DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/2/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites the limitation "a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion" in lines 4-5. The limitation is unclear as to which “face” comprises the first portion and second portion. Specifically, do the first portion and second portion apply to the front face, the back face, or both faces? The limitation is unclear as to which structure the limitation is applying to. For purpose of prosecution, the Examiner interprets that the first portion and second portion refer to the front face as discussed in the dependent claims. Claims 2-18 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1.
The term “in particular” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “in particular 10000 microliters or 5000 microliters” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear as to what volume the Applicant intends to claim.
The term “in particular” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “in particular 8 mandrels” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear as to how many mandrels the Applicant intends to claim.
The term “preferably” and “in particular” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably four pairs, in particular six pairs” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Specifically, it is unclear as to how many pairs of modules the Applicant intends to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horler et al (US 20220152605 A1; hereinafter “Horler”; already of record on IDS filed 8/2/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Horler teaches a module for liquid handling operations (Horler; Abstract; linear actuator; Examiner notes that the actuator taught by Horler can be used in liquid handling operations as discussed in para [24]), the module comprising:
a housing element (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [33]; the actuator comprising an actuator body 11) having a width, height, and depth (Horler; Fig. 1, 2), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [37]; The shaft 12 guided by the body 11 is disposed centrally in the projection 18; The examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protrusion and the back face as the surface side opposite of the projection. The first portion is interpreted as the projection surface and the second portion is the non-projected surface),
wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Horler; Fig. 1, 2). The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the projection depicted in Figure 1, and the back face as the surface side without the projection depicted in Figure 2. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face.
Regarding claim 2, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the width of the first portion of the front face is not more than half the width of the back (Horler; Fig. 3; para [34]; Hence each of the projection 18 and the rebate 19 has a width w/2 equal to half the width w of the body 11).
Regarding claim 3, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the width of the back face does not exceed 18 millimeters (Horler; Fig. 3; para [34]; The spacing of the two planes 16 determines the width w of the body 11. By way of example, the width can be 18 millimeters), the width of the first portion of the front face does not exceed more than 9 millimeters and wherein the width of the module does not exceed 18 millimeters (Horler; Fig. 3; para [34]; Hence each of the projection 18 and the rebate 19 has a width w/2 equal to half the width w of the body 11).
Regarding claim 5, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the module further comprises at least one of the following: a sensing unit such as an imaging unit (Horler; para [18]; the actuator may comprise optical sensing means for sensing two spaced-apart end positions of the shaft relative to the body, so that stop points with respect to shaft axial displacement can be recognized or defined).
Regarding claim 6, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the housing element further comprises at least one cavity in at least one of: a top face or a bottom face of the housing element (Horler; Fig. 1, 2, 4; para [34]; The body is completed by two further sides 20 a and 20 b; the Examiner interprets the top face and the bottom face to be the sides 20 a and 20 b which comprises a cavity for the shaft as which goes through), wherein the at least one cavity comprises locking means configured to attach a stud inserted into said cavity to the housing element (Horler; Fig. 4; para [38]; the shaft 12 to extend centrally through the projection 19 is a capability of the body 11 of the actuator to interlock at the side 17 b with the body of another such actuator; the Examiner interprets the shaft to be the stud), wherein said locking means are preferably at least one of: a bushing, a push fit arrangement or a spring centering arrangement (Horler; Fig. 4; para [37]; Sliding guidance of the shaft 12 in the bore of the projection 18 is provided by two bearing bushes 21 of slide-bearing material).
Regarding claim 8, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the housing element comprises at least one port for at least one of: communications, power transfer (Horler; para [45]; Power supply and signal transmission are carried out via duplicate electrical connectors 33 provided at each of the sides 20 a and 20 b).
Regarding claim 9, Horler teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the housing element comprises heat dissipation grooves formed in at least part of at least one face or surface (Horler; para [45]; the body 11 can be provided at the side 17 a with cooling openings 35 to exhaust motor operating heat).
Regarding claim 10, Horler teaches a liquid handling apparatus, comprising at least one first module (Horler; Abstract; linear actuator; Examiner notes that the actuator taught by Horler can be used in liquid handling operations as discussed in para [24]) said first module comprising:
a housing element (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [33]; the actuator comprising an actuator body 11) having a width, height, and depth (Horler; Fig. 1, 2), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [37]; The shaft 12 guided by the body 11 is disposed centrally in the projection 18; The examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protrusion and the back face as the surface side opposite of the projection. The first portion is interpreted as the projection surface and the second portion is the non-projected surface), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the projection depicted in Figure 1, and the back face as the surface side without the projection depicted in Figure 2. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face),
and at least one second module (Horler; Fig. 5; para [46]; Examiner notes that the multiple actuators are assembled to create the modular assembly 40, thus the Examiner interprets the second module as any other module), said second module comprising:
- a housing element (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [33]; the actuator comprising an actuator body 11) having a width, height, and depth (Horler; Fig. 1, 2), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; para [37]; The shaft 12 guided by the body 11 is disposed centrally in the projection 18; The examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protrusion and the back face as the surface side opposite of the projection. The first portion is interpreted as the projection surface and the second portion is the non-projected surface), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Horler; Fig. 1, 2; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the projection depicted in Figure 1, and the back face as the surface side without the projection depicted in Figure 2. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face), wherein said first module and said second module are arranged in a paired interlocked arrangement, wherein in the paired interlocked arrangement the first portion of the front face of the first module and the second portion of the front face of the second module are facing each other and in proximity and/or contacting each other (Horler; Fig. 5; para [46]; As can be seen in FIG. 5, which shows the assembly to be composed of four side-by-side pairs of interlocked actuators 10).
Regarding claim 11, Horler teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the combined width of the paired interlocked arrangement of the first and second module does not exceed 18 millimeters (Horler; Fig. 3, 5; para [34]; The spacing of the two planes 16 determines the width w of the body 11. By way of example, the width can be 18 millimeters). The Examiner notes that the interlocked pairs do not exceed 18 millimeters, because the pairs are interlocked at the front face. Thus, the back face of each interlocking pair remains the same width.
Regarding claim 15, Horler teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus comprises at least three pairs of automated modules, preferably four pairs, in particular six pairs (Horler; Fig. 5, para [46]; As can be seen in FIG. 5, which shows the assembly to be composed of four side-by-side pairs of interlocked actuators 10).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, 12-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Izume et al (US 20200355717 A1; hereinafter “Izume”; already of record on IDS filed 8/2/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Izume teaches a module for liquid handling operations (Izume; Abstract), the module comprising:
a housing element having a width, height, and depth (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Izume; Fig. 12; the Examiner interprets the front face as the side with the tip 12 and the back face as the opposite side of the tip 12. The first portion is interpreted as the protruding side with the tip 12 and the second portion is the non-protruding side),
wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Izume; Fig. 10, 12). The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12, and the back face as the surface side without the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face as depicted in Fig. 10.
Regarding claim 4, Izume teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the module further comprises a pipetting mechanism located within the housing element (Izume; para [60]; The head devices 6A and 6B each include the head 61), the pipetting mechanism comprising:
at least one electric motor (Izume; Fig. 12; para [71]; The suction motor 82),
at least one piston connected to the electric motor (Izume; Fig. 12; para [46]; Movement of the plunger 14 relative to the syringe 13 in the Z direction by the piston mechanism causes the suction force and the discharge force to be applied to the distal end opening portion t to the tip 12) and configured for fluid displacement when said piston is moved within a cylinder (Izume; para [78]; Thus configured head 61 and the driving force of the suction motor 82 enable the tip 12 to operate to suction and discharge the cell C), and
at least one pipette mandrel (Izume; para [43]; The tip 12 attached to each head 61 includes a syringe 13), wherein the pipette mandrel extends at least partially outside the housing element (Izume; Fig. 12),
wherein the pipette mandrel extends via a port, said port being located within the protrusion formed by the front face (Izume; Fig. 8; The Examiner notes that the pipette mandrel extends out of an opening as seen in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Izume teaches the module of claim 1, wherein the housing element further comprises at least one alignment pin attached to at least one of a top face or bottom face of the housing element (Izume; para [72]; The guide pin 715 includes a portion screwed on the head holding frame 714).
Regarding claim 10, Izume teaches a liquid handling apparatus, comprising at least one first module (Izume; Abstract) said first module comprising:
a housing element having a width, height, and depth (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Izume; Fig. 12; the Examiner interprets the front face as the side with the tip 12 and the back face as the opposite side of the tip 12. The first portion is interpreted as the protruding side with the tip 12 and the second portion is the non-protruding side), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Izume; Fig. 10, 12; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12, and the back face as the surface side without the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face as depicted in Fig. 10),
and at least one second module (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner notes that each module is interpreted as the independent head devices, thus “the second module” would be interpreted as head device 6B), said second module comprising:
- a housing element having a width, height, and depth (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (IIzume; Fig. 12; the Examiner interprets the front face as the side with the tip 12 and the back face as the opposite side of the tip 12. The first portion is interpreted as the protruding side with the tip 12 and the second portion is the non-protruding side), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Izume; Fig. 10, 12; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12, and the back face as the surface side without the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face as depicted in Fig. 10), wherein said first module and said second module are arranged in a paired interlocked arrangement, wherein in the paired interlocked arrangement the first portion of the front face of the first module and the second portion of the front face of the second module are facing each other and in proximity and/or contacting each other (Izume; Fig. 11; para [59]; FIG. 11 is a perspective view showing a state of a pair of head devices 6A and 6B fit to each other on a +Y side and a −Y side).
Regarding claim 12, Izume teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein at least one of the first module or the second module comprises a pipetting mechanism located within the housing element (Izume; para [60]; The head devices 6A and 6B each include the head 61), the pipetting mechanism comprising:
- at least one electric motor (Izume; Fig. 12; para [71]; The suction motor 82),
- at least one piston connected to the electric motor and configured for fluid displacement when said piston is moved within a cylinder (Izume; Fig. 12; para [46]; Movement of the plunger 14 relative to the syringe 13 in the Z direction by the piston mechanism causes the suction force and the discharge force to be applied to the distal end opening portion t to the tip 12) and configured for fluid displacement when said piston is moved within a cylinder (Izume; para [78]; Thus configured head 61 and the driving force of the suction motor 82 enable the tip 12 to operate to suction and discharge the cell C), and
at least one pipette mandrel connected to the cylinder, wherein the pipette mandrel extends at least partially outside the housing element (Izume; para [43]; The tip 12 attached to each head 61 includes a syringe 13), wherein the pipette mandrel extends at least partially outside the housing element (Izume; Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 13, Izume teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus comprises a third automated-module (Izume; Fig. 8; the Examiner interprets the third automated-module as any of the other modules as the apparatus of Izume teaches a plurality of modules as depicted in Figure 8) wherein said third automated comprises a housing (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), a pipetting mechanism (Izume; para [60]; The head devices 6A and 6B each include the head 61), and at least one pipette mandrel suitable for a pipette tip (Izume; para [43]; The tip 12 attached to each head 61 includes a syringe 13), wherein said housing comprises at least one port configured to receive a fastening stud (Izume; para [72]; The guide pin 715 includes a portion screwed on the head holding frame 714), and wherein the third automated module is configured to have an adjustable dispensing volume from 100 microliters to 6000 microliters, in particular 1000 microliters or 5000 microliters (Izume; para [31]; The plurality of cells C being dispersed in a cell culture solution are injected to the selection container 11 from the dispensation tip). The limitation is directed to the function and/or the manner of operating the third automated module, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Izume and the third automated module of Izume is capable of being “configured to have an adjustable dispensing volume from 100 microliters to 6000 microliters, in particular 1000 microliters or 5000 microliters”. As such, it is deemed that the claimed third automated module is not differentiated from the third automated module of Izume (see MPEP §2114).
Regarding claim 14, Izume teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus comprises an additional automated module (Izume; Fig. 8; para [53]; the Examiner interprets the additional automated module as any of the other modules as the apparatus of Izume teaches a plurality of modules as depicted in Figure 8 and that each head unit comprises a controller), wherein said additional automated-module comprises a housing (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), a pipetting mechanism (Izume; para [60]; The head devices 6A and 6B each include the head 61), and at least one pipette mandrel suitable for a pipette tip (Izume; para [43]; The tip 12 attached to each head 61 includes a syringe 13), wherein said housing comprises at least one port configured to receive a fastening stud (Izume; para [72]; The guide pin 715 includes a portion screwed on the head holding frame 714), and wherein the additional automated-module comprises from 2 to 12 pipette mandrels, in particular 8 pipette mandrels (Izume; Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Izume teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus further comprises a module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8; para [62]; a lower end frame 704) and wherein the modules are attached to the module fixture base via a stud protruding from the module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8, 9; Examiner notes the lower end frame comprises pins as depicted in Figure 8 and the exploded Figure 9).
Regarding claim 17, Izume teaches the liquid handling apparatus of claim 10, wherein the apparatus further comprises a tray-type module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8; para [62]; a lower end frame 704) comprising a body and wherein the automated modules are attached to the tray-type module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8; para [62]; the unit frame 70 on the −Y side and a −Z end portion of the unit frame on the +Y side (not shown) are bridged by a lower end frame 704) at least one of: one or more indentations in the which are shaped to hold the automated modules, and/or pins protruding from the automated modules which connect to ports on the body (Izume; Fig. 9, 10; The Examiner interprets the indentation as the portion adjacent to the holding frame 714 which protrudes as seen in Figure 10, which is shaped to match the corresponding module).
Regarding claim 18, Izume teaches a liquid handling apparatus (Izume; Abstract), said apparatus comprising:
- a module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8; para [62]; a lower end frame 704),
- at least one first module, said first module comprising a housing element having a width, height, and depth (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face, and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Izume; Fig. 12; the Examiner interprets the front face as the side with the tip 12 and the back face as the opposite side of the tip 12. The first portion is interpreted as the protruding side with the tip 12 and the second portion is the non-protruding side), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Izume; Fig. 10, 12; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12, and the back face as the surface side without the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face as depicted in Fig. 10),
- at least one second module, said second module comprising a housing element having a width, height, and depth (Izume; Fig. 12; Examiner interprets the housing to be all the elements of each individual head element 6A or 6B which each comprises a width, height, and depth), wherein the housing element comprises: a back face, and a front face comprising a first portion and a second portion (Izume; Fig. 12; the Examiner interprets the front face as the side with the tip 12 and the back face as the opposite side of the tip 12. The first portion is interpreted as the protruding side with the tip 12 and the second portion is the non-protruding side), wherein the first portion of the front face protrudes outwardly from the front face and wherein the first portion of the front face has a width which is less than the width of the back face (Izume; Fig. 10, 12; The Examiner interprets the front face as the surface side with the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12, and the back face as the surface side without the protruding portion with the tip depicted in Figure 12. Thus, the projection width of the front face is smaller than the width of the entire back face as depicted in Fig. 10),
wherein said first module and said second module are arranged in a paired interlocked arrangement, wherein in the paired interlocked arrangement the first portion of the front face of the first module and the second portion of the front face of the second module are facing each other and in proximity and/or contacting each other (Izume; Fig. 11; para [59]; FIG. 11 is a perspective view showing a state of a pair of head devices 6A and 6B fit to each other on a +Y side and a −Y side),
wherein the said first and said second modules are attached to the module fixture base via a stud protruding from the module fixture base (Izume; Fig. 8, 9; Examiner notes the lower end frame comprises pins as depicted in Figure 8 and the exploded Figure 9),
wherein at least one of the first module or the second module comprises a pipetting mechanism located within the respective housing element (Izume; para [60]; The head devices 6A and 6B each include the head 61), the pipetting mechanism comprising:
- at least one electric motor (Izume; Fig. 12; para [71]; The suction motor 82),
- at least one piston connected to the electric motor (Izume; Fig. 12; para [46]; Movement of the plunger 14 relative to the syringe 13 in the Z direction by the piston mechanism causes the suction force and the discharge force to be applied to the distal end opening portion t to the tip 12) and configured for fluid displacement when said piston is moved within a cylinder (Izume; para [78]; Thus configured head 61 and the driving force of the suction motor 82 enable the tip 12 to operate to suction and discharge the cell C), and
at least one pipette mandrel connected to the cylinder (Izume; para [43]; The tip 12 attached to each head 61 includes a syringe 13), wherein the pipette mandrel extends at least partially outside the housing element (Izume; Fig. 8; The Examiner notes that the pipette mandrel extends out of an opening as seen in Figure 8).
Conclusion
/A.Q.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796