Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 15-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,979,760. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations are similar in scope with obvious wording variations.
Instant Application
US 11,979,760
Claim 15. A method, comprising:
at a user equipment (UE):
determining if a first component carrier (CC) and a second CC of a carrier aggregation (CA) combination are collocated; and
selecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH} monitoring type based on, at least, the determination of whether the first and second CC are collocated.
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining whether the PDCCH symbols received on the first CC and the second CC are aligned or unaligned, wherein
selecting the PDCCH monitoring type is further based on whether the PDCCH symbols received on the first CC and the second CC are aligned or unaligned.
Note that the table above only compared the conflicting claim 15. However, the Applicant is advised that the other independent and dependent claims in instant application also have their conflicting claims in US 11,979,760 and thus are rejected on a similar fashion as that in the table above, resulting in a double patenting rejection to all claims in instant application.
Thus, this double patenting rejection is necessary to prevent unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 18, 21 and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Saber (US 20210282001) and provisional documents (63/000049 and 63025779).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 15/21/26, Saber teaches A method, comprising:
at a user equipment (UE) ([0074], “Example 1: The UE is configured with N=3 serving cells both with (X, Y)=(4,3) as shown in FIG. 2F.”):
determining if a first component carrier (CC) and a second CC of a carrier aggregation (CA) combination ([Fig.2F and 0074], “in FIG. 2F, the three (4,3) cells CC1, CC2 and CC3 are considered to be aligned as the union of all search spaces results in span pattern that is covered by (4,3).”) are collocated ([0074], “aligned”); and
selecting a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH} monitoring type ([0081], “where the span patterns on the three cells have been determined to be aligned. The UE is not required to monitor more than M PDCCH..total,(X,Y),μ PDCCH candidates.” In other words, number of PDCCH candidates to be monitored is based on whether the CCs are aligned.) based on, at least, the determination of whether the first and second CC are collocated ([0074], “the three (4,3) cells CC1, CC2 and CC3 are considered to be aligned.”).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 18, Saber teaches wherein the determining is based on CA configuration information received from a base station to which the UE is connected ([Abs], “sending, by the network, to the first UE, a first search space (SS) configuration for a first component carrier in a carrier aggregation (CA) scheme.”).
Regarding claim(s) 27, Saber teaches wherein, when the first and second CC are not collocated ([0085], “FIG. 2K is an example of an unaligned case.”), an unaligned PDCCH monitoring type is selected ([0088], “the UE is not required to monitor more than C.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,(X,Y),μ non-overlapping CCEs or M.sub.PDCCH.sup.total,(X,Y),μ PDCCH candidates.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 24 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saber in view of Hosseini (US 20210360593).
Regarding claim(s) 19/24/34, Hosseini teaches wherein the determining is based on a cell group to which the CA combination belongs ([0077], “all carriers of the MCG and all carriers of the SCG are configured with a Release 16 PDCCH. That is, the UE 120 may determine PDCCH monitoring capability values, for the MCG and the SCG, for span-based monitoring.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Saber to specify cell group as taught by Hosseini. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to apply Release 16 PDDCH configurations to MCG and SCG.
Claim(s) 20 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saber in view of Noh (US 20200305134).
Regarding claim(s) 20/25, Noh teaches wherein the multiple CA combinations are divided into multiple collocation groups within a cell group ([0261], “master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG).”), the method further comprising:
reporting, to a cell of the cell group, a capability of the UE with respect to supporting PDCCH monitoring types for each of the multiple collocation groups ([0261], “terminal that reports that the DC operation is possible through the UE capability report may report pdcch-BlindDetectionMCG-UE and pdcch-BlindDetectionSCG-UE, which are PDCCH monitoring UE capability reports for a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Saber to specify report capability of a UE as taught by Noh. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to perform blind detection.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saber in view of Takeda (US 20180242316 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 33, Takeda teaches process, based on signals received from a base station, CA configuration information comprising a collocation flag that indicates whether the first CC and the second CC are collocated ([0145], “, the TTI at which the user equipment receives the downlink control information indicating the Cross Carrier Scheduling to the CC1 is the first TTI overlapped with the TTI of the CC4 (the second CC).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Saber to specify CC1 overlaps with another CC as taught by Takeda. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for cross carrier scheduling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-17, 22-23 and 28-32 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411