DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13-15, 17, 21-23 and 26-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by USPAP 2011/0151738 to Moore or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over USPAP 2011/0151738 to Moore.
Claim 1, Moore discloses a spunbond nonwoven fabric comprising a plurality of fibers comprised of at least one plant-derived polymer and wherein the filaments are air through bonded, and wherein the plurality of fibers are optionally further bonded via calender bonding (see entire document including [0005], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0027], [0028], [0043], [0072] and [0093]). It is noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
Claim 2, the plant-derived polymer is selected from the group consisting of bio-based aliphatic polyesters, blends of bio-based aliphatic polyesters, and copolymers of bio-based aliphatic polyesters ([0020], [0021] and [0023]).
Claims 3 and 27, the plant-derived polymer includes polyethylene, polypropylene, blends thereof, or copolymers thereof ([0020], [0021], [0023]). It is noted that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. For example, polypropylene made from plants is chemically identical to polypropylene made from petroleum. Both share the exact same molecular structure. Plus, Moore discloses that the method of making the polypropylene is not critical [0153] and discloses that there is a desire in the art to replace petroleum-based polypropylene with renewable plant-based polymers [0005]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for Moore to derive the polypropylene from a bio source, as claimed, to be meet the need in the art and/or be environmentally friendly.
Claim 6, the plant-derived polymer comprises polybutylene succinate, polyethylene succinate, polybutylene adipate, polyethylene adipate, and polytetramethylene adipate/terephthalate ([0020], [0021] and [0023]).
Claim 7, the plurality of fibers have a sheath/core configuration in which the sheath comprises a polylactic acid and a core comprising polylactic acid ([0020], [0021], [0023], [0036] and [0058]).
Claim 9, the plurality of fibers comprise a hydrophobic polymeric blend of a bio-based aliphatic polyester and a secondary alkane sulfonate ([0020], [0021], [0023], [0039]-[0043] and [0212]-[0214]). Moore does not appear to specifically mention the claimed property but considering that Moore discloses a substantially identical nonwoven fabric in terms of structure and fiber material, the claimed property appears to be inherent. The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection, In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1977).
Claims 10 and 28, Moore does not appear to specifically mention the claimed properties but considering that Moore discloses a substantially identical nonwoven fabric in terms of structure and fiber material, the claimed properties appear to be inherent.
Claim 13, Moore discloses an absorbent article comprising the fabric of claim 1 ([0033]-[0035]).
Claim 14, Moore discloses a composite fabric comprising a plurality of layers in which at least one of the layers comprises the fabric of claim 1, and wherein one or more additional layers of the composite fabric are selected from the group consisting of a carded layer, a meltblown layer, a spunbond layer, an air laid layer, a resin bonded layer, a spunlace layer, and a cellulose layer [0033].
Claim 15, at least one of the layers comprises a meltblown nonwoven fabric [0033].
Claim 17, the composite fabric has a structure selected from the group consisting of a spunbond-meltblown (SM) composite, a spunbond-meltblown-spunbond (SMS) composite, and a spunbond-meltblown-meltblown- spunbond (SMMS) composite [0033].
Claim 21, Moore discloses a nonwoven fabric comprising a plurality of fibers that are bonded to each other to form a coherent web, wherein the fibers comprise a polymeric blend comprising a biobased aliphatic polyester and a secondary alkane sulfonate, wherein the amount of secondary alkane sulfonate in the polymeric blend is from about 0.0125 to 2.5 weight percent, based on the total weight of the blend (see entire document including [0005], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0027], [0028], [0039]-[0043], [0072], [0093], [0195] and [0212]-[0214]). Moore does not appear to specifically mention the claimed property but considering that Moore discloses a substantially identical nonwoven fabric in terms of structure and fiber material, the claimed property appears to be inherent. The Patent and Trademark Office can require applicants to prove that prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess characteristics of claimed products where claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes; burden of proof is on applicants where rejection based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. § 102 or on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, jointly or alternatively, and Patent and Trademark Office’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products evidences fairness of this rejection, In re Best, Bolton, and Shaw, 195 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1977).
Claim 22, the fibers consist of a polymeric blend consisting of a biobased aliphatic polyester and a secondary alkane sulfonate ([0005], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0027], [0028], [0039]-[0043], [0072], [0093], [0195] and [0212]-[0214]). It is noted that the specification indicates that up to 5% additives may be present ([0056] and [0057]). Therefore, although Moore includes polypropylene, the polypropylene is an additive [0049] and may be present in an amount of less than 5% ([0020] and [0156]).
Claim 23, the plurality of fibers comprise bicomponent fibers having a sheath-core configuration in which at least the sheath comprises a polymer blend of the plant-derived polymer and a secondary alkane sulfonate, and wherein the amount of the secondary alkane sulfonate in the sheath is from 0.1 to 0.75 weight percent, based on the total weight of the polymer blend, and the amount of secondary alkane sulfonate in the nonwoven fabric is from 0.03 to 0.2250, based on the total weight of the nonwoven fabric ([0005], [0020], [0021], [0023], [0024], [0027], [0028], [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0058], [0072], [0093], [0195] and [0212]-[0214]).
Claim 26, the plant-derived polymer comprises one or more of polylactide acid (PLA), polybutylene succinate (PBS) or polybutylene succinate co-adipate (PBSA), poly(ε-caprolactone), polyhydroxyalkanoates, polyhydroxybutyrates, poly-(hydroxybutyrate-co- hydroxyvaleterate), poly-(hydroxybutyrate-co- polyhydroxyhexanoate), polyglycolic acid polyethylene succinate, polybutylene adipate, polyethylene adipate, and polytetramethylene adipate/terephthalate [0023].
Claim 29, the fibers have a bicomponent structure comprising a first polymer component comprising a first plant-derived polymer and a second polymer component comprising a second plant-derived polymer. For example, Moore discloses that two or more plant-derived polymers may be present which is considered a bicomponent structure ([0020]-[0023]). Further, Moore discloses that the fibers may have a core/sheath construction ([0036], [0058], [0307] and [0317]) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the sheath and core from any of the material(s) disclosed by Moore, such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claims 30 and 31, the first polymer component may comprise polylactide acid (PLA) and the second polymer component may comprise polybutylene succinate (PBS), which inherently has a different melting point than PLA [0023]. Further, Moore discloses that the fibers may have a core/sheath construction ([0036], [0058], [0307] and [0317]) and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the sheath and core from any of the material(s) disclosed by Moore, such as claimed, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Conclusion
This is a continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18/196,794. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789