clearly depicted in Fig. 2 and Pg. 1, mirrored clusters are placed at opposite ends to obtain antenna isolation. The two clusters therefore occupy two different spaced-apart regions of the chassis, one with a near-side and far-side location depending on the point of reference).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components are mounted in close proximity to their respective antennas and apply Tatomirescu’s teachings wherein the layout of the set of antennas and RF components and its placement is located in opposite side one with a near-side and far-side location depending on the point of reference in the mobile device. The motivation would have been to “to have a sufficient level of isolation so that a good MIMO performance can be achieved” (Tatomirescu, Pg. 4).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Hwang and in further view of Farmahini-Farahani et .al. (M. Farmahini-Farahani and H. Mosallaei, "A Plasmonic MIM Frequency Diplexer," in IEEE Transactions on Nanotechnology, vol. 12, no. 3, pp. 361-367, May 2013)(hereinafter Farmahini-Farahani).
Regarding Claim 10, Okabe discloses wherein the second receive path (Pg. 7: A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first first band antenna 631-1 through a first switch 640-1. The second receive path originates from 635-1) includes a component configured to split (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the split) the first filtered receive signal into the second receive signal (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The first filtered receive signal is the output from diplexer. The second receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to first switch 640-1 to RX chain 610-3. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) and third receive signal (Pg. 7: “A third second band receive chain 620-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first second band antenna 632-1 through a second switch 670-2 be done.” The third receive signal is from ANT 635-1 to second switch 640-2 to RX chain 620-3) and the fifth receive path (Pg. 8: “A second first band transmission chain 615-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a third switch”. The fifth antenna is 635-2 and is where the fifth receive path originates) includes a component configured to split (Pg. 8: “second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. Pg. 6: “switching component 440-4 provides electrical power to two of the second plurality of RF chains”) the second filtered receive signal (Pg. 8: “A second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The second filtered receive signal is the output from diplexer 650-2. Pg. 4: “also An n78-n79 band diplexer and two pairs of double-pole-double-throw (DPDT ) switch”. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies) into the sixth receive signal (Pg. 8: “A second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The sixth receive signal is from ANT 635-2 to first switch 640-3 to RX chain 610-4. Fig. 6 610-4) and the seventh receive signal (Pg. 8: “A second diplexer 650-2 couples a second dual-band antenna 635-2 to a third switch 640-3 and a fourth switch 640-4”. The sixth receive signal is from ANT 635-2 to second switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-4. Fig. 6 620-4).
Okabe in view of Hwang does not disclose includes a power splitter configured to split the filtered receive signal.
Farmahini-Farahani discloses includes a power splitter configured to split the filtered receive signal (Pg. 1: “Two bandpass filters are designed at 10 and 8 µm and integrated with a T-shaped power splitter to realize an MIM frequency diplexer.” One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that diplexers act as a passive filter (frequency selective) so when a signal goes through a diplexer, each output path receives a filtered portion of the original signal, containing only the passband frequencies).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components include a diplexer as the component adapted to split the dual band antenna and apply Farmahini-Farahani’s teachings wherein a power splitter realizes the splitting function. The motivation would have been to improve “the performance of the diplexer [as it] is promising in terms of low transmission loss and power leakage” (Farmahini-Farahani, Pg. 1).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okabe in view of Hwang and in further view of Farmahini-Farahani and in further view of Noll et. al. (A. Noll, I. Bisby and J. Newton, "A novel integrated DPDT and 3-way active splitter with a unique unpowered loop through state for broadband applications," 2009 European Microwave Integrated Circuits Conference (EuMIC), Rome, Italy, 2009, pp. 270-273.)(hereinafter Noll).
Regarding Claim 11, Okabe discloses wherein the second receive path in a first frequency range including the first band (Pg. 7: A third first band receive chain 610-3 is switchably coupled to either the first dual band antenna 635-1 or the first first band antenna 631-1 through a first switch 640-1), and the third receive signal in a second frequency range including the second band (Pg. 8: “A first diplexer 650-1 couples a first dual-band antenna 635-1 to a first switch 640-1 and a second switch 640-2”. The second receive path is the feedline from antenna 635-1 to diplexer 650-1, which carries the first filtered receive signal then goes to diplexer 650-1, which does the split to output the third receive signal), and the fifth receive path in the first frequency range (Pg. 8: “A second first band transmission chain 615-2 is switchably coupled to either a second first band antenna 631-2 or a second dual band antenna 635-2 through a third switch”. The fifth antenna is 635-2 and is where the fifth receive path originates), and seventh receive signal in the second frequency range (Pg. 8: “A fourth second band receive chain 620-4 is switchably coupled to either the second dual band antenna 635-2 or the second second band antenna 632-2 through a fourth switch 640-4 be done”. The second branch is from the diplexer to switch 640-4 to RX chain 620-2 which is the seventh receive signal).
Okabe does not disclose wherein an amplifier amplifying the receive signal.
Noll discloses an amplifier amplifying the receive signal (Pg. 1: “the STB continuously supplies the amplifier with DC power to enable a constant connection to the loop through path”. Pg. 1: “set top box principal function is to receive signals from a broadband cable distribution system, satellite, or terrestrial system and deliver them to a consumer display or recording device. A typical STB input block diagram is shown in Fig. 1”. Fig. 1 A typical set top box input block diagram. In Fig. 1, the diplexer is connected to the amplifier. In Pg. 1, it’s been noted that this is a typical set top box diagram, which can be used as a reference in an RF module design).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Okabe’s RF system where the RF front end components include a diplexer as the component adapted to split the dual band antenna and apply Farmahini-Farahani’s teachings wherein a power splitter is combined with the diplexer and further with Noll’s teaching including a power amplifier with the diplexer. The motivation would have been to improve “the performance of the diplexer [as it] is promising in terms of low transmission loss and power leakage” (Farmahini-Farahani, Pg. 1).
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20220045705 A1, where it teaches ultra-low power millimeter wave to baseband receiver module designed for MIMO systems.
"Building Smartphone Antennas That Play Nice Together", by Hu and Tanner, IEEE Spectrum Feature Telecommunications, 28 Oct 2018, where it teaches antenna design where it collectively enables multiple antennas to be placed close together without significantly interfering with each other.
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30AM-6PM EST.
/P.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479