Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding the amendments to the independent claims, this is not found persuasive because Miyada et al. (CN 109560645) teaches the amendment as will be addressed in the rejection below. As for the remaining amendments, they will also be addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciampolini et al. (US 20160308426) in view of Miyada et al. (CN 109560645).
1. Ciampolini et al. teach:
An electric motor assembly 1, comprising:
a rotor 4;
a stator 5 disposed radially outboard of the rotor (see fig 1) and comprising:
a stator core 6 that extends axially in a first axial direction from a first axial end to a second axial end opposite the first axial end (see fig 2); and
a plurality of windings 8 that extend along the stator core, each of which respectively includes a terminal end 10 that is positioned axially beyond the second axial end of the stator core in the first axial direction (fig 2);
a busbar 18/30 to which at least one of the plurality of windings (winding ends 10, fig 12) is fixed proximate to the terminal end of the at least one winding (figs 12 & 15-18); and
a tray 20/29/31 coupled to and supporting the busbar (figs 12 & 15-18), and defining at least one receiver (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18) through which the at least one winding extends; but does not teach that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess.
Miyada et al. teach that the tray/holder 60 having a body (also 60, figs 3 & 4) defining a recess 61 for receiving the busbar 71 within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess (fig 4). By adding this feature to the tray of Ciampolini et al., the busbar would have additional stability which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it such that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess, as taught by Miyada et al. so as to improve the reliability of the motor.
2. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiver is positioned axially between the busbar and the stator core (figs 12 & 15-18).
5. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one receiver comprises at least one aperture (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
6. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 1, wherein the at least one winding that extends through the at least one receiver defined by the tray is fixed to at least one of a radially-outboard-facing surface of the busbar and a radially-inboard-facing surface of the busbar (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
7. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one winding that extends through the at least one receiver defined by the tray is fixed to the radially-outboard-facing surface of the busbar (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
8. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one winding that extends through the at least one receiver defined by the tray is fixed to the radially-inboard-facing surface of the busbar (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
9. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 6, wherein the at least one receiver comprises: at least one inner receiver defined by the tray; and at least one outer receiver that is defined by the tray and positioned radially outboard of the at least one inner receiver (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
10. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 9, wherein the at least one winding comprises: at least one inner winding that extends through the at least one inner receiver defined by the tray and that is fixed to the radially-inboard-facing surface of the busbar (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18); and at least one outer winding that extends through the at least one outer receiver defined by the tray and that is fixed to the radially-outboard-facing surface of the busbar (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18).
11. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 10, wherein the at least one inner receiver includes a plurality of inner receivers (generally at holes 22, fig 14 below), the at least one outer receiver includes a plurality of outer receivers (generally at holes 22, fig 14 below), the at least one inner winding includes a plurality of inner windings (generally at terminal ends 10, fig 15 below) that respectively extend through the corresponding plurality of inner receivers, and the at least one outer winding includes a plurality of outer windings (generally at terminal ends 10, fig 15 below) that respectively extend through the corresponding plurality of outer receivers.
12. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 11, wherein the tray comprises: the body 25 (fig 14); an inner guide member (annotated fig 14 below) that extends radially inboard from the body and defines the plurality of inner receivers (fig 14 below); and an outer guide member (annotated fig 14 below) that extends radially outboard from the body and defines the plurality of outer receivers (fig 14 below).
13. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 12, wherein a radially-inboard-most portion of the inner guide member at a given circumferential position occupied by the inner guide member is the radially-inboard-most portion 24 of the tray at the given circumferential position occupied by the inner guide member (fig 14 below).
14. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 12, wherein a radially-outboard-most portion of the outer guide member at a given circumferential position occupied by the outer guide member is the radially-outboard-most portion 24 of the tray at the given circumferential position occupied by the outer guide member (fig 14 below).
15. Ciampolini et al. teach:
A tray 20/29/31 for an electric motor assembly 1, comprising:
a support structure 40 and defining a plurality of apertures configured to receive (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18) a corresponding plurality of windings 8 therethrough that are configured to be fixed to the at least one busbar 18/30; but does not teach that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess.
Miyada et al. teach that the tray/holder 60 having a body (also 60, figs 3 & 4) defining a recess 61 for receiving the busbar 71 within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess (fig 4). By adding this feature to the tray of Ciampolini et al., the busbar would have additional stability which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it such that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess, as taught by Miyada et al. so as to improve the reliability of the motor.
17. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The tray of claim 15, wherein the plurality of apertures includes a plurality of inner apertures 22 and a plurality of outer apertures 22 positioned radially outboard of the plurality of inner apertures (fig 14), and wherein the support structure comprises: the body 25 that is configured to support the at least one busbar 18 (fig 14); an inner guide member (annotated fig 14 below) that extends radially inboard from the body and defines the plurality of inner apertures (generally at 22, fig 14 below); and an outer guide member (annotated fig 14 below) that extends radially outboard from the body and defines the plurality of outer apertures (annotated fig 14 below).
18. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The tray of claim 17, wherein a radially-inboard-most portion of the inner guide member at a given circumferential position occupied by the inner guide member is the radially-inboard-most portion 24 of the tray at the given circumferential position occupied by the inner guide member (fig 14 above).
19. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The tray of claim 18, wherein a radially-outboard-most portion of the outer guide member at a given circumferential position occupied by the outer guide member is the radially-outboard-most portion 24 of the tray at the given circumferential position occupied by the outer guide member (fig 14 above).
20. Ciampolini et al. teach:
An electric motor assembly 1, comprising:
a stator 5, comprising:
a stator core 6; and
a plurality of windings 8 that extend along the stator core;
a busbar 18/30 to which the plurality of windings are fixed (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18); and
a tray 20/29/31 coupled to and supporting the busbar and defining a plurality of apertures 22 through which the plurality of windings respectively extend (the winding ends 10 protrude through holes in each one of the trays 20, 29 & 31, see figs 12 & 15-18) ; but does not teach that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess.
Miyada et al. teach that the tray/holder 60 having a body (also 60, figs 3 & 4) defining a recess 61 for receiving the busbar 71 within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess (fig 4). By adding this feature to the tray of Ciampolini et al., the busbar would have additional stability which improves the reliability of the motor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention being effectively filed to modify it such that the tray having a body defining a recess for receiving the busbar within the recess, wherein the body of the tray supports the busbar within the recess, as taught by Miyada et al. so as to improve the reliability of the motor.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ciampolini et al. in view of Kobayashi (US 20210013762).
3. Ciampolini et al. teach:
The electric motor assembly of claim 2, wherein the at least one receiver extends from a first opening (at the bottom of each tray, figs 12 and 14) to a second opening (at the top of each tray, figs 12 and 14) that is axially offset from the first opening (figs 12 and 14); but does not teach that the portion of the tray that defines the at least one receiver tapers inward as the portion extends axially in the first axial direction, such that the first opening is larger than the second opening.
Kobayashi teaches that the portion of the tray that defines the at least one receiver 54 tapers inward as the portion extends axially in the first axial direction (via tapered passage 57, see fig 2A), such that the first opening is larger than the second opening (see tapered passage 57, fig 2A) so the wire 20 can be guided smoothly (para 0053). As a result, the assembly of the motor can be improved.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Ciampolini et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that the portion of the tray that defines the at least one receiver tapers inward as the portion extends axially in the first axial direction, such that the first opening is larger than the second opening, as taught by Kobayashi so as to improve the manufacturing of the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834