DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III (Figures 11-16) in the reply filed on 6/ 24/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/6/2024 is being considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the suction cavity of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Biasing assembly in claim 1.
When looking to the specification, the biasing assembly appears to be a compression spring. This will be the structured required of the claim or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the rolling brush assembly is moved axially outward from the housing under the effect of a biasing force.” The Examiner does not believe the brush roll 309 can be removed from the housing axially. Item 307 is too large to fit through the aperture of item 304. The Examiner does believe the brush roll can have some axial play and then rotate out of the suction nozzle. But that is not what is discussed in the claim. Since the specification does not disclose the information needed for one skilled in the art to fully understand how the brush is removed, the claim is determined to lack the proper written description. For Examination purposes, any assembly wherein the brush is released from axial movement will fulfill this claim limitation.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites an elastic member. It is unclear if this is part of the biasing assembly. As such the claim is determined to be indefinite. For Examination purposes, it is presumed to be a different biasing member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Genn (US 2015/0265117).
Regarding claim 1, Genn discloses a floor brush, wherein the floor brush comprises:
a housing (Item 2) defining a dust suction cavity (Item 11), and the housing comprising an end cover at one side thereof
a rolling brush assembly (Item 8) comprising a rolling brush being able to pass through an opening of the end cover and being arranged in the dust suction cavity;
a biasing assembly (Item 6), the rolling brush assembly being biasedly mounted relative to the housing by the biasing assembly; and
an automatic locking apparatus (Item 5) having a release position and a locking position relative to the rolling brush assembly, wherein at the locking position, the automatic locking apparatus fixes the rolling brush assembly in position, and at the release position, the rolling brush assembly is moved axially outward from the housing under the effect of a biasing force (Paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 2, Genn discloses the floor brush as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rolling brush assembly further comprises a locking member (Item 32) that is connected to the rolling brush, and the locking member engages with the automatic locking apparatus to fix the rolling brush assembly in position.
Regarding claim 3, Genn discloses the floor brush as claimed in claim 1, wherein the biasing assembly comprises a compression spring (6) and a pushing block (Item 30), and the pushing block abuts the rolling brush assembly.
Regarding claim 4, Genn discloses the floor brush as claimed in claim 3, wherein the biasing assembly further comprises a retaining frame (Item 20), and the compression spring is compressed between the pushing block and the retaining frame.
Regarding claim 15, Genn discloses the floor brush as claimed in claim 1, wherein the automatic locking apparatus comprises a trigger (Item 20) and a rotating locking block (Item 32); the trigger is arranged to be axially movable, and the rotating locking block switches between the release position and the locking position in response to triggering by the trigger, wherein in the locking position, the rotating locking block is locked on the end cover, and in the release position, the rotating locking block is separated from the end cover.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art fails to disclose or teach the end cover comprising a stop part for engaging the rotating locking block, in the context with all of the other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723