DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “an optical circular” which has a typographical error. For the purposes of this Action, the limitation is interpreted as “an optical circulator”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “The breakdown flash of Silicon Avalanche Photodiodes – backdoor for eavesdropper attacks?” by Kurtsiefer et al, Journal of Modern Optics, v. 48, pp. 2039 – 2047, 2001 (hereinafter Kurtsiefer) in view of “Full-field implementation of a perfect eavesdropper on a quantum cryptography system” by Gerhardt et al, Nature communications, 2:349, 10:1038, pp. 1 – 6, 2011 (hereinafter Gerhardt).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12, Kurtsiefer describes (Fig. 6; Sections 4 and 5) a quantum cryptography apparatus (“quantum cryptography system” in the caption of Fig. 6), comprising:
a photon emitter (a single-photon emitter/source disposed at Alice’s site) configured to emit a photon (e.g., within 632 – 800 nm; 1st and last para. of Section 4);
a photon receiver (comprising a photon detector at Bob’s site; Fig. 6; 1st para. of Sections 4 and 5) configured to receive the emitted photon;
a backflash receiver (a backflash detector at Eve’s site) configured to detect a backflash of the emitted photon from the photon receiver (Fig. 6; 1st para. of Sections 4 and 5); and
a data acquisition system (comprising data acquisition systems at Bob’s site and Eve’s site) coupled to the photon receiver (at Bob’s site) and the backflash receiver (at Eve’s site),
wherein the data acquisition system (its part at Eve’s site) is configured to characterize the backflash (for the purpose of eavesdropping).
Kurtsiefer considers that the quantum cryptography system can encode information based on optical polarization coding (caption of Fig. 6), but does not detail its operation and structural/component particulars. However, Gerhardt describes (e.g., Fig. 1) a quantum cryptography system based on polarization coding (polarization-entangled photon states; “This QKD implementation has four detectors and uses a four-state protocol with polarization cod-ing and passive basis choice (Fig. 1b)” at 1st para. of “Experimental implementation”). Gerhardt expressly teaches (e.g., Fig. 1b) that a photon receiver comprises a polarization optic PBS (polarizing beamsplitter) configured to output a polarization state of a received photon by splitting a photon beam received from a quantum channel (between Alice and Bob in Fig. 1a) into two beams of orthogonal polarizations (horizontal H and vertical V, which are identified in Table 1) and detecting them with respective photodetectors to characterize a polarization dependence of the received photon.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that Bob’s receiver and Eve’s receiver in the optical polarization coding system of Kurtsiefer can both have a same general layout/schematic for the same photodetection functionality and can each comprise a polarization optic followed by a respective single-photon photodetector, as explicitly illustrated by Gerhardt, in order to enable proper operation, i.e., characterization of a polarization dependence of the emitted photon by Bob (at Bob’s site) and characterization of a polarization dependence of the backflash by Eve (at Eve’s site) to deduce a polarization state of the emitted photon.
A quantum cryptography apparatus of the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination is illustrated in the Figure below which is produced from Fig. 6 of Kurtsiefer by showing structural particulars of the photon receiver at Bob’s site and backflash receiver at Eve’s site.
Further for claim 11, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination considers that the photon receiver (at Bob’s site) comprises:
a polarization optic (including a polarization beam splitter (PBS)) configured to output the emitted photon in a polarization state; and
a photodetector configured to detect the emitted photon from the output of the polarization optic.
Further for claim 12, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination considers that the backflash receiver comprises:
a second polarization optic (including a second PBS) configured to output the backflash in a polarization state; and
a second photodetector configured to detect the backflash from the output of the second polarization optic.
In light of the foregoing analysis, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations.
Regarding claim 13, the teachings of Kurtsiefer and Gerhardt combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claim 1) to teach expressly or render obvious all of the recited limitations of a QKD system (“This QKD implementation has four detectors and uses a four-state protocol with polarization cod-ing and passive basis choice (Fig. 1b)” at 1st para. of “Experimental implementation” of Gerhardt), as detailed above for claims 1, 11, and 12 whose limitations are combined in claim 13.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination considers that, if the backflash is significant enough, Eve is able to detect it and extract, at least partially, information sent by Alice to Bob. In this case, the data acquisition system (its part at Eve’s site) is configured to detect correlations between a polarization state of the emitted photon and a polarization state of the backflash to characterize the polarization dependence of the backflash (and extract information for the purpose of eavesdropping).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination considers that the data acquisition system (at least its part at Bob’s site) is configured to decrypt a quantum key distribution (QKD) between the photon emitter and the photon receiver (e.g., Abstract; first two para. of Gerhardt).
Claims 4, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurtsiefer in view of Gerhardt, and further in view of “Backflash light characterization to prevent QKD zero-error hacking” by Meda et al, ArXiv:1605.05562v1, May 18, 2016 (hereinafter Meda).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination considers that, the polarization dependence of the backflash generated by the photon receiver (at Bob’s site) can be received and characterized by the backflash receiver of an eavesdropper (Eve), but the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination does not teach that such measurement by Eve can be deterred/prevented by implementing a passive counter-measure, including an optical isolator, an optical circulator, an optical filter, or some combination thereof. However, Meda describes (Fig. 1 and its description; Sections “The experimental setup” and “Conclusion”) a QKD system for characterizing backflashes comprising a photon receiver (Bib’s single-photon detector) and a backflash receiver (Eve’s detector), wherein the photon receiver is configured to detect an emitted photon (single photons), and the backflash receiver is configured to detect a backflash from the photon receiver. Meda expressly teaches that such measurement of the backflash by Eve can be deterred/prevented by implementing a passive counter-measure, including an optical isolator, an optical circulator, an optical filter, or some combination thereof (2nd para. of “Conclusion”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the apparatus/system of the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt combination can be (pre)configured to include an optical isolator, an optical circulator, or an optical filter, as taught by Meda, if significant backflash is measured during testing (as stated by Meda; Section “Conclusion” of Meda), in order to deter subsequent measurement (by Eve) of the backflash based on the polarization dependence of the backflash, thwart eavesdropping, and ensure the security of the QKD system.
Regarding claim 6, the Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt – Meda combination considers that the data acquisition system is in communication with an optical circulator configured to siphon off the backflash based on the polarization dependence of the backflash (1st para. of Section “Conclusion” of Meda).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 10 – 13, 15, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,666,433. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, because the scope of claims of the instant application have a broader scope and are rendered obvious by the (combinations of) limitations recited by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,666,433.
Claims 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 10,666,433 in view of Meda. The latter describes (Figs. 4 and 5) measurements of information leakage caused by a backflash from a photon receiver.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,855,456. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims of the instant application have a broader scope and are rendered obvious by the (combinations of) limitations recited by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,855,456.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,700. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims of the instant application have a broader scope and are rendered obvious by the (combinations of) limitations recited by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,015,700.
Allowable Subject Matter
The subject matter pertaining to claims 5, 7 – 10, and 17 – 20 would be allowable, if Applicant overcomes the double-patenting rejections and rewrites the claims in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and any intervening claims.
The reason for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 5 is that none of the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, teaches expressly, renders obvious and provides a motivation for an optical switch connected to the data acquisition system and configured to isolate the backflash based on the polarization dependence of the backflash. The Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt – Meda combination considers only the use of passive/fixed components (such as circulators, filters, etc, as described by Meda) that are installed into the data acquisition system and tested within it, rather than dynamic/active elements, such as an optical switch/modulator that is triggered/activated during the operation of QKD system.
The reason for indicating allowable subject matter in claims 7 – 9 and 17 – 19 is that none of the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, teaches expressly, renders obvious and provides a motivation for a data acquisition system configured to generate signals to trigger an alarm and/or a deterrence mechanism (e.g., an optical switch) based on a certain characteristic (e.g., an information leakage rate) of the polarization dependence of the backflash. The Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt – Meda combination considers only the use of passive/fixed components (such as circulators, filters, etc, as described by Meda) that are installed into the data acquisition system and tested within it, rather than dynamic/active elements that are activated during the operation of QKD system and trigger an alarm and/or a deterrence mechanism.
The reason for indicating allowable subject matter in claims 10 and 20 is that none of the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, teaches expressly, renders obvious and provides a motivation for a data acquisition system of a QKD system configured to internally calibrate the QKD system based on the polarization dependence of the backflash. The Kurtsiefer – Gerhardt – Meda combination considers only assembly and initial testing of the data acquisition system.
Conclusion
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896