DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 15-20 and 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,617,644. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent discloses:
Regarding Claim 1, the Patent discloses an implant comprising: a conduit (column 20, line 44) including a distal portion having a distal end and a proximal portion having a proximal end (column 20, lines 45-50), the proximal portion comprising one or more sinuses having a concave shape relative to an inner surface of the proximal portion (column 21, lines 64-67 and column 22, lines 1-3); and a valve structure including at least one leaflet (column 20, lines 53-55) disposed adjacent to at least one of the one or more sinuses (column 21, lines 64-67), each of the at least one leaflet having a free edge and a leaflet attachment edge coupled between the distal end and the proximal end (column 20, lines 53-60).
Regarding Claim 2, the Patent discloses wherein the one or more sinuses are more rigid relative to other areas of the proximal portion (column 22, lines 4-6).
Regarding Claim 3, the Patent discloses wherein the distal end and the proximal end have a complementary shape (column 20, lines 61-63).
Regarding Claim 4, the Patent discloses wherein the distal end defines a plurality of parabolic valleys, and wherein the proximal end defines a plurality of complementary conduit parabolic hills (column 20, lines 64-67).
Regarding Claim 5, the Patent discloses wherein the valve structure is a leaflet construct comprising a plurality of leaflets that are joined together by a bridge region between adjacent leaflets (column 21, lines 13-16).
Regarding Claim 6, the Patent discloses wherein the valve structure comprises a leaflet construct defining a contiguous annular ring comprising a plurality of leaflets and a bridge region between each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets extending radially inward from the distal end, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets defining an attachment region (column 21, lines 17-22).
Regarding Claim 7, the Patent discloses wherein the leaflet attachment edge of each of the at least one leaflet extends between the distal end and the proximal end and coupled thereto with means selected from a list consisting of suture, adhesive, and thermal bonding (column 21, lines 59-63).
Regarding Claim 8, the Patent discloses wherein the proximal portion further comprises a plurality of sinuses adjacent the proximal end, and wherein each leaflet is adjacent a sinus of the plurality of sinuses (column 21, lines 64-67).
Regarding Claim 9, the Patent discloses further comprising a support frame coupled to the distal end, the support frame having a generally annular shape (column 22, lines 8-10).
Regarding Claim 10, the Patent discloses wherein the support frame has a complementary shape relative to the distal end (column 22, lines 11-14).
Regarding Claim 11, the Patent discloses wherein the support frame is at least partially composed of a radiopaque material (column 22, lines 18-20).
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-7, 11-15 and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,504,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent discloses:
Regarding Claim 1, the Patent discloses an implant comprising: a conduit (column 20, line 47) including a distal portion having a distal end and a proximal portion having a proximal end (column 20, lines 47-49), the proximal portion comprising one or more sinuses having a concave shape relative to an inner surface of the proximal portion (column 21, lines 57-60 and column 21, lines 61-63); and a valve structure including at least one leaflet (column 20, line 52) disposed adjacent to at least one of the one or more sinuses (column 21, lines 57-60), each of the at least one leaflet having a free edge and a leaflet attachment edge coupled between the distal end and the proximal end (column 20, lines 52-53).
Regarding Claim 2, the Patent discloses wherein the one or more sinuses are more rigid relative to other areas of the proximal portion (column 21, lines 64-67).
Regarding Claim 3, the Patent discloses wherein the distal end and the proximal end have a complementary shape (column 21, lines 9-11).
Regarding Claim 4, the Patent discloses wherein the distal end defines a plurality of parabolic valleys, and wherein the proximal end defines a plurality of complementary conduit parabolic hills (column 21, lines 12-15).
Regarding Claim 5, the Patent discloses wherein the valve structure is a leaflet construct comprising a plurality of leaflets (column 21, lines 27-29) that are joined together by a bridge region between adjacent leaflets (column 21, lines 29-30).
Regarding Claim 6, the Patent discloses wherein the valve structure comprises a leaflet construct defining a contiguous annular ring comprising a plurality of leaflets and a bridge region between each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets extending radially inward from the distal end, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets defining an attachment region (column 21, lines 31-36).
Regarding Claim 7, the Patent discloses wherein the leaflet attachment edge of each of the at least one leaflet extends between the distal end and the proximal end and coupled thereto with means selected from a list consisting of suture, adhesive, and thermal bonding (column 21, lines 1-6).
Regarding Claim 8, the Patent discloses wherein the proximal portion further comprises a plurality of sinuses adjacent the proximal end, and wherein each leaflet is adjacent a sinus of the plurality of sinuses (column 21, lines 57-60).
Regarding Claim 9, the Patent discloses further comprising a support frame coupled to the distal end, the support frame having a generally annular shape (column 22, lines 1-3).
Regarding Claim 10, the Patent discloses wherein the support frame has a complementary shape relative to the distal end (column 22, lines 4-7).
Regarding Claim 11, the Patent discloses wherein the support frame is at least partially composed of a radiopaque material (column 22, lines 12-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 12-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murad et al. WO 2014/145811.
Regarding Claim 1, Murad et al. discloses an implant 400 comprising: a conduit 428 having a distal portion having a distal end 410 (see Figures 30- 31A) and a proximal portion having a proximal end (above 402), the proximal portion comprising one or more sinuses 402 having a concave shape relative to an inner surface of the proximal portion (see Figures 16A-16B and 29-30); and a valve structure 404 including at least one leaflet (paragraphs [0105-], [0107- 0109]) disposed adjacent to at least one of the one or more sinuses 402, each of the at least one leaflet having a free edge and a leaflet attachment edge coupled between the distal end and the proximal end (as seen in Figure 27B).
Regarding Claim 2, Murad et al. discloses wherein the one or more sinuses 402 are more rigid relative to other areas of the proximal portion (paragraph [0099] and as seen in Figures 30, 30A, the sinuses includes additional layer of material formed by the valve leaflets and wireform stent, see hashed line, therefore the sinuses would be more rigid than the tubular portion extending above the sinuses 402).
Regarding Claim 3, Murad et al. discloses wherein the distal end 410 and the proximal end have a complementary shape (as seen in Figures 30A-31B).
Regarding Claim 4, Murad et al. discloses wherein the distal end 410 defines a plurality of parabolic valleys, and wherein the proximal end 429a defines a plurality of complementary conduit parabolic hills (as seen in Figures 30A-31B).
Regarding Claim 8, Murad et al. discloses wherein the proximal portion further comprises a plurality of sinuses 402 adjacent the proximal end, and wherein each leaflet is adjacent a sinus of the plurality of sinuses 402 (as seen in Figure 30A, 36A).
Regarding Claim 9, Murad et al. discloses further comprising a support frame 26, 412 coupled to the distal end, the support frame 26, 304, 454 having a generally annular shape (as seen in Figure 1, 15, 17-17A, 33A-33B and see hashed curve of the support frame in Figure 30A and paragraphs [0060], [0065], [0093] and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 10, Murad et al. discloses wherein the support frame 26, 412 has a complementary shape relative to the distal end (as seen in Figures 30, 30A, 30C, see paragraph [0103] the heart valve 404 has crown shaped upper and lower edges 429a, 429b so called double crown ring which is attached to the conduit graft).
Regarding Claim 12, Murad et al. discloses an implant 400 comprising: a conduit 428 including a distal portion having a distal end 410 (see Figures 30- 31A) and a proximal portion having a proximal end (above 402), the proximal portion comprising a cylindrical tube and one or more sinuses 402 extending from the cylindrical tube (see Figures 16A-16B and 29-30); the proximal portion having an increased diameter at the one or more sinuses 402 relative to other portions of the cylindrical tube (as seen in Figure 30); and a valve structure 404 including at least one leaflet (paragraphs [0105-], [0107- 0109]) disposed adjacent to at least one of the one or more sinuses 402, each of the at least one leaflet having a free edge and a leaflet attachment edge coupled between the distal end and the proximal end (as seen in Figure 27B).
Regarding Claim 13, Murad et al. discloses wherein the one or more sinuses are more rigid relative to other areas of the proximal portion (paragraph [0099] and as seen in Figures 30, 30A, the sinuses includes additional layer of material formed by the valve leaflets and wireform stent, see hashed line, therefore the sinuses would be more rigid than the tubular portion extending above the sinuses 402).
Regarding Claim 14, Murad et al. discloses wherein the distal end 410 and the proximal end have a complementary shape (as seen in Figures 30A-31B).
Regarding Claim 15, Murad et al. discloses wherein the distal end 410 defines a plurality of parabolic valleys, and wherein the proximal end 429a defines a plurality of complementary conduit parabolic hills (as seen in Figures 30A-31B).
Regarding Claim 18, Murad et al. discloses wherein the proximal portion further comprises a plurality of sinuses 402 adjacent the proximal end, and wherein each leaflet is adjacent a sinus of the plurality of sinuses 402 (as seen in Figure 30A, 36A).
Regarding Claim 19, Murad et al. discloses further comprising a support frame 26, 412 coupled to the distal end, the support frame 26, 304, 454 having a generally annular shape (as seen in Figure 1, 15, 17-17A, 33A-33B and see hashed curve of the support frame in Figure 30A and paragraphs [0060], [0065], [0093] and [0118]).
Regarding Claim 20, Murad et al. discloses wherein the support frame 26, 412 has a complementary shape relative to the distal end (as seen in Figures 30, 30A, 30C, see paragraph [0103] the heart valve 404 has crown shaped upper and lower edges 429a, 429b so called double crown ring which is attached to the conduit graft).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murad et al. WO 2014/145811 in view of Duran et al. U.S. Patent 5,489,297.
Regarding Claim 5, 6, 16, 17, Murad et al. discloses wherein the valve structure comprises a leaflet construct (as seen in Figure 27) defining a contiguous annular ring comprising a plurality of leaflets, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets extending radially inward from the distal end, each leaflet of the plurality of leaflets defining an attachment region (the leaflets are attached to each other, see Figures 17, 23A, 27B, 33A-33B). However, Murad et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the valve structure is a leaflet construct comprising a plurality of leaflets that are joined together by a bridge region between adjacent leaflets. Duran et al. teaches an implant 17 comprising: a conduit 20 and a valve structure 110 having a plurality of leaflets 112, wherein the leaflets are joined together by a bridge region 119 between adjacent leaflets (as seen in Figures 16b-16C) to form a single strip of biocompatible membrane (column 12, lines 23-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murad’s leaflet to further include a bridge region between adjacent leaflets as taught by Duran et al. for the purpose of forming a single strip of biocompatible membrane forming commissural “bridge” regions.
Regarding Claim 7, Murad et al. discloses wherein the leaflet attachment edge of each of the at least one leaflet extends between the distal end and the proximal end (as seen in Figures 17, 23A, 27B, 33A-33B). However, Murad et al. does not expressly disclose the leaflet attachment coupled thereto with means selected from a list consisting of suture, adhesive, and thermal bonding. Duran et al. teaches an implant 17 comprising: a conduit 20 and a valve structure 110 having a plurality of leaflets 112, wherein the leaflets comprises a leaflet attachment edge 118 coupled via suture 124 or adhesive (column 12, lines 59-67 and column 13, lines 1-9) for the purpose of attaching the valve structure having a stent and a plurality of leaflets together forming a bioprosthetic heart valve (column 12, lines 14-30 and column 13, lines 35-46). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murad’s leaflet attachment edge to be coupled with a suture or adhesive as taught by Duran et al. for the purpose of attaching the valve structure having a stent and a plurality of leaflets together forming a bioprosthetic heart valve.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murad et al. WO 2014/145811 in view of Guttenberg et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0366664 A1.
Regarding Claim 11, Murad et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the support frame is at least partially composed of a radiopaque material. Guttenberg et al. teaches a support frame in the same field of endeavor for forming a prosthetic heart valve configured to replace a native heart valve (abstract and as seen in Figures 1A-1D), the frame 40 includes radiopaque material forming the band and valve size indicators 50 formed by cutting holes or voids through the radiopaque outer band for the purpose of allowing the identifying the surgical heart valve in terms of size and type (paragraph [0047]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Murad’s support frame to further include a radiopaque material or radiopaque cut outs in the support frame as taught by Guttenberg et al. for the purpose of allowing the identifying the surgical heart valve in terms of size and type.
Conclusion
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774