DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS was filed for this application. The applicant and/or the assignee of this application are required under 37 CFR 1.105 to provide the following information that the examiner has determined is reasonably necessary to the examination of this application (see MPEP §§ 704.10 - 704.13). In response to this requirement, please provide a copy of any related and pertinent information, such as non-patent literature, published application(s) or patent(s) (U.S. or foreign), that was used to assist in the drafting of this application. The applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose information that is material to patentability (see 37 CFR § 1.56). A complete reply to the instant Office action must include a complete reply to this requirement. The time period for reply to this requirement coincides with the time period for reply to the instant Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, ll. 2-3 recite “comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage with at harvest”. It is unclear whether the differences between fold changes of different peach varieties are being observed or if the fold changes themselves are changing over multiple time points. Paragraph [0019] of the instant specification US 20250146988 A1 defines fold change to be “multiple of accumulation of the sphingolipids during low-temperature storage for 21 d relative to harvest (i.e., 0 d)” and paragraph [0024] states that the calculated fold changes are also observed to be either higher or lower than other varieties. Therefore, in order to better define the scope of the invention, Applicant may correct the claim to read “comparing the fold changes of CER, SM and HexCer among different peach varieties, wherein fold changes are determined based on the amounts during low-temperature storage relative to the amounts at harvest”.
Regarding claim 6, ll. 3 and 6 recite “comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage lower than 10 Celsius degrees (°C) with at harvest”. It is unclear whether the differences between fold changes of different peach varieties are being observed or if the fold changes themselves are changing over multiple time points. Paragraph [0019] of the instant specification US 20250146988 A1 defines fold change to be “multiple of accumulation of the sphingolipids during low-temperature storage for 21 d relative to harvest (i.e., 0 d)” and paragraph [0024] states that the calculated fold changes are also observed to be either higher or lower than other varieties. Therefore, in order to better define the scope of the invention, Applicant may correct the claim to read “comparing the fold changes of CER, SM and HexCer among different peach varieties, wherein fold changes are determined based on the amounts during low-temperature storage lower than 10 degrees Celsius (°C) relative to the amounts at harvest”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed inventions are directed to the judicial exceptions of a product of nature and an abstract idea through mental processes (Step 2A/1) without markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart or practical application (Step 2A/2) and without significantly more (Step 2B). Although the instant claims encompass a composition and method (Step 1), they are directed to judicial exceptions as discussed below (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
Claim 1 recites:
“Markers for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties, comprising: ceramide (CER), sphingomyelin (SM) and hexosylceramide (HexCer)”.
Claim 2 recites:
An application method of the markers as claimed in claim 1, comprising: identifying the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties by using the markers.
Claim 3 recites:
A method for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties, comprising: determining the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage with at harvest.
Claim 5 recites:
The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the CER and the HexCer increase, indicated by the fold change of the CER and the HexCer greater than 1, and the SM decreases, indicated by the fold change of the SM smaller than 1, indicating differences in cold sensitivity among different peach varieties.
Claim 6 recites:
The method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the determining cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage with at harvest specifically comprises: determining the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing the changes in the fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in the different peach varieties at low-temperature storage lower than 10 Celsius degrees (℃) with at harvest.
Step 2A/1: Claim 1 is directed to a judicial exception as a product of nature (See MPEP 2106.04(b-c)). The recitation that the metabolites are “Markers for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties” is interpreted as describing the discovered biological significance or intended use of the recited metabolite, rather than imparting any structural or compositional limitation (See MPEP 2111). The recited metabolites retain the same chemical identity regardless of whether they are recognized as markers or whether their association is with the identification cold sensitivity of different peach varieties. Accordingly, this recitation does not alter the chemical structure or composition of the claimed metabolites nor do they impart markedly different characteristics to the naturally occurring products themselves, and the eligibility analysis is based on the individually claimed metabolites themselves (See MPEP 2106.04(c)).
In support of the judicial exception of claim 1 falling within the category of a product of nature, the instant publication (US 20250146988 A) states that sphingolipids including CER, SM, and HexCer are widely present in eukaryotes and some prokaryotic membranes and endomembrane systems an important structural component lipid of ([0004]), indicating that they are naturally occurring constituents of organisms rather than manmade compositions. Paragraph [0019] explains that peach samples containing these sphingolipids can be readily obtained from Ningbo city, Zhejiang province, and does not mention any pretreatment with the sphingolipids during sample preparation in paragraph ([0020]). Therefore, the claimed metabolites, as also shown in Table 1, are products of nature that originate from samples of naturally occurring peaches, and the claimed compositions are directed to a judicial exception.
In support of the judicial exception of claims 2-6 falling within the category of an abstract idea through mental processes and mathematical calculations, identifying and determining the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer to a reference value of 1 can be performed in the mind by observing and evaluating data and making a mental conclusion about the results (See MPEP 2106.04(a)). Claim 6 only further specifies that the low-temperature for storage is 10 °C and still does not prevent the determination step from being performed in the mind. Therefore, the claimed method is directed to an abstract idea.
The following references below establish that each marker is naturally occurring and detected:
Ceramide (CER)–
Wang et al. (“Transcriptomic and Metabolic Analyses Reveal the Mechanism of Ethylene Production in Stony Hard Peach Fruit during Cold Storage,”; 2021) uses liquid chromatograph mass spectrometry (LC-MS) to conduct lipidome analysis, in order to explore the possible relationships between changes in ceramide levels and ethylene production in peach SH fruit during long-term cold storage. Particularly Wang recognizes that the main lipid component of the plant intima system, sphingolipids, which include ceramides, are involved in the regulation of defensin-related programmed cell death (PCD) and concludes from its study that the content of ceramide in the peaches increased significantly with the duration of refrigeration time (See p. 9, para. 3, ll. 1-5). Fig. 5B shows the ceramide content of Stony hard (SH) peach (Prunus persica L. Batsch) fruit samples with no report of them being treated with ceramide before testing. Since the data shows that ceramide levels only increased with prolonged refrigeration time, ceramide is further understood to be a naturally occurring composition present in SH peaches.
Additionally, reference Niaz (“Quantitative lipidomic analysis reveals glycine betaine-hot water treatments preserve banana peel integrity under chilling stress,” 2026) teaches that sphingolipids are essential membrane constituents that have a role in plant defense and signal transduction and that these lipids are classified as sphingomyelin (SM), ceramide (Cer), and hexosylceramide (HCer) in the peel tissue of bananas (See p. 10, para. 2, ll. 1-5). Fig. 8 shows the change in content of all three lipids in banana peel tissue samples after treatment with glycine betaine combined with hot water (GB + HWT). Thus, Niaz provides evidence that ceramide is a naturally occurring metabolite generated during normal cellular metabolism rather than a human made composition.
Sphingomyelin (SM) –
Huang et al. (“Interaction between nitric oxide and storage temperature on sphingolipid metabolism of postharvest peach fruit,” 2020) demonstrates that cold storage decreased the contents of ceramide (CER) and sphingomyelin (SM) in peaches (See p. 66, col. 2, para. 2, ll. 12-13) as explained by known sphingolipid metabolism pathways in peach fruit (See Fig. 6). Fig. 4 shows the change in content of ceramide (CER) and sphingomyelin (SM) in peach samples after treatment with nitric oxide (NO). Thus, Huang provides evidence that ceramide and sphingomyelin are naturally occurring metabolites generated during normal cellular metabolism rather than a human made composition
Additionally, reference Niaz (“Quantitative lipidomic analysis reveals glycine betaine-hot water treatments preserve banana peel integrity under chilling stress,” 2026) teaches that sphingolipids are essential membrane constituents that have a role in plant defense and signal transduction and that these lipids are classified as sphingomyelin (SM), ceramide (Cer), and hexosylceramide (HCer) in the peel tissue of bananas (See p. 10, para. 2, ll. 1-5). Fig. 8 shows the change in content of all three lipids in banana peel tissue samples after treatment with glycine betaine combined with hot water (GB + HWT). Thus, Niaz provides evidence that sphingomyelin is a naturally occurring metabolite generated during normal cellular metabolism rather than a human made composition.
Hexosylceramide (HexCer) –
Zhang et al. (“Multi-omics integration of flavor metabolome and lipidome elucidates 1-methylcyclopropene effects on postharvest quality in yellow-fleshed peach at 30 C,” 2026) analyzes how 1-methylcyclopropene effects on postharvest quality in yellow-fleshed peach at 30 °C by monitoring hexosylceramide and ceramide levels before and after treatment. Fig. S1 displays this data between a control and treated sample while Fig. 6 displays the lipidome overview of peach mesocarp. Therefore, Niaz provides evidence that hexosylceramide is a naturally occurring metabolite generated during normal cellular metabolism rather than a human made composition.
Additionally, reference Niaz (“Quantitative lipidomic analysis reveals glycine betaine-hot water treatments preserve banana peel integrity under chilling stress,” 2026) teaches that sphingolipids are essential membrane constituents that have a role in plant defense and signal transduction and that these lipids are classified as sphingomyelin (SM), ceramide (Cer), and hexosylceramide (HCer) in the peel tissue of bananas (See p. 10, para. 2, ll. 1-5). Fig. 8 shows the change in content of all three lipids in banana peel tissue samples after treatment with glycine betaine combined with hot water (GB + HWT). Thus, Niaz provides evidence that hexosylceramide is a naturally occurring metabolite generated during normal cellular metabolism rather than a human made composition.
Step 2A/2: Claim 1 does not recite that the biomarkers are isolated, purified, chemically modified, or otherwise possess markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring metabolites (See MPEP 2106.04(b-c)).
The judicial exception of claims 2-6 is not integrated into a practical application. Once the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties has been identified and determined, there is no action.
Step 2B: The claims do not recite additional elements, individually or as an ordered combination, that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claims merely recite naturally occurring biomarkers and therefore do not include an inventive concept sufficient to transform the judicial exception into patent-eligible subject matter. Even if claim 4, which claims the use of instrumentation for detecting the markers, were imported into claims 2 or 3, the claims would still not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Use of the SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph is merely used to gather the data upon which the recited comparison and determination are performed and therefore constitutes insignificant extra solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05). The specification describes the use of a SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph to detect metabolites and does not indicate that the claimed use of liquid chromatograph is unconventional or constitutes an improvement to the technology. A reference Xie et al. (“Characterization and comparison of lipids in Camellia oleifera kernels of XL210 and XL1 based on LC-MS/MS,” 2021) uses a SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph to detect sphingolipids in fruit (p. 195, para. 2; Abstract; Fig. 1) and therefore establishes this instrument as well understood, routine and conventional in the field of the art for detecting the same class of claimed markers in the same sample type.
Thus, for reasons fully explained above, claims 1-6 do not satisfy the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101 and are therefore rejected.
Claim Interpretation
The claims contain limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed invention. These limitations are only given patentable weight to the extent which affects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114. Note that functional limitations are emphasized in italics herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Transcriptome, lipidome, and phytohormone analyses elucidate the mechanism of chilling injury during postharvest cold storage in different cold-sensitive peach fruit,” 2022-04-16), in view of Huang et al. (“Interaction between nitric oxide and storage temperature on sphingolipid metabolism of postharvest peach fruit,” 2020).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches markers for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties (“Changes in lipid composition and content during cold storage To evaluate the effect of cold storage on the fruit of cold-sensitive and -insensitive peach varieties; ll. 119-120), comprising: ceramide (CER) and hexosylceramide (HexCer)(“Contents of ceramide (Cer), monoglycosylceramide (CerG1),…in the two peach varieties were the highest at the L1 stage,” wherein monoglycosylceramide is a synonym of hexosylceramide (HexCer); ll. 140-142)(The recitation that the metabolites are “Markers for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties” is interpreted as describing the discovered biological significance or intended use of the recited metabolite, rather than imparting any structural or compositional limitation (See MPEP 2111)).
Wang fails to teach sphingomyelin (SM) as a marker.
Huang teaches sphingomyelin (SM) as a marker for identifying cold sensitivity of peaches (“the role[[s]] of…storage temperatures in regulating the responses of sphingolipids metabolism to chilling injury of peach fruit,” wherein “Compared with the storage at 25 °C, cold storage at 0 °C… increased the activities of…sphingomyelin (SM)”; Abstract).
Huang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor for analyzing sphingolipids as markers for chilling injury in peach fruit. Both Huang and Wang use different varieties of the same type of peach, Prunus persica, to investigate the same issue of chilling injury using markers of the same class of metabolic system (sphingolipids)(Huang, “Feicheng”; p. 61, col. 1, 2.1. Fruit materials)(Wang, “‘Chunmei’ (‘CM’) and ‘Chunxue’ (‘CX’)”; ll. 61-62). Wang explains that “Different varieties of peach exhibit different levels of sensitivity to low temperature,” which is “mainly determined by genetic factors” (ll. 30-31) and that “metabolite levels affecting peach fruit quality properties are variety dependent” (ll. 39-40). Huang teaches in Fig. 6 that CER and SM are metabolically related through sphingomyelin synthase (SMS) and demonstrates that cold storage at 0°C produces a measurable change in both ceramide and sphingomyelin content in Prunus persica. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chilling injury sphingolipid marker set taught by Wang to include sphingomyelin (SM) as taught by Huang because evaluating SM together with CER and HexCer would provide a more comprehensive assessment of sphingolipid changes associated with Prunus persica peach response to low temperature stress, and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding claim 2, Modified Wang teaches an application method of the markers as claimed in claim 1, comprising: identifying the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties by using the markers (“Changes in lipid composition and content during cold storage To evaluate the effect of cold storage on the fruit of cold-sensitive and -insensitive peach varieties; Wang, ll. 119-120).
Claims 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Transcriptome, lipidome, and phytohormone analyses elucidate the mechanism of chilling injury during postharvest cold storage in different cold-sensitive peach fruit,” 2022-04-16), in view of Huang et al. (“Interaction between nitric oxide and storage temperature on sphingolipid metabolism of postharvest peach fruit,” 2020) and Zhu et al. (“Effect of Ethylene on Cell Wall and Lipid Metabolism during Alleviation of Postharvest Chilling Injury in Peach,” 2019).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches a method for identifying cold sensitivity of different peach varieties, comprising: determining the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing changes in of CER and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage with at harvest (“3.1.2 Changes in lipid composition and content during cold storage To evaluate the effect of cold storage on the fruit of cold-sensitive and -insensitive peach varieties, fruits of both varieties were subjected to lipidome analysis after selection at three different time points (Fig. 1D, E and F): immediately after harvest (CK0); at the start of ethylene release (L1); and at the peak of ethylene release (L2),” wherein “Contents of ceramide (Cer), monoglycosylceramide (CerG)…in the two peach varieties were the highest at the L1 stage, with no significant differences between the two varieties (Fig. 1F),” and wherein ll. 113-114 explain that the start of ethylene release occurred when both peach varieties were under cold storage of 4°C, with “cold store” indicating a lower temperature than that at harvest; ll. 119-123, 140-142).
Wang fails to teach comparing changes in SM, and does not explicitly teach that the changes are calculated as fold changes (commonly understood in the art to be a ratio).
Huang teaches comparing changes in SM (“the role[[s]] of…storage temperatures in regulating the responses of sphingolipids metabolism to chilling injury of peach fruit,” wherein “Compared with the storage at 25 °C, cold storage at 0 °C… increased the activities of…sphingomyelin (SM)”; Abstract).
Huang is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor for analyzing sphingolipids to evaluate chilling injury in peach fruit. Both Huang and Wang use different varieties of the same type of peach, Prunus persica, to investigate the same issue of chilling injury using markers of the same class of metabolic system (sphingolipids)(Huang, “Feicheng”; p. 61, col. 1, 2.1. Fruit materials)(Wang, “‘Chunmei’ (‘CM’) and ‘Chunxue’ (‘CX’)”; ll. 61-62). Wang explains that “Different varieties of peach exhibit different levels of sensitivity to low temperature,” which is “mainly determined by genetic factors” (ll. 30-31) and that “metabolite levels affecting peach fruit quality properties are variety dependent” (ll. 39-40). Huang teaches in Fig. 6 that CER and SM are metabolically related through sphingomyelin synthase (SMS) and demonstrates that cold storage at 0°C produces a measurable change in both ceramide and sphingomyelin content in Prunus persica. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the chilling injury sphingolipid marker set taught by Wang to include sphingomyelin (SM) as taught by Huang because evaluating SM together with CER and HexCer would provide a more comprehensive assessment of sphingolipid changes associated with Prunus persica peach response to low temperature stress, and this involves combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Modified Wang is silent to teaching the changes are calculated as fold changes (commonly understood in the art to be a ratio).
Zhu teaches calculating fold changes in lipid content to evaluate postharvest chilling injury in peaches (Fold change of the lipid content between ethylene and control was calculated; p. 5, ll. 2-3; Title).
Zhu is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor for analyzing sphingolipids to evaluate chilling injury in peach fruit. Zhu teaches calculating fold changes in lipid content and includes ceramide among the lipid contents analyzed and compared (Abstract, Fig. 7). Additionally, Zhu recognizes HexCer (glycosyl ceramide) as a part of the relevant peach sphingolipid pathway as shown in Fig. 8. Wang already analyzes the CER and HexCer content both at harvest and 4°C and determines that these levels were highest at the L1 stage relative to harvest, so expressing this change as a ratio would be expected to yield predictable results. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the CER, SM, and HexCer measurements taught by Wang in view of Huang by applying Zhu’s fold change calculation because fold change provides a known technique for quantitatively expressing relative changes in lipid content, and this involves applying a known technique to a known device method ready for improvement to yield predictable results. (See MPEP 2143(I)(C)).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Wang teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the CER and the HexCer increase, indicated by the fold change of the CER and the HexCer greater than 1, and the SM decreases, indicated by the fold change of the SM smaller than 1, indicating differences in cold sensitivity among different peach varieties (Wang teaches evaluating peach varieties having different cold sensitivities by analyzing changes in lipid content between harvest (CK0) and subsequent stages of cold storage (L1 and L2)(ll. 119-123). Wang further teaches that CER and CerG1 (HexCer) contents were highest at the L1 stage (ll. 140-142), thereby teaching an increase in these sphingolipids during cold storage relative to the harvest measurement. Huang further teaches that SM is a sphingolipid involved in the response of peach fruit to cold storage and that storage at the lower temperature decreases SM content relative to the higher temperature storage condition (Abstract). Zhu teaches calculating fold change of lipid content as a known technique for quantitatively expressing relative differences in lipid abundance (p. 5, ll. 2-3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected CER and CERG1 to exhibit fold changes greater than 1 where their measured content increased relative to harvest, and SM to exhibit a fold change less than 1 where its measured content decreased under the low temperature condition, because a fold change of 1 represents no change and values above or below 1 must represent increases or decreases, respectively).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Wang teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, wherein the determining cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing changes in fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in different peach varieties at low-temperature storage with at harvest specifically comprises: determining the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties through comparing the changes in the fold change of CER, SM and HexCer in the different peach varieties at low-temperature storage lower than 10 Celsius degrees (℃) with at harvest (“During cold storage (at 4 °C), ‘CX’ fruit produced ethylene at 8 d, whereas ‘CM’ fruit released 114 ethylene at 24 d (Fig. 1B and C),” wherein L1 and L2 time points correspond to the start and peak of ethylene release; Wang, ll. 113-114).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (“Transcriptome, lipidome, and phytohormone analyses elucidate the mechanism of chilling injury during postharvest cold storage in different cold-sensitive peach fruit,” 2022-04-16) and Taguchi et al. incorporated by reference (“Precise and global identification of phospholipid molecular species by an Orbitrap mass spectrometer and automated search engine Lipid Search,” 2010), in view of Huang et al. (“Interaction between nitric oxide and storage temperature on sphingolipid metabolism of postharvest peach fruit,” 2020) and Zhu et al. (“Effect of Ethylene on Cell Wall and Lipid Metabolism during Alleviation of Postharvest Chilling Injury in Peach,” 2019), as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Xie et al. (“Characterization and comparison of lipids in Camellia oleifera kernels of XL210 and XL1 based on LC-MS/MS,” 2021).
Regarding claim 4, Modified Wang teaches the method as claimed in claim 3.
Modified Wang fails to teach the method further comprises: detecting the CER, the SM and the HexCer as markers for identifying the cold sensitivity of different peach varieties by using a SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph.
Wang instead performs lipid extraction using RPLC with a LC 10ADVPµ HPLC system (Shimadzu,Kyoto,Japan)(Wang, ll. 104-1050 as evidenced in Taguchi, p. 4233, col. 1, ll. 1-3).
Xie detects sphingolipids in fruit using a SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph (“Ultra performance liquid chromatography analysis Chromatographic analysis was performed using a SCIEX ExionLCTM Series HPLC system,” wherein the samples were “Fresh fruits of XL1 C. oleifera”; p. 195, col. 1, 2.5. Ultra performance liquid chromatography analysis; Fig. 1).
Xie is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor for fruit lipidomic analysis using LC-MS/MS and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of selecting an analytical system suitable for detecting sphingolipid markers in fruit. Xie separates the same class of the claimed sphingolipids (including ceramide and Hexcer) in fruit samples (p. 195, col. 2, para. 5, l. 9; p. 196, col. 2, para. 3, ll. 8-9), whereas Wang also separates CER and HexCer. Huang’s sphingomyelin is also within the class of sphingolipids and is a ceramide derivative which would give reason to expect predictable results when using a SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph to perform separation. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the Shimadzu RPPLC system used for sphingolipid detection taught by Wang in view of Huang with the SCIEX ExionLCTM ultra-high performance liquid chromatograph taught by Xie because SCIEX ExionLCTM is a known and suitable chromatographic platform for lipidomic analysis, and this involves the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/V.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758