Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 12/12/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 10-25 are pending with claims 22-25 withdrawn from consideration
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant requests rejoinder upon allowability of the product claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art suggested adding additives to the connecting fibers to make them absorbent to NIR. However, the prior art does not suggest only making 5 to 40% or 15 to 30% of the fibers absorbent relative to the non-absorbent staple fibers.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the layer disposed on top of the staple fiber layer without connecting fibers (instant claim 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim. The layer must also be numbered and the number should be recited in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 9-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,286,753. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim at least a two-layer endless belt. The bottom layer has a loop and pintle connection. The top layer has elements which can be welded to both the seam flap and seam wedge of a top non-woven layer that has a cut.
Instant claim 10-13, 15, and 16 see copending claims 9, 11 and 14.
Instant claim 14 and 19 see copending claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/121789A EBERHARDT et al., hereinafter EBERHARDT.
The EBERHARDT is by another (as it has a second inventor ENGLET) and available under 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2). However, the 102(a)(2) type reference is overcome by a 102(b)(2)(C) exception as there is a common ownership of Voith Patent GMBH.
The publication date of EBERHARDT is 6/24/2021 which is less than 1 year before the foreign priority date of the instant application of 11/4/2021. However, there is no certified English translation of the 11/4/2021 foreign priority document. Therefore, 9/23/2022 the PCT filing date acts as the earliest effective filing date. This would result in an over 1-year difference between the publication and earliest effective filing date. Therefore, a 102(b)(1) exception is not available.
If the applicant files a certified translation of DE102021128660.3 (11/4/2021) the applicant can then make a showing for one of the 102(b)(1) exceptions.
The Examiner refers to U.S. 2023/0013706 as the English language equivalent.
As for claims 10-13, EBERHARDT discloses a clothing or seamed felt [abstract]. The clothing has a base structure (3) [Figure 4]. EBERHARDT discloses at least one staple fiber layer (8) disposed on the base structure (3) on a side facing the fibrous web [Figure 4].
EBERHARDT discloses a at least one seam zone (2) having seam loops (4) connected by at least one pintle (5) to make the clothing endless [Figure 4].
EBERHARDT discloses that the staple fiber layer (8) in the region of the seam zone (2) is divided by a cut (9) into a seam flap (10) and a seam wedge (11) [Figure 4].
EBERHARDT discloses the staple fiber layer (8) has a quantity of connecting fibers (20) in the region of the seam zone (6) both on the seam flap (10) and the seam wedge (11) [Figure 4]. The connecting fibers(20) are connected to the staple fibers by welded connections after cutting of the seam (9) [0073]. The connecting fibers of the seam flap are only connected to the seam flap staple fibers and the connecting fibers of the seam wedge are only connected to the staple fibers of the seam wedge. There are no welded connections between the staple fibers of said seam flap and staple fibers of the seam wedge [Figure 4].
EBERHARDT discloses 1 mm to 20 mm distributed longitudinally over the width of the clothing [0073].
As for claims 14 and 19, EBERHARDT discloses that the staple fibers can absorb in NIR and are used as the connecting element [0022]. EBERHARDT discloses additive absorbers [0026-0028]. EBERHARDT discloses polyamide [0023]
As for claims 15 and 16, there are no connecting fibers outside the seam zone [Figure 4, 0073]. EBERHARDT discloses a longitudinal distribution and discloses of a distribution throughout the whole staple fiber layer (8) [0073]
As for claim 21, EBERHARDT discloses absorbent fibers distributed over the entire fiber layer (8) of the paper side [0073].
Conclusion
ANTHONY J. CALANDRA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/Anthony Calandra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748