DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101/112
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to nonstatutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they recite a “use” rather than a proper process with any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The instant claims merely recite a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR20190133976A (published 04 Dec 2019; machine translation to English obtained from Google patents).
KR20190133976A teaches (formula 5 on p. 6 of the translation):
which is a peptide derivative of instant Formula (I) wherein R1 is CA-, R2 is -OR3, and R3 is H. Therefore, KR20190133976A anticipates claims 1-2.
Regarding claim 3, the compound is identical to instant peptide derivative (1).
Regarding claim 4, KR20190133976A teaches that the peptide derivative has a collagen production, MMP-1 inhibitory, skin elasticity, and wrinkle improvement effects, which make it suitable for use as an active ingredient in a cosmetic composition. The cosmetic composition comprising the peptide derivative and components commonly added thereto, such as conventional auxiliaries and carriers such as antioxidants, stabilizers, solubilizers, vitamins, pigments and flavorings (p. 6 of the translation):.
Regarding claims 5-6, KR20190133976A teaches that the cosmetic composition contains an effective amount of the peptide derivative and may be prepared in any formulation commonly prepared in the art, for example, solutions, suspensions, emulsions, pastes, gels, creams, lotions, powders, soaps, surfactant-containing cleansing, and oils (p. 6 of the translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2004/0142873 A1 in view of US 2014/056835 A1, US 2010/261879 A1, and WO 2013/042811 A1.
US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches a cosmetic or dermatological composition comprising an effective amount of the peptide (Gly-Pro-Gln)2NH2, to promote adhesion between skin cells, promote cell adhesion, to treat and prevent the symptoms of skin aging and solar exposure, and to enhance skin appearance. US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches that the peptide may be acylated or acetylated at the N-terminus. US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches that the cosmetic composition further comprising adjuvants, such as solvents, thickeners, thinners, antioxidants, dyestuffs, screening agents, pigments, fillers, preservatives, perfumes or odor absorbers. US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches that the composition can be a cream, a water-in-oil or oil-in-water emulsion, a multiple emulsion, a solution, a suspension, a powder, a cream, a lotion, a milk, a serum, a pomade, a gel, a paste or a foam (see abstract, claims 1-9, and description, paragraphs [0046]-[0048]).
US 2004/0142873 A1 does not teach that the peptide (Gly-Pro-Gln)2NH2 is connected to caffeic acid or gallic acid at the N-terminus.
It is within the ordinary skill in the art to modify peptides having cosmetic and dermatological activity with caffeic acid and gallic acid. For example, US 2014/056835 A1 discloses a composition for skin whitening, comprising a small molecule-peptide conjugate, such as caffeic acid-LG-NH₂; the composition further comprises oil, water, surfactants, moisturizers, lower alcohols, thickeners, chelation agents, colorants, preservatives, and perfumes (see abstract, claims 1-5, and preparation embodiment 1). WO 2013/042811 A1 also teaches a cosmetic composition comprising an active peptide conjugated to caffeic acid, specifically the alpha-neoendorphin peptide with anti-itch activity (abstract). In addition, US 2010/261879 A1 discloses peptide derivatives, the structure thereof being galloyl-tetrapeptide, and provided with improved free radical scavenging activities and excellent anti-oxidative activities (see embodiments, comparative examples, and test examples).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the peptide (Gly-Pro-Gln)2NH2 taught by US 2004/0142873 A1 by conjugating it to caffeic acid or gallic acid at the N-terminus according to the prior art of US 2014/056835 A1, US 2010/261879 A1 and WO 2013/042811 A1. The rationale for obviousness is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP § 2143.01(A)). The relevant findings for this rationale are as follows.
(1) The prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. In the instant case, the only difference between the claimed invention and the primary reference the caffeic acid or gallic acid conjugated to the N-terminus of the peptide. This difference is found in the prior art of US 2014/056835 A1, US 2010/261879 A1, and WO 2013/042811 A1, which teach that peptides having cosmetic and dermatological activity can be conjugated at the N-terminus with caffeic acid and gallic acid. Therefore, the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is the actual combination of elements in a single prior art reference.
(2) One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the caffeic acid and gallic acid taught by US 2014/056835 A1, US 2010/261879 A1, and WO 2013/042811 A1 with the cosmetic peptide (Gly-Pro-Gln)2NH2 taught by US 2004/0142873 A1 using the known method of conjugating these molecules to peptides taught by US 2014/056835 A1, US 2010/261879 A1, and WO 2013/042811 A1 (see Example 1 of each). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the (Gly-Pro-Gln)2NH2 peptide performs the function of promoting adhesion between skin cells, promoting cell adhesion, treating and preventing the symptoms of skin aging and solar exposure, and enhancing skin appearance in the combination, which is the same function it performs separate from the combination. Likewise, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect that caffeic acid and gallic acid each perform the function of enhancing skin appearance in the combination, which is the same function they perform separate from the combination. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
(3) One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect that the caffeic acid and gallic acid would perform the function of enhancing skin appearance in the combination because the prior art demonstrates this function when these compounds are attached to other cosmetic peptides. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
(4) Whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. The data in the specification is consistent with, not unexpected in view of the cited art.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; B/E Aerospace, Inc. v. C&D Zodiac, Inc., 962 F.3d 1373, 1379, 2020 USPQ2d 10706 (Fed. Cir. 2020); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). "[I]t can be important to identify a reason that would have prompted a person of ordinary skill in the relevant field to combine the elements in the way the claimed new invention does." KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Therefore, claims 1-3 are obvious over the cited art.
Regarding claims 4-6, US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches a cosmetic or dermatological composition comprising an effective amount of the peptide further comprising adjuvants, such as solvents, thickeners, thinners, antioxidants, dyestuffs, screening agents, pigments, fillers, preservatives, perfumes or odor absorbers. US 2004/0142873 A1 teaches that the composition can be a cream, a water-in-oil or oil-in-water emulsion, a multiple emulsion, a solution, a suspension, a powder, a cream, a lotion, a milk, a serum, a pomade, a gel, a paste or a foam (see abstract, claims 1-9, and description, paragraphs [0046]-[0048]).
Conclusion
CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1654
/CHRISTINA M MARCHETTI BRADLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654