DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/9/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant agrees that the Canon EOS 90D does not explicitly disclose that each of the plurality of switches are a multifunctional key whose function to be assigned is changeable. However, as Applicant noted multifunction keys are generally known and the Examiner does not agree it would require substantial resign beyond routine skill as Applicant alleges as providing a display on the top of a camera where each of the provided buttons are multifunctional and have corresponding indications displayed on the display is found within the prior art for the same purposes of linking functionality to the displays look as Applicant discusses as their rationale for doing so. See rejection below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Canon 90D in further view of U.S. Patent 5,745,809 to Kawahata.
NOTE: Due to the size of the Canon EOS 90D Advanced User Guide only the portions relied upon, in addition to the Front Page, the Table of Contents and Last Page, have been provided by the Examiner. The entire document can be found on the Canon Support webpage under “Manuals” found at https://www.usa.canon.com/support/p/eos-90d?srsltid=AfmBOooShsiblOw5UdAxr6leIbteioh1Wr7TnTPivAKOyOvK1VQrCb64
With respect to claim 1 the Canon 90D anticipates an imaging apparatus including a main body (Page 31-32 of GUIDE; where you can see front and back images of the main body) having: a front surface on which an imaging lens is provided (Page 31 of GUIDE; item 15 is a lens mount); a rear surface facing the front surface (Page 32-33 of GUIDE; where the rear surface includes things such as screen 2); and a top surface connecting the front surface and the rear surface, in which a release button (7), a display (1), and a plurality of switches (2, 3, 17 and 18) are disposed on the top surface (Page 31 of GUIDE), the imaging apparatus comprising a processor configured to perform (Page 2 of WEBSITE which shows the camera operates off firmware which would require a processor) control of displaying, along a predetermined side forming a contour of the display, pieces of information indicating functions assigned to the plurality of switches side by side in a disposition order of the plurality of switches (Page 36 and Pages 150-153 and 158-159 of GUIDE for example show that the buttons have corresponding portions of the LCD screen showing indictors that are information indicating set functions), wherein on of the plurality of switches is a multifunctional key whose function to be assigned is changeable (Page 150-151 of GUIDE; where the drive button is usable to assign multiple differently related functions such as a shooting mode or a self timer; and TOP VIEW where it can be seen each button also controls different functions).
The Canon 90D does not anticipate wherein each of the plurality of switches is a multifunctional key whose function to be assigned is changeable.
However, in analogous art, Kawahata teaches an imaging apparatus including a main body having a top surface connecting a front and rear surface (abstract and Fig. 9) where the top surface has an LCD with display portions that correspond to a plurality of switches and provided information about the switches (Fig. 11 and column 8 lines 21-36) and wherein each of the plurality of the switches around the display is a multifunctional key whose functions to be assigned is changeable (column 2 lines 58-61 and column 8 lines 35-36; where the switches around the display are second operating members and second operating member are for providing setting values or functions, i.e. multifunction; column 8 line 44 through column 9 line 27 then go one to provide some specific examples where the buttons have different functions). Therefore, Kawahata teaches wherein each of the plurality of switches is a multifunctional key whose function to be assigned is changeable.
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to have made all the button near the display of the Canon 90D multifunctional as taught by Kawahata for doing so would be a simple substitution of one known button operation for another to obtain predictable results an provide a relationship between the operation section and the display section that can be easily grasped by the user to that a user can operate the camera speedily and surely (column 1 line 59 through column 2 line 6 of Kawahata).
With respect to claim 2 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined side extends in a direction intersecting a normal direction of a projection plane of the front surface and a normal direction of a projection plane of the top surface (Page 31 and 36 of GUIDE).
With respect to claim 3 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined side, among a plurality of sides forming the contour of the display, is relatively closer to the plurality of switches than other sides (Page 31 and 36 of GUIDE).
With respect to claim 4 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a straight line that passes through a center of an entirety of the plurality of switches in a direction along the predetermined side and is orthogonal to the direction along the predetermined side intersects the display (TOP VIEW).
With respect to claim 5 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a straight line that passes through a center of an entirety of the plurality of switches in a direction along the predetermined side and is orthogonal to the direction along the predetermined side intersects the release button (TOP VIEW).
With respect to claim 6 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of switches are sequentially disposed in parallel to a direction along the predetermined side (TOP VIEW).
With respect to claim 7 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display has a rectangular shape (TOP VIEW; where the display has a rectangular shape as it has four sides and where a pair opposite each other has longer sides then the other pair opposite each other).
With respect to claim 8 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the main body has a grip portion in which a part of the front surface protrudes, the top surface includes an upper surface of the grip portion and an upper surface other than the grip portion, and at least one of the plurality of switches is disposed on the upper surface of the grip portion (TOP VIEW and Page 31 of the GUIDE; where item 10 is the grip).
With respect to claim 9 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the upper surface of the grip portion and the upper surface other than the grip portion are surfaces that are both visible in a case of being viewed from a normal direction of a projection plane of the top surface (Page 31 of the GUIDE).
With respect to claim 10 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the upper surface of the grip portion is inclined in a direction in which a height decreases from a side of the rear surface toward a side of the front surface, or a height of the upper surface of the grip portion is lower than a height of the upper surface other than the grip portion on the side of the rear surface (Page 31 of the GUIDE; where the shutter button portion of the upper surface inclines by a height decreases from a side of the rear surface toward a side of the front surface).
With respect to claim 11 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, a predetermined figure for each function as information indicating the function (Pages 150-153 and 158-159 of GUIDE).
With respect to claim 12 the Canon 90D in view of Kawahata teaches the imaging apparatus according to claim 11 (see above).
The Canon 90D does not anticipate wherein the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, the figure having a shape corresponding to a shape of each of the plurality of switches.
However, in analogous art, Kawahata teaches an imaging apparatus including a main body having a top surface connecting a front and rear surface (abstract and Fig. 9) where the top surface has an LCD with display portions that correspond to a plurality of switches and provided information about the switches and where the shape of the switches and the display portions correspond to each other (Fig. 11 and column 8 lines 21-36). Therefore, Kawahata teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, the figure having a shape corresponding to a shape of each of the plurality of switches.
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the switches of the Canon 90D to be the same shape as the display areas for the information as taught by Kawahata for doing so would allow the relationship between the operation section and the display section to be easily grasped by the user which assures “the user can operate the camera speedily and surely” (Kawahata - column 1 line 59 through column 2 line 10).
With respect to claim 13 the Canon 90D in view of Kawahata teaches the imaging apparatus according to claim 11 (see above) and where the display figure has a shape corresponding to a magnitude relationship between a length in a direction along the predetermined side and a length a direction intersecting the direction along the predetermined side (TOP VIEW of Canon 90D).
However, the Canon 90D does not anticipate wherein the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, the figure having a shape corresponding to a magnitude relationship between a length of the switch in a direction along the predetermined side and a length of the switch in a direction intersecting the direction along the predetermined side.
However, in analogous art, Kawahata teaches an imaging apparatus including a main body having a top surface connecting a front and rear surface (abstract and Fig. 9) where the top surface has an LCD with display portions that correspond to a plurality of switches and provided information about the switches and where the shape of the switches are made to correspond to the display portions (Fig. 11 and column 8 lines 21-36). Therefore, Kawahata teaches wherein the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, the figure having a shape corresponding to a magnitude relationship between a length of the switch in a direction along the predetermined side and a length of the switch in a direction intersecting the direction along the predetermined side.
Before the invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the switches of the Canon 90D to be the same shape as the display areas for the information as taught by Kawahata for doing so would allow the relationship between the operation section and the display section to be easily grasped by the user which assures “the user can operate the camera speedily and surely” (Kawahata - column 1 line 59 through column 2 line 10).
With respect to claim 14 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform, in a case where the switch is operated, control of causing a display form of the information indicating the function corresponding to the operated switch to be different (Page 150-151 of GUIDE; where each indicator is different when switching between shooting modes or timer modes).
With respect to claim 16 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the processor is configured to receive, for each switch, selection of at least one of a plurality of predetermined functions to be assignable (Pages 124, 150-151, 158-159 and 213-214 of GUIDE; where each switch is for assigning different functional settings).
With respect to claim 17 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: specify, for each switch, the function that is selected a large number of times after the selection is received a plurality of times; and assign the specified function to the switch (Pages 124, 150-151, 158-159 and 213-214 of GUIDE). NOTE: There is no reason to believe the functions of the Canon 90D may not be repeatedly set overtime while in use. As the claim says the processor is merely configured to specify (i.e. interpreted as setting) a function that is selected a plurality of times one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that processor of the Canon 90D is configured to set a “function that is selected a large number of times after the selection is received a plurality of times” should a user repeated set a same function during normal use repeatedly that satisfies “a large number of times” and then sets the function one more time.
With respect to claim 18 the Canon 90D anticipates the imaging apparatus according to claim 1, wherein: the imaging apparatus has a plurality of switchable operation modes, functions different for respective operation modes are assigned to the switch, and the processor is configured to perform control of displaying, on the display, the information indicating the function corresponding to the set operation mode (Pages 124, 150-151, 158-159 and 213-214 of GUIDE).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected for similar reasons as claim 1 above as they are corresponding method and program claim and in view of WEBSITE as WEBSITE shows the use of firmware to operate the Canon EOS 90D. One of ordinary skill would understand firmware installed to a camera to control its operation would inherently be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a control program causing a computer to execute a process (i.e. method).
With respect to claim 21 the Canon 90D in view of Kawahata imaging apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a display configured to enable switching between display and non-display for each arbitrary dot (Page 36 of GUIDE and column 8 lines 12-20; where both displays are LCD panels that would be configured to have desired segments turned on or off as needed to convey the desired information).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL M PASIEWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699
February 11, 2026